Waterport, NY 
Shore Winds DGC - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: paul2432 Hole #14 (Taken 9/2011)
5 / 424ft.   5 / 513ft.   5 / 602ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
scenic and well maintained

1    9/13/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 339  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 30.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with Lake Ontario bordering or lining several holes. Loved the cut grass on this very well maintained state park. Two sets of cement tees. Scorecards printed on thick stock were available at tee #1 and are very much needed for the map on them. Blue and white cement tees plus short red grass tees are clearly marked. Nicknamed "the Beast", it provides a challenge for experienced players. Marked OB makes it play even harder. Good tee signs. Restrooms are located near the parking lot and between the two courses. Bonus points for having a second course in the same park. 1 and 2 were great holes to start while 17 and 18 were great finishing holes.
Cons: The layout wasn't intuitive, I was glad to have a map. The next hole at times simply wasn't where I expected it to be. You cross a park road several times, see a tee pad but that's not the next hole. I was there on a calm day but imagine the WIND is usually a major factor. I disliked holes 8 and 9, the only truly wooded holes on the blue course. #8 had a very odd turn and a group of trees 60-80 ft from the basket that made it nearly impossible to attempt a birdie shot. #9 white tee had a weird S turn/angle in it's wooded fairway. (I did like the basket up top of the hill though). The course is fairly flat, not much elevation overall.
Other Thoughts: I played the white tees since I'm an Adv Grd Master and don't have a big arm, they provided a good challenge. The course starts out rather long with par 4's and a 5, they are very good holes.

I got confused after blue #15 and ended up on white #15 instead of finding blue #16 without back tracking.

I drove 90 minutes (one way) out of the way while on a 13 hr 2 day trip, I'd play this blue course if in the area again for sure but wouldn't play the white course again.

Carry in/out park, no trash cans even in the restrooms.

I played after Labor Day and didn't have to pay a park fee.

Bring food/water, as I found no convenient stores nearby for lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring water and your hiking shoes.

5+    7/7/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: B The V
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple concrete tees.
-New signs at each hole.
-Nice baskets.
-Wide variety of shots needed.
-Clean and mowed often.
-Shorter "warm up" course next door.
-Camping available.
-Bathrooms near the tee pad for 1.
-Great views of the lake.
-Challenging without being ridiculous.
-Most holes are well thought out and use the landscape to provide the challenge.
Cons: -High wind. Rarely is there little to no wind here. It can make some holes tricky, especially 13 and 14, as they play along Lake Ontario.
-Once you start this course there is no loop back to the parking lot/bathrooms, and it is a long course.
-Some of the holes are very long which will be frustrating to newer players.
-Hole 8 is a bit on the ridiculous side and the only hole I dread walking up to. Many people play only from the red tees.
Other Thoughts: The Beast is a long course that few will ever master due to its technical shots and high wind making shot placement difficult. With that said, it's not always super windy so don't be afraid to test your arm out.
Make sure you bring plenty of fluids and sun screen during the warmer months. Most holes have fairways in the direct sun. Also make sure you carry your trash out, as the park has a carry in carry out policy.
This course easily has some of the longest holes in the region, so if you feel like stretching out your arm and trying out some new drivers, grab a campsite at Lakeside State Park (roughly $21 a night) and make a weekend of playing two great courses along the shores of Lake Ontario.
(Side note: to go to the nearest gas station for ice, water, beer, subs, Leave the park and continue to Rt 18 and take a right (head west). The store will be a mile and a half on your right. Can't miss it)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the Premier Courses in Western New York

2-4    6/5/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: toddnick
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great variety of holes (200 feet to 750 feet), hyzer and anhyzer lines.
- A few wooded holes and baskets tucked into the woods, several wide open holes and a few amazing holes right along the bluff above Lake Ontario.
- Over 8,000 feet from the white tees; the first three holes start you off with over 600 feet each.
- Immaculate, no trash at all and well mowed.
- Some highlight holes that you'll remember: #1, 3, 8, 9, 13, 18.
- Not crowded because it is so off the beaten path.
- Has another very good but shorter course right on the property (Shore Winds).
- There is a nice campground right in this park.
- Concrete pads, nice baskets and decent signs.
Cons: - Wind can be an issue; especially on the open holes along the lake.
- Has some "made up" out of bounds (though I'm new at the game, I just don't understand the need for "mandatories" or "the high grass in the middle of the fairway is out of bounds").
- There is an entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is about an 80 minute drive for me to get here; this course and its companion course make it well worth the trip (except when the winds are up).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The next day I realized I loved it

1    6/4/2016   6/6/2016
Review By: joenlinda
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2016
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: High quality score cards and pencils near Hole #1.
Very well laid out and VERY challenging.
I didn't see any empty cans or water bottles anywhere.
A perfect mix of open holes, woods, obstacles.
A step above any of the other 15 courses I've played.

