Disc Golf Store
Green Lake, WI
Zobel Park Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Pro and Am Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Amazing course in rural Wisconsin.

5+    5/8/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: fliptwister
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course! Great elevation changes on many of the holes. There is also a lot of variety with holes with some in trees and some in clearings. The holes play significantly different with the different basket placements. On several holes the 2 tee pads for a hole are not near each other or in front/behind each other which makes for an interesting variation as well. With some of the holes the baskets are elevated which makes for some interesting putts as well. The diagrams of the holes are well done and there is good signage directing to where the next hole is. The course in general is kept in great shape with very little garbage.
Cons: Not many cons here. There can be a significant amount of Wild Parsnip here in the summer. If you know what it looks like it is fairly easy to avoid. The AM tee pads feel a bit small at times. Probably not a forgiving course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I feel very fortunate to live 10 minutes away from a course like this. It is an amazing course! I have played at some other courses in Wisconsin and I very much appreciate how Zobel turned out. I have now played this course in every season (including a memorable outing in February) and it also plays very different depending on the season. Thanks Lee, Nate and Pat!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Zobel a challenge

1    9/16/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Glo Roc
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded/long/short holes. Beautiful area in the middle of no where. Course is a definite challenge. Challenges all skill levels.
Cons: Short tee pads are too small. Didn't have the time to play the longs. Hate the 90 degree dogleg holes but that's a personal preference.
Other Thoughts: Finally got to play this course that is only about 1 hour from my house. Played at 7:00 in the morning with temps in the 40's. Took a while to get warmed up. I had heard good things about the course and it did not disappoint. I shot +12 from the short tees with 90% of the pins in the long position. Phill shot +7. Can't wait to play the course again and try to improve on that awful score!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Zobel Park

2-4    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads, though they seem short.
2) Has a practice basket.
3) Good catching, easy to see baskets.
4) Signs are amazing.
5) Design does no favor lefties or righties, with a pretty even amount of left, right, and straight holes.
6) Tons of variety, this course has everything from your run of the mill open holes with a few trees to tight woods. Holes that go up, down, left, right. You will be forced to use both backhand and forehand throws at this course, and on a few holes need to be able to shape those shots with pinpoint accuracy.
7) Each of the tee placements for each hole (there is 2 on most of the holes, only a few holes have 1) here are amazing, they were thought out very well, they seem to be in the perfect position for each of the holes, not to crowded by trees that you don't get a fair shot, but none of them are so open that you can do anything you wish on the hole. Also the difference between the Red (AM) and Blue (PRO) tees are huge. On most of the holes it makes the hole completely different than from the other tee.
8) Multiple pin placements, 2 on most holes, only 1 on a couple holes, and 3 on one of the holes. Most of the holes, the difference between the pin positions make a completely different hole. Hole 9 for example, the two short pin placements are deuce or die holes, the long pin , though, is a grueling 410 foot hole with a dogleg 210 feet down the fairway, with no way to cut the corner, that requires two perfectly placed shots to card a 3.
9) From what I saw, this course is never busy, I only saw three other groups on the course while I was there, didn't have to wait on a single tee.
10) Very clean.
11) No vandalism at all, seems very chucker free.
Cons: 1) Not many benches, I only saw 4 or 5 on the course.
2) Tee pads seemed a bit short, but I never ran off them on my throws, so it wasn't at all a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are anywhere near the area. There are many great holes here, my favorites being 3 (long pin), 6 (long pin), 7, 8 (long pin), 9 (long pin), 17 (long pin), and 18. The only thing holding this course back from a 5 in my book is the lack of benches. The county's policy of taking home everything you bring with you, including trash, means there are no trash cans, and is why I did not list the lack of trash cans as a con, but the course is very clean despite this.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pro, and Am tees on most holes
-Multiple pin placements
-Baskets are new
-Tee pads are concrete
-Distance variety
-Beautiful park
-Benches
-Altitude variety
-Clean park areas
-Not crowded
Cons: -Drainage is bad in some areas, but is well handled in others
-(you can take this a a Pro or Con) Not beginner friendly
-Maps not great but manageable
Other Thoughts: - it can be buggy, but wasn't too bad when we were there.
-Bring a course map, b/c signage can get confusing
-Bring water, there are no fountains


