Green Lake, WI
Zobel Park Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Amazing course in rural Wisconsin.

5+    5/8/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: fliptwister
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course! Great elevation changes on many of the holes. There is also a lot of variety with holes with some in trees and some in clearings. The holes play significantly different with the different basket placements. On several holes the 2 tee pads for a hole are not near each other or in front/behind each other which makes for an interesting variation as well. With some of the holes the baskets are elevated which makes for some interesting putts as well. The diagrams of the holes are well done and there is good signage directing to where the next hole is. The course in general is kept in great shape with very little garbage.
Cons: Not many cons here. There can be a significant amount of Wild Parsnip here in the summer. If you know what it looks like it is fairly easy to avoid. The AM tee pads feel a bit small at times. Probably not a forgiving course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I feel very fortunate to live 10 minutes away from a course like this. It is an amazing course! I have played at some other courses in Wisconsin and I very much appreciate how Zobel turned out. I have now played this course in every season (including a memorable outing in February) and it also plays very different depending on the season. Thanks Lee, Nate and Pat!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: EchoStarBoss
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variation of heavily wooded to semi-open fairways as well as elevation changes along with both left and right doglegs provide a challenge for any player. Maintaining a precise line is essential.
Cons: If you are not confident in your lines and you don't follow through on your release you will have a long day here.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much and will be making a trip up here again soon.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in Wisconsin

5+    10/13/2012   1/3/2013
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Dual Tee Pads almost all the holes.
Great variety from long bombers to tightly wooded holes. No two holes feel the same.
Long pins and long tees are super challenging.
Lots of elevation change.
Cons: Biggest con for me is that it is almost 2 hours away from where I live so i don't get to play it enough.
The only real con I found was that there were no trash cans. Not a big deal, but because of this, some people leave their cans and bottles by the baskets.
Other Thoughts: From the very first day I played Zobel, I fell in love with it. It was such a fun course and I played it twice through. One from the longs and one from the shorts. I think that a few of the holes are actually tougher from the short tees. Examples are hole 2 and 12. Overall, Zobel is a course that is worth driving to and is one of my favorites.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Zobel a challenge

1    9/16/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Glo Roc
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded/long/short holes. Beautiful area in the middle of no where. Course is a definite challenge. Challenges all skill levels.
Cons: Short tee pads are too small. Didn't have the time to play the longs. Hate the 90 degree dogleg holes but that's a personal preference.
Other Thoughts: Finally got to play this course that is only about 1 hour from my house. Played at 7:00 in the morning with temps in the 40's. Took a while to get warmed up. I had heard good things about the course and it did not disappoint. I shot +12 from the short tees with 90% of the pins in the long position. Phill shot +7. Can't wait to play the course again and try to improve on that awful score!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Zobel Park

2-4    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads, though they seem short.
2) Has a practice basket.
3) Good catching, easy to see baskets.
4) Signs are amazing.
5) Design does no favor lefties or righties, with a pretty even amount of left, right, and straight holes.
6) Tons of variety, this course has everything from your run of the mill open holes with a few trees to tight woods. Holes that go up, down, left, right. You will be forced to use both backhand and forehand throws at this course, and on a few holes need to be able to shape those shots with pinpoint accuracy.
7) Each of the tee placements for each hole (there is 2 on most of the holes, only a few holes have 1) here are amazing, they were thought out very well, they seem to be in the perfect position for each of the holes, not to crowded by trees that you don't get a fair shot, but none of them are so open that you can do anything you wish on the hole. Also the difference between the Red (AM) and Blue (PRO) tees are huge. On most of the holes it makes the hole completely different than from the other tee.
8) Multiple pin placements, 2 on most holes, only 1 on a couple holes, and 3 on one of the holes. Most of the holes, the difference between the pin positions make a completely different hole. Hole 9 for example, the two short pin placements are deuce or die holes, the long pin , though, is a grueling 410 foot hole with a dogleg 210 feet down the fairway, with no way to cut the corner, that requires two perfectly placed shots to card a 3.
9) From what I saw, this course is never busy, I only saw three other groups on the course while I was there, didn't have to wait on a single tee.
10) Very clean.
11) No vandalism at all, seems very chucker free.
Cons: 1) Not many benches, I only saw 4 or 5 on the course.
2) Tee pads seemed a bit short, but I never ran off them on my throws, so it wasn't at all a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are anywhere near the area. There are many great holes here, my favorites being 3 (long pin), 6 (long pin), 7, 8 (long pin), 9 (long pin), 17 (long pin), and 18. The only thing holding this course back from a 5 in my book is the lack of benches. The county's policy of taking home everything you bring with you, including trash, means there are no trash cans, and is why I did not list the lack of trash cans as a con, but the course is very clean despite this.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pro, and Am tees on most holes
-Multiple pin placements
-Baskets are new
-Tee pads are concrete
-Distance variety
-Beautiful park
-Benches
-Altitude variety
-Clean park areas
-Not crowded
Cons: -Drainage is bad in some areas, but is well handled in others
-(you can take this a a Pro or Con) Not beginner friendly
-Maps not great but manageable
Other Thoughts: - it can be buggy, but wasn't too bad when we were there.
-Bring a course map, b/c signage can get confusing
-Bring water, there are no fountains


