Ithaca, NY 
Dotson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
-- / 290ft.   -- / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun little course

1    11/9/2013   12/11/2013
Review By: Akedos
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: Rubber flypads are cool (though not very level). The blue tees are fun to shoot from and require precision shots. The red pads reduce the need to make precision shots but keep the distance pretty similar to the blue tees. The final hole is just straight fun to throw from. The course was well maintained. The course was well maintained and very clean. The flow of the course was excellent, we didn't really need the map at all.
Cons: Only 9 holes is my biggest complaint. The fairway can get wet in spots, seems prone to flooding/rain. Lots of brush to lose a disc in.

Fun Little Course

2-4    10/19/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: ObiWayne
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well thought out. Each hole presents a different type of challenge and requires a variety of shots to do well. I loved throwing off the hill for holes 1 & 9. Hole #4 through the trees is just a pleasure. The park seemed to be made specifically for the disc golf course. There are no picnic tables, soccer fields or any signs of other activities to get in the way of your perfect throw, There are lots of signs of recent tree cutting to improve lanes, and brush clearing. A local group is obviously working hard to make this an even better course.
Cons: The mailbox was out of scorecards, so we just played for fun. Taking a picture of the course map with my phone, as recommended seemed unusual, but worked out well.
It might have been the time of day, but hole #7 shot directly into the bright sun, and was slightly more difficult to throw with my eyes closed.
Hole #5 through the woods had virtually no lanes to throw through. Some tree cutting here would be helpful. I don't know if that is in future plans or not.
Other Thoughts: You can clearly see the work that has been put into this course. We were told by a person we met there that they are currently working on adding more holes. If this gets a full 18 holes, it could be one of the premier courses in the area. It's not a long course by any means, but is a great place to bring the family to play in a pleasant country setting.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

9 hole course with an 18 hole course feel

1    8/27/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 79  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Two tees both with rubber flypads
- Signs for each of the holes (rare for a 9 hole course)
- Due to its location and play through some woods and fields with plenty of trees it feels like an 18 hole course just without 9 holes
- Each of the holes look different, Its not just a pitch and putt through a park
- The holes require you to throw hyzer as well as anhyzer throws as well as a couple of tunnel shots
- There are wooded and relatively open holes
- Many of the baskets are guarded with trees
- The course is very easy to navigate with a very good flow
- Hole 9 is an exciting drive from the top of a mound to a guarded basket over 300 feet from the tee. This is probably the best 9 hole course hole I have ever played
Cons: - I can see brush being a problem. Watch your discs carefully so you don't lose any
Other Thoughts: - The highest rating I give courses with less than 18 holes is a three and I believe this is the first sub 18 hole course I have given a three. For an are with relatively few disc golf courses at least Ithaca has a stellar 9 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: kmm241
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is my home course. week to week improvements (maps, consistent maintenance, more players, etc.) w/ potential for something bigger (refinement of existing 9 and growth to 18). very scenic and peaceful.
Other Thoughts: course development is in motion and moving along nicely.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice lanes

2-4    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course has some great lanes that allow you to find the aim your looking for. has good rubber tee pads for the long and short shots or if youd like to play for both for a alternate nine bcuz its only nine holes
Cons: very poor signage for direction just some pictures drawn on some rocks... but just have to open your eyes and look around
Other Thoughts: i would have given this course a better rateing if had some better directional but its still a very nice 9 hole course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Danby

5+    11/2/2011   2/2/2012
Review By: volkswagen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: more disc golf in the greater Discithaca region, fun 9 holer with 2 pads per, acouple of lefts, acouple a rights, acouple straights, well worth a stop, if your in the area
Cons: not many here, can be wet, grass can get tall but is in a out of the way "naturalist" park, so dont expect a manicured course
Other Thoughts: Tieing Dotson with Belle Sherman and Palmer Woods, you or a group of chuckers can have a fun little run of 9 holers

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 CUT THE BRUSH!!!

2-4    8/6/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: LSC player
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two tee pads is a plus.
-Map is reasonably accurate.
-Decent variety
Cons: -The grass is WWWWAAAAAYYYYY too tall. While playing with a friend we almost lost our discs in the middle of the fairway on several holes because the grass was 1.5-3ft tall.
-Underbrush is completely blocking the basket on hole 4 making it unplayable in my book.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much better. The layout is pretty cool. It could be way more fun to play if it was actually maintained. I'd give it a 3/5 if some SERIOUS TLC went into this course. Oh... almost forgot. Think it's either hole 7 or 8... watch out for your own car in the parking lot. You have to throw directly at it...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.