Overall an excellent course, and by far the best I have played. I look forward to coming back the next time I can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top Level Course, Gorgeous

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Length is great, offering difficult pathways towards the basket. Distance, tight fairways, and doglegged obsticals make for a beautifully crafted course. Pads are well laid out and excellent signs for next holes and hole paths.
Cons: If there were anything to stretch and complain about, lack of water would be about it. I really wished I had known which placement the baskets were in while playing (a or b).
Other Thoughts: Loved elevations most here and the scenic views of the hills.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

1    10/2/2011   2/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The fun factor here is outstanding. The course plays through several types of terrain and foliage. A few holes play in grassy fields with scattered trees and some good distance. Many of these have some elevation, including an empty your bag downhill on hole 18. Several holes play through woods with defined fairways and lots of trees and rough waiting to punish errant shots. A few holes play through pine trees, offering some cool lines including a short but very narrow shot through a narrow alley between pines.

There is great variety here, everything from tricky ace runs to some longer holes where you can open up and bomb a drive, but nearly all have a nice balance of punishment for errant shots and opportunities to make recovery shots. You'll need lots of different shots to be successful here, with a pretty balanced mix of left and right turning holes with a variety of lengths and shapes. Elevation comes into play throughout the course, adding even more variety and fun, with some interesting and challenging uphill and downhill shots.

There are dual tees on most holes, and dual pin positions. The pins change up many of the holes quite a bit, I played the course in mostly short pins, I'd love to get back and try the longer set. The tees make a pretty big difference overall, with less distance and often easier lines from the shorts. There is good signage with hole layout and distance, and the course is easy to follow overall. The baskets are new and in great shape, the blue powder coating makes them really visible.
Cons: There's not a whole lot wrong here. My biggest gripe is one some players may not share. I'm not a fan of long grass as rough, and a handful of holes here use that. In my opinion, this type of obstacle adds frustration rather than challenge. There are a lot of shorter holes, with a few long ones, a little more variety in the middle of the spectrum would be cool. Watch out for giant hogweed, there's lots of it here and it can cause some really nasty problems.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find this one pretty challenging, even from the short tees. There is lots of rough and some tight lines to hit. More experienced players will find lots of fun challenges here, and enough variety to make this one fun for multiple rounds. I'll definitely be back to play this one again, and I would love to see some of the different pin setups.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Goodness

2-4    10/2/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Zobel offers 18 holes of disc golf goodness. Dual pin positions (am and pro) and two choices of tee pads (am and pro) on each hole. Zobel is a newer course, so everything is in tip-top condition. The course was pristine and free of trash despite no trash cans on site. The course works its way over a lovely piece of land including gorgeous stands of pines, grassy meadows, and a deciduous forest. All fairways are defined and fair. Although a few holes offer tight looks, nothing feels unfair or "dependent on luck." Risk/reward opportunities abound.
- Great use of elevation. Nothing crazy, just good ol' fashioned moderate elevation used to its utmost potential. The course finishes off with a downhill shot protected by trees off of the tee pad. Other holes combine the elevation with the multitude of trees to create fun and interesting lines.
- Above average signage and concrete pads. The am pads are a bit smaller than the pro pads, which was interesting but makes sense. Both sets of pads were sufficient for my needs, but a few people might think they're a touch on the short side.
- Plenty of technical ace runs punctuate the longer more open holes. Distance tops out at the low 500's, but plenty of 300-450'+ holes make up for it. Hole #'s 2 and 7 are tunnel shots through pines. #11 has two elevated pin positions set on large boulders.
- Benches, bridges, walkways, etc. all add to the polished feel of this course.
Cons: - For those that dislike tall grass on courses, there are a couple of holes that incorporate it; however, defined landing zones are easily reachable for players of all caliber.
- No trash cans on site.
Other Thoughts: - I really had to put my thinking cap on to find any real cons for Zobel, and even then I didn't come up with much. The course is super solid, through and through. No hole stood out as crazy, but the whole course was a beautiful experience, from the standpoints of playing and looking at it. For such a new course, Zobel amazes.
- As time goes on I hope gold-level pins and pads are installed, providing more "multi-shot with landing zone" holes.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Alphabetically the last course I have played but not in my heart!!!!

