Sacramento, CA
Santa Anita Park Share
Uploaded By: woodstock   (Taken 11/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Perfect DG Pitch n Putt

2-4    9/28/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're looking for quick practice, or to introduce a youngster or female to DG, this is your ticket! Totally unintimidating, yet possesses so many qualities I like in a DG course, including a great layout. My 3 year old and wife will have a blast here. Update: introduced this course to my now 4 yr old son, and he had a great time...he even carried the water with a sidearm flick on number 6!
Cons: Short, but that's what it's meant for.
Other Thoughts: Such a cute & charming little course. It would be neat to watch a kiddie tourney here. I came within inches of acing #3 & #5!
=================
Uniqueness: A (never seen anything like it)
Difficulty: C+ (flat, super-short, decent amount of trees)
Fun Factor: A- (ace opps abound, great practice)
Aesthetics: A (very pretty, clean, serene)
--------------------------
Overall: A-

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short and sweet!

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The park that the course is in is well kept, and quite beautiful.
- Very short, excellent for beginners. Every day is an Ace Race here!
- Enough obstacles to make it so that playing the course is not like having a portable basket in a field.
- A good amount of shade, so playing on a hot day is still enjoyable.
- You won't need to haul around your entire bag for this course, saving yourself some trouble. Bringing just a putter is plenty for here.
Cons: - Keep in mind that this is a youth course; it is very short. The holes are so short that they may deter some players.
- The course is tucked into a small entrance, next to a much bigger park. It's very easy to miss.
- While beautiful, this park is probably not a great candidate for night golf. The surrounding area looks like it may be kind of unsafe at night.
- If you've not been there before, the next tees are a little hard to find, since they're wooden boards placed just a little above the ground's surface level. Only an annoyance, really, not a serious issue.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable little course to hit in between classes. Every hole is aceable, except for maybe the last hole due to the low tree canopy.

This course is also a great course for kids - it's plenty challenging and introduces the ideas of working around obstacles, shot planning, and clearing hazards to them. For adults, it may not be challenging at all.

If you're over 13 years old, leave your drivers (heck, maybe even your mids) at home.

A nice little course, but I probably wouldn't go back. This seems more like a course suited for those who live immediately around the place.

Sum-up: Short, but the nicely-kept park makes up for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great starter course

5+    8/18/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept
Fun little course that only takes 15 min to finish
Decent obstacles
Good flow from one hole to the next, no need for a guide.
Cons: Short course
Never once seen the scorecards or maps that are supposed to be provided, empty containers
Never need to take out the driver :-(
Other Thoughts: This was my first course ever. Much like a first love, I'll never forget this course. Very beginner friendly, never crowded that I've seen.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kid and Beginner Friendly Course

5+    7/16/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access from city streets;
Quiet park setting;
Restrooms across the street with playground for the kids;
Lots of ace possibilities
Cons: Short course oriented towards youth-will not challenge the top dogs, but did I mention my kids love it?!
Other Thoughts: I love this course mainly because it is so kid friendly. All the holes are short...nothing more that about 180ft, but for me that opens up all kinds of possibilities for aces and to practice my approach game. For the kids, it means that they can reach the hole in a reasonable amount of throws. They also love #6 where they get to throw over the creek with minimal risk of a lost disc. Also great for introducing a beginner to the game. Well-maintained course that is very easy to follow. Created by a local Eagle Scout for his project. Lots of possibilities for alternate tees and "made up" holes. Watch for pedestrians on the path, but not usually an issue. We play this course multiple times whenever we are in Sacramento.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome practice course

2-4    3/18/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: Dude Dudeson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout given the scope of the course and the available area.
Cons: - Not a "real" course, but this is not a "con", I say this only to alert people to what this place is.
Other Thoughts: Great place to practice your short/midrange game. Great place for newbies or kids. It is NOT a "flat grass park" with zero challenge. This is a real "miniature disc golf course". There are curves, slight elevation changes, and a creek running through the middle that you have to throw across. You can do 9 holes in 20 minutes here. You will not get any long range driving practice, but if you want to get many "shots per hour" this place simply can't be beat. Very, very good place to practice all your "under 100 foot shots".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 novice course

5+    4/11/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i designed this course for kids and brand new discgolfers. there is a kids youth league thru the park district there that is generating alot of interest.
Cons: well we know the cons. if you are an experienced player, this course is only useful with putters. the district has there own park police that strictly enforce all park rules. and the park police headquarters is right across the street.
Other Thoughts: this park is bringing new interest to our sport from youths and alot of new women players. If you are new to the sport, this is a great place to learn how to play. for what it is, its a great lil park, and i built a safari into it also

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    4/8/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: RickBartucco14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course to boost your confidence. A few holes you have to get creative with throws, overall a great course to work on your short game.
Cons: The only con is the length other than that it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Every hole is a possible ace so that makes it fun to play also

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 YEAH!!!!!! PUTTER TIME!!!!!

1    1/28/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: Shuie
Played: 611  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice disc craft baskets
-the park is very pretty, has a nice creek that winds it way thru the course.
- all holes are ace runs
-decent course to get kids involved in the sport
Cons: -tees are posts in the ground
-no tee signs
-i understand that this is a kids course but none of the holes broke 200' used my wizard the entire time.
Other Thoughts: No one was on the course when I played the second time around we played a safari type round where winner of the hole got to pick the next tee of shot, That made the round quite fun.... Would be great course to do a glow round on. This course is a One and Done for most of us DGCR's

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Youth Course

1    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: The Goodguy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beatiful park, nice creek/bridges, good groundcover
Nice variety of trees, young and old, large and small.
Holes were created with thought behind them, most require strategy and a decent throw.
I was the only one playing at 1 PM on a beautiful Sundy afternoon, this gives you the opportunity to throw multiple discs and shoot for alternate baskets . ( I created my on course on my way back to my car.)
Parking shouldn't be an issue with a parking lot right across the street at Howe Park.
Nice Baskets
Very very good looking, very very new
Cons: Too short to truely enjoy for anyone over 12.
Fairly heavy pedestrian traffic through park.
Dirt tees (mud ones in Dec).
No Tee Signs.
Some unDesirables hanging out at the tables by the tee for hole one and in the parking lot (but is it a park experience in Sacramento without some)
Other Thoughts: This course was hard to grade, the lack of distance makes it a place to take the kids or fart around at if you are in the area.
However it is very nice and set up like a REALLY good 9 hole course, just 1/3 scale.
Heavy play at this course would improve medium to short game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/20/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good land use
clean city park not too crowded
new baskets
Cons: short pitch and putt course for kids
dirt tees
Other Thoughts: This is really nice for what it is. Don't come here and expect a challenge. None of the holes are even up to 200'. There is a creek that comes into play on one hole which is cool for a pitch and putt. There are elevation changes and plenty of mature trees as obstacles. My roommate and I played it through once and then played from each tee again going for further baskets. Those alternate 9 were a nice challenge and almost seemed intentional with decent distances, but did make me wish for better tees. There is a map on the bulletin board with distances listed. The tees are marked by a 3' piece of wood with a hole number and the word par.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.