Elwood, IN 
Elwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #2 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Race for an Ace at Elwood

5+    9/26/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *This is a fun course if you like short technical shots
*Baskets are awesome, nice concrete teepads
*Decent variety in left/right turing holes, elevation changes were well used, and the creek that runs behind the pin for 2 and 4. Wish the creek could be integrated more (maybe when the course is expanded to 18 holes???)
*Stairs on holes 3 and 4 for the steep climb
*For being located in the deep woods, these faiways were cleaned out well, making a visible distinction between the fairway and the rough. Trees were left throughout the fairway to make it technical, not to many, not to few
*Neat wood carvings throughout the course
*Navigation had a good flow, walking paths from basket to next tee. Signs to get you to 7 tee, although, the walking paths needed trimmed up a bit.
*Short enough to play multiple rounds quickly. I played through 5 times in an hour and a half.
*A few benches througout the course
Cons: *A lot of glass throughout the course,
*Most holes are short, it'd be nice to see some longer holes if they add another 9
*Currently no signs
*A lot of seedling stumps need trimmed to ground level, I almost tripped several times
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun I had to tell myself to stop playing and call it a day. It is short and technical, but not to overly frustrating.
Hole 1 requires a low tunnel shot with a few trees in the middle of the fairway and a nice green.
Hole 2 for me was a jump putt from the tee with a little anhyzer on it. Avoid the 3 trees in the middle of the fairway and you should have a look at deuce.
Hole 3 is a fun uphill left to right with the basket atop the hill. Thanks for the stairs to make it to the top
Hole 4 is a balls to the wall hole with the creek behind the basket, but if you're lucky, one of the cotton woods will hit if you can make it that far without hitting a fairway tree.
Hole 5 was probably my favorite hole, it was one of the most challenging...slightly uphill, fairly narrow, and a good amount of trees to avoid in the fairway.
Hole 8 is only deuceable with a great drive and a super putt which will more than likely be a long putt. For me, RHFH
Hole 9 probably the hardest hole, long, and a dogleg left. Many trees to avoid making a deuce nearly impossible.

If rumors are true and this course gets an additional 9 holes, I will defiinitley be back. I would hope to see some longer holes and the creek integrated more.
There is a lot of trash as other have described, but I think the volunteers or whoever is working on this course is doing a great job.
There really aren't any other course around, so you might have to go out of your way to play this course, I would suggest doing so if you like short technical courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/1/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets are very nice
-Fun to play in woods
Cons: -Sort of hard to see from road coming in
-Ground is really bad for throwing discs into and walking on
Other Thoughts: Cool that there is a course in Elwood, needs some work on cleaning up the fairways. It does seem though that people are working hard on it. In 2-3 years I imagine this will be a 3.5-4 star course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What in the world is going on Here.

1    9/11/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 165  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Concrete Teepads
Cool looking Techincal shots that are challenging but Beginner Friendly
Great Baskets. I am very Partial to the Alan Pier Spiders. Wish we had some in Ohio.
Great Use of Elevation
Cons: Course is Pretty rough off the fairways

The walk to hole 7 is a Jungle

Glass Everywhere...(however it does look like someone is trying VERY hard to clean it up.)

The layout is a little funky at times.
Other Thoughts: All and all the course is fun to play. Not the best 9 hole I've ever played but pretty cool anyway. I would defiantly play it again if I was in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 TMac & The Silver Fox

1    12/11/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of an old dump. Taking a dump and turning it into a course. Yes there is trash, but more potential than anything. The holes are short but very challenging. Rumors of 24 holes one day. Chainsaw carvings throughout the course. Im excited for Elwood.
Cons: Trash but that can be fixed with time. Be careful if you take little ones. There is metal, glass and etc. sticking out of the ground.
Other Thoughts: This will be a great course with time. Walked some of the other holes with the designers. The new holes will have some distance on them. This is a win for Elwood,disc golfers and the enviroment.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Cool Course

