Green Lake, WI 
Zobel Park Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #16 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 355ft.   3 / 398ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Am Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A hidden gem in central WI

2-4    10/3/2014   10/4/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in what seems like the middle of nowhere. The park is very well maintained and taken care of. It's probably rarely busy besides tournaments or league days. Every time we've gone we've been the only ones there. This makes for a very quiet and peaceful round. The baskets are kingpins that are blue powder coated and catch amazing. There are 2 sets of tee pads on almost all of the holes. Only a few only have 1 tee. The pads are very level and grip well. The pro tees are larger than the am tees but having concrete on the ams too is always a plus. The signs here are awesome. They have a nice hole diagram showing the different pin placements, distances to each placement, next tee arrow, hole # and par. These are on the pro and am tees too. Again, very nice (and rare) to see this. There is just a phenomenal variety of shots and hole types here. There are long, short, uphill, downhill, open, heavily and moderately wooded holes. There's a few elevated pins as well. The one on hole 11 is set on top of a large boulder and is really cool. There are a bunch of next tee signs throughout the course. These are made out of wood and painted white which really makes them stick out. The flow of the course is very easy to follow even without these but it never hurts to have them. There are a bunch of benches all throughout too which is nice considering some of the elevation. The course is permanent and would seem to be a pretty fun winter round. The course is also free which is rare for a course of this caliber. The biggest pro of this course in my opinion though has to be the design. I honestly think this may be the best designed course I've ever played. I don't know how the available land could've been used any better. This is something that starts to stand out by hole 3 and when you hit hole 6 you just go "wow". And when you finish the long, downhill, air it out bomb to finish the round you immediately want to play again. That's the ultimate pro.
Cons: There are not many cons here at all. The Am tees are pretty narrow and a tad short for me. These are way better than rubber mats or natural tees though for sure. There are no trash cans on the course, but if you pack it in you can pack it out so not even a con.
Other Thoughts: This is really one of the nicest courses I've played. One of the best in WI period. This is a course to go out of your way to play. It's extremely fun and amazingly well designed. There's not much else in the area but it's one of the reasons that keep this course as clean and fun as it is. I'd recommend this course to anyone. It's one of my top 10 in WI out of about 150. I don't give out perfect 5 ratings because I haven't played every course, but this is one of the few that I really wanted to. That should say it all right there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Underused gem

5+    5/26/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zobel is a fantastic course located in a secluded park, on a wonderful piece of land for disc golf. The pros for this couse are numerous.

--2 concrete tee pads on each hole (rectangular, and could be a smidge longer)
--tee sign at each pad, with all the information you could want

--3 pin positions on most holes, nearly all of which change the hole dramatically
--just the right mix of open, wooded, combo, and elevation used here...you'll throw uphill, downhill, flat

--plenty of risk/reward...you can grab birdies at a lot of holes, but tree kicks are suitably punished....almost all lines are fair and apparent...

--blue powder coated baskets catch decently
Cons: Not many, to be honest...and most of these are nitpicking.

It's pack in/pack out...not a garbage can to be found. Surprisingly, the grounds were still VERY trash free.

As stated above, the tee pads could stand to be a touch longer, and while I generally prefer trapezoid concrete, these are generally solid.

While the mix of pin positions is fantastic, the short/short layout isn't quite as challenging as some people would like to see. It DOES, however, make for a great winter round.

There is no water here, which is a con for some, but you can only do what the property will allow.
Other Thoughts: Zobel is one of my top 5 courses, and in my opinion is completely underrated. It's well manicured, has fantastic different looks and tons of elevation, including a top o' the world shot to finish your round on 18. Who doesn't love to unload the bag on the last hole?

Bathrooms are available on the opposite side of the park (near hole 10), as well as a kiddie park area. Grills and garbage cans would be cool, but it is what it is.

If there was a 4.75 option, I'd put this there. It's not quite a great as Rollin' Ridge or Highbridge, but it's very close. Do yourself a favor and get out here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

5+    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: adb83
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great variation on this course, each hole is different with a good variety of distances and elevation throughout the course.
- Multiple pin locations that are moved from time to time during the year.
- Very nice benches at every hole.
- No water hazards.
Cons: - Am tees are very small.
- No garbage cans, but very little garbage and if there is any, it is usually near the benches and not in the woods.
- Some spots are very easy to lose your disc since the grass is very long.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the Fox Valley for intermediate to advanced players. NOT for beginners. Am tees, like I said, are shorter than normal and the course is very unforgiving.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course in rural Wisconsin.

