Cottonwood, AZ 
Cottonwood Riverfront Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Skizot Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / --   3 / 225ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful and challenging

5+    4/11/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: skydivestarr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge amount of variety in scenery and
shot types from hole to hole. Some are wide open, but most are snaking through trees.
-You will need to use a variety of discs for all the different shots this challenging course can present.
-All the tee pads are now either rubber or cement.
-Multiple pin locations offer variety for the regular players
-There is a practice basket next to the parking lot before hole #1. Great way to warm up with out being in the way.
-Well kept grounds but still feels natural.
-Free parking and play
Cons: -Navigation from a couple of the holes can be a little confusing your first time here.
Other Thoughts: -A weekly league of guys ranging from pros to beginners, play here regularly and make you feel very welcome.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good desert disc!

1    9/9/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: klassikstile
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Good variation in hole lengths and decent hole signage. Nice baskets.
Pretty well laid out course, though there is some criss-crossing that happens which can get a little confusing.
Cons: Missing some tee pad signs and pointers to the next tee, as they are not always obvious. Also, difficult to find hole #1 if you haven't been there before (I updated the directions on the overview page).
Other Thoughts: Being from Oregon I play mostly lush, grassy courses, but this desert course was extremely fun and enjoyable to play! Bring lots of water!

Great Course--

5+    6/11/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in a Riparian area by the Verde River and is extremely beautiful. Walking the course is like taking a a nature walk at at a National Park.
You have 18 baksets, a significant upgrade from the 9 which used to be there.
There are many varied shots to be made. It's a very nice change from all the courses in Phoenix because you have a lot of trees to deal with and there is SHADE (wow what a concept!)
The designers did a terriffic job including this course in an existing park without intruding on any of the other areas in the park.
Cons: My first time at this course I bemoaned the tee pads. Well, I just went back yesterday and they have a mix of concrete pads (4 or 5 tees) and rubber mats. These are all such a big improvement over the old tees. I can not stress enough how much more fun this makes this course.
Now this course doesn't really have cons--maybe just a little bit of dirt--but if you can't take a little dirt--DON'T DISC!!
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course and look forward to doing so again.
This is a course I plan on making the hour and half journey to play again. Great job on keeping up improvements Cottonwood!!
If you find yourself in the Cottonwood area do yourself a favor and play this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/27/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: rama77
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, cant wait to see the full 18. Good variety. Loved hole 3, basket perfectly circled by trees yet still reachable in two.
Cons: Only 9. Lots of red ants. Im sure it can be too hot in summer months.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Challenging, Fun

5+    3/31/2012   3/31/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This looker of a course is situated among a cottonwood tree grove, bordered on one side by a sport complex, and stream on the other. The ground is often times sand, usually around the tees and pins.

Signage was great! Had photos of the hole layout marking the tees and pins, as well as the location of the next tee.

The layout provides you with the opportunity to utilize many different throws and discs. It demands great accuracy with shots from the tee through small windows. Although it's not supremely original, the variety is well above average - 7/10.

In the current layout, Holes 8, 14, & 16 are standouts!

Plenty of parking, plenty of shade, garbage receptacles, Next Tee signs, wood benches (at roughly half the tees). There's been a huge effort here over the last few months to clean up the clutter and debris that used to plague the course. It's looking great!
Cons: LOTS of red ants throughout. So be careful where you set your bag/gear/self down.

You have to be wary of pedestrian traffic here as people from the nearby athletic complex and State Park can find themselves meandering down the paths that criss-cross this course. Heads up!

Holes 9 thru 12 can get repetitive as they're similar in the shot you'll throw from the tee. Each of them between 185-210ft, and is a straight throw or one that bends slightly to the right. But in all honesty, I love an Ace Run or two!

The tee pads are weak and don't give you much confidence. Most of them are natural, while a few are concrete, and the rest rubber. The tees are easily the weakest part of this course.
Other Thoughts: The difficulty is definitely something they had in mind when completing this 18 hole course. Only a couple wide open holes, the rest of them will punish errant drives with their narrow fairways or multitude of bushes and trees to block your way to the chains.

This course is very solid with the potential to rival the best of Flagstaff. What it lacks in elevation change, makes up with clever new layout. The riparian environment is beautiful and raw. I believe this could be a destination course with a few improvements (more interesting layout, more holes, tee-pads, etc)

I love that the 89A is nearby. That road is brilliant!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Cottonwood Park

5+    7/1/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Skizot
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: New 18 hole layout. Has lots of challenging tunnels and a couple holes you can open the cannon on. Fun course, but the Arizona heat makes it a tough course to want to play in the Summer months
Cons: Was confused @ hole 17, because that was the old hole 1, only took me 10 minutes to find Teepad #1 and it actually let me get 2 practice holes in before I started my round.
Other Thoughts: LOTS OF RED ANTS!!!!! BRING LOTS OF WATER!!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  cottonwood river front park

1    2/10/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: luke51
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: it has potential to be nice course but it needs alot of work I hope monies will be available
Cons: this course is a work in progress, very rough , tee boxes are not in good condition. there are too many dead trees which hinder play.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.