Elwood, IN 
Elwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 147ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wood Lovers Dream

5+    7/7/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: DiskJunky
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best part about this course is the diversity. There is a little something for everyone at Elwood. Short and tight fairways throughout most of the course which adds for a challenging around.

There are tables, benches, and trash cans on every hole on the course.

All concrete keypads.

Interesting and unique pin locations.

course also has a practice basket.

Signs with distances on all holes as well

Cons: The number one issue with the course is glass. Much of the glass has been taking care of by the spreading of mulch. The only downfall of this course is it was built on a city dump.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in central Indiana. Super fun and challenging yet fair. Lots of interesting holes at Elwood if you haven't played it I suggest you make the trip, it's well worth the drive.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Difficult Compact Course

2-4    5/30/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - The baskets are very grippy Spider-web 3 baskets. There is only one basket location per hole. Some baskets are in unique placements.

Variety - Most holes are similar in length (almost all are less than 300 feet). Hills, anhyzers, hyzers, several blind shots, and water hazards. It is mostly wooded with a few open holes.

Challenge Factor - This course requires accuracy and different throws than most courses (see above). It is hard to save par on this course due to the trees. Do not come to this course looking for a hole in one (although it is possible on some holes). Holes 2-4 have blind shots due to extreme elevation and curves.

Woods - 90% of this course is in the woods. Each hole has a fairway cut out into the woods that is at the least 15 feet wide.

Tees - 9 of the 18 holes have concrete tee pads. The original 9 holes are the ones with concrete tees, the newest holes (7-15) still have dirt tees (can be a con).

Signs - Every hole had very detailed signs included sponsor, map, hole number, distance, and par. Holes with sponsors had permanent signs while holes looking for sponsors had flimsy temporary signs. Same design on each sign.

Easy to navigate - Many holes are right next to others (it is very compact). If there is any doubt on which way to go for the next hole, there is an arrow on a nearby tree pointing you in the right direction. Just follow the paths.

Artwork - Some of the original holes have very unique carved wooden artwork throughout the course.

Benches - Almost all holes have benches to sit marked with EDGE (Elwood Disc Golf Enthusiasts)

Lots of Shade - This course is extremely wooded meaning it is mostly shaded. Holes 14 and 15 venture out into the sun but the rest of the course is in the shade.

This is a very peaceful course due to the nature feel to it. Baseball games during the Spring/Summer would more than likely change that.
Cons: Glass - Every hole has broken glass on the fairways (used to be a dump). Some of the newer holes now have mulch covering the fairways.

Trash - In addition to glass, there is trash (car parts, shoes, etc) scattered in the brush. Trash cans are needed.

Dirt Tee Pads on the newest holes (7-15). Not necessarily a con to some (I don't mind it) but it lowers my score for the course by about .25.

One Tee Per Hole - Courses that have more than one tee per hole add that much more variety and challenge. Space is limited at this course but some of the holes could use an alternate tee pad.

Needs a course map at the start of the course.

A spotter is needed on some of the holes due to the large amount of blind shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course. Do not come here expecting to throw long bombs because the holes are short and technical. I would not recommend this course to new players because they will spend more time looking for their disc than they would playing.

EDGE has started to spread mulch on some of the fairways to cover the glass. If the glass/trash was cleaned up or covered, this course would be at least a 4 out of 5.

I would recommend this course to anyone looking for a challenge. It is much more difficult and technical than any course in the area.

Alternate throw pads (either easier or more difficult), 100% concrete tee pads, 100% permanent signs, a course map, and less glass would make this course a 4.5 out of 5 in my opinion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the rough

2-4    4/9/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: bwill76
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of the land available
-Nice variety of shots
-Great Baskets
Cons: -Since it is on the site of a former landfill, there is alot of glass and trash around the course
-Trees need trimmed up
Other Thoughts: The more I play this course, the more I absolutely think it could be one of the finest courses in Central Indiana. The work that the disc golf club has done is to be applauded because they have created a great course for beginners and veteran players alike. They were putting mulch in some areas of the course which will really help with the glass and debris that is currently on the course. I would like to see them trim up some of the trees and remove others so that it is more feasible to go at the baskets because in some parts of the course it is virtually impossible to get to the basket for the dominance of trees. With that being said, it does force you to use your imagination to get around the trees to the baskets so it's not all bad. For anyone playing there for the first time, bring your accuracy with you because there are tight lines to throw through or you will be playing your next shot from the woods. Overall, I love this course and the potential it has to be an outstanding course that I will start playing in my regular rotation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Keeps getting better.

