Waterport, NY 
Shore Winds DGC - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: paul2432 Hole #17 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 419ft.   4 / 499ft.   4 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Got distance?

5+    6/15/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful scenery of the lake
- course is VERY clean and well maintained
- camping on site
- bathrooms, pavilion, & picnic tables
- 3 sets of tees (that are all easily located!).
- Long & Mid tees are concrete. Short tees are natural and marked with red stakes & sunken 4x4s.
- maps available at the kiosk by hole 1. Pick one up.
- This is an excellent compliment to the white (beginner friendly) course which is also on site. This is a much tougher and MUCH longer course
- a good variety of hole lengths and pars (6x3, 7x4, 5x5). Some of these are quite long, including 2 over 700' and a par 4 610' hole #1 to make sure you are awake to start your round.
- Did i mention distance? At 9191 ft you'll get a workout.
- The course is rarely busy which allows some time to soak in the scenery or take a few extra practice shots as needed.
- There isn't much elevation - but what is there is used well. The best of which is hole #13
- Hole #13 - I LOVE this hole. It is right along the cliffs edge to lake Ontario. Great view. It plays very downhill along the bank and the pin is (234/283/331) nestled on a point with a cliff to the left and behind it. There are stairs down so if you are *slightly* left or long you have a shot at your disc being saveable, but if way long / left it is in the lake. Playing it safe to the right is an option with mostly high grass, but there are some trees making that a bit challenging for a rhbh line.
- This course is unique in that most (but not all) holes do not require a specific line to be successful, but they do require you to have good distance and excellent placement. There is a lot of OB (service road throughout comes into play on several holes) and also some OB "lakes" staked off as well. This really comes into play on #6 is the OB is just where you want to be and they leave a VERY narrow path available on the approach. Additionally, several of the holes are fairly open above ~5-10' but have scattered thick bushes and smaller trees throughout. Since you are throwing over most of this the line doesn't matter, but it does matter that you place your shot where you haven't jailed yourself behind one of these obstacles.
- Wind. It is quite open and there is often a stiff breeze off the lake. Just adds to the challenge.
- The mound on #18. I could practice on this all day and still not have the guts to really run a putt from the bottom when it counted....but it is sooo rewarding to park a long upshot on top of the mound and drop in a bird (only happened once).
Cons: - No teesigns. Fortunately these are currently in the works for this summer, but for now you need a map from the kiosk to navigate your first time through.
- It is one long 18 hole loop. You could make a 9 hole loop out of 1-5, 15-18 but you are missing some of the better holes.
-Hole 15 is rather uninspired. Wide open, super short ace run with no risk to it. After all the other OB/lakes/etc it just seems so bleh. EDIT - UPDATE - This hole is meant to be played as an island hole (re-tee if missed the short grass) which makes it more interesting than I had initially indicated.
- Don't forget the bug spray.
- $6 / car to park (unless you have a NYS parks pass) if you are not camping on site.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. No matter how great I play in a given day, there is always 1 (or 10) strokes I felt like I left out there....but there are always a few great shots I made to leave happy - even if the score was a little rough.

With the 2 courses on site there is something for everyone here. This course is much longer and much tougher so if playing both you may want to warm up on the white course. If you can only pick 1; play this if looking for a challenge; play the white for a confidence boost or if you have beginners.

A note on course improvements:
- Prior reviews indicate natural tees - the mid & long tees are all concrete.
- This summer there are a few changes planned. The pin for #12 has moved further to the right. It is now almost a straight shot at the cliff which is waiting if you are 15' long. #17 had had the pin moved further right and deeper in the woods. They are also cutting a new fairway through the woods on this one but it isn't complete yet so i don't know how it'll play. Last but not least, tee signs are on the way and much needed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Open Course geared to Pros

