Elwood, IN 
Elwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #11 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Shoe-less golfers need not apply

2-4    12/30/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: acbigcheese
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical shorter course so far. Baskets are top notch. Nice tee pads. Great use of elevation and creeks.
Cons: Mind I realize the course is a work in progress, this review is based on when I played it last. Trash throughout the course is the biggest con. I understand this land was the city dump years ago. Progress has been made in minimizing this by raking and mulching but it will be a constant battle. Lack of signs. Parking may become an issue during baseball games.
Other Thoughts: I believe this course will eventually earn an honest 3.5 rating. I am basing this review on the last time played and have seen the improvements from the time previous to that. The motivation is there with the locals and even non-golfers have got involved with artwork like tree-carvings. Worth an hour drive even in the present status.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/1/2011   2/1/2012
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, great baskets, some trash cans, nice touch of elevation, wooded, variety of shots, and a creek.
Cons: Its a work in progress. The club is in the process of making the back 9 holes happen. Can't wait to see the finished product.
Other Thoughts: This is a woods course. Its technical with variety. Currently it has nine holes in the ground, with nine more coming in the future. The Elwood Club is putting in work on the course and doing a great job.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential...BUT...

1    12/8/2011   12/8/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets - the spiderweb baskets remain the best in the business. They catch true and I never had anything pop out or run crazy on me. These are the baskets that all courses should have.

Concrete pads - the pads were long and wide enough for every hole. They were new looking pads with no cracks or damage.

Shot variety - lots of cool shots on this little course. Everything played through the wood, but no two shots were the same. Straight away, anyhyzer, hyzer, up and down hill, etc. Not a long of long holes on this course, but they made the most out of what they had.

Elevation and terrain usage - Cool up and down hill shots that made good use of the natural cover and terrain.
Cons: signage - there is none. Not some. Just none. And in my humble opinion, this is a big negative. Had I played this course by myself, there is no way that I would have found all of the holes or known where I was throwing to.

only 9 holes - ask yourself; can a course ever be "perfect" as a 9 hole course. I personally don't think so. So that has to take this down at least a full point.

trash/safety - I would not take little kids (under 12) out on this course. Plain and simple. There is not one hole where broken glass, broken ceramic, jagged bits of rusted metal, old aluminum cans, etc aren't all over the place. If you fell down, slipped in the mud or tripped on a root, there is a VERY real possibility that you are going to get injured. I think this place sits on top of an old landfill, so it just comes with territory.
Other Thoughts: I feel like the reviews on this course are a little high. I get that.. People aren't going to slag their own course. But compare this course against Lemon Lake or Valpo or Pieradise. And then come back to this one, Again, it's fine. But it's not better than that. It is a reasonable course...which is a 2.0 review.

Or, if you'd like a breakdown. We start with a 5.0.
No signs is at least minus 1 point. Making it a 4. Only 9 holes, which takes it down a point in my mind, making it a 3. The trash, which is literally on every hole of the course, making it unsafe at times, takes it down at least 2 points, making it a 1. Give back half a point for elevation changes/shot variety, and another half for the pads, and we get a 2.

In fairness, if the trash was picked up and the place was 18 holes, you'd be looking at a 4 rated course. as it stands, it just isn't there yet.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Getting Better

5+    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: SgtSecrest
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As everyone else has said... great baskets, tee pads, and technical shots. We have done a lot of work at getting it cleaned up. We have trash barrels at almost all the holes now and a few benches. We are getting signs soon for all the holes. We are holding Saturday Doubles @ 10am.
Cons: Still have some minor cleaning up, but it is definately on its way to being a great course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Race for an Ace at Elwood

