Midland, MI 
Chippewa Banks Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 from the top of the steps



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Barren Without Bloom

1    10/31/2010   3/20/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Deft course layout. This course designer must have had a packaging degree. This is a small plot of land that could lend itself to crossing fairways and crowded tees for many trying to fit in 18 holes. Although some fairways run parallel to each other, the foliage provides great definition, and only one basket-to-tee path could prove confusing.

Surprisingly long distances. Half the holes are 300' or greater, and not one comes in under 200'. Cement tees help you make the most of your drives.

Accuracy required. The rough is pretty unforgiving, and full foliage makes for a lot of rough. On a few holes a shanked drive can (and probably will) blow through the brush and land in the Chippewa River.

Excellent blend of right/left and blind/open shots, with some very tight fairways included. Growth is a mix of large sprawling trees creating fat curving lanes with low ceilings, and groups of dense woody brush cutting off whole flight paths entirely.
Cons:
The presence of leaf-only vegetation means that this course is completely different before/after summer. I played it at the end of October, and I found it a very easy course. I could see how the foliage would make this course a challenge, but without it, it was quite a bore.

Replacing the shoddy dilapidated signage, and including some next tee signs in critical spots would noticeably improve game play.

No elevation. No direct water hazards.
Other Thoughts:
Given what land they had available, I can't see much to be done to improve the layout. The distances are fantastic, and you can make a 6 hole or 12 hole alternate loops if time is short.

There is another access into the course about halfway through the course. The parking lot to use is not clearly marked for disc golf, so I first tried to enter here. For the main entrance, look for the course kiosk across from the parking lot.

I really would suggest you play this course May-September only, as the lack of leafy bloom renders this course barren of challenge.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: toxicgolfer
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As many have expressed already, the course is definetly plotted out well to maximize the use of the land. The shot variation from hole to hole is nice and the trees throughout are sure to mess with every shot (drives and approaches alike). I was also glad to see that they at least attempted to use signage throughout the course (see my review of Tittabawassee Trail).
Cons: 1) As much as they tried to use signage, the locals have vandalized or removed much of them. This doesn't pose too much of a problem except for a few holes where the basket is hidden and the path forks. Also, after hole 6, if you don't pay attention, you can easily end up on hole 18. You must follow the path along the river instead. (-0.5 points)

2) The trash was pretty bad. There were only a couple garbage cans througout the course. Easy fix. (-0.5 points)

3) Lack of elevation changes. I know this isn't the fault of the designers, however, a "perfect" course would have a nice variation of this. (-0.5 points)
Other Thoughts: This course was fairly well maintained and the foliage along the sides of the fairway were not too thick to find discs. I would suggest using a spotter on a few holes if you are playing with someone. However I played alone and didn't lose anything.

I also played at 8AM so I didn't experience the foot traffic that others have complained about.

Overall, very nice course with a nice atmosphere and not overly challenging. Also pretty easy to find. I would recommend it to anyone passing through.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  pretty good course

5+    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: nik is best
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: many differences from hole to hole and many, many challenges. fun time playing and a very beautiful course
Cons: a lot of trash left from the college kids. you lose your disk pretty easily. a little too compact of a course for me

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 wonderful course

2-4    8/11/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: midmittendgfiend
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: debatably my favorite course. its a perfect mix between memorial park in frankenmuth and in freeland so that makes it awesome
Cons: trash everywhere. but oh well. they should just put more trash barrels at the holes.
Other Thoughts: this place is just great

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oh The Locals

5+    8/25/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: JohnnyShoes
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mix of long and short, left and right with trees everywhere makes this course challenging.
Cons: Oh The Locals. There is a college near by, and a lot of the students have taken it upon themselves to dump over garbage cans, uproot signage and even the cages. The course is constantly a mess and full of mob golfers not letting groups through.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hard course to play. But it is also a fun course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 keeps me coming back...

5+    7/15/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge your game. There are trees practically everywhere, forcing you to make solid drives, approaches, and putts for pro par. A great mix of long straights and left and right doglegs. A very complete course for your entire bag.

There's also a guy who sells a great selection of discs out of his car some days. And usually, there's a bum who keeps the bottles and trash cleaned up.
Cons: There are several opportunities to lose discs out here. I've lost the most on this course. A bad throw puts it in deep woods, deep grasses, and even deep water over the back of some holes.

It can get kind of busy during the afternoon to night and you get people wandering through the fairways sometimes.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course that's fairly close to home. There's a party store about a mile up the main road that sells discs, too. Definitely worth a few rounds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun

5+    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Brentster64
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very easy to find your way around. Tees are nice. Very well layed out and entertaining. Plus a bum that comes around and keeps all the bottles and cans up for you.
Cons: Need to cut the grass more often and the mesquitos are gettin really bad. Go early cuz it gets busy. It is getting greener out there and is getting alot easier to lose your discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All different types of shots. Wasn't to hard to find our way. Good tee pads.
Cons: People need to pick up there trash instead of throwing it on the ground. Broken bottles on many holes. Signs have all been stolen or vandalized
Other Thoughts: Get there early, you will see lots of people.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Chemical Course

5+    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, nice players. There is a bum that hangs out all day, he's nice and it's good to have him. For the most part he takes care of all the bottles and cans.
Cons: They need to cut the grass more often. Broken glass everywhere makes it difficult to play barefoot (my chosen method). Trashcans at every hole would eliminate most of the trash.
Other Thoughts: There is a gentleman that sells used and new discs every Thursday, and they are by far the best price that i have run across. If your a new player I would recommend buying used discs. ( I know from experience, I could have saved time by just throwing $70 into the woods)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I liked it better than...

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots/distances. Nice flow from basket to tee. Still, print a map. Very fun course due to its mix of short/long holes. Reminds me of Cass Benton, kinda...Pretty good condition for a well used place. Good mix of locals. Close to the ballpark, gas stations, food distribution centers, etc. Get there early. Play more than one round. You'll like it. Good scenery.
Cons: A little crowded, but not like I haven't seen that before. A little wet but not overwhelming. Beware the wind on the back-9. More signs would be a +.
Other Thoughts: I would play here all the time if it were closer to the 'D'.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.