Disc Golf Store
New Orleans, LA 
City Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 237ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Fleur-de-lis tee box markers



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun to play

1    6/15/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course - pretty easy to navigate in a nice park. Course and baskets in great condition. Parks people continue to work to improve this course. This is a short review because it is exactly what you expect; lots of wide open shots, a few pretty interesting holes with water, lots of people playing - and it is in NOLA - awesome!
Cons: Not a major downfall, but the course is in a public park and people are everywhere :)
Other Thoughts: Worth playing for sure!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    5/12/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Nice usage of OB and water hazards were a little intimidating at first)
*Good combination of long and short shots
*Nice park setting
*Liked the tee box markers and signage with the hole layout
Cons: *Can see where traffic could get heavy
*Some holes could have used arrows pointing to next tee box
*No signage in park indicating where to go to park (finally found the 1st tee after about 20 minutes)
Other Thoughts: Played City Park this afternoon and really enjoyed the round. I had tried to play it yesterday, but after walking the 1st 2 holes, it was too wet (not to mention the families set up on #1 tee box and partially down #1 fairway).

#1 hole was somewhat intimidating, especially with the wind blowing the way it was.
The next few holes proved to have no surprises, being open throws, with the occasional tree hazard. I like the 3rd hole and the elevated basket (watch your approach shot to the basket as the slightest overthrow could lead to another uphill putt if your disc happens to roll off the hill). Holes 6, 7, and 8, play in and out of the large oak trees. Holes 9 and 10 open back up. I thought for a few minutes about #11 and whether to play it or not. At just 165', it's not a long hole, but plays through a small opening in the brush, over the water, to the basket not too far from the water's edge. Wound up making the throw, and landed just about 7' from the basket. #12 plays over the water, and 13 plays parallel with the water. #14, plays through a small passage in the trees, to a blind basket, located to the left toward the baseball field. 15, 16, and 17 open up again, leading to #18, which plays parallel to the road (OB). While the course map shows it playing over the water, I don't recall seeing a basket across the water, but instead, it wasn't too far from the foot of the bridge (directly across from #11 tee box).


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play While You Can

1    4/22/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in an enormous city park, the course is for the most part sectioned off from other activities. A lot of parking space, water fountain, and porta-potties are available and the course conveniently loops to start and end near the parking lot. There is a great disc golf scene here with an active club and a man (Joe) who is often here selling discs with a huge variety of companies, molds, and plastics.

I really enjoyed the tee signs which give the actual picture of the hole and the clear route to the basket. The yellow Mach 5 baskets with hole numbers at the top of them are easy to spot and in good shape. The tee and pin positions are alternated from time to time, adding variety to the course.

Despite the course's serious lack of elevation and trees, the designer did a nice job incorporating O.B. using the walking paths and the water that is present on about one-third of the holes. The water holes are very well designed in that they offer great risk/reward type shots if shooting for birdie, but allow the player the choice to play it safe. This is the first course that I have played with multiple large water carries throughout the course, and while I felt it changed my shots a little and added to the excitement, it didn't impede on my enjoyment. Hole 1 - for example - can be played directly over the pond or thrown on a RHBH hyzer around it. My favorite water hole was 11 because it was the scariest in that you had the throw over the water with a pin positioned closely to its edge; however, it isn't a very difficult shot or length to make. The fact that the water got in my head at first, but wasn't a huge risk, made this hole fun.

Another aspect that I enjoyed about this course that is fairly unique to other courses I have played is the challenge of hitting drives under low ceilings. Holes 1, 7, 8, 10, 13, 15, and 17 offered challenges in this regard, so it is present throughout the course without seeming redundant.