5+    5/8/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: fliptwister
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course! Great elevation changes on many of the holes. There is also a lot of variety with holes with some in trees and some in clearings. The holes play significantly different with the different basket placements. On several holes the 2 tee pads for a hole are not near each other or in front/behind each other which makes for an interesting variation as well. With some of the holes the baskets are elevated which makes for some interesting putts as well. The diagrams of the holes are well done and there is good signage directing to where the next hole is. The course in general is kept in great shape with very little garbage.
Cons: Not many cons here. There can be a significant amount of Wild Parsnip here in the summer. If you know what it looks like it is fairly easy to avoid. The AM tee pads feel a bit small at times. Probably not a forgiving course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I feel very fortunate to live 10 minutes away from a course like this. It is an amazing course! I have played at some other courses in Wisconsin and I very much appreciate how Zobel turned out. I have now played this course in every season (including a memorable outing in February) and it also plays very different depending on the season. Thanks Lee, Nate and Pat!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: EchoStarBoss
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variation of heavily wooded to semi-open fairways as well as elevation changes along with both left and right doglegs provide a challenge for any player. Maintaining a precise line is essential.
Cons: If you are not confident in your lines and you don't follow through on your release you will have a long day here.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much and will be making a trip up here again soon.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in Wisconsin

5+    10/13/2012   1/3/2013
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Dual Tee Pads almost all the holes.
Great variety from long bombers to tightly wooded holes. No two holes feel the same.
Long pins and long tees are super challenging.
Lots of elevation change.
Cons: Biggest con for me is that it is almost 2 hours away from where I live so i don't get to play it enough.
The only real con I found was that there were no trash cans. Not a big deal, but because of this, some people leave their cans and bottles by the baskets.
Other Thoughts: From the very first day I played Zobel, I fell in love with it. It was such a fun course and I played it twice through. One from the longs and one from the shorts. I think that a few of the holes are actually tougher from the short tees. Examples are hole 2 and 12. Overall, Zobel is a course that is worth driving to and is one of my favorites.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Zobel a challenge

1    9/16/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Glo Roc
Played: 89  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded/long/short holes. Beautiful area in the country. Course is challenging but fair. Wish we had more time to play the long tees but were on a long road trip.
Cons: Short tee pads are a bit too small. As I said we didn't have time to play the longs. Not a huge fan of 90 degree dogleg holes but it's all about placement and accuracy.
Other Thoughts: Finally got to play this course that is only about 1 hour from my house. Played at 7:00 in the morning with temps in the 40's. Took a while to get warmed up. I had heard good things about the course and it did not disappoint. I shot +12 from the short tees with 90% of the pins in the long position. Phill shot +7. Can't wait to play the course again and try to improve on that awful score!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Zobel Park

2-4    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads, though they seem short.
2) Has a practice basket.
3) Good catching, easy to see baskets.
4) Signs are amazing.
5) Design does no favor lefties or righties, with a pretty even amount of left, right, and straight holes.
6) Tons of variety, this course has everything from your run of the mill open holes with a few trees to tight woods. Holes that go up, down, left, right. You will be forced to use both backhand and forehand throws at this course, and on a few holes need to be able to shape those shots with pinpoint accuracy.
7) Each of the tee placements for each hole (there is 2 on most of the holes, only a few holes have 1) here are amazing, they were thought out very well, they seem to be in the perfect position for each of the holes, not to crowded by trees that you don't get a fair shot, but none of them are so open that you can do anything you wish on the hole. Also the difference between the Red (AM) and Blue (PRO) tees are huge. On most of the holes it makes the hole completely different than from the other tee.
8) Multiple pin placements, 2 on most holes, only 1 on a couple holes, and 3 on one of the holes. Most of the holes, the difference between the pin positions make a completely different hole. Hole 9 for example, the two short pin placements are deuce or die holes, the long pin , though, is a grueling 410 foot hole with a dogleg 210 feet down the fairway, with no way to cut the corner, that requires two perfectly placed shots to card a 3.
9) From what I saw, this course is never busy, I only saw three other groups on the course while I was there, didn't have to wait on a single tee.
10) Very clean.
11) No vandalism at all, seems very chucker free.
Cons: 1) Not many benches, I only saw 4 or 5 on the course.
2) Tee pads seemed a bit short, but I never ran off them on my throws, so it wasn't at all a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are anywhere near the area. There are many great holes here, my favorites being 3 (long pin), 6 (long pin), 7, 8 (long pin), 9 (long pin), 17 (long pin), and 18. The only thing holding this course back from a 5 in my book is the lack of benches. The county's policy of taking home everything you bring with you, including trash, means there are no trash cans, and is why I did not list the lack of trash cans as a con, but the course is very clean despite this.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pro, and Am tees on most holes
-Multiple pin placements
-Baskets are new
-Tee pads are concrete
-Distance variety
-Beautiful park
-Benches
-Altitude variety
-Clean park areas
-Not crowded
Cons: -Drainage is bad in some areas, but is well handled in others
-(you can take this a a Pro or Con) Not beginner friendly
-Maps not great but manageable
Other Thoughts: - it can be buggy, but wasn't too bad when we were there.
-Bring a course map, b/c signage can get confusing
-Bring water, there are no fountains


Overall an excellent course, and by far the best I have played. I look forward to coming back the next time I can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top Level Course, Gorgeous

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Length is great, offering difficult pathways towards the basket. Distance, tight fairways, and doglegged obsticals make for a beautifully crafted course. Pads are well laid out and excellent signs for next holes and hole paths.
Cons: If there were anything to stretch and complain about, lack of water would be about it. I really wished I had known which placement the baskets were in while playing (a or b).
Other Thoughts: Loved elevations most here and the scenic views of the hills.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.