Tonawanda, NY 
Ellicott Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good course with a few minor issues

5+    6/26/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: Lance81
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is fairly spacious and laid out well; holes don't interfere with each other, and are generally out of the way of other park activities.
- Pretty easy to find your way between holes, although the path from 12 to 13 could be more clearly marked for people unfamiliar with the course.
- Trees and bushes provide a good challenge without being unreasonable, and there are usually a few different paths to the target available.
- Adequate variety among the holes in terms of both length and obstacles.
- Approachable enough for most beginners and still presents some challenges for more experienced players.
- Usually not too crowded, but certainly there are better times to go than others.
- Free to play.
Cons: - About half of the course tends to get very swampy or even flood after it rains.
- Natural dirt tee pads, which are prone to getting muddy, especially on hole 18.
- Some of the signs are missing (holes 4-6), but that's a pretty self-explanatory section of the course.
- Several holes can really punish you with a lost disc for an errant throw.
- Elevation is only a factor on one hole.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played and remains the one I play most often. There are better courses in the region, but this one is a free convenient full course that is interesting enough to keep playing. Flooding and mud are the biggest problems, as are some occasional romps through the bushes in search of discs. Installing concrete tee pads and being a little more attentive to maintenance and landscaping would really go a long way in improving this course. Holes 5 and 15 play alongside water hazards, so you'll want low accurate shots there. Hole 16 is probably the most interesting: a blind uphill drive onto what barely qualifies as a fairway with a lot of weeds and bushes. It's a good hole for losing a disc, so it would be wise to have a spotter. Everything is a par 3, which can be frustrating on the longer and more demanding holes, but is generally reasonable for experienced players who can consistently make accurate throws. Probably not a much of a challenge for a pro, but a good course to work on several elements of your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/20/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: -Easy to navigate.
-Nice Variety of hole length
-Beginner friendly
-If the park is not crowded (usually isn't in the morning) you can play all 18 in well under an hour.
Cons: -Can flood real bad through out most of the course
-Park can get crowded on the Weekends.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses that I have ever played. Very good for beginners, flat course. When it is Dry it is a good course to get a quick round in.

The Creek that runs along hole 5 has never been friendly to me, especially when I first started playing


2-4    10/24/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - In a park with other great amenities. Bathrooms, rentable pavilions, and other park activities
- Beautiful tee signs with all the required info. Sadly a few were missing when I went through. :(
- A good first 18 course for a newer player. Reachable holes. Very little lost disc possibility (there are a few close to the water but they aren't thrown over and can be played safely for a beginner.
Cons: - Natural teepads with the usual wear & tear. Some were a bit muddy & slippery when I played.
- On the short side with all 3s with 11/18 under 300'. The shortest is 205' and the longest 390'.
- Although 2 tees are listed on DGCR and the tee signs (at the longs), I wasn't able to easily find the shorts. No point in having them if they aren't CLEARLY marked (see beaver island).
Other Thoughts: - The course is a very typical "in a park" course with almost everything being very flat and well mowed. There are mature trees throughout which are used as the primary obstacles.
- Given this - there are often many lines available from the tee and few forced shots. This could be a pro if it was on a few select holes - but here it seemed as a con as you can pretty much throw the same shot hole after hole and it gets boring. I'd rather have a course dictate specific lines to test me instead of allowing me to pick the same shot hole after hole. Given this and the short distance, I ended up using very little of my bag which is never a good sign.
- Hole #16 was really fun and stood out to me. I could see it being a negative for some though as it is a blind shot over a hill (and back down) with one of the few spots of nasty brush rough. I played it alone and was fortunate but I'd definitely recommend a spotter here. Given the height needed to clear the hill I could easily see some noob hyzers ending up real deep in the rough.

A note on the rating. I was very close to putting this one up to a 3 but I just couldn't do it looking at my other 3 courses which I feel are all better overall courses which I'd rather play. If there were a 2.75 option I'd have definitely picked that here. I will definitely say that the designer did a good job with what they had to work with but the limitations of the terrain, trees, and park are what hold the course back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/6/2013   6/6/2014
Review By: Dr_Johnson
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play
Lots of variety in regard to shots needed
Excellent for beginner players
Well used and easy to navigate, but not crowded
Not overly wooded. You are not walking through the forest, but instead walking through a park. There are plenty of trees to play around without having to walk through the woods, thus I was less likely to lose/damage my discs.
Cons: Very flat. Not much change in elevation.
There were't many really long holes for longer drivers.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course that I have played. I enjoy the set up and atmosphere here. Definitely try to stop whenever I'm in town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

1    9/22/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: mbenn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice signs.
Cons: Most holes were under water and over my boots, looks like a muddy place for disc golf. No variety, all are shorter shots. No real elevation changes, cars parked on the grass between tee's and baskets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Shady Lady

2-4    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Walnuts312
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shade, and lots of it. On a sunny day, you won't have to worry about sunburns if you're fair skinned.

