Tonawanda, NY 
Ellicott Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    8/6/2013   6/6/2014
Review By: Dr_Johnson
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play
Lots of variety in regard to shots needed
Excellent for beginner players
Well used and easy to navigate, but not crowded
Not overly wooded. You are not walking through the forest, but instead walking through a park. There are plenty of trees to play around without having to walk through the woods, thus I was less likely to lose/damage my discs.
Cons: Very flat. Not much change in elevation.
There were't many really long holes for longer drivers.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course that I have played. I enjoy the set up and atmosphere here. Definitely try to stop whenever I'm in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

1    9/22/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: mbenn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice signs.
Cons: Most holes were under water and over my boots, looks like a muddy place for disc golf. No variety, all are shorter shots. No real elevation changes, cars parked on the grass between tee's and baskets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Lady

2-4    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Walnuts312
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
Pros: Shade, and lots of it. On a sunny day, you won't have to worry about sunburns if you're fair skinned.

Fairly fast course to play, as many of the shots are short, simple, and straight. The occasional tree is almost all that stands in your way (besides a few passerbys now and then).
Cons: Must beware of the lake on this one later hole (14?). Lost a disc by not compensating enough.

Dirt Tees. Concrete tees would make it awesome.

The tee on 18 can be particularly muddy or flooded depending on how recently it rained. We just moved farther up the trail to shoot from and all was well.

Course is almost too simple.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course to play when you're looking to take it easy for a day, or bringing a few beginners along.

 Casual Review

1    4/23/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: kpquinlivan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Nice course layout throughout a very nice park
--Great course map and signs make it very easy to keep your bearings during a round
--Doesn't interfere with anyone else in the park as the course if off to secluded areas
--Was able to play all 18 in under 40minutes on my lunch break
Cons: --18th tee box was flooded
--everything being a par 3 is difficult for beginners like myself. Cant see how one hole can be 287 feet and a par 3 and another 400 feet and a par 3
--lots of geese in the area to avoid. They are not intimidated by anything, including oncoming traffic, they seem indifferent to the people there but I avoided them to be on the safe side
Other Thoughts: --I am sure this course just gets better as the summer dries up
--would love to see some of the longer holes i.e. 4, 13 and a couple others get bumped to a par 4 for those who haven't gotten down a long range shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Simple Course

1    5/5/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a flat, mildly wooded town park. Good course for beginners.
- Excellent kiosk with course map that shows terrific graphics detail about the course (this somehow should get added to this website to replace the satellite view "map" currently here)
- Rentable pavillions (a few near hole #1) good for tourney central or weather shelter - plenty of parking
- 2 tees for each hole provide some variety
- Tee signs match the course map and provide excellent information at each hole (accurate map, par, distance for each tee)
- Not a high chance for a lost disc - very little underbrush on the course itself and only a few fairways run along side heavier woods with downed leaves - water in play on 2 holes, but no throwovers
- Easy walk - relatively short and no elevation changes (except hole #16) if you're looking for a nice, relaxing round/walk
- Options off the tee - almost all of the holes play through a grove type setting, with large, mature trees scattered about - this creates for many options of the tees, as you're not forced to go left, right, straight, etc.
Cons: - This course sits next to a creek/canal and as a result, either the water table is very high, there is no drainage, etc. - much of the course was wet and sloppy (fairway #18 was entirely 6 inches of water) or muddy - from other reviews, this seems typical
- Tee boxes are dirt/grass and didn't provide much solid footing - I had to tee off from behind or next to a few of them
- Park is used by many people that could interfere - the pavillions can get rented by whoever wants to throw a party/BBQ and lead to people wandering through fairways - came across an older couple fishing along hole #5, but had their chairs out in the fairway to get sun - girl looking for a tan had her beach chair set up 15 feet away from basket #10
- Very little variety - almost all holes are flat with some scattered trees to avoid - not much variation in length - it got fairly repetitive
- Maybe it was just this one guy, but a maintenance guy mowing the grass was completely oblivious that I was waiting to throw - kept right on mowing the fairway I was on even when I waved and he saw me
- Only played the white tees, but from the map, the red tees appear to be just shorter versions of the same hole/line - it would be nice if they were moved around a bit to create a new look
Other Thoughts: - No trash/benches for the course (along the holes or at the tees) specifically, but since it's in a big, multi-use park, you can find something nearby
- Little bit of a walk from hole #12 to 13 and then back from #18 to the start, but not too bad
- Spotter needed on hole #16, which is the only hole with elevation change - throw blind up over a little hill and then downhill again to the basket left-to-right - thicker brush could make for a tough disc find if you're playing solo
- #15 is real nice looking hole with a sort of dammed-off portion of the creek as a pin backdrop - windy day made it a little scary to run at the pin

Pretty solid course, though nothing spectacular. Real nice job with the layout, given the lack of varied terrain to work with. Definitely seems like a good option if you're looking for a quick round after work or something like that. Standing water did make it a bit tough, but what can you do?.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: dyngus
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely flat course, plenty of trees as obstacles make up for the lack of terrain. Extremely straight forward, excellent beginner course. The signs made for the course are very nice.
Cons: No concrete pads(the pads can get really muddy), in an often crowded park, not only do you have to wait on other disc golfers, but there are pavillions nearby many holes so there are often people in the way of holes
Other Thoughts: Nice park, really close to a highway exit, conviently located for most of the suburbs of Buffalo. quick course to play when not over packed

