Midland, MI 
Chippewa Banks Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
shaq needs icy hot, this place is cramped!

1    11/20/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays as part of a very large complex. area is dg exclusive but I'm sure that there are some non-dg'ers who will be around...

teepads--long and in great shape. concrete.

Teesigns-- wonderful, the best of the day by far. very colorful and even shows the basic layout of the next hole...

Baskets--older DGA's but in good shape. double chained.

Length-- I was shocked at how much dg was shoved into this little space. none of the fairways intersect or are even close to one another. crazy well designed!

Pin placement-- reasonable. I liked how a lot of the pins are somewhat buried in trees, makes the approach so much more interesting.

Length variety-- there is plenty of length variety here. short and long are evenly represented.
Cons:
Variety-- ho-hum after #7. there aren't any memorable holes... but at the same time, there aren't any throwaway holes here either. just not all that inspired.

garbage--a ton of garbage here. I'm sure with some more garbage cans, this place might be cleaner? but I'm not sure.

the stink of dow-- yep, this place stinks from the chemical plant. you get used to it after a while but is that really something you want to get used to??
Other Thoughts:
amazing the use of space here. I would be willing to bet you could fit another 6 holes here the way it's laid out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Flat, straightforward, and getting better?

5+    9/3/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 8/9/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Easy to navigate with the exception of hole 7/18's tee placement
+ Because the course wraps counterclockwise, it is a good place for RHBH and straight shots
+ Surprisingly the teepads are all intact
+ New course sign and tee markers
+ 18 full holes to play between Sanford and Freeland, so a good course to add in when playing either of those courses
+ Deliberate fairway designs with minimally rough OBs
+ Good parking and there's usually a portajohn on site
+ Open year round
Cons: - Repetitive and unimaginative layout, not much variety
- Vandalism
- Flat, but not much you can do about that
- Buggy
- When it's muddy, it stays muddy for a long time
Other Thoughts: Midland stepped up a little bit and revitalized this course with a new course sign and tee markers over the past year. It's a bit nicer now. This summer (2013) they did a good job with the addition of wood chips around the pins, though the grass hasn't been mowed since the spring (and it's August now). Disc golf can't be priority #1 for every parks department, though, and the important thing is that this is a decent 18-hole course in a good location. Overall, it's pretty typical. It slightly favors RHBH (like most others around) with longer hole lengths than Freeland, but it's more repetitive and I easily get bored here after hole 6. There are longer courses nearby, nicer ones, and all the nearby courses have better layout/design.

After a year of playing this course, I can easily say it's my least favorite course around. It's just a bit boring. It's also quite often trashed, unfortunately. The best part about Chippewa Banks, though, is that it's easy to navigate and a good place for RHBH beginners. The layout combined with the fact that the OB/rough areas are pretty forgiving make Midland a good stepping stone for new throwers from the easier but bigger course, Memorial Park in Frankenmuth to more challenging courses in the area (Sanford and Wickes Woods). Intermediate level throwers will appreciate a few of the better designed holes, but won't find much of a challenge and will likely get bored.

Thanks for reading!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Nice layout, very diverse, challenging in different ways from hole to hole. Best course in the Saginaw/Midland area in my opinion. Guy set up at #1 tee selling new and used discs for really fair $$. No problems finding next tee.
Cons: A little too quick and short. Signage not the greatest, a lot of loose trash around tees, tall grass can hide your disc when you fly just out of fairway on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: I played this on a weekday afternoon and didnt have to deal with weekend traffic, I can see where it could be a problem when the course is busier. First 7 or 8 holes where suited well for a right handed newbie like me and the rest were still very playable. Had a great round with very few negatives.

 A missing phone and a body found int he river.

