Midland, MI 
Chippewa Banks Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #9 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Loved it

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Nice layout, very diverse, challenging in different ways from hole to hole. Best course in the Saginaw/Midland area in my opinion. Guy set up at #1 tee selling new and used discs for really fair $$. No problems finding next tee.
Cons: A little too quick and short. Signage not the greatest, a lot of loose trash around tees, tall grass can hide your disc when you fly just out of fairway on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I played this on a weekday afternoon and didnt have to deal with weekend traffic, I can see where it could be a problem when the course is busier. First 7 or 8 holes where suited well for a right handed newbie like me and the rest were still very playable. Had a great round with very few negatives.

  pretty good course

5+    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: nik is best
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: many differences from hole to hole and many, many challenges. fun time playing and a very beautiful course
Cons: a lot of trash left from the college kids. you lose your disk pretty easily. a little too compact of a course for me

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 wonderful course

2-4    8/11/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: midmittendgfiend
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: debatably my favorite course. its a perfect mix between memorial park in frankenmuth and in freeland so that makes it awesome
Cons: trash everywhere. but oh well. they should just put more trash barrels at the holes.
Other Thoughts: this place is just great

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 keeps me coming back...

5+    7/15/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge your game. There are trees practically everywhere, forcing you to make solid drives, approaches, and putts for pro par. A great mix of long straights and left and right doglegs. A very complete course for your entire bag.

There's also a guy who sells a great selection of discs out of his car some days. And usually, there's a bum who keeps the bottles and trash cleaned up.
Cons: There are several opportunities to lose discs out here. I've lost the most on this course. A bad throw puts it in deep woods, deep grasses, and even deep water over the back of some holes.

It can get kind of busy during the afternoon to night and you get people wandering through the fairways sometimes.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course that's fairly close to home. There's a party store about a mile up the main road that sells discs, too. Definitely worth a few rounds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 86  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2008
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course featuring lots of variety and quite challenging,good mix of accuracy and big rips,signs make the course easy to find,cement tee pads,porta pottie on course,fairly easy to navigate,some minor elevation changes,
Cons: Course was pretty busy when I was there however not many casual players so things moved pretty good,don't remember any cons,
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend playing this course I really enjoyed it

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Chippewa Banks

5+    8/29/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a lot of variety. All the holes are a good distances, in which you need to use your driver, and the one that are a little shorter they have a dog leg in them through the woods. I have played this course many times and it is never boring and always a challenge. I have gotten 3 on every hole at least once so it is possible to par this course.
Cons: If you have never been to this course it could be hard to navigate. I will post a map and score card as links on this course's web page to help people out. Some of the sign at the tee boxes are missing and there is sometime trash around. Every time I have been to this course there are other people there, so it can get a busy at times, but everyone I have met has been friendly and helpful.
Other Thoughts: This course really changes with the seasons; it is a lot easier in the spring and fall when there are no leaves on the trees or bushes. Holes 1-6 are fairly open not much to hit but a few big trees in the way. Holes 7-10 are tight shots through the woods. Holes 11-14 are open shots again, not much to hit but large trees and some large bushes. The large bushes are deceiving they will eat your disc. Hole 15, I know a lot of people have Aced, it is 215 FT strait tight shot with a little right fade at the end. Hole 16 is a sharp left dog leg; I recommend just tomahawking the disc over the trees to the basket. Hole 17 is a tight strait shot, but a disc eater, and 18 is long hole with a rather large tree commanding the middle of the fairway. This is a great course, if you're ever in the Midland area I would definitely play this, it is one of my favorites.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.