2-4    11/1/2012   1/8/2013
Review By: TheClarkFactor
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Techy, challenging holes
Plenty of variety
Improves your game
Cool environment (site used to be a dump)
Great DG community
Cons: Not quite "finished"
All Teepads aren't installed
Mostly short holes
Other Thoughts: The Elwood DG community is surprisingly active and they've put a lot of work into this course. They are continually making improvements and as a result the course is better every time I play. I've found that my game has improved after playing Elwood because there aren't easy shots...it's heavily wooded and challenging without being too punishing. One of my favorite courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short, Technical Woods Course

1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tight but fair woods course.
- mix of right and left tosses
- Easy to navigate
- a couple of nice ace runs
Cons: - built on a landfill, so off the fairway gets pretty bad with glass, bottles, trash. Main fairway is nice and clean though, can tell a lot of work went into it.
- no long holes. No driver required. I have a big arm, so I like a long hole or two.
- only a couple of concrete tee pads, but since the course is still quite new, i'm really just mentioning this so you know. Standstill tosses are all that is really needed, so mulch pads aren't bad. Even when it's wet out, only a few holes get soggy.
Other Thoughts: -Fun course. Quite a bit better than the other short, woods courses around the area. They were way too easy, this course is quite difficult. But i felt it was fair.
-You need to learn to control some ego though, if you are in the nasty rough, you gotta toss the disc out and take a 4, don't "tin cup" it...or its a certain 5 (i did this twice before i learned)
- Bring your putter, mid range, and a fairway driver or two, preferably one that turns hard and has some skip to it. (and you can throw BH and FH)

I really enjoyed this course, i wish it were a bit closer than 50 min a way, but will def check it out again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hole 3

2-4    11/18/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is actively being improved. Each time I play more work has been done.
Great baskets, nice pads on the 9 holes that have concrete pads.
Fun and technical with LOTS of trees.
Neat use of elevation with the creek nearby especially on the first few holes.
Cons: Lots of broken glass is the primary issue. Considering the location on an old dump, it is pretty decent.
No clear line on a couple of holes.
Needs concrete pads still on 9 holes.
Only one set of pads, one basket location.
Almost all of the holes are tight through trees, not a lot of room to air out big throws.
Other Thoughts: This course is getting better each time I play. It is a diamond in the rough and well worth the visit.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shoe-less golfers need not apply

2-4    12/30/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: acbigcheese
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical shorter course so far. Baskets are top notch. Nice tee pads. Great use of elevation and creeks.
Cons: Mind I realize the course is a work in progress, this review is based on when I played it last. Trash throughout the course is the biggest con. I understand this land was the city dump years ago. Progress has been made in minimizing this by raking and mulching but it will be a constant battle. Lack of signs. Parking may become an issue during baseball games.
Other Thoughts: I believe this course will eventually earn an honest 3.5 rating. I am basing this review on the last time played and have seen the improvements from the time previous to that. The motivation is there with the locals and even non-golfers have got involved with artwork like tree-carvings. Worth an hour drive even in the present status.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/1/2011   2/1/2012
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, great baskets, some trash cans, nice touch of elevation, wooded, variety of shots, and a creek.
Cons: Its a work in progress. The club is in the process of making the back 9 holes happen. Can't wait to see the finished product.
Other Thoughts: This is a woods course. Its technical with variety. Currently it has nine holes in the ground, with nine more coming in the future. The Elwood Club is putting in work on the course and doing a great job.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential...BUT...

1    12/8/2011   12/8/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets - the spiderweb baskets remain the best in the business. They catch true and I never had anything pop out or run crazy on me. These are the baskets that all courses should have.

Concrete pads - the pads were long and wide enough for every hole. They were new looking pads with no cracks or damage.

Shot variety - lots of cool shots on this little course. Everything played through the wood, but no two shots were the same. Straight away, anyhyzer, hyzer, up and down hill, etc. Not a long of long holes on this course, but they made the most out of what they had.

Elevation and terrain usage - Cool up and down hill shots that made good use of the natural cover and terrain.
Cons: signage - there is none. Not some. Just none. And in my humble opinion, this is a big negative. Had I played this course by myself, there is no way that I would have found all of the holes or known where I was throwing to.

only 9 holes - ask yourself; can a course ever be "perfect" as a 9 hole course. I personally don't think so. So that has to take this down at least a full point.

trash/safety - I would not take little kids (under 12) out on this course. Plain and simple. There is not one hole where broken glass, broken ceramic, jagged bits of rusted metal, old aluminum cans, etc aren't all over the place. If you fell down, slipped in the mud or tripped on a root, there is a VERY real possibility that you are going to get injured. I think this place sits on top of an old landfill, so it just comes with territory.
Other Thoughts: I feel like the reviews on this course are a little high. I get that.. People aren't going to slag their own course. But compare this course against Lemon Lake or Valpo or Pieradise. And then come back to this one, Again, it's fine. But it's not better than that. It is a reasonable course...which is a 2.0 review.

Or, if you'd like a breakdown. We start with a 5.0.
No signs is at least minus 1 point. Making it a 4. Only 9 holes, which takes it down a point in my mind, making it a 3. The trash, which is literally on every hole of the course, making it unsafe at times, takes it down at least 2 points, making it a 1. Give back half a point for elevation changes/shot variety, and another half for the pads, and we get a 2.

In fairness, if the trash was picked up and the place was 18 holes, you'd be looking at a 4 rated course. as it stands, it just isn't there yet.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Getting Better

5+    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: SgtSecrest
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As everyone else has said... great baskets, tee pads, and technical shots. We have done a lot of work at getting it cleaned up. We have trash barrels at almost all the holes now and a few benches. We are getting signs soon for all the holes. We are holding Saturday Doubles @ 10am.
Cons: Still have some minor cleaning up, but it is definately on its way to being a great course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.