5+    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great location with bathrooms near first hole and right next to another fine course.
- Kiosk includes scorecards and map.
- Great scenery around course including holes that drive right next to Lake Ontario
- Lots of chances for risk reward shots.
- Mostly open course with good mix of anhyzer and hyzer shots required
- Well marked set of three tees
- Great course for pro or close to pro players who like to air it out
- Not a very busy course, on most days you wont run into any other discers. You might have to watch out got campers riding their bikes or walking around the lake
- Good use of out of bounds to make course more interesting
-Pretty easy to follow from hole to hole, especially since maps are provide
- Nice upkeep of fairways and the course is pretty void of garbage
Cons: - Hole 9 is a nice idea but lacks a fairway from the blue tee.
- There is no midway point of the course which returns to the parking lot, which would be nice since it is so long. Some days you might just want to play 9 (I would suggest the back 9)
- No Tee pads or signs. Tee pads are not too much of an issue because it is mostly flat ground and the tees are well marked, however signs would be nice because some of the holes are really long.
- The course is mostly wide open so their is not much shade and can get very hot on a summer day (Bring Water)
- There are only two holes that are in the woods and in my opinion, they are not very good due to strange design -Hole 8 is 300 feet and then a 90ish degree turn to the right and then another 300 feet into the woods. -Hole 9 I already mentioned
- Lots of brush where discs can be easily lost

Other Thoughts: This course may be really decent for pros, but at times it lacks the value of fun due to its hardness and length for the amateur. Definitely do not bring beginners here because chances of losing discs are very high if you cannot control your disc to a high degree due to playing right along the lake at points. I haven't tried it recently but this course would probably be more enjoyable for the average player if played from the white tees. That is why there are different tees. The nice part is, if you do not want a monster course, shorewinds has a much more pleasant course for the amateur right across the parking lot. So unless you are looking for a beating or really want to test your drives try the white course instead. if you want to play this course and are not pro or lose to pro level, I definitely suggest using the white tees

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A bit open

1    8/19/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept park along Lake Ontario. There are some great holes that bring the lake and a small cliff down to the beach into play, adding some risk and some really nice vistas. The course is mostly open with scattered trees and brush, though a handful of holes play along the edges of some dense woods adding a little more punishment for missed lines. There is plenty of distance to open up and throw some bombs, though the rough and wind make you really focus on shot placement if you don't want to be searching.

Though the course is pretty open, there are several holes that call for specific lines, especially if you want to avoid the water or nasty rough. There are multiple tees that offer different lengths, the shorter tees are a lot more beginner friendly in many cases. The baskets are in nice shape, and the fairways were well kept when I visited. The kiosk at the parking lot had good course maps that made navigation fairly straightforward.
Cons: I'm not generally a huge fan of mowed fairways through tall grass. There was enough brush and other types of rough mixed in that I enjoyed the course, but I do find it frustrating at times to have a lot of rough that doesn't punish your next shot it just makes you search. There are also some thorny areas in the woods to watch out for. The layout feels a bit one dimensional at times, with length and wind as the major factors to contend with.

The maps are nice, and make navigation fairly easy, but it would still be nice to have a little more marking at the tees. The grass tees were mostly in ok shape, but with more traffic and some wet weather they could be a little messy.
Other Thoughts: The views and chances to air it out make this course worth a stop, especially with the white course just across the parking lot and a decent campground in the same park. Beginners will find the short tees to be reasonable lengths, though the rough and wind could potentially frustrate less accurate new players. More experienced throwers won't find a ton of different challenges, but distance and shot placement are key to a good score here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 awesome

2-4    6/11/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very scenic. mostly open course alongside lake ontario with beautiful views. the blue course is the longer of the two courses at shore winds and its first tee is on the west side of the parking lot (you'll see the blue post).

tees. each of the holes has a very easy to spot blue post to mark the tees (there are multiple tees per hole), which are just grass tees marked by smaller posts.

basket placements. excellent! hole 13 is the coolest hole i've played in rochester with you teeing off alongside lake ontario nearly on the edge of a cliff with the fairway playing downhill to the basket 336 feet away. simply awesome. likewise, hole 14 follows the curve of the cliff/ embankment, creating a 627 foot hole that forces you to throw so close to the edge on the drive that it can really test your nerves.