Cons: A long course which will tire you out.
Other Thoughts: I just started playing disc golf about 9 months ago so I was pretty nervous about playing this course. It was super challenging but I think I actually played quite well on it. I was exhausted by the end and wasn't sure at the time what I thought of it but over the last 2 days all i can think about is getting back out there and meeting that challenge again. I know that I played better than I ever have because it MADE me play better. I'll be back soon.
After playing this course multiple times now it's probably the best, most professional course around. It MAKES you play better. If you've never played here it's a must!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Pebble Beach of Discgolf

5+    7/19/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: SirAK
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tournament course, offering beautiful waterfront holes/views, a variety of shots. TWO 18 HOLE COURSES, constant changing conditions with the wind of the water.

Cons: Most of both courses are great, but hole 9 on blue course needs more of a fairway from white/blue tees.
Other Thoughts: Without getting into too much detail, the park manager loves discgolf and it shows with the amount of effort and upkeep at this course(s). This is in my opinion in the top 2 courses in NYS, along with Warwick. Prepare to throw with plenty of wind or no wind at all, but enjoy the views!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Keeps getting better and better!

5+    7/18/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: LukeButch
Played: 120  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - now has concrete tees! for both white and blue tees

-beautiful tee signs on every hole

-absolutely gorgeous views on #12-15 along the lake

-premium scorecards + pencils always available at the course kiosk near hole 1.

-long grass marks "fairways" and "rough", but the tall grass is short enough to find your disc, it merely presents another challenge when trying to throw a long 2nd shot

-great distances on the par 4s... while throwing far is a big advantage here, those with shorter, more precise shots can also score birdie 3s with well places drives and 2nd shots. only a couple holes where a "big arm" can have a chance for a birdie but others cant

Cons: -hole 9 needs tree removal, typically for tournaments everyone just plays from the red tees on that hole.

-some times of year if the course is too wet the rough can get long as it becomes very difficult to mow.

- not much nearby the park, it is a bit isolated. closest store is 5mi west, a small convenience store/deli/gas station
Other Thoughts: A true disc golf destination, 2 great courses in the same park along with camping. perfect for a weekend getaway!

I know the park manager personally after running an event here a few years ago. He loves disc golf so I only expect these courses to keep getting better and better.

There has been alot of improvement in both courses in the past 2 years. not only adding concrete teepads and tee signs, but cleaning up some holes that were a bit on the rough side. Every time I come here it looks better than the last

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Got distance?

