Platteville, WI 
UW Campus-Platteville Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
This course got me hooked

2-4    9/27/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: cmax25
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
Pros: Plenty of interesting looks that present modest to medium difficulty but never get boring.

Plan for every shot in the arsenal to be used: backhand, forehand, tomahawk, etc. This course challenges even the experienced disc golfer.

Most of the holes #1,2,4,6,8,9,10,11,12-15,17,18 can be reached by one shot if you can throw (300 ft) give or take.

A few longer holes like 3,5,7,12 (has the dogleg right) &16 are unreachable by most accounts.

Make a mistake here and you will get punished by many thick weeds that inhibit the holes along the creek-side. That's the way it should be. Classic examples are holes 7,8,12,13.

Scenery is phenomenal accompanied by steep valleys, a thin forest which make use of some trees, a creek that plays into a few holes. Simply put, breathtaking scenery when you reach the back nine and see the vast open expansion of land with varying dimensions of altitude.

Garbage cans at most holes, fully detailed signs, concrete tee pads, the course has the infrastructure available. Very easy to navigate. Didn't see any restrooms around but plenty of room for nature.
Cons: The course can be difficult to access for first timers. I suggest looking at a map or asking for help if you get lost.

Some students can get a bit rowdy as they tend to forget the proper etiquette of disc golf (screaming, not letting people pass, etc)

Course surrounds the campus so students are walking around in the way of many shots surrounding the bike path. Therefore, you must wait at certain junctions which is frustrating and can kill your momentum.

A few holes have blind shots where you can't see where your disc went. I spent approximately 25 minutes searching for my disc on two holes (I found it), it helps to have a spotter.
Other Thoughts: I just really love this course for many reasons. Generally, you can expect to find more than a few groups playing which adds to the excitement of the atmosphere. I have been to some courses that are essentially cemeteries; even though the layout is magnificent.

One reviewer felt that this course was not worthy of hosting a tournament. I must disagree wholeheartedly. In fact, I saw many amateurs struggling mightily during my round. While the course is ripe for opportunity it still presents a modest challenge for all skill levels.

A Piggly Wiggly Supermarket exists a few miles away that offers many choices for food and drinks. I picked up some delicious cheese curds beforehand and enjoyed them on the course.

 Another great UW course!!!

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Big concrete pads makes this course much more playable.

2) Practice basket near the first tee, always a welcome sight.

3) Set in the heart of campus so the usage on this course is high I am sure, but the accessibility is huge right next to all of the dorms. I happened to play on freshman move in day. All I know is if I had this in college I probably would be working for QVC or in a carnival somewhere, or perhaps I maybe would have joined the circus!!!

4) Benches available at different times through the course and garbage cans available in a few spots too.

5) Nice signs with a general layout, par, and distance. A nice sign commemorating the people who helped get this awesome course installed. That was a nice touch, but I maybe would have put it behind a basket or near the first tee, rather than in the middle of the fairway. They did make mention of it on the 3rd tee sign so I am sure a lot of people end up looking at it.

6) Tight fairways and moderate elevation changes really create a nice challenge here. I am sure playing multiple times would make this decision making process much easier, but regardless there is some real thought that needs to come into play on many shots.

7) Although the baskets leave a little to be desired they do have number plates and they are pointed n the right direction to figure out which hole is which. SOme but not all are painted in a bright color.

8) Trees are of utmost importance on this course and the design is wonderful. They create all of the challenge especially when used in combination with the elevation changes on this course.

9) I never expected the river to be in play but it truly is. I happened to catch the last peninsula on #11, 3 feet short or 3 feet long and my disc was gone. I led to a bogey but I am ok with that. It's always nice to have some form of water on the course. It normally wouldn;t be much of an issue and I am sure I would never end up there again, but it was in play today and I love it. BTW it was flowing quickly.

10) Overall it is clear to me disc golfers helped install this. It is supremely designed and takes all the key features of this campus area into account. I love the use of elevation of going up and down the valley multiple times. I also think the design of the tighter wooded holes was very well done. All in all just a great design which really makes the course fun even if it was tough!
Cons: 1) Old homemade baskets leave a little to be desired, but I am sure vandalism would be huge on a college campus. Perhaps that is the reason many of the baskets are all bent up.

2) Danger comes into play on a few tee and basket locations. #6 basket, #7 tee and #15 tee are all pretty tightly placed on the property. An errant drive that hyzers out quickly on #6 could hit someone on either tee. It literally isn't more than 45' in between the three places in a triangle. That will lead to an issue down the road if it hasn't already. #16 tee also throws right over the top of #5 basket . . . and #17 tee throws right over #16 basket . . . .never a good idea. The other trouble area is located between #10 basket, 11 tee and 12 fairway. There are likely to be some injuries on these holes over the years because of errant shots on #10 or #12.

3) Erosion is a problem on multiple areas of the course especially just off teepads and around baskets. Fortunately the baskets all have a 3' diameter ring of concrete, so they will never get ripped out of the ground. There are many places where if you went off the end of the tee you might break and ankle.

4) Many of the concrete tees are not level, this creates an extar factor to consider when throwing as your body is in a way different position than it would be normally. Adjust accordingly or you will have some errant shots, and the teeshots are critically important here! Many of the tee pads are cracked and damaged on top of the sloping issues.
Other Thoughts: A local UWP student who works for me told me that the garbage cans are set up perfectly for beer drinking. I am not sure but I carry 16 discs and 2 putters, I couldnt carry as many beers as I think she is referring to. Regardless I thought it was an interesting anecdote because if I went to school here and lived in the dorms (right next to the course) I may not have graduated, I would have ended up a "carny", in the circus, or a QVC employee.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/16/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Wavebird812
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this coures its got everything. its got some long hole's some short one's aswell. Just an incredeble variety of shot's but the best thing about this course is the awsome elevation change almost every hole has some make's for a fun and challenging time
Cons: This course may have the worst baskets ever. thair old and rusty and your disc can fall out the bottom
Other Thoughts: Even tho the basket's suck This course is great. don't pass on playing it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

6/1/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: WIpilot
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: All kinds of different types of holes. nice elevation change on a lot of the holes. Challenging when the trees grow there leaves. Great signage
Cons: some baskets are bent up. some of the tee pads are not level making it difficult to throw. some construction going on that interferes with a hole.
Other Thoughts: nice course overall. Wear your hiking boots.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Review

4/24/2008   4/24/2008
Review By: gordonn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Its got a little bit of every terrain; every hole is different. Holes aren't extremely long; good starter course.
Cons: Can get a little muddy when wet.
Other Thoughts: Slightly challenging course. Fairly open to wooded course. Must have many different shot types to do well.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.