The course offers a good mix of hyzers, annys, and straight shots. The most enjoyable holes to me were the ones with multiple lanes to the basket, such as 13, 15, 17, and 18. 15 was unique in that it required you to hit a small horizontal window between two long tree limbs, I really enjoyed that and that was a unique aspect. I think the course is well designed in that the quality of holes generally improve as you play through the round.
Cons: -Since the course will be moved in the not so distant future, some of the upkeep is not as good as what I heard it was previously. This is apparent mostly just on holes 2-4, which had some tall grass when I was there. Hole 3 was especially bad since it is a straight shot in an open field. Still, not worth taking points away because of this since most of the course was very well-mowed.
-There were hardly challenges or opportunities to choose different routes off the tee, since most holes only had one or two trees to contend with. This was the biggest detractor of the course to me. Even the holes that were more challenging were so because of the initial drive. The positioning of your upshots, however, rarely had any obstacles involved and were generally open shots. A few holes were completely open to the basket and either required a simple, wide open hyzer and anny to get to the pin.
-While the course is mostly set away from the other park activities, it does play close to the road and walking path sometimes, and hole 13 could get crowded from fans watching a baseball game.
-The designers did a great job making the course challenging given the land area that they used, but a course can only be so fun with minimal trees, zero elevation change, and a small variety of distances. Only hole 18 really gives you an opportunity to make two consecutive long shots.
Other Thoughts: City Park is a course worth checking out if you are in New Orleans and is a relatively quick play. The old trees and water carries make for a picturesque round, though I'll be curious to see what the new course has to offer!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant gem in NOLA

1    4/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - BEAUTIFUL location in City Park
- variety in shot difficulty
- mix of long bombs and ace runs
-11th hole shot over the bridge is a short gem and a heart stopper
- Surprisingly good use of a mostly flat terrain
- excellent signage
- LOW traffic, had zero waits on a Saturday
Cons: - very little elevation change
- park goers seem to often hang near baskets
- deceptively muddy in some places
- some holes are too close to the road
- No pro shop
- No water fountains (that I saw)
Other Thoughts: A surprisingly good course once you start playing. Not going to be very difficult for the best players, but provides enough challenge to be enjoyable. One of the most beautiful locations I've played in. Grassy fields of flowers are a nice change from the typical dust bowls of my normal experiences on south-west courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice for a camera, not for a disc golfer

1    10/11/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Terry 44
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Picturesque! Beautiful park!
Water hazards!
Cons: Short course with no elevation changes. Poorly designed in my opinion. A lot of holes had a tree in front of the pad. This is not bad for a couple of holes working with a low ceiling, but not to the extent this course had this hole set up. There were a couple holes near the lake that were very pretty, but again could have been designed with more risk/reward. This course also needs permanent tee pads and better signs would be nice as well to show the next hole location. Such a large piece of land with the DG course crammed in to a small area.
Other Thoughts: I love New Orleans! I just hope that the local DG community asks for more land from the park to lengthen the course and redesigns the layout.

I did walk to see a concert in the park and found baskets bunched up in a small area. No idea what that was about..... a putter course with no signs?

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Original Home Course

5+    2/16/2012   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Signage. Scenery. Risk/Reward.
Cons: Non golfers get in the way sometimes. Whole course taken over sometimes for special events.
Other Thoughts: I learned to play at City Park, so I will always love it. It's a course where you can really fling it on most holes. If you can gently shape a shot, then the big oaks are beautiful obstacles. Lagoons will eat your discs, so take some of those old ones you found in the woods.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Open course in public park

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Open fairways and beautiful trees make it a nice walk.
Cons: Park events can create parking lots in the middle of fairways. Not much interest and many holes are. Repetitive typical grassy park holes dotted with the occasional tree.
Other Thoughts: Better things to do in New Orleans

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

NOLA's Home Course

5+    5/15/2014   10/22/2012
Review By: Qikly
Played: 66  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of lines: right-turning holes (5,6), left-turning (1,11,14), multiple possibilities (2,7, and 13), tunnel shots (8). This keeps drives from becoming repetitive.

Good job of creating some unique and memorable lines off the tee. Not a lot of throwaway holes out here.

Water hazards add an extra layer of difficulty, and are utilized extremely well (with the exception of 18 in its long-pin form, which IMHO is a bit much as a par 3).

Design is about as good as it could be given the location.

Layout is relatively easy to follow, and both bathrooms (portapotties) and parking are close by. Course is about as isolated as can be, meaning conflicts with non-disc golfers are minimized.
Cons: The consistency of distance (220'-320', with most between 250' and 290') becomes repetitive. It'd be great to have at least one or two longer holes, and as others have said, these could be possible. Even one or two more longer holes would be a nice change of pace.

The general lack of challenging upshots limits the experience: a disproportional amount of significance is placed on how you drive. Even a crappy drive often gets you clear of the obstacle(s) which define a hole, leaving you a relatively direct and uncontested approach to the basket. Great for beginners, but limits the replay value and challenge.