5+    9/26/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 143  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *This is a fun course if you like short technical shots
*Baskets are awesome, nice concrete teepads
*Decent variety in left/right turing holes, elevation changes were well used, and the creek that runs behind the pin for 2 and 4. Wish the creek could be integrated more (maybe when the course is expanded to 18 holes???)
*Stairs on holes 3 and 4 for the steep climb
*For being located in the deep woods, these faiways were cleaned out well, making a visible distinction between the fairway and the rough. Trees were left throughout the fairway to make it technical, not to many, not to few
*Neat wood carvings throughout the course
*Navigation had a good flow, walking paths from basket to next tee. Signs to get you to 7 tee, although, the walking paths needed trimmed up a bit.
*Short enough to play multiple rounds quickly. I played through 5 times in an hour and a half.
*A few benches througout the course
Cons: *A lot of glass throughout the course,
*Most holes are short, it'd be nice to see some longer holes if they add another 9
*Currently no signs
*A lot of seedling stumps need trimmed to ground level, I almost tripped several times
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun I had to tell myself to stop playing and call it a day. It is short and technical, but not to overly frustrating.
Hole 1 requires a low tunnel shot with a few trees in the middle of the fairway and a nice green.
Hole 2 for me was a jump putt from the tee with a little anhyzer on it. Avoid the 3 trees in the middle of the fairway and you should have a look at deuce.
Hole 3 is a fun uphill left to right with the basket atop the hill. Thanks for the stairs to make it to the top
Hole 4 is a balls to the wall hole with the creek behind the basket, but if you're lucky, one of the cotton woods will hit if you can make it that far without hitting a fairway tree.
Hole 5 was probably my favorite hole, it was one of the most challenging...slightly uphill, fairly narrow, and a good amount of trees to avoid in the fairway.
Hole 8 is only deuceable with a great drive and a super putt which will more than likely be a long putt. For me, RHFH
Hole 9 probably the hardest hole, long, and a dogleg left. Many trees to avoid making a deuce nearly impossible.

If rumors are true and this course gets an additional 9 holes, I will defiinitley be back. I would hope to see some longer holes and the creek integrated more.
There is a lot of trash as other have described, but I think the volunteers or whoever is working on this course is doing a great job.
There really aren't any other course around, so you might have to go out of your way to play this course, I would suggest doing so if you like short technical courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/1/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 64  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets are very nice
-Fun to play in woods
Cons: -Sort of hard to see from road coming in
-Ground is really bad for throwing discs into and walking on
Other Thoughts: Cool that there is a course in Elwood, needs some work on cleaning up the fairways. It does seem though that people are working hard on it. In 2-3 years I imagine this will be a 3.5-4 star course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What in the world is going on Here.

1    9/11/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 214  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Concrete Teepads
Cool looking Techincal shots that are challenging but Beginner Friendly
Great Baskets. I am very Partial to the Alan Pier Spiders. Wish we had some in Ohio.
Great Use of Elevation
Cons: Course is Pretty rough off the fairways

The walk to hole 7 is a Jungle

Glass Everywhere...(however it does look like someone is trying VERY hard to clean it up.)

The layout is a little funky at times.
Other Thoughts: All and all the course is fun to play. Not the best 9 hole I've ever played but pretty cool anyway. I would defiantly play it again if I was in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 TMac & The Silver Fox

1    12/11/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of an old dump. Taking a dump and turning it into a course. Yes there is trash, but more potential than anything. The holes are short but very challenging. Rumors of 24 holes one day. Chainsaw carvings throughout the course. Im excited for Elwood.
Cons: Trash but that can be fixed with time. Be careful if you take little ones. There is metal, glass and etc. sticking out of the ground.
Other Thoughts: This will be a great course with time. Walked some of the other holes with the designers. The new holes will have some distance on them. This is a win for Elwood,disc golfers and the enviroment.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Cool Course

1    12/28/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 93  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of a former land fill that has been closed and overgrown for 50 years. You can tell that much work has been done to make fairways from the thick, overgrown woods. The holes are all very interesting and fun to play. Fantastic use of the hills and creek. Several unique holes, such as hole #3 with a steep uphill drive (nice stairway too) and a beautiful green. Hole #4 plays straight through a tight fairway with a 20 foot dropoff to the 25 foot deep green situated between the hill and a beautiful creek. The basket is protected by two large cottonwood trees and a few smaller trees. Great hole! I wanted to play it over and over. The rest of the holes offer a good variety of shots and all will challenge your accuracy. Nice tee pads and Spider Web baskets top it all off. I'm looking forward to the installation of the back nine.
Cons: As stated before, this is an extinct landfill, so the biggest drawback is the old trash that works its way up through the ground to the surface. It doesn't really effect the play much but it is an eyesore. Tee signs still need to be installed but I think that is coming soon.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a win-win situation in that it was an unused piece of land that the city thought was useless and has now been turned into a great place for recreation by some dedicated disc golfers. Way to guys! Keep up the great work.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Can't Wait For More

2-4    11/17/2010   12/1/2010
Review By: matt.torma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trent, Allen, and all the guys responsible have done an awesome job. Right now all the holes play through tight woods with elevation.This course is definitely worth the trip, it's only 9 holes but you will want to play the holes multiple times, so no biggie.
Cons: Glass everywhere, be careful. This is the only Con. Hopefully, over time something can be done about the glass.
Other Thoughts: Indiana is slowly turning into a DG Mecca!!

You guys should move the basket on hole 2 beyond the creek...get nasty.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.