Bridgeport, CT
Veteran's Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Another awesome CT course!

1    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I love the terrain of this course. Good elevation changes, and the course makes very effective use of them. A pretty good variety of holes, plenty of up, down, straight, righty and lefty holes (although maybe biased a bit towards lefties). I love the basket placement on hole 15, on a bit of a peninsula with a shallow ravine on 3 sides, very cool. And for a wooded course, the fairways all seemed to be plenty wide to allow a little margin of error with your drives, while still being tight enough to provide a challenge.
Cons: The broken glass has been mentioned plenty, and it is an eyesore, but not as bad as some reviews make it out to be. I might not have even noticed it if it hadn't been pointed out to me during the round. Another eyesore is the graffiti that's been popping up on some rocks/trees. Definitely unfortunate, but neither of these issues affect play at all. Also, some holes might have been difficult to find if I wasn't playing with a local.
Other Thoughts: I played from the long tees and most holes seemed to be in the 300-400 foot range. No gimme birdies on the course, and no real guaranteed 4's either, although many holes can be birdied with a good drive or bogeyed with a poor one. All of the elevation change helped mix it up enough so that you don't really notice the lack of variety in expected scoring from hole to hole, if that makes sense.
One other thing to be aware of, near the basket for hole 3, there are hundreds of ground bees (you'll see little holes in the ground all over). I've been told they don't sting, so they're not a hazard, but can definitely be disconcerting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout. The course requires a variety of shotmaking skills. Pars are manageable, birdies attainable.
Cons: Glass everywhere, bugs, I wish there were more than two cement tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive from Southington. Quick play, fun track, I love the elevation changes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best course ive played!

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: ThumbMan12
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: AMAZING design, Adam really pulled out his creative side when designing this course. Finishing up a quick 9 is easy since it brings you right back to the beginning of the course, 9,10,11 are right next to hole 1. Very challenging even for the most advanced players out there! This is NOT a very open course, only a few holes do you have the opportunity to really launch it out there. Mildly to densely wooded which makes it a more technical game to be on the MONEY with your drives, approaches and putts. PRECISION is key with Veterans,
Cons: Course is very new still so we must give it time but my personal opinion is a few trees here and there must be cut! Several spots are so unforgiving even with a beautiful drive, there will be one or two small nagging trees right there to take you down. 5 is especially the heart breaker, there is literally a wall of trees in front of you for your second shot. Time will tell and the future is bright.
Other Thoughts: With college back in session and the proximity to SHU (quarter mile) it is a hot spot for college students to hang. Most are respectful but it does seem to be turning into a problem with garbage. Although TONS of work has gone into cleaning this long forgotten park, some garbage is coming back. This is especially true at the picnic table where 14,16,17 meet and also hole 15s bench. Wrappers and paper of all kinds but nothing that a garbage can here or there wont fix.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good design, spotty maintenance

1    9/15/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: aceshyze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is superior in terms of design. The entrance is easy to locate and the eighteenth hole puts you back exactly at the parking lot. If no one is playing there, you can even practice on the eighteenth basket before you start. There is excellent signage. It can be a tad confusing at times to find the next hole, but it is in general easier to navigate than other courses I've played. The holes are varied in distance and terrain, and challenge you to use all of your discs and shots. It is the most difficult course I've played. Tee boxes and baskets are in excellent condition, except for the second tee, and some hard-to-see baskets even have tall red flags.
Cons: There are bottles and glass shards everywhere. It could be dangerous if you were to fall. The foliage can be very dense on some holes, especially to the sides, and losing discs is a possibility. Though the stream was dry when I played, I can imagine it being difficult to cross on some holes if the water were flowing.
Other Thoughts: The designers have created a very challenging course with lots to offer for players of all abilities. It could very well be the most exciting course in Connecticut, surpassing Cranbury. The trash and glass is an issue, but not one that should hinder your gameplay. The quality of this course is totally dependent on the condition the players leave it in. Also, do not let any of the stereotypes of Bridgeport prevent you from playing this course. It is in an open, safe area. If you are in the area, I wholly recommend a round at Veteran's Memorial Park, despite the at times unsatisfactory conditions. The layout and difficulty supersede it completely. I'd give it a 4 if it were a little cleaner.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran's Memorial is "breaking in!"