Dirt tees become swampish regularly, given NOLA's wet climate. This can lead to some awkward drives from improvised positions.

As somebody else stated, the fire ants really are a concern, in the summer months, at least. I've had some nasty bites, and witnessed others deal with them regularly enough to give me pause.

Not sure if it's actually a con, but the openness of the course coupled with the weather means the wind can be especially unforgiving.

The road comes into play in a few shots in a negative way.
Other Thoughts: The local community, which is represented almost daily in one fashion or another, is fantastic and welcoming. Good people.

There's a football field nearby which allows you to accurately tabulate your throwing distances, which is nice for a number-cruncher/stat-keeper like myself.

Be prepared to throw discs you wouldn't mind losing if you don't plan on skipping any holes; I've lost a bunch myself, and gotten my feet wet going in after discs more than a few times. 11 isn't as bad as it looks, 12 is probably worse than it seems, especially if you shoot for birdie.

I'd put the difficulty on the easier side of the scale, although there are enough challenging shots (8, 13) to keep it interesting for everyone.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun, not tough

1    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great surroundings, even if a bit messed up from Isaac.
Cons: Others have written most of my concerns, except for tee signs not reflecting what is there. Apparently a couple holes have been moved recently, and while the pins arent' too far away, it helps to show what is where.
Other Thoughts: hoping this doesn't get moved!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Driving on the City of New Orleans

1    5/19/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2014
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In 1810, the governors of the US-wooed West Florida parrishes [that's right, Texas---once upon a time you were destined to be Alabama!] petitioned to secede from Mexico. Much as Mississippi gamblers did in those days, the budding US bluffed rube, showed hard and pretty much took what they want. Just as the Louisiana Purchase was Thomas Jefferson's gem, so this course is New Orlean's.
Its a beautiful 18, with giant oaks, palmettos, pines, Spanish moss and very little undergrowth. The drives are mostly open, and many can be approached with debonair, swashbuckling aplomb. But obstacles are grouped either as a lane near the tee, an obstruction in the fairway preventing certain shots, or one or two fort-like defenses near the basket. Mostly the obstacles are 300-400 year-old oaks, with spreading, drooping branches ready to knock your disc in the dirt. Heh heh. Hmm...
There is a continuous-loop lagoon that provides great risk, as it drops off quickly to ribcage-deep and is tepidly murky. On hole #1 it lies 20 ft. left of the basket, debauching many a RHBHer, leaving them demoralized and adrift. #3 also flirts with the lake left of the fairway, and about 30 ft. behind the basket.
A small creek backs the baskets of #s 4 and 6: discs should be easily recoverable from this, but watch out for the random surly water moccasin.
#s 11-12 throw over the water, #11 being an obscenely short ace shot with a tight window [and tragic consequences for an errant throw], and #12 being a peninsula with some fortunate backing vegetation.
#18's basket is also backed closely by the lagoon, with some ground-effect shrubbery strewn about like neglected Mardi Gras beads that might keep your disc from scooting into the drink.
Tees are natural with added, packed gravel, tee signs are absolutely gorgeous, a scattering of trash cans and benches.
Cons: There are a few "throwaway" holes: #9 is an open field hole, and # 2 is fairly tame.
#s 11 and 18 parallel the road, adding a safety/confrontational risk. # 13's basket has the road 30 ft. behind it. Fortunately, there are few pedestrian paths to interact with, but people also just seem to wander at random through the fields on occasion, especially during festival events.
The DGC seems to have been relegated to the "shaggier" section of the park. The trees look slightly beat[not by discs---these are enormous trees] and the landscaping isn't quite up to the park standard.
May-August 10 AM to 8 PM is brutal humidity/temp/bug-wise.
Other Thoughts: Take the whole family, granny too. There's a Museum of Modern Art, a library, sculpture garden, arboretum, giant kids' playground, "Storyland", a mile-long kiddie train, ballfields, and by 2013 a waterpark. You could play 3 rounds and still have to hunt down the family...
COURSE UPDATE: It appears that the dgc is to be moved to an entirely new location in the park by spring 2014. Alas, it also appears from the aerial photo that all water hazards will be eliminated.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.