Overall an excellent course, and by far the best I have played. I look forward to coming back the next time I can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top Level Course, Gorgeous

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Length is great, offering difficult pathways towards the basket. Distance, tight fairways, and doglegged obsticals make for a beautifully crafted course. Pads are well laid out and excellent signs for next holes and hole paths.
Cons: If there were anything to stretch and complain about, lack of water would be about it. I really wished I had known which placement the baskets were in while playing (a or b).
Other Thoughts: Loved elevations most here and the scenic views of the hills.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

1    10/2/2011   2/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The fun factor here is outstanding. The course plays through several types of terrain and foliage. A few holes play in grassy fields with scattered trees and some good distance. Many of these have some elevation, including an empty your bag downhill on hole 18. Several holes play through woods with defined fairways and lots of trees and rough waiting to punish errant shots. A few holes play through pine trees, offering some cool lines including a short but very narrow shot through a narrow alley between pines.

There is great variety here, everything from tricky ace runs to some longer holes where you can open up and bomb a drive, but nearly all have a nice balance of punishment for errant shots and opportunities to make recovery shots. You'll need lots of different shots to be successful here, with a pretty balanced mix of left and right turning holes with a variety of lengths and shapes. Elevation comes into play throughout the course, adding even more variety and fun, with some interesting and challenging uphill and downhill shots.

There are dual tees on most holes, and dual pin positions. The pins change up many of the holes quite a bit, I played the course in mostly short pins, I'd love to get back and try the longer set. The tees make a pretty big difference overall, with less distance and often easier lines from the shorts. There is good signage with hole layout and distance, and the course is easy to follow overall. The baskets are new and in great shape, the blue powder coating makes them really visible.
Cons: There's not a whole lot wrong here. My biggest gripe is one some players may not share. I'm not a fan of long grass as rough, and a handful of holes here use that. In my opinion, this type of obstacle adds frustration rather than challenge. There are a lot of shorter holes, with a few long ones, a little more variety in the middle of the spectrum would be cool. Watch out for giant hogweed, there's lots of it here and it can cause some really nasty problems.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find this one pretty challenging, even from the short tees. There is lots of rough and some tight lines to hit. More experienced players will find lots of fun challenges here, and enough variety to make this one fun for multiple rounds. I'll definitely be back to play this one again, and I would love to see some of the different pin setups.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

