Disc Golf Store
Sacramento, CA
Santa Anita Park Share
Uploaded By: woodstock Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Short Putter

2-4    5/24/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shady, grassy park that makes for an enjoyable short course. Water winds through the course, although it's not much of a hazard, given the short hole lengths.
Cons: This is a practice course for an experienced player, as all the holes are very short. Nearby backyards on each side of the course keep the drives conservative by necessity.
Other Thoughts: If the water had been made a larger part of the hazards, my rating would be higher.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect starter

2-4    11/26/2013   11/28/2013
Review By: discsNmysons
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Perfect for us newbies. The baskets are open with little obstacles to contend with. Good for putting. Nice clean park. Good for walking and enjoying the day.
Cons: The kids that ride through here are on the bad side. Dont let your disc stay on the walkways. They go out of their way to run over or move your disc.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Where Are The Horses?

2-4    8/25/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing, there's no horse manure anywhere. Oh, this isn't that Santa Anita? What this is is an almost perfect little pitch and putt course with holes length ranging from just over 100 feet to 150 feet. It's a pretty little grassy park with a creek running through it. The baskets are DGA with orange tape on them. The pads are natural with just a front board which works just perfectly here. The hole # is stencilled on the board.
This is just the ideal course for kids or beginners. The holes, although short, are well designed and feature some fun little ACE ops.
Cons: Other than it being short and just nine holes, I don't find any Cons with this little course.

Some nice elevation change would really put it over the top
Other Thoughts: I see a niche for these types of courses in our sport. There were four groups playing here this morning during the time I played my three rounds. If I lived close, I'd drop by constantly just for the ACE ops. I might actually get one to stick eventually.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course For Beginners

5+    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: Micronaut
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pleasant atmosphere. Well landscaped. Trees provide shade. Each hole is different. A good balance of reasonable challenge, but not too much frustration. Basically, it's fun. It's a beginners course, and for that it is perfect.
Cons: Pedestrians walk along trail that winds through the park. Sometimes you have to wait for them to get out of the way. Once in a while inconsiderate people have picnics or birthday parties right on the fairway when they could easily do so in the park across the street. :-p Garbage cans aren't emptied all that frequently, and sometimes stink really bad. Hole 5's basket is mislabeled as 6. Hole 6's basket is missing its label. There are no actual tee pads, just dirt with toe boards. But you don't really need them, as you won't be x-stepping to throw these short distances.
Other Thoughts: This is the park where I started playing, and still the one where I play most often. Some of the other area parks, like John Mackey, are more challenging in terms of throwing distance, but few are as pleasant as this one. Mackey for instance, is kind of dried up and wide open. While this park is lush and green. And the holes are quite well designed to be interesting. It's a joy to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

easy ace

2-4    6/10/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice and shady
-not too easy
-great for putting practice
Cons: -no tee signs
-dirt pads
-hard to find a few holes
Other Thoughts: Great putter course with a few challenging holes. hole 1 is kinda boring but other than that great putter practice

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Near Perfect Youth Course

5+    6/11/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 29.9 Years
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a youth disc golf course and as such is near perfection. The setting is ideal, the holes are well thought out and perfect distance for children and practice. This course is well shaded with a small creek and can be played on a hot summer afternoon when many other courses are just too hot. This is a fun course for putt and approach.
Cons: This is NOT Shady Oaks, DeLaveaga, Condon, Golden Gate or anything resembling a Tournament Level Course. The holes are short and designed for children, but since it was built for children it is near perfect.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a long bomb course then this is not the course for you. If you have children or want to practice this really is an awesome little nine hole. It was put in by Boy Scouts and they did an excellent job in its design and layout. This park really never got much attention other than as a place for elderly walkers and bums, but since the construction of the course this has become a very well used park. This was definitly a win win for disc golf and the city.

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner Course

1    3/29/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: kwmowery
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to practice on increase your game!
I played with my driver for the fisrt hole and then switched to my mid and putter...shaded. great parking
Cons: because of the space available...they could have had a few holes on the other side of the road and stretch the course out...but the did the best they could in the space they had available...
Other Thoughts: Great place to take some one who is just learning the sport...I personally like this one. I will definitely frequent this one for practicing. We were the only ones there...My g/f and I saw a cone and said we will add this as an extra hole (10th hole) and she hit it with her first throw...I said it was luck cause she has only played 4 courses...but it was very impressive!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 putt and approach

5+    1/18/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Sitzmann420
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great park for beginners
-perfect place to practice putt and approach shots
-clean and quiet
-never crowded
- a map of course at the beginning
-nice new basket
-picnic tables and room to relax and barbecue
-water plays on several holes
-free parking across street
Cons: -short course 9 hole but not very challenging
-On a few shots you need to shoot through pathways where people are sometimes walking


Other Thoughts: -Great course for beginners to learn how to play the game, yet a also its a great place for seasoned disc golfers to get an ace and practice vital putt and approach shots. Overall a nice and quaint little course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

5+    1/3/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: martianmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners. This is my "home course", the one that my friend and I learned on. It is well maintained, nice scenery, some challenging shots around trees and trying to avoid the creek.

I can take my 5 year old with me to play and he loves it. I also enjoy it even though I have been playing more advanced courses. It is good for work on mid and putting. I usually play the entire course with a mid and a putter.
Cons: Short holes don't allow for any work on distance driving. There is an overprotective squirrel that "barks" at you on the Hole 3 Tee..... haha
Other Thoughts: This IS a youth course. It says so on the sign by hole 1. There is also a big park with 3 different level playgrounds across the street, so if you have kids, make a day of it. :)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, Easy, Putter Practice

1    12/6/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: Discology1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where else can you shoot 9 holes with 18 shots in 15 minutes??? Leave the bag at home for this one and just grab your putter! The layout is great considering how small the land area is, and the duration of a round is perfect for a lunch break. Despite the dimunitive size and length, the course includes nice trees, a creek, bridges, grass, and a nice path. There is a great use of the limited elevation changes, and each hole utilizes the tree placement pretty well providing some challenge. The baskets are newer DGA Mach 3, and the tees are worn dirt areas with a toe board - which makes perfect sense for a putting course because normally for putts you are in the dirt anyway. The course is easily navigable - just look for the tee patches - you won't need the map. The 3.5 rating takes into account that what I view as flaws are mostly deliberate and part of the design intent.
Cons: Nine holes instead of 18. Length is too short to be taken seriously. Definitely either a putting course (not a "pitch and putt") or a childrens course.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to take my 4 1/2 year old to this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.