5+    11/19/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: nnovia
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are diverse. Starting from the first hole, which is a wide open drive into confined trees, then on to the 2nd which is narrow and downhill, the course winds itself around the terrain smartly, never boring! Only with all the leaves off the trees, you can see other holes that are hidden during the summer months. It's truly a beautiful Park filled with wildlife. Narrow doglegs, steep slopes, open long fairways...everything you could want!
Cons: It's new, so not trampled down enough to eliminate dangerous and pesky brush and bramble. Poison ivy, prickers await those that venture off the fairway... Really rewards the accurate player, and frustrates the others. In the autumn, most of that is gone, and it opens up beautifully. The last three months has seen much traffic, all contributing to the "breaking in" of this new course. Lots of volunteers help to keep it clear and playable.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course and look forward to it's maturity! Help out, grab a bag of garbage and take it out. Use the garbage cans. Carry out what you carry in. Maybe we could use some signs around to remind folks to do exactly that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    8/26/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - well maintained
- challenging
- great mix of wide open fairways and technical approach shots
- Much of the brush has been cut back around the fairways
- long and short tee options
Cons: - very long brush around a couple of the longer holes...makes it very difficult to find a disc that has gone off target
- some broken glass on one or two greens (not as bad as i've seen on other courses)
- not all holes have a sign detailing hole layout. Left to guess sometimes
Other Thoughts: Really fun and challenging course. Long course has a good mix of par 3 and par 4 holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very good

2-4    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: dishtowel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variation in hole layouts
-A lot of trees make for some tricky throws
-A lot of shade for hot days
Cons: -16th hole is currently missing.
-A lot of brush makes finding stray discs a pain; could use more frequent grooming.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are unforgiving with missed putts, which makes for a very close competition many times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Always improving, keep up the good work!

5+    11/16/2013   6/29/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is challenging with fantastic use of the terrain. Elevation changes are very well utilized, though there are more uphill than downhill shots. There are a few really creative pin placements. Baskets are usually easy to see and some have tall flags on them to make them more visible. Most tees are natural but flat and there are concrete tees on 17 and 18. Tee signs are on tall posts and easy to spot. The fairways are well defined and a lot of work has gone into designing and maintaining the grounds. It seems the course went through a recent minor redesign and a lot of brush has been cut back and tees have been flattened. The course is easy to find and navigation is well marked and fairly intuitive. Very accessible from the Merrit Parkway. The layout is good; the front 9 loops around to the beginning, so one could opt to play either only the front 9 or the back 9. There is one 'mando' which keeps players from cheating and circumventing the woods on hole 10. Two holes used O.B. well. Many holes have benches and there are trash bins at the head of the course. Hole lengths range between 190 and 475. Most holes are in the woods but a there are a few that open up and let you rip it. There are two tees on many holes.
Cons: Lately the course has been much cleaner than in the past which is great but still be warned that this place can get nasty. 'lve included the following in brackets from an earlier review:[There is trash all over the course; Broken glass and beer cans/bottles everywhere. Even found a condom wrapper! (wha?)]
Concrete tees or something more permanent would be a huge improvement especially when the weather gets damp. Some of the holes are very rough and sometimes the grass isn't mowed adequately. Keep your eyes peeled for poison ivy. Also keep your eyes peeled for your disc! It's easy to loose one here. However, the course has a lot of traffic and I've always gotten a call about discs that I've lost and they've been returned to me. Parking is a bit of a drag, it's just on the side of the main road along the park. No restrooms or running water that I could see. Path from 16 to 17 crosses the Tee pad for 14. Sometimes tee signs show two tees and the second is hard to find (e.g. hole 10). Some tee signs are missing. Hole 15 has a short tee that isn't marked on the tee sign.
Other Thoughts: As long as the maintenance here continues this course will be great. The sad reality is that there is a cast of character who come here and leave beer cans and trash everywhere. Respect the course and keep it in good shape. Whoever has been organizing the work days has been doing a stellar job. Come with your technical chops well developed and you'll have a couple opportunities for a good bomb.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Terrain, Fun Design, & Solitude

5+    11/2/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: BBD_
Played: 202  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This wooded course plays along several topographic ridges, and up, down, & around large old growth trees. The high tree canopy and open meadows give the player a very spacious feeling with expansive fairways that are technical but fair. This course is challenging and has a great variety of drives and upshots including several par 4s. Even the short par 3s don't feel like gimme birdies.

While most wooded courses rely on pre-existing hiking paths for many of their fairways (ie. Cranberry), this course does so minimally (only noticed it on holes 2 & 3). And I've never had to wait for a dog walker. The course successfully navigates the undulating terrain without exposing the player to the wetlands that exist sporadically. I never felt like I was tromping through wetlands even on bad shots.

Overall this course is very fun and beautiful, maybe because most holes have options off the tee including multiple routes with a variety of risk/reward mental challenges. I love that this course can't be mastered the first time you play it. In fact I found that it takes many rounds and experimentation to determine the best way to score.