Fairly fast course to play, as many of the shots are short, simple, and straight. The occasional tree is almost all that stands in your way (besides a few passerbys now and then).
Cons: Must beware of the lake on this one later hole (14?). Lost a disc by not compensating enough.

Dirt Tees. Concrete tees would make it awesome.

The tee on 18 can be particularly muddy or flooded depending on how recently it rained. We just moved farther up the trail to shoot from and all was well.

Course is almost too simple.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course to play when you're looking to take it easy for a day, or bringing a few beginners along.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Casual Review

1    4/23/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: kpquinlivan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Nice course layout throughout a very nice park
--Great course map and signs make it very easy to keep your bearings during a round
--Doesn't interfere with anyone else in the park as the course if off to secluded areas
--Was able to play all 18 in under 40minutes on my lunch break
Cons: --18th tee box was flooded
--everything being a par 3 is difficult for beginners like myself. Cant see how one hole can be 287 feet and a par 3 and another 400 feet and a par 3
--lots of geese in the area to avoid. They are not intimidated by anything, including oncoming traffic, they seem indifferent to the people there but I avoided them to be on the safe side
Other Thoughts: --I am sure this course just gets better as the summer dries up
--would love to see some of the longer holes i.e. 4, 13 and a couple others get bumped to a par 4 for those who haven't gotten down a long range shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Simple Course

1    5/5/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a flat, mildly wooded town park. Good course for beginners.
- Excellent kiosk with course map that shows terrific graphics detail about the course (this somehow should get added to this website to replace the satellite view "map" currently here)
- Rentable pavillions (a few near hole #1) good for tourney central or weather shelter - plenty of parking
- 2 tees for each hole provide some variety
- Tee signs match the course map and provide excellent information at each hole (accurate map, par, distance for each tee)
- Not a high chance for a lost disc - very little underbrush on the course itself and only a few fairways run along side heavier woods with downed leaves - water in play on 2 holes, but no throwovers
- Easy walk - relatively short and no elevation changes (except hole #16) if you're looking for a nice, relaxing round/walk
- Options off the tee - almost all of the holes play through a grove type setting, with large, mature trees scattered about - this creates for many options of the tees, as you're not forced to go left, right, straight, etc.
Cons: - This course sits next to a creek/canal and as a result, either the water table is very high, there is no drainage, etc. - much of the course was wet and sloppy (fairway #18 was entirely 6 inches of water) or muddy - from other reviews, this seems typical
- Tee boxes are dirt/grass and didn't provide much solid footing - I had to tee off from behind or next to a few of them
- Park is used by many people that could interfere - the pavillions can get rented by whoever wants to throw a party/BBQ and lead to people wandering through fairways - came across an older couple fishing along hole #5, but had their chairs out in the fairway to get sun - girl looking for a tan had her beach chair set up 15 feet away from basket #10
- Very little variety - almost all holes are flat with some scattered trees to avoid - not much variation in length - it got fairly repetitive
- Maybe it was just this one guy, but a maintenance guy mowing the grass was completely oblivious that I was waiting to throw - kept right on mowing the fairway I was on even when I waved and he saw me
- Only played the white tees, but from the map, the red tees appear to be just shorter versions of the same hole/line - it would be nice if they were moved around a bit to create a new look
Other Thoughts: - No trash/benches for the course (along the holes or at the tees) specifically, but since it's in a big, multi-use park, you can find something nearby
- Little bit of a walk from hole #12 to 13 and then back from #18 to the start, but not too bad
- Spotter needed on hole #16, which is the only hole with elevation change - throw blind up over a little hill and then downhill again to the basket left-to-right - thicker brush could make for a tough disc find if you're playing solo
- #15 is real nice looking hole with a sort of dammed-off portion of the creek as a pin backdrop - windy day made it a little scary to run at the pin

Pretty solid course, though nothing spectacular. Real nice job with the layout, given the lack of varied terrain to work with. Definitely seems like a good option if you're looking for a quick round after work or something like that. Standing water did make it a bit tough, but what can you do?.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: dyngus
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely flat course, plenty of trees as obstacles make up for the lack of terrain. Extremely straight forward, excellent beginner course. The signs made for the course are very nice.
Cons: No concrete pads(the pads can get really muddy), in an often crowded park, not only do you have to wait on other disc golfers, but there are pavillions nearby many holes so there are often people in the way of holes
Other Thoughts: Nice park, really close to a highway exit, conviently located for most of the suburbs of Buffalo. quick course to play when not over packed

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Design

5+    8/23/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a straightforward course that does not lean advantage to any particular disc golfer. Off the tee, there are many options; hyzer, anyzer...anything. The individuals who designed this course did an excellent job with creating an 18 hole course in the amount of space they had to work with. Quick to play around, and baskets are brand new and awesome!
Cons: The course is very very straightforward and as about exciting as it can possibly be....which is not very exciting at all. Only 3 or 4 holes let you air out a long drive.
Other Thoughts: The park is very crowded on the weekends, especially for Holes 1 and 18

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.