Course Extinct
Onalaska, WI 
Meier Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Basket on side of hill



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
tiny course

5+    4/7/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: ridestreet84
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: short course, doesnt take very long to play, lots of short game line shaping, very wooded course. Very short holes with some difficulty to them. great place to focus on line shaping and understanding the power behind your throw, one hole for example has a slight down hill to in and then you are in a sticky burr fields so you dont want to over throw there. Another hole is a short uphill throw that you cannot see the basket from the teepad.
Cons: missing many baskets, buggy, bad teepads, some thorny bushes
Other Thoughts: small course in a tiny area, nice 1 disc course for a quick game. Last time played was in April and two baskets were missing, i have never seen the #1 basket on the course and another was missing and beat up further into the course. This may be considered by some a rec course and is very beat up and vandilised since it is in the middle of a tiny forrest on a hill. While in a nice newer sub-division, i believe many of the neighborhood teens get bored and wreck the course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginner

1    9/23/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a tiny strip of forest next to a park. Can't imagine many other people coming over there.
- Pretty heavily wooded, with some very very tight lines and some very interesting hole shapes. One with a question mark shape fairway, another with a backwards 7 shape. #1 is a sharp sharp hyzer, or perhaps a line over the forest.
- A few elevation changes, #2 is slight uphill and #3 is downhill.
- Pretty simple signs
Cons: - Hole lengths are extremely short here, and the lines can be pretty darn silly. Pretty, pretty silly....
Other Thoughts: - Missing baskets, weird lines, short hole lengths, yikes. I don't know if this course is going to be fun for anybody... beginners most likely.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cultivating Meier Farms

1    11/9/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) I played this course in under 15 minutes . . . it's a good thing because the sun was going down fast!
2) There are a lot of birdie opportunities out here. Sure you have to execute some tight lines but you will be rewarded. This makes the course a lot of fun to be rewarded for a great line.
3) There are 3 really unique holes out here that really make this course worth a visit. Hole #3 is a fun open hole that drops off into the woods with trouble long . . . it is a great hole and tough to execute. #4 is a great downhill hole through a tight fairway that drops dramatically at the very end of the hole. Throw long and risk being in some rough rough. #5 is a great uphill hole under a low limb on a large tree. All three of these holes seemed very unique to me, meaning I do not think I have thrown a hole like it before.
4) DGA signs with Hole #, distance, par, and a map of the holes. These signs are suitable for information on each hole.
5) Excellent use of elevation change on at least 4 or 5 of these 9 holes.
Cons: 1) #1, 8 and 9 baskets are missing. What a shame to have this course destroyed in such a short amount of time.
2) There are some dangerous spots on the course due to proximity to other holes. There may be a lot of brush in between but discs can penetrate this stuff randomly and hit someone. This entire course feels like it is set on about 1 acre so it is tightly crammed together.
3) Lots of punishing bramble and thorny plants . . . I had a putt from 20' I could barely move without being pricked many times by the plants I was surrounded by . . . needless to say I missed the putt.
4) No designated tee, sure there is a sign but there is no way to designate exactly where we are supposed to throw from.
5) The path leading you through the course is really worn in. There is no turf in the wooded areas and the ground is compacted and bare. This would lead to really tough conditions walking on this course when it is wet.
6) This course is not beginner friendly because of the rough and the tight fairways but at least it is short enough you could throw a great recovery shot on just about every hole.
7) Awkwardly short course because the drives are virtually upshots on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun and it has some serious potential. It is a shame it has already been bitten by the vandalism bug because it is a great course for the local neighborhood kids. I played it in about 15 minutes which is another huge plus. It's a shame I heard a rumor that this course might just get shut down . . . I know it isn't championship caliber, I know it isn't the most groomed, but it is a lot of fun and a perfect addition to this small neighborhood. I guess the vandalism is the tragedy that will lead to this courses demise . . . what a pity!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Odd

1    9/22/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded area. There are nice mature trees and plenty of thick underbrush to punish errant shots. Some elevation comes into play on about half the holes, with small but well-used up and downhill shots and a couple roll away greens. The course is short but technical, offering the chance to hit some tight lines. You will need to throw left and right turning shots to get the very available birdies here.
Cons: There isn't any length here, you don't need anything other than a putter to score well. A couple holes are under 100', and the only longer holes have awkward lines that you won't really be able to shape with a faster disc anyway. It feels like the design was done without the input of an experienced designer to take care of things like safety issues and a design that offers real disc golf challenges. The course is in a state of disrepair, with 3 missing baskets and a couple missing signs. Navigation is a little tricky in spots. The tees are awful, many of them are on sloping rutted areas of dirt with a couple paving stones or nothing at all to indicate the exact spot.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find a few fun technical lines and short lengths though the rough can be punitive at times with blind landing areas. More experienced players won't find much variety or challenge to keep them interested, and the lack of maintenance or level tee areas keeps it from being worth the stop.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Putter through the woods

1    7/19/2011   3/29/2012
Review By: barg0071
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - You can work on your technical game with your putter.
Cons: - Hole 1 is missing.
- Crappy tee pads.
- Half of the course is on the side of a hill with holes going perpendicular to the slope.
- Overall, just a really odd course with most of the holes under 100 feet.
Other Thoughts: - This course seems like it was more of an amenity quickly added by a developer to get more people to live in his new development.
- IMO, Rowe Park is better for working on your technical short game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Short but Fun

1    11/9/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: fluidbyte
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a pretty technical course, very wooded and hilly. Good practice course for brushing up on mid/short-game and shooting around obstacles. Fun to run through a couple times and try different tactics on each hole.
Cons: Short holes, seemed to be missing the #1 basket. Nothing very special about the course and the tees are just a couple of cement stepping blocks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.