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Design

5+    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a straightforward course that does not lean advantage to any particular disc golfer. Off the tee, there are many options; hyzer, anyzer...anything. The individuals who designed this course did an excellent job with creating an 18 hole course in the amount of space they had to work with. Quick to play around, and baskets are brand new and awesome!
Cons: The course is very very straightforward and as about exciting as it can possibly be....which is not very exciting at all. Only 3 or 4 holes let you air out a long drive.
Other Thoughts: The park is very crowded on the weekends, especially for Holes 1 and 18

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, New Course

1    6/24/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: lucasfnelson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a weekend warrior dg player, and I have been growing increasingly obsessed with the game. But I felt like the immediate areas around Buffalo lacked a decent course for people such as myself. Payne park is way too easy, and I hate having to pay $7 (plus $2 for the toll bridge) to play Beaver Island. Ellicott Creek park is a nice intermediary.

The holes are interesting: I never found myself feeling like I was playing the same hole over and over again. Despite the park being marshy because of some heavy rain, I still managed to get par on many holes. The white tees not only add the distance challenge, but on many holes they also change the line of the course, making it more interesting.

There are a few really memorable holes on the course, especially 16 and 18. The former requires to blind drives, one uphill and the other downhill, and I had a lot of fun--even though I totally needed a spotter.

Lastly, I think the course has a nice balance of open holes and some more heavily wooded holes, which forces you to use a variety of different throws.
Cons: Concrete tees would be nice. When I played the course, many of the tees were under water, so I had to search out a location dry enough to get a good drive from.

Many of the holes are under 300' even from the white tees, which I think is pretty short, even for a noob such as myself.
Other Thoughts: I don't think any of the other reviews mention this, but they have the signs up! This was great because when I played there was no one else on the course. The signs are a great help and they even tell you where the next tee is in relation to the hole.

This course is good for rec players and those who are looking to refine their game. There are definitely more challenging courses in the area, but Ellicott Creek offers some fun holes and is great place to hone in your skills (or to take some potential converts).

It is nice to know that there is a decent course that is close to Buffalo, and is fee free!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 solid course for locals

2-4    4/23/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: cswilliams27
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Northtowns of WNY are definitely devoid of any acceptable courses unless you're willing to hop over to Grand Island to play Beaver Island, a course that may have become old hat for many players in the area. With this in mind, Ellicott Creek is a welcome addition to those in the area looking for a new course to play. Although the course is mostly flat ground (except for one up-and-down on hole 16), the layout established by local disc golf wizards Doug Opiela and Chad Adams still allows semi pro players some challenges from hole to hole.

The course makes great use of the few trees that are present, framing lanes for skilled players looking to make a play at baskets that still stand around 250-350 feet from the tee on average. Although the park is in a very busy area of Amherst/Tonawanda, the course itself is tucked into a back area that doesn't see too much foot traffic. I also enjoy the fact that a couple holes run along the creek, and although they don't present a serious threat of getting your disc wet, they still give some welcome variety and nice scenery to the course.

Many basket placements are tucked away in small groupings of trees, giving experienced players an opportunity to practice their approaches from both the left and right - a great course to work out some kinks before hitting the big courses. Make no mistake, despite the "par 3" branding, long arms will still have an opportunity to air it out and frame shots in between trees.

There is nothing wrong with a short course. If I play the course by myself, I can get through 18 in an hour, or sometimes less. Great course to squeeze in on a weekday between work and dinner. Rarely do you have to walk far to find the next tee, and the flow of the course is very natural. The new tee signs look GREAT, and once the map is up at the kiosk it will add a bit more flair as well.
Cons: If you're not a local and reading this review looking for the best courses to play in the area, make the extra drive to the Ridge, Emery Park, or even Como Lake instead. As nice as it is to have a new course, let's be honest, this course is what it is - a short, fairly uneventful, par 3 course. For a local like me who recently relocated from the Southtowns to the Northtowns, I am happy to have a new course to play on a random day I have a craving to throw plastic, but in no way is it a replacement for the challenges or variety that the Ridge or Emery provide.

The flat nature of the course has made it virtually impossible to play this season so far. Two weeks ago when I was there, the course was completely underwater. I drove by two days ago and it was still in bad shape. I'm not sure what the future will have in store since the course is so new, but it seems like a course that will be very tough to play the day after any sort of significant rainfall without waterproof boots.

The tee on 18 has been underwater every time I've went to play, and looks like it may never be playable.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the Goose Army that likes to hang out around holes 12-13...those sky rodents can get nasty.

I realize the review above details both the highs and lows of this course, but I cannot express how thankful I am to the NRDG for putting this course in and providing me a place to play on a daily basis. I really look forward to this course drying out and having a place to stop on the way home from work to play every day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/20/2010   3/26/2011
Review By: I Wanna GO Discin'
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: From the beginner's standpoint I was/still am in love with this course. Each hole is something different requiring different skill shots or power shots. By my third time through, my game improved from 4 or 5 over par; to 1 over or even at par. It's big enough to accomodate alot of people wherever you start from and not having to wait to tee off
Cons: The downhill water shot is very touchy with me playing my hookshot. I think it would be nice to have a net over the rocks to catch runaway discs.
Other Thoughts: I'll be out here all summer long, hope to see you there :)

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.