5+    6/15/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful scenery of the lake
- course is VERY clean and well maintained
- camping on site
- bathrooms, pavilion, & picnic tables
- 3 sets of tees (that are all easily located!).
- Long & Mid tees are concrete. Short tees are natural and marked with red stakes & sunken 4x4s.
- maps available at the kiosk by hole 1. Pick one up.
- This is an excellent compliment to the white (beginner friendly) course which is also on site. This is a much tougher and MUCH longer course
- a good variety of hole lengths and pars (6x3, 7x4, 5x5). Some of these are quite long, including 2 over 700' and a par 4 610' hole #1 to make sure you are awake to start your round.
- Did i mention distance? At 9191 ft you'll get a workout.
- The course is rarely busy which allows some time to soak in the scenery or take a few extra practice shots as needed.
- There isn't much elevation - but what is there is used well. The best of which is hole #13
- Hole #13 - I LOVE this hole. It is right along the cliffs edge to lake Ontario. Great view. It plays very downhill along the bank and the pin is (234/283/331) nestled on a point with a cliff to the left and behind it. There are stairs down so if you are *slightly* left or long you have a shot at your disc being saveable, but if way long / left it is in the lake. Playing it safe to the right is an option with mostly high grass, but there are some trees making that a bit challenging for a rhbh line.
- This course is unique in that most (but not all) holes do not require a specific line to be successful, but they do require you to have good distance and excellent placement. There is a lot of OB (service road throughout comes into play on several holes) and also some OB "lakes" staked off as well. This really comes into play on #6 is the OB is just where you want to be and they leave a VERY narrow path available on the approach. Additionally, several of the holes are fairly open above ~5-10' but have scattered thick bushes and smaller trees throughout. Since you are throwing over most of this the line doesn't matter, but it does matter that you place your shot where you haven't jailed yourself behind one of these obstacles.
- Wind. It is quite open and there is often a stiff breeze off the lake. Just adds to the challenge.
- The mound on #18. I could practice on this all day and still not have the guts to really run a putt from the bottom when it counted....but it is sooo rewarding to park a long upshot on top of the mound and drop in a bird (only happened once).
Cons: - No teesigns. Fortunately these are currently in the works for this summer, but for now you need a map from the kiosk to navigate your first time through.
- It is one long 18 hole loop. You could make a 9 hole loop out of 1-5, 15-18 but you are missing some of the better holes.
-Hole 15 is rather uninspired. Wide open, super short ace run with no risk to it. After all the other OB/lakes/etc it just seems so bleh. EDIT - UPDATE - This hole is meant to be played as an island hole (re-tee if missed the short grass) which makes it more interesting than I had initially indicated.
- Don't forget the bug spray.
- $6 / car to park (unless you have a NYS parks pass) if you are not camping on site.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. No matter how great I play in a given day, there is always 1 (or 10) strokes I felt like I left out there....but there are always a few great shots I made to leave happy - even if the score was a little rough.

With the 2 courses on site there is something for everyone here. This course is much longer and much tougher so if playing both you may want to warm up on the white course. If you can only pick 1; play this if looking for a challenge; play the white for a confidence boost or if you have beginners.

A note on course improvements:
- Prior reviews indicate natural tees - the mid & long tees are all concrete.
- This summer there are a few changes planned. The pin for #12 has moved further to the right. It is now almost a straight shot at the cliff which is waiting if you are 15' long. #17 had had the pin moved further right and deeper in the woods. They are also cutting a new fairway through the woods on this one but it isn't complete yet so i don't know how it'll play. Last but not least, tee signs are on the way and much needed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Open Course geared to Pros

5+    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 112  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great location with bathrooms near first hole and right next to another fine course.
- Kiosk includes scorecards and map.
- Great scenery around course including holes that drive right next to Lake Ontario
- Lots of chances for risk reward shots.
- Mostly open course with good mix of anhyzer and hyzer shots required
- Well marked set of three tees
- Great course for pro or close to pro players who like to air it out
- Not a very busy course, on most days you wont run into any other discers. You might have to watch out got campers riding their bikes or walking around the lake
- Good use of out of bounds to make course more interesting
-Pretty easy to follow from hole to hole, especially since maps are provide
- Nice upkeep of fairways and the course is pretty void of garbage
-New detailed signs at every hole
-cement tee pads for blue and white tees. Some of the blue cement tee pads are in bad shape
Cons: - Hole 9 is a nice idea but lacks a fairway from the blue tee.
- There is no midway point of the course which returns to the parking lot, which would be nice since it is so long. Some days you might just want to play 9 (I would suggest the back 9)
- No Tee pads or signs. Tee pads are not too much of an issue because it is mostly flat ground and the tees are well marked, however signs would be nice because some of the holes are really long.
- The course is mostly wide open so their is not much shade and can get very hot on a summer day (Bring Water)
- There are only two holes that are in the woods and in my opinion, they are not very good due to strange design -Hole 8 is 300 feet and then a 90ish degree turn to the right and then another 300 feet into the woods. -Hole 9 I already mentioned
- Lots of brush where discs can be easily lost

Other Thoughts: This course may be really decent for pros, but at times it lacks the value of fun due to its hardness and length for the amateur. Definitely do not bring beginners here because chances of losing discs are very high if you cannot control your disc to a high degree due to playing right along the lake at points. I haven't tried it recently but this course would probably be more enjoyable for the average player if played from the white tees. That is why there are different tees. The nice part is, if you do not want a monster course, shorewinds has a much more pleasant course for the amateur right across the parking lot. So unless you are looking for a beating or really want to test your drives try the white course instead. if you want to play this course and are not pro or lose to pro level, I definitely suggest using the white tees

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A bit open

1    8/19/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept park along Lake Ontario. There are some great holes that bring the lake and a small cliff down to the beach into play, adding some risk and some really nice vistas. The course is mostly open with scattered trees and brush, though a handful of holes play along the edges of some dense woods adding a little more punishment for missed lines. There is plenty of distance to open up and throw some bombs, though the rough and wind make you really focus on shot placement if you don't want to be searching.