1    12/28/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 35.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of a former land fill that has been closed and overgrown for 50 years. You can tell that much work has been done to make fairways from the thick, overgrown woods. The holes are all very interesting and fun to play. Fantastic use of the hills and creek. Several unique holes, such as hole #3 with a steep uphill drive (nice stairway too) and a beautiful green. Hole #4 plays straight through a tight fairway with a 20 foot dropoff to the 25 foot deep green situated between the hill and a beautiful creek. The basket is protected by two large cottonwood trees and a few smaller trees. Great hole! I wanted to play it over and over. The rest of the holes offer a good variety of shots and all will challenge your accuracy. Nice tee pads and Spider Web baskets top it all off. I'm looking forward to the installation of the back nine.
Cons: As stated before, this is an extinct landfill, so the biggest drawback is the old trash that works its way up through the ground to the surface. It doesn't really effect the play much but it is an eyesore. Tee signs still need to be installed but I think that is coming soon.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a win-win situation in that it was an unused piece of land that the city thought was useless and has now been turned into a great place for recreation by some dedicated disc golfers. Way to guys! Keep up the great work.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Can't Wait For More

2-4    11/17/2010   12/1/2010
Review By: matt.torma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trent, Allen, and all the guys responsible have done an awesome job. Right now all the holes play through tight woods with elevation.This course is definitely worth the trip, it's only 9 holes but you will want to play the holes multiple times, so no biggie.
Cons: Glass everywhere, be careful. This is the only Con. Hopefully, over time something can be done about the glass.
Other Thoughts: Indiana is slowly turning into a DG Mecca!!

You guys should move the basket on hole 2 beyond the creek...get nasty.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Different & Damn tougher than anything around

2-4    8/27/2012   11/15/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2012
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: •Alan Pier Spiderweb Baskets •5'x9 Concrete Tee pads •Nice use of terrain; Small but steep Inclines/Declines,Creek,Mature trees and brush. •Stairs,at needed locations •#1 212' Tunnel shot with the basket having a small decline on the left & a little behind. #2 166' 1st half of the Fairway is open,then down the small but steep hill, Basket has about a dozen trees protecting it. #3 158' drive back up the small but steep hill.Nice staircase on the top half of the hill...another set coming?Land on top and you'll see the basket 45' back with two trees each side,creating a "Window".#4 205' I believe this is the "Signature hole" With thick brush boardering both sides of the Fairway a mix of small & medium diameter trees are in the flat 150' fairway. Then you putt from practically on top of the basket....Very unique!The basket has two large trees on either side with the creek some 15' behind.If you decide to "Go for it" from the tee you will hope it hits one of the trees or your getting wet!..Well, not just yet,the brush needs removed before that could happen? #5 286' 1st 2/3 of the fairway is open driving a slight incline about 1/2 way,with a distinct preferred flight path. #6 209' hyzer drive. A smaller tree is 45' in front of the tee.The basket is on top of a small mound for a roll-a-way green,But not extreme. #7 219' Tunnel shot into the woods with the basket to the left. #8 294' is the widest fairway. The 1st 1/2 is clear of trees,with a few mature trees on the right making a dogleg right. #9 315' Long (for me) Anhyzer drive has thick brush on both sides for punishment for a ricochet or bad drive. 1st half open with one distinct flight path with a low(ish) approach/putt. The added 9 holes are a bit flat, compared to the first 4 holes, but are a bit longer and just as tight. Not including 2 holes, #15,#16
Cons: •No tee signs or numbers on the baskets,will be a little confusing the last few holes. •No benches,it's a short course so none are needed,untill the other 9 are installed. •No trash cans •It's a new course so the "con's" will be fixed rather quickly.
Other Thoughts: Re-use of an Old closed "clean dump". Locals informed me it was closed in the early 1960's. There is ALOT of broken glass, Obviously this takes away from the beauty of the woods. But in time,and alot more blood, sweat and tears,it will get better. Don't get me wrong it does NOT smell and I never saw 50 gallon drums and bubbling soil,the creek looks clean. There is alot of broken glass everyplace,so don't bring your kids. It is now a full 18 whole course. Making it a solid course!

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.