1    7/21/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Signs have Hole #, Distance, Par, and a map of the hole. Virtually everything needed for me to give the sign a thumbs up.
2) Very challenging tight and technical course. I always prefer a challenge over a simple walk in the park. You really need to hit your lines in order to do well here too.
3) There is a portopotty behind #1 basket, a picnic table by the first tee, a kiosk with information about the local scene.
4) Plenty of garbage cans around the course. These do not keep all of the garbage from being thrown around, but overall there are plenty of opportunities for people to toss their trash in an appropriate spot.
5) There are plenty of nice mature trees here . . . they may be surrounded by some less desirable trees and underbrush, but the framework of a nicely wooded course is there on some of the holes. There also is a good variety in the density of the trees.
6) Nice rolling terrain . . .while it doesn't go up or down more than 10' they use the subtle terrain changes well to make some fun shots.
7) Shot variety here is great. There are a couple air it out shots, some tight turning woods shots (both directions) and then the moderately open holes where you need to work around just a couple trees. You can pick your line on some holes and are forced to throw a particular shot on others. This leads to never getting bored with your shot.
8) Dual concrete tees on some holes are always a plus.
Cons: 1) Distance variation is somewhat lacking. Most holes are in the mid 200's to 300's. A few outliers, but no really short aceruns and many holes play about the same distance.
2) There are plenty of rough areas you really need to avoid. The underbrush can be punishing and can force you to toss out on occasion. Stay on the fairway if you know what is good for you, but some of the fairways are super tight.
3) There are a lot of worn out areas on this course. It is going to happen in this dense of woods, when everyone walks in the same place, and also at different times of year I would imagine the ground remains wet. Coming out of winter would be especially hard on the turf here as the frost comes out of the ground.
4) Vandalism and littering seems to be a common thing here . . . I even saw that at one point or another, someone burned down the portopotty . . . there was melted blue plastic all around the current toilet. Who would really want to smell a burning porto?
5) The middle of the course is a little repetitive because it is hole after hole of tight tunnel through a densely underbrushed forest. That is what the property provided, but sometimes it is nice to mix it up if at all possible.
6) This course is far from being beginner friendly because of the thick underbrush in spots.
Other Thoughts: I hope very much that the person who lost their cell phone on the course wasn't kidnapped, raped, or killed. Their phone was locked and it seemed like it had been used for an emergency. I tried to unlock it, in fact I thought there was an incoming call and I tried to answer it but could not. It was just a little suspicious. I told a gentleman who was helping setup and tear down for a 5K race and I think he went over to grab that phone that we had left on the picnic table by #1. I have since done some research and found some stories about a missing person report that was filed eventually leading to the discovery of a body in the river. This is so eery, I am going to have to call the Police Department tomorrow to tell them of this strange occurrence. I guess it tells me if I am ever suspicious of anything happening just call the police immediately. I know in this case it wouldn't have stopped a crime (if in fact this is the same woman who lost the phone) but perhaps it would have helped them figure it out. I bet no one else has a story like this in their course review!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: variety of turns for many different shots.
has long and shot distance holes.
baskets well kept.
large tee pads in good condition.
easy to find your way around if you play more than once.
Cons: sometimes it has trash all over.
large groups of drunks that wont let you play through.
Other Thoughts: it is a great course to practice all kind of shots and the variety of holes is good.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    10/4/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: TheGame
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course that has a nice variety of holes that will make you throw different. This course will challenge you and give you a few easy holes.
Cons: Groups of disrespectful kids have dumped over garbage cans, destroyed the signs and the cages.Just last week some morons decided to remove the cage from hole 13. The course is constantly a mess. I have heard of people parking on the side of the road waiting for people to throw and they run out, grab your disc and drive off with it... luckily for them I have yet to see this.
Other Thoughts: Thank you for everyone that found the cage for 13 and put it back in place. Its people like you that keep Disc Golf enjoyable.
This is a fun course to play... just have to go early to avoid the multiple idiots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  ok

2-4    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: pistons_fan32
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good varity of shots. vary fast couase
Cons: not many signs and if there was any they sucked. dics always justt bounce out of the basket. they seem smaller then most. some holes run in to each other
Other Thoughts: other then that good couse just need some tlc

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-good variety.
-nothing too difficult, would be a good beginner course.
-nice tee pads. maybe the biggest I've seen
-a local guy showed me a few holes and gave a bit of helpful advice. a group of 4 let my group of 2 play through.
Cons:
-lack of signage and some navigation issues because of it. without a local telling me where to go I probably would have started on hole 5 and then went from 6 right to 18.
-pretty easy. maybe 2 shots where the basket isn't right in front of you.
-trash all over
-I didn't like something about the atmosphere of the place. can't really put my finger on it but it was just lacking in the "fun factor"
Other Thoughts: I can't really name anything terrible about it but also there is nothing that makes me want to go back. pretty average course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No Boots Required.

5+    1/10/2012   6/14/2011
Review By: Dogleg2rt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - cement pads
- scenic views on the river
- forgiving holes up front
- no holes too perplexing or unreachable w good shots
- "Air It Out" holes in the back
Cons: - signage mostly gone or destroyed
- only narrow fairway mowed, much tall grass
- trash prevelant
- many recreational users and large parties at peak times
- very unversed recreational groups in slow play and ettiquete.
Other Thoughts: Course In pretty damn good shape, considering...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for the River!

1    4/23/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It had a nice variety of shots and was pretty easy to navigate the course. Good tee pads.
Cons: It isn't kept up very well and a lot of litter was present. Quite a few shots that run near a deep river. If your disc goes in that, it is gone.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.