difficulty. basket placement, length, o.b. on a couple of holes, and wind (see below) provide the major challenges. this is a long course at 8538 feet and being able to drive far will be a huge help. besides challenging basket placements (see above), o.b. comes into play on several holes. for instance, o.b. on hole 8 is especially cool. you tee off this 572 mostly open hole, then approach the basket on the left side of a small hill with a large kidney bean-shaped o.b. covering the whole lower left side of the hill. even if you lay up to the right, it gives you a putt that drops off o.b. very quickly. very fun.

wind. can make your round very unique. those 15 foot putts with 20-30 foot mph gusts are tough! time to learn what your drivers and putters do with a wind that can change directions on you. all that said, i'd say that nearly 75% of the time i've played these courses, the wind wasn't too strong or not present at all. seems to me you'll either get blasted or have a calm day. either way, it's fun.
Cons: wet. incredibly wet in spring (but then again we had a TON of rain), to the point i'd wait till late may/june to try and play it. also, with all the criss-crossing over a drainage area in front of number 1 and the length of number 2, there was nowhere to pass. again, everywhere was wet, so this may be a good place to put a little bridge. (when I played the course again several weeks ago, everything was completely dry...now that we've had nearly no rain)

wooded holes. i like the designs, but the pars seem generous.

long grass. the fairways are mowed and the "rough" has grown to maybe two feet. while i love the look, beware that it's very easy to lose a disc. we lost one having watched it the whole flight.

wind. although i listed it as a pro, sometimes you just want it to go away

Other Thoughts: tee pads would be awesome as well as signs, easily bumping this course up to a 4.5, making a map from dgcr extremely helpful.

consider pants with the way the fairways are cut. long grass left me scratched and very itchy. but despite the itchiness and a friend losing a disc, i love the look.

if you go early, you never have to pay the parking fee (just a couple of dollars per car...no biggie for two sweet courses).

if you're coming to rochester for the worlds, you should definitely check out this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Monster

1    4/24/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The most scenic course in the Rochester/Buffalo area. Bring a camera, as there are tons of beautiful shots of Lake Ontario.
-A huge distance course with 11 holes at 500' feet or more, four over 600', and hole 2 covering 730'. There are a few wooded holes, but load your bag with drivers.
-I usually am not a fan of alot of OB, but this course does a great job of making the mostly open holes interesting with an OB road that snakes through the course, and a few OB "islands" placed throughout.
-Quite a few huge risk/reward throws with Lake Ontario being in play on a number of holes. You CAN get down to the shore at the basket for 13 if you throw go over the cliff.
-During the summer, there's a bathroom at the keosk.
-Maps/scorecards at the keosk
-Very well maintained state park with brand new baskets.
-Camping! There are campsites within walking distance of these two courses, making this an amazing weekend disc golfing destination.
-Two great courses in one spot!
Cons: -No teepads. Just grass or mud depending on the hole.
-Can be VERY windy most of the time. Not really a con, but when you're throwing over 8000', a steady 30 mph wind with OB and a lake can be challenging.
-Not very well marked yet. The course is very new, but there are only posts in the ground to mark the tees. It can be tricky to figure out where to throw, especially on the back 9 when the blue course gets close the white course. Grab a map at the keosk.
-In the summer, there is a $2.00 parking fee, but it is entirely worth it to play both courses.
-Not sure if it will continue to be an issue during the summer, but the course was very wet and muddy during the spring. Bring waterproof boots.
-The course is very young and still being tweaked, but a couple of the wooded holes could use more defined lines.
Other Thoughts: Just a perfect weekend disc golf destination. The two courses together are a blast to play. The Blue course is a great mix of legitimate par 4's and 5's. It's already earned the nickname "The Monster", and will take a while to play a round. That said, it will be an amazing game, with breathtaking views and beautiful pin placements on the shores of Lake Ontario. The caliber of this course, paired with a location between Buffalo and Rochester should ensure that this will be a popular course once word gets out. I know I can't wait to play it again!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center