Platteville, WI 
UW Campus-Platteville Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 I still enjoy this one

2-4    9/24/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 719  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This marks the fourth time I've been to the U.W. Platteville course over a span of 15 years. From my first visit, and including this last round here; I am pleasantly reminded that I find this course charming.
Use of elevation is one of this course's main assets.
New tee signs are informative and give the impression that things are on the upgrade mode here.
Cons: Overall length not quite up to modern standards.
Tees are concrete; but are quite old and crumbling in some cases. Also, there are quite a few that are slanted up or down hill. I personally, find this to be part of an interesting design; that used to be used much more often. However, modern players rarely see this design feature and do not like it when they do. There are some injury danger aspects to this style of tee pads.
Homemade buckets. A few spit outs amongst our group of five. I did not have any myself; and again, I find different style buckets to be charming. These hold very well IMOH for old homemade baskets; and I believe they require a little more touch when putting. However, for the modern player who drives every putt home with AUTHORITEE!; these will be considered to be a little weak.
Buckets have recently been repainted with silver paint; and visually look pretty good.
As with all school courses; you will have to play around students to some extent.
School had begun when we came this time. Parking was extremely full. Both of our vehicles parked in a lot which said by permit only; as all spaces on the road were completely used up. The good part is that we got no ticket. Bad part is that you hate to begin a round and play; thinking you may get one.
Other Thoughts: These days; there are tons of courses on school campus'. U.W. Platteville was a very early college campus course. For it's time; it was a wonderful course. By today's standards, it is a little "old school." However, I found this course to be very enjoyable and will stop in again when in the area. The new tee signs seem to indicate a new interest in upgrade. If they do some tee work; the overall course will be one more level improved. Without some modern redesign, this course will probably never earn more than a 3 rating, and this may be slightly generous. But, as I said, knowing the history, and compared to many of the campus courses I've played; I find this one both charming and challenging.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/16/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Wavebird812
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this coures its got everything. its got some long hole's some short one's aswell. Just an incredeble variety of shot's but the best thing about this course is the awsome elevation change almost every hole has some make's for a fun and challenging time
Cons: This course may have the worst baskets ever. thair old and rusty and your disc can fall out the bottom
Other Thoughts: Even tho the basket's suck This course is great. don't pass on playing it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You Bet'cha

5+    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: pvilleDiscgolfer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first three holes are on a plot of land surrounded by dorms and a large commons area. Hole one is a straight bomb hidden behind a tree, along the road. Number two shoots between two pines to the left, they force you to keep it low and it is short but still a tough birdie. #3 is a bomb going back up towards one. Make par here and you have made an awsome second shot. Leave the first three hole at even and your doing just fine. The rest of the course is a combo of long and short, four is a bomb across a giant ravine followed by a large up hill s shaped hole then more curves and long drives and short down hills. This course has it all. It is possible to hit the water on hole 11 while trying to wrap it around the tree line to the right without letting it going left toward the river. 13 is a up hill tunnel shot through the woods. 16, 17, and 18 play back and forth across this valley where you have a chance to throw over a towering tree on 16, a good shot at an ace on 17, and a tough par coming back on 18. You will leave this course hungry and wondering how you couldn't par number 3, 8, and 16. This is not a beginner course as mentioned by another reviewer it will challenge a skilled player.
Cons: The course has had a make over in the last year. Improving the signs and course maps and tee pads. They messed up on the 18th tee pad and put it at a horrible angle. It can be difficult to park during school but there is plenty of options to park. Baskets were made by the university but they are quite nice
Other Thoughts: I am not just trying to ramp up the course I play almost everyday, this course will surprise anyone that chooses to come. It plays into a beautiful park that has a large rugby field to test your driving distance.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: MLatzke
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Best course I've ever played! Varied hole length, changes in altitude, different terrain all around. You'll never be bored; At every turn there's a different obstacle to traverse.
Cons: Parking may be difficult. Some of the tees are a bit banged up.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/16/2006   4/30/2009
Review By: Phinneas55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is different! Throwing straight is not good enough for this course, you need a larger bag of tricks if you want to par the longer holes. The course plays around a ravine so there are some major elevation changes. The homemade baskets are better than many of the purchased varieties. The hole number is cut out and can be read from any angle around the pin so is easy to navigate. There are actually two putting baskets, one next to hole 1 and another across the street in front of a dorm.
Cons: The course is on the university campus so it can be difficult to play when classes are in session. Parking can be especially difficult during the semester.
Other Thoughts: It's in the middle of nowhere but well worth a drive. There are pavilions and grills near the back nine so feel free to tailgate. Platteville offers some nice vistas. Make sure to check out the biggest M in the world!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/13/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DunbarTrout
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Forgiving par and good variety of elevation, different types of fairways, and difficulty. Great signs and excellent warm up putting pin. Goes from wide open shots to hilly shots to some technical tree shots.
Cons: Par may be set too forgiving for some players and the tee boxes seem a bit short and drop off a bit, difficult to get a good run up. Prairie comes into play on a few holes, pretty tough to find discs in.
Other Thoughts: WATCH OUT FOR WILD PARSNIP, signs warn about it, but be careful. May want to wear jeans. Good course, fun to play and really can boost your confidence! Putting pin has cement spots around it, getting further and further away from the pin called "around the world" goal of the game is to sink a putt from each station.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

6/1/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: WIpilot
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: All kinds of different types of holes. nice elevation change on a lot of the holes. Challenging when the trees grow there leaves. Great signage
Cons: some baskets are bent up. some of the tee pads are not level making it difficult to throw. some construction going on that interferes with a hole.
Other Thoughts: nice course overall. Wear your hiking boots.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Review

4/24/2008   4/24/2008
Review By: gordonn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Its got a little bit of every terrain; every hole is different. Holes aren't extremely long; good starter course.
Cons: Can get a little muddy when wet.
Other Thoughts: Slightly challenging course. Fairly open to wooded course. Must have many different shot types to do well.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.