Disc Golf Store
Sacramento, CA 
Santa Anita Park Share
Uploaded By: woodstock Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 108ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Where Are The Horses?

2-4    8/25/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing, there's no horse manure anywhere. Oh, this isn't that Santa Anita? What this is is an almost perfect little pitch and putt course with holes length ranging from just over 100 feet to 150 feet. It's a pretty little grassy park with a creek running through it. The baskets are DGA with orange tape on them. The pads are natural with just a front board which works just perfectly here. The hole # is stencilled on the board.
This is just the ideal course for kids or beginners. The holes, although short, are well designed and feature some fun little ACE ops.
Cons: Other than it being short and just nine holes, I don't find any Cons with this little course.

Some nice elevation change would really put it over the top
Other Thoughts: I see a niche for these types of courses in our sport. There were four groups playing here this morning during the time I played my three rounds. If I lived close, I'd drop by constantly just for the ACE ops. I might actually get one to stick eventually.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 easy ace

2-4    6/10/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice and shady
-not too easy
-great for putting practice
Cons: -no tee signs
-dirt pads
-hard to find a few holes
Other Thoughts: Great putter course with a few challenging holes. hole 1 is kinda boring but other than that great putter practice

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 putt and approach

5+    1/18/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Sitzmann420
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great park for beginners
-perfect place to practice putt and approach shots
-clean and quiet
-never crowded
- a map of course at the beginning
-nice new basket
-picnic tables and room to relax and barbecue
-water plays on several holes
-free parking across street
Cons: -short course 9 hole but not very challenging
-On a few shots you need to shoot through pathways where people are sometimes walking


Other Thoughts: -Great course for beginners to learn how to play the game, yet a also its a great place for seasoned disc golfers to get an ace and practice vital putt and approach shots. Overall a nice and quaint little course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet!

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The park that the course is in is well kept, and quite beautiful.
- Very short, excellent for beginners. Every day is an Ace Race here!
- Enough obstacles to make it so that playing the course is not like having a portable basket in a field.
- A good amount of shade, so playing on a hot day is still enjoyable.
- You won't need to haul around your entire bag for this course, saving yourself some trouble. Bringing just a putter is plenty for here.
Cons: - Keep in mind that this is a youth course; it is very short. The holes are so short that they may deter some players.
- The course is tucked into a small entrance, next to a much bigger park. It's very easy to miss.
- While beautiful, this park is probably not a great candidate for night golf. The surrounding area looks like it may be kind of unsafe at night.
- If you've not been there before, the next tees are a little hard to find, since they're wooden boards placed just a little above the ground's surface level. Only an annoyance, really, not a serious issue.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable little course to hit in between classes. Every hole is aceable, except for maybe the last hole due to the low tree canopy.

This course is also a great course for kids - it's plenty challenging and introduces the ideas of working around obstacles, shot planning, and clearing hazards to them. For adults, it may not be challenging at all.

If you're over 13 years old, leave your drivers (heck, maybe even your mids) at home.

A nice little course, but I probably wouldn't go back. This seems more like a course suited for those who live immediately around the place.

Sum-up: Short, but the nicely-kept park makes up for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great starter course

5+    8/18/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept
Fun little course that only takes 15 min to finish
Decent obstacles
Good flow from one hole to the next, no need for a guide.
Cons: Short course
Never once seen the scorecards or maps that are supposed to be provided, empty containers
Never need to take out the driver :-(
Other Thoughts: This was my first course ever. Much like a first love, I'll never forget this course. Very beginner friendly, never crowded that I've seen.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome practice course

2-4    3/18/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: Dude Dudeson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout given the scope of the course and the available area.
Cons: - Not a "real" course, but this is not a "con", I say this only to alert people to what this place is.
Other Thoughts: Great place to practice your short/midrange game. Great place for newbies or kids. It is NOT a "flat grass park" with zero challenge. This is a real "miniature disc golf course". There are curves, slight elevation changes, and a creek running through the middle that you have to throw across. You can do 9 holes in 20 minutes here. You will not get any long range driving practice, but if you want to get many "shots per hour" this place simply can't be beat. Very, very good place to practice all your "under 100 foot shots".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/20/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good land use
clean city park not too crowded
new baskets
Cons: short pitch and putt course for kids
dirt tees
Other Thoughts: This is really nice for what it is. Don't come here and expect a challenge. None of the holes are even up to 200'. There is a creek that comes into play on one hole which is cool for a pitch and putt. There are elevation changes and plenty of mature trees as obstacles. My roommate and I played it through once and then played from each tee again going for further baskets. Those alternate 9 were a nice challenge and almost seemed intentional with decent distances, but did make me wish for better tees. There is a map on the bulletin board with distances listed. The tees are marked by a 3' piece of wood with a hole number and the word par.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice clean park. New baskets, Mach 5 I think.

Every tee shot is a possible ace
Cons: non really
Other Thoughts: this course plays short. I know this going in because I read it here on DG Course Review so it can't be a con. The only thing I wouild mention is the tee pads are 4 by 4's with the hole number painted on, I see that wearing off pretty quick. It would be super easy for some locals to get some more 4 bys and make longer tee pads. Overall a nice little quick play course. I would not go out of the way to play it but if your in the Arden Fair Mall, Cal Expo area go cehck it out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cool little course

1    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: woodstock
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to bring the kids out to. Its in a great park with a little creek running through it.
Very new with DGA baskets
Even if crowded, things move along quickly because its so short.
You can play these 9 holes in about 20 minutes.
Landscaped very nice, very picturesque.
Cons: No real cons.
Some people will for sure not like it because of the length, but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: This a great place to just kinda mess around.
Great for practice putting or ace contests.
I think they did a good job with the property they had to work with. Not a destination course but really alot of fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.