Fort Lee, VA 
Fort Lee Rec. Park Share
Uploaded By: blackmamba5490 Hole #16 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
FT LEE

5+    2/23/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: zewski12
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: -Not too difficult to navigate, there are signs with hole info but no map.
-Kind of course the you can test out your arm strength.
-Wide open course if thats your thing.
Cons: -I got bored with this course very quickly, nothing spectacular about it.
-No difficult, or unique holes.
Other Thoughts: I was stationed at Fort Lee so it was nice to be able to play right on base but otherwise i would not have played this course more than once. But it is nice to see that the military is supportive of our sport. this is the second course ive seen on a base neither were great but they are there which is better than nothing.

 BK Lounge

1    3/31/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Having a Burger King within a disc's throw of basket-5, and not too far from baskets 9 and 18, is quite convenient.

Baskets and signs in good shape.
Cons:
Roads, walking paths, parking lots, fences possibly come into play on a number of the holes.
Other Thoughts:
The course is located in sections of open space located between crossroads, and near athletic fields, of a military base. The course uses what little elevation changes and obstacles (scattered large trees) that it has, but it is fairly flat and open. The first five holes are a bit jammed together, with some definite cross-fairway potential, and, ignoring number-7, the front nine averages ~250' in length. The newer back nine is much more spread out, and the holes are longer than those on the front, maybe by 75'~100'. The increase in trees forces some shot-shaping, but the back continues the flat theme.

The map is quite good for navigating the front nine. Until/unless someone creates a map of the back nine, the white-painted spoke on a basket will point you in the direction of the next tee. From tee-9, if you look towards the hardwoods to your right, you may see basket-18. Tee-10 is located to the right of basket-9, and basket-10 is towards the corner where right-field and the track meet, so you end up throwing across fairway-8. From basket-10, the course runs in more-or-less a counterclockwise fashion, crossing roads a few times

Teesigns and flush-to-ground coloured boards will identify the natural tee locations. Holes 14 and 18 have two tees. The lengths from the short tees are similar to the remainder of the holes, while the two longs tees add a lot of length.

If accuracy from 300' and in is your strength, you should have a few ace runs and multiple birdy chances, as nearly all the holes fit that description. Quite suitable for beginners.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little GI Course

5+    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course. Good signs. Great atmosphere, right next to a park full of activities for families. A skate park with batting cages and a rock wall for climbing is right beside the course. New baskets. Good layout. Good amenities. No chance for lost discs.
Cons: Short course front nine. Not easy to follow and the flow stops and starts. Could use a map to follow the flow from one basket to the next tee. Wide open with a few exceptions, no woods at all, just a few trees.
Other Thoughts: Really not much to say, but to tell you guys I was very surprised by what I found. My expectations were low so the course benefitted from that. Short enough for beginners, yet not enough to be a breeze even for good players. With a good wind (which we did have to deal with) each hole was challenging enough to be fun, but not tough if you're experienced. Some baskets were right out in front of your view with just enough trees to make it interesting while some holes had cool aspects to them that helped them stand out. #2 sat on a hill that ensured your approach or drive had to land just right or you could face a long roll over the side. #4 was placed in the middle of a group of trees that made the hole a lot of fun. Each hole has a sign next to the tee so if you get lost, look around for the next sign, and that will help you find your way to the next tee. The tee (They are yellow boards in the ground) for #5 is back down the hill from #4's basket and has you walking toward #3's basket. #6's tee is behind the skate park so walk around and you'll find it. Be advised you can't get on base without authorization and even as a guest you need ID. There is a Burger King right near the 8 and 9 holes which is great for a meal or a restroom break! If playing while the skate park is open, like we did, the park and rec staff have music playing which made the experience even more fun! How many DG courses come with a soundtrack! A short course but a lot of fun, I hope they add nine more soon. If it had a full 18 it would easily raise the score to 3, but as it stands now, its not quite there despite the fun.

3/28/2011 Update:
Correction to my review, I have been told that Ft Lee is an OPEN base. Even without a military sticker, any car can get on base as long as they pull aside and show a valid Driver's license, registration and insurance. This will help any civilians enjoy this great small course as well. Don't let the base keep you from giving this a try!

Course Update: 8/7/11 The back nine are in place! I stated earlier that if this course had a full 18 it would rate a 3! Well I am a man of my word. But more important this course deserves the full 3 now. The back nine are increased in difficulty. This is done by making the holes longer, more use of tress to make the drives harder and clever use of out of bounds on about three of the holes. Once again the flow is hard to follow, but the designer has spray painted a spoke at the bottom of the baskets (white) to point the way to next tee box (Tees are boards in the ground, back nine painted red rather than the yellow of the front nine). Not too easy to follow, but not as impossible as some courses. The back nine flows around and behind the jogging track. Great addition and a really fun (full 18) course now not far from White Bank in Colonial Heights. Make a day and play both!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    11/5/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tee signs with par and distance
- Toe boards for defined tee areas
- Good use of land and natural obstacles
- Variety of lengths for only 9 holes
- Navigation aids where needed
Cons: - Only one player level
- No course koisk with map or scorecards
Other Thoughts: The course is part of a rec park that includes a skate park, batting cages, and a climbing wall. There is only street parking near the start of the course(not that it was an issue) but there is a parking lot near the 9th hole.

The tees are natural with toe boards and tee signs. They were in great shape and the signs had both par and distance on them. The baskets are nice new looking discatchers which were also numbered. There wasn't a koisk with a map so after a little basket # checking we found that one starts near the corner of carver and mohone. The first couple holes are wide open and make you think the course will be short, but then after that it surprises you with a couple mildly wooded holes, and few longer holes and finishes with a nicely placed pin guarded by two trees. This course makes great use of the land it's on and even gives some variety with the distances. Holes 2 and 4 even have a small bit of elevation. This course is fairly open on most holes so some more experienced players might find it lacking, but this could be a great course for beginners. The course areas were well groomed as well and loosing a disc would be hard. There are no other frills about the course and I don't recall seeing a bathroom but Burger King is really close by.

I kinda expected this course to be a bit more pitch and putt but then was surprised with it's well rounded hole selection. Heard they might consider another 9 holes but i'm not sure were they would go. I wouldn't say it's worth going out of your way to play but if your close and can get on base then why not.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.