1    12/4/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Dual Concrete tees on most holes and a few holes with only one tee. The looks change from tee to tee for sure, and there also seem to be a few shorter tees with harder shots than the longs . . . not sure if that was intended.

2) Kingpin baskets look great with the powder coated blue . . . they have a little different catching style than other baskets.

3) Drainways on a few of the holes create an interesting obstacle and it also might affect your stance from time to time. I am sure they are usually dry except in heavy rainfall periods.

4) Nice bridges and infrastructure on this course. Its nice to see the right touches being installed right off the bat. Often times halfass jobs are done with benches, bridges, etc and that can detract from the course and also present more of a liability.

5) Outcropping stone used for a basket on #11 . . . . unique and risk/reward for sure.

6) Incredible use of elevation on this course to really add to the challenge.

7) The overall balance of this course is one of the best I have seen. It balances the woods with the prairie area, the flat open areas and one giant downhill. Water is possibly even in play from time to time on those drainways.

8) I have not seen the benches but a good bunch of people have donated the funds and the course designers did the labor to build and install them.UPDATE: Benches are nice and on every hole I believe . . . its a shame they arent all the same, but a bench is a bench is a bench i suppose when all you want is to sit down.

9) Great group of designers and locals who really are making Green Lake/Ripon a mini disc golf getaway! Thanks Lee, Nate and Pat! and anyone else who is helping out up there.

10) I think I noticed restrooms in the upper parking lot near Hole #10 and #17.

11) Risk/reward is evident here in spots . . .some tucked baskets call at you to try and get close and the raised basket wants you to go for all putts.

12) Alternate pins will really change things up too . . . I always like courses that can have very different setups using alternate pins. It keeps it fresha nd apparently they plan to use the 6 setup system . . .all shorts, all longs, and mixing up other basket locations to create a nice balance of left and right holes.

13) Teeposts are going in and the hole # is written on them so at least you will know if you are on the correct tee or not. UPDATE: Tee signs are all in and look really good. They are very accurate in terms of their layout, they indicate each tee, they indicate each basket location and they list all other pertinent information (Hole #, Par, distance, and a diagram)

14) Directionals are used in all the tough spots to help navigate also like the crossing walks between 7 to 8 and from 11 to 12 plus a few other tough to figure out spots. Just keep your eyes peeled for all the uniquely cut white arrow directionals with the Hole # painted on them.
Cons: 1) A map would also be helpful at the beginning of the course or a scorecard with a general layout would also help. I know the guys are busy with course work and that is the last thing they are thinking of, but it is just another thing to go on their list.

2) I am sure there are some posion ivy spots as well as some of those other noxious weeds like Nettles that can be found on this course. I didn't see any off the top of my head but I did end up with a nasty rash from here or possibly Green Lake Conference Center, but I didnt go anywhere I shouldnt have gone at GLCC. IT ENDED UP BEING WILD PARSNIP . . . RIGHT NOW IT IS FLOWERING AND IS A TALL (3-4' STALK) WITH YELLOW FLOWERS. I KNOW I SAW IT ON THE LEFT OF #8 BY THE EVERGREENS, BETWEEN 8 AND 11, ON BOTH SIDES OF THE 13TH FAIRWAY, AS WELL AS ON BOTH SIDES OF #17 (WHERE I THINK I GOT INTO IT). BEWARE IT CAN CAUSE THIRD DEGREE BURNS, CAUSE BLISTERING, AND CAN GENERALLY BE REALLY BAD. i HAD IT WAY WORSE IN 2010, BUT I WAS CAUTIOUS THIS TIME NOT SURE OF THE WEED i WAS GETTING INTO. WEAR LONG SLEEVES AND PANTS AND TRY NOT TO BREAK THE TALL 4' STEMS OR GET THE SAP ON YOU. 2-3 DAYS LATER YOU WILL SEE A RED PATCH AND BLISTERS WILL FORM IF YOU EXPOSE THOSE AREAS TO THE SUN.

3) Definitely not at all beginner friendly . . . not necessarily a bad thing with the other options in this area, but I do consider all these factors when rating and reviewing courses . . . because I don't review them for me I review them for others from my perspective.