Though the course is pretty open, there are several holes that call for specific lines, especially if you want to avoid the water or nasty rough. There are multiple tees that offer different lengths, the shorter tees are a lot more beginner friendly in many cases. The baskets are in nice shape, and the fairways were well kept when I visited. The kiosk at the parking lot had good course maps that made navigation fairly straightforward.
Cons: I'm not generally a huge fan of mowed fairways through tall grass. There was enough brush and other types of rough mixed in that I enjoyed the course, but I do find it frustrating at times to have a lot of rough that doesn't punish your next shot it just makes you search. There are also some thorny areas in the woods to watch out for. The layout feels a bit one dimensional at times, with length and wind as the major factors to contend with.

The maps are nice, and make navigation fairly easy, but it would still be nice to have a little more marking at the tees. The grass tees were mostly in ok shape, but with more traffic and some wet weather they could be a little messy.
Other Thoughts: The views and chances to air it out make this course worth a stop, especially with the white course just across the parking lot and a decent campground in the same park. Beginners will find the short tees to be reasonable lengths, though the rough and wind could potentially frustrate less accurate new players. More experienced throwers won't find a ton of different challenges, but distance and shot placement are key to a good score here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/11/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very scenic. mostly open course alongside lake ontario with beautiful views. the blue course is the longer of the two courses at shore winds and its first tee is on the west side of the parking lot (you'll see the blue post).

tees. each of the holes has a very easy to spot blue post to mark the tees (there are multiple tees per hole), which are just grass tees marked by smaller posts.

basket placements. excellent! hole 13 is the coolest hole i've played in rochester with you teeing off alongside lake ontario nearly on the edge of a cliff with the fairway playing downhill to the basket 336 feet away. simply awesome. likewise, hole 14 follows the curve of the cliff/ embankment, creating a 627 foot hole that forces you to throw so close to the edge on the drive that it can really test your nerves.

difficulty. basket placement, length, o.b. on a couple of holes, and wind (see below) provide the major challenges. this is a long course at 8538 feet and being able to drive far will be a huge help. besides challenging basket placements (see above), o.b. comes into play on several holes. for instance, o.b. on hole 8 is especially cool. you tee off this 572 mostly open hole, then approach the basket on the left side of a small hill with a large kidney bean-shaped o.b. covering the whole lower left side of the hill. even if you lay up to the right, it gives you a putt that drops off o.b. very quickly. very fun.

wind. can make your round very unique. those 15 foot putts with 20-30 foot mph gusts are tough! time to learn what your drivers and putters do with a wind that can change directions on you. all that said, i'd say that nearly 75% of the time i've played these courses, the wind wasn't too strong or not present at all. seems to me you'll either get blasted or have a calm day. either way, it's fun.
Cons: wet. incredibly wet in spring (but then again we had a TON of rain), to the point i'd wait till late may/june to try and play it. also, with all the criss-crossing over a drainage area in front of number 1 and the length of number 2, there was nowhere to pass. again, everywhere was wet, so this may be a good place to put a little bridge. (when I played the course again several weeks ago, everything was completely dry...now that we've had nearly no rain)

wooded holes. i like the designs, but the pars seem generous.

long grass. the fairways are mowed and the "rough" has grown to maybe two feet. while i love the look, beware that it's very easy to lose a disc. we lost one having watched it the whole flight.

wind. although i listed it as a pro, sometimes you just want it to go away

Other Thoughts: tee pads would be awesome as well as signs, easily bumping this course up to a 4.5, making a map from dgcr extremely helpful.

consider pants with the way the fairways are cut. long grass left me scratched and very itchy. but despite the itchiness and a friend losing a disc, i love the look.

if you go early, you never have to pay the parking fee (just a couple of dollars per car...no biggie for two sweet courses).

if you're coming to rochester for the worlds, you should definitely check out this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.