College Place, WA 
Jenda Jones Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: wallawallathrower Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It's Much Better Than A Zero!

1    5/27/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jenda Jones Memorial DGC is on the grounds of the Rogers School and the Walla Walla Academy. Granted these are large expanses of green grassy lawns. Reminds me of the drive getting here from the Tri-Cities. So the course is most definitely lacking in the wow and pizzazz factor. But with that being said, the designers probably did the most with what they had here. They sprang for nice Innova baskets. They over-spent on the 10 foot across round teepads with the # painted on the first nine of them. I wanted to toss a couple of my drives discus style. There are a lots of basic ACE runs. Only two holes play over 280'.

# 13 gets my vote as the signature hole on this course, and it's not a standout on most courses. It's 237' with a slight hyser, over a small storage building, then over a firepit to a basket semi-guarded by a willow tree.
Cons: There are many holes where you are just throwing 200' to 300' across a lawn to an open basket. A few do have OB on one side. I think I was lucky to throw one evening when the wind was calm. There is one pretty bad course directional flow going on after the #15 basket when you have to walk straight back down the fairway??? to the # 16 tee circle.
Other Thoughts: I think the previous two reviewers (both of whom I know and respect very much) were unduly harsh with their zero ratings here. For me, a zero rating goes to a course that is either dangerous or completely unplayable, one that I would never return to. This course is certainly blah and mostly boring but I can see it getting some occasional play from certain select players. I understand that this is not a course for advanced to pro players. But I believe that even the average intermediate/rec type player from Walla Walla would come over occasionally and play, just for a change of pace. If I lived in WaWa, I'd play it a couple of times a year since there's only one other course for so many miles around.

And I believe with it's average length of probably 200', it's pretty well geared for P.E. classes or intramural play? Or a place to bring the family or the girlfriend or that newbie!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 blah-ness

1    5/1/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Yup, 'blah' pretty much says it all - this park is nearly completely open and offers little to no challenge except for a few longer holes and a high wind-factor. After playing two or three holes, you pretty much get the full course experience. Having said this, I'd have to recommend everyone play the hole that is just in front of the nearby soccer net which acts as a nice corral for your ace runs, leaving only a 15-20 footer unless you happen to squeeze through the net.
Cons: Challenge: You can probably count the number of trees that come into play on your hand. Most of these even are very new plantings and do not pose any serious challenge or force players to shape shots in the least. Unfortunately, this course will be WIDE open and pretty boring for years to come until these little guys grow up.

Navigation: Because ALL of the 17 baskets (and practice basket) are visible at the same time, it can be quite difficult to know where to head next. Do you really need to know where to head next? Not especially, throwing to pretty much any basket offers the same experience of wide open blah.
Other Thoughts: Really, the course isn't worth a stop even for complete new players, families, etc. - just play the front nine holes over at the Fort Walla Walla course in town and you'll likely have a much more enjoyable time.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Open Field DGC

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well there aren't many redeeming qualities to this course, I'll start out with that but there are some good things. The baskets are all in excellent shape and the course does use outside rough and neighbors yards as out of bounds. I really like the grippy, circular tee pads put in that let you approach the hole from many different angles although at a course this wide open and straight forward it really isn't needed. There are only a couple of trees but at least the course uses them as much as it could. The biggest problem isn't the design of the course, it's the property used which is sad to say horrible for a disc golf course. I suppose if you like driving practice this should be a good place for you to go and the course should be empty.
Cons: The course is wide open, straight forward and boring. There just isn't anything that's going to make this course fun or challenge you and most holes are the same throw and the same score over and over again which gets very old, very fast. It's tough to know exactly which basket you are supposed to be throwing from when you are at the tee pad because you can see as many as seven baskets in the big open field and the hole number on the DISCatchers isn't big or bright enough to read.
Other Thoughts: This place is located only five minutes from the Fort Walla Walla course and if that place gets too busy this is the only other place in town for disc golf so if you are desperate you could come here and work on driving distance or putting practice. I say skip this place and play a couple of rounds at Fort Walla Walla instead unless you are a course bagger and need to get one more under your belt.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center