4) Only spot on the course that was a little to luck reliant would be the short downhill like Hole #12 from the long tee . . . there is almost no fairway and a lot of little trees to knock you anywhere and deep into the woods.

5) Mosquitoes love this course as much as the disc golfers . . . ok well probably a whole lot more because there are millions and millions of them out there.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course . . . definitely top 5 in Wisconsin (that's going to be tough to pick its actual ranking though) that I have played right now . . . not quite as diverse as Winter Park but comparable to Silver Creek with better balance and more distance, and Grey Fox with more elevation.

I think for right now it will remain a 4 disc rating, but I am pretty sure with the activity of the guys up there that it will end up a 4.5 rating from me which would put it above Grey Fox and Silver Creek, but I don't think it will get to the Winter Park caliber even though it would be rated the same. Winter park only needs better tees for me to give it a 5 rating too. SO IT WILL BE A 4.5 DISC RATING WITHIN THE YEAR PROBABLY . . .BUT RIGHT NOW IT IS MISSING A FEW KEY ELEMENTS THAT I REQUIRE TO GIVE IT A 4.5. Regardless it is an awesome course and I look forward to getting back up there . . . and especially for a tournament because it is setup perfectly for competition!!!

KEEP UP THE PROGRESS GUYS!!!! You are now up to 4.25 for sure!!!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/30/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Macker
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very challenging course, great elevation changes, hidden pin placements, concrete pads are huge with great traction and well positioned. big trees and a lot of woods, narrow fairways.
Cons: needs signs because it can be confusing, fairways need to be mowed more often getting kinda long compared to the other courses i have played.
Other Thoughts: This course is one the the top 5 courses i have played at, there is always people there playing. i understand that it is very new and there is still a lot of work to do yet but it has come along way in a year. cant wait till the signs get put up so we can see the distances. I will be back to play this course many many times.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another great Wisconsin course

5+    8/1/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: koogs
Played: 87  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2011
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 2 concrete tees on all but 3 of the holes. Starts out on a flat area and moves right into the woods. Major elevation on quite a few holes with very few being totally flat. There are some very tight fairways with either long straight tunnels to the basket or the basket is tucked off to the right or left at the end. There are some wide open fairways with protection around the basket or strategically used obstacles mid-fairway. Plenty of holes to air it out. Some baskets had small, but deep, gullies very close that could cost you an extra shot if you go in. There are some blind tee shots where you need to walk to the edge of the dropoff to see where you're throwing, then back to the tee. Overall, excellent variety that will let you use every shot you have. Restrooms and water are at the parking lot.
Cons:
I played this course before tee signs were up and we got very mixed up right away, but the second time I played it I used the course map from this website and had no problem finding my way around. The baskets don't have any numbers on them, but with the map, there really was no confusion as to which basket to throw at, like there was the first time I played. The only confusion right now is which pin location is in use, but tee signs will include this info. The course is in a county park, which means that the general public (non dg'ers) could also be there, but I didn't see much that would draw anyone else there. There are no water hazards, which some might count as a con, but to me, water is an extra feature if it's there, but not a con if it's not.
Other Thoughts:
I didn't plan on writing a review because I played this course (twice) before it's really finished. The tee signs are still not up, and that will be a great improvement. There's also still some cleanup to be done, piles of dirt and brush and stuff like that.
There's been some serious hype about this course, but I have to say, it lives up. I have yet to play many of Wisconsin's best courses, but it compares well to the ones I have played--Sandy Point, Standing Rocks, Heistand. It has all the elevation of any of those, it has the variety of tightly wooded and wide open, ripper holes and everything in between. It's another great addition to Wisconsin disc golf. I'll say no more than that right now because I don't want to overhype it. I can't wait to play it when it's totally finished and I can judge it more completely. Like I said, I didn't plan on reviewing it the way I played it, but I figured it was better than no reviews at all. UPDATE: I played the course yesterday for the 5th time. Tee signs are up and "next tee" signs are also up and are unique and nicely done. The course was in beautiful shape, looks very well maintained. This course is now one of my faves. I've bumped it to a 4.5 rating.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.