2-4    10/2/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a large park, with the disc golf well separated from everything else. Only one spot near other park activies (a playground by #16's basket), otherwise all dg all the time.
- About half the holes are in more open areas, with mature trees or large patches of forest to avoid. #1, #10, #11, #13 and #18 are mostly about avoiding individual trees here and there, with a few different hyzers and/or anhyzers available. #4, #6, #8, #16, #17 rely on both trees and forest to force obvious lines. Overall, a great variety of lines and elevation changes to be found out here. A decent uphill hyzer on #16, a long downhill shot on #17 with a finish right into the forest, another good downhill hyzer on #6, a bomber hyzer on #18, a shorter anny/FH shot for #4, etc. etc. A lot depends on the pin position, but an even mix of directions either way.
- Rest of the holes play in thicker forest, or dense woods. Holes like #3 and #14 have lower ceilings and more hazardous spots to contend with, both uphill with some nasty long positions. Holes #2, #5, #7, #12, and #15 are much, much tighter, with scads of pine poles to contend with. #5 and #12 have tight windows to hit off the tee, big time; and #7 is a tight tunnel up the gut. These demand big time accuracy off the tee to avoid ending up in jail or thick rough. Elevation changes are present here as well, with #12's elevated teepad, a slight uphill on #7 and a slight downhill on #15.
- Elevation changes are present on about half the holes overall, ranging from slight ups and downs to some tricky uphills and some nice long downhill rippers. Definitely adds a lot to the fun factor on a lot of holes, but also some challenge, even on the downhill ones.
- Some tricky basket placements, especially in the long positions. Some rollaways, tons of trees, and some raised baskets. #11's baskets positions are raised on two boulders, cool looking and punishing.
- Excellent signage, teepads, and baskets. A breeze to navigate, map or no map. Crossroad signs by #5 help big time. No garbage cans, don't litter!
Cons: - A lot of shorter holes are present here, with 7 holes under 300' and 4 of those under 250', and those are from the longs. There are still some tricky shots, but if you hit one gap, you are pretty much done with the hole. On the other hand, some of the longer holes have very few obstacles, so distance trumps almost everything else. It is a good balance, but they are pretty straightforward.
- No water present here, and some tall grass on #3 is the only OB present. Just nit-picking, there is no water here so there you go.
Other Thoughts: - Not many cons to be found here!! Awesome balance of wooded and open holes, with a wide variety. Elevation changes galore to keep things even more interesting both in and out of the woods. Some big shots present, as well as some small technical ones. Still, there are a lot of pretty open shots or shots that just need a basic RHBH hyzer or a straight line.
- Beginners might be overwhelmed by some of the rougher areas, even from the shorts. Expert players will have fun, but may not be challenged all the way through. All in all, though, I think everyone would have a blast playing here and should definitely put it on the wish list.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Goodness

2-4    10/2/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Zobel offers 18 holes of disc golf goodness. Dual pin positions (am and pro) and two choices of tee pads (am and pro) on each hole. Zobel is a newer course, so everything is in tip-top condition. The course was pristine and free of trash despite no trash cans on site. The course works its way over a lovely piece of land including gorgeous stands of pines, grassy meadows, and a deciduous forest. All fairways are defined and fair. Although a few holes offer tight looks, nothing feels unfair or "dependent on luck." Risk/reward opportunities abound.
- Great use of elevation. Nothing crazy, just good ol' fashioned moderate elevation used to its utmost potential. The course finishes off with a downhill shot protected by trees off of the tee pad. Other holes combine the elevation with the multitude of trees to create fun and interesting lines.
- Above average signage and concrete pads. The am pads are a bit smaller than the pro pads, which was interesting but makes sense. Both sets of pads were sufficient for my needs, but a few people might think they're a touch on the short side.
- Plenty of technical ace runs punctuate the longer more open holes. Distance tops out at the low 500's, but plenty of 300-450'+ holes make up for it. Hole #'s 2 and 7 are tunnel shots through pines. #11 has two elevated pin positions set on large boulders.
- Benches, bridges, walkways, etc. all add to the polished feel of this course.
Cons: - For those that dislike tall grass on courses, there are a couple of holes that incorporate it; however, defined landing zones are easily reachable for players of all caliber.
- No trash cans on site.
Other Thoughts: - I really had to put my thinking cap on to find any real cons for Zobel, and even then I didn't come up with much. The course is super solid, through and through. No hole stood out as crazy, but the whole course was a beautiful experience, from the standpoints of playing and looking at it. For such a new course, Zobel amazes.
- As time goes on I hope gold-level pins and pads are installed, providing more "multi-shot with landing zone" holes.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.