The course vibe is very social as the design loops around and intersects a couple times. Despite this, none of the holes are distracting or in the way of each other. No doubt you will thoroughly enjoy becoming a better golfer when you play here.
Cons: It's not surprising that trash is visible in some areas of the course. It appears this park has been used as a dumping ground of sorts for generations (in fact I've seen 2 old rusty cars buried in the overgrown areas near the powerlines). It's great to see all the volunteers contribute so much time cleaning up this land for future generations.

When wet, some of the natural tees are slippery. Overall I would say that drainage is pretty good throughout the course, but some tees still accumulate water. It sounds like more permanent, safer tees will be constructed soon.
Other Thoughts: I understand that this course is very new and will undergo significant change over the next few years. Once the real tees (rubber or concrete or whatever) are in, alternate tees have been established, and fairways meticulously cleaned...this course will rival the other two championship caliber courses Cranberry and Wickham. I don't see why this course can't host major tournaments in the near future. Oh one more thing...since this park is only very occasionally used for dog walking or hiking, you will most likely be playing alone or amongst other disc golfers. This solitude won't last long, so enjoy it while you can.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    10/23/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the easiest courses I've ever located. It's right off the Merritt Parkway (as in you make a single turn off the highway onto Park Ave, drive less than a mile, and then park on the same road). From there, the first tee isn't hard to find as it's right behind a kiosk near the edge of the woods.

Mostly wooded, Veteran's Park features a few open holes and includes changes in elevation. Some baskets are either slightly elevated or had a considerable (but fair) drop off directly behind them making for some interesting upshots and trecherous putts.

Water is in play on a few of the holes which provides the occasional "check yourself before you throw here" mental note.

The bulk of the course sits in old growth woods, so with few exceptions, there isn't too much rough or too many chances to lose a disc.

Tee signs are very descriptive and features expected line, distances, and par. Also, there are pavers at the foot of each of the baskets that point to the next tee. In a few places there are additional navigational aides to get you to the next hole.

The Chainstar baskets are in great shape.

Benches were available on several of the holes. One highlight was hole #14 where there is a disc embedded in the middle of the baseket.

There is some hardscaping on the course that adds a nice touch. Specifically, the protective rock wall that guards against low throw throws on hole #16. In addition, the rock stairs on hole #15 are necessary for the players that don't lay up or make it across the crater in front of the basket, demonstrating a beautifully subtle risk vs. reward scenario.

Hole #12 is a standout. The layout and length of the fairway is fairly vanilla and short, but the real appeal of this hole is the "Y" shaped tree that sits just ahead of the tee. The designers did a great job of taking a natural aspect of the surroundings and made what would have been a boring hole a little more unique, challenging, and visually appealing.
Cons: Any time you install a disc golf course at a public park, you need to stay on your toes around the non-playing public. Veteran's park is no exception as you need to take heed of bikers and hikers before you let the plastic fly.

There is litter absolutely everywhere. Usually I just footnote this, but in this case, it was all over the course including (and especially) broken bottles. The shards of glass create a discinct safety concern (in addition to an eyesore). Not as pressing safety-wise, but still not good on the eyes is the other trash (think old tires) that is strewn throughout the park.

In terms of the course itself, there are a lot of straight & left-turning fairways. There were very few right-turning fairways and none were dramatic enough to force a RHBH player to turn something over, forhand a disc, or do much more than get an understable disc to flip up and over slightly. Fairway layout from shape, to length, to elevation changes seemed to be duplicated on many holes. Specific to the elevation changes, most appear to be uphill or across a slight valley/dip in the fairway. Although the holes ranged from 250-440, most were in the 330 range and began to get repetitive by the end of the round. If some more of the wide-open space was factored into the course, it would add a bit more variety from the frequently wooded holes.

There are a few spots where water could have been better placed and added some spice to a couple of fairways. Likewise, there were a few spots where the water had its way with parts of the course and it was muddy and boggy.

The natural tees were difficult to find in some cases (consisting of two white spray painted rocks) and were somewhat uneven and rutted.

Pretty minor, but the tee sign was missing on hole #16. Hole #18 is situated right by the road and could be a distraction for some players.
Other Thoughts: I recognize that this is a new course and Veteran's park has the right building blocks in place to be another solid DG course along the I-95/Merritt Parkway corridor. I gave the course a 3.75. Some of the more repetitious fairways kept me from rounding up, but the garbage and litter all over the course is really what dragged the score down to the 3.5. If the course could be cleaned up, if the tees were a bit more polished, and if there was just a smidge more variety to the holes, I would have zero problem stamping this course a 4.0.

Despite any of the cons that I have listed, it's still worth your time to at least check this course out. I had a great time and I think most players would also enjoy Veteran's Park. My next trip up to Eastern CT will include a stop at this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.