Bridgeport, CT 
Veteran's Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #17 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Love Park City!

1    9/5/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: atompell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Mixed fields with open space to throw, with baskets sitting in wooded areas
- Each hole has a unique layout, which makes it challenging but fun
- Hole #1 and #18 are a lot of fun, makes you want to throw all the discs in your bag!
- Well maintained and organized
Cons: - Parking, you have to park by the gates on Park ave
Other Thoughts: I have to say, this is my favorite course in the Fairfield County area. I didn't know what to expect, but as I got there you can tell the design was well thought out, with the layout, maps, and tee boxes. I was truly impressed.

While playing, I said to a friend... "THIS is a course you take people to, that are interested in disc golf". Although I am still an amateur disc golfer - this course made me feel the closest to a pro. I didn't shoot well, but sure enjoyed playing. Excited to go back again.

Please support this course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    6/27/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: markfohara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, lots of different shots, it stays interesting the whole time. I play this course regularly and its always a blast. Oh, and I heard that there's tournaments there on mondays for those of you who arent as bad as me.
Cons: hmmmm...... I hit the trees a lot, but i'm pretty sure that's my fault, and not the trees.....
Other Thoughts: This is pretty much my home course so I have nothing but good things to say about it. A must try for anyone in the area

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really enjoyed

1    3/25/2016   3/30/2016
Review By: Ricksastar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the variety of shots at this course. A very good mix of forehands, backhands, etc. Some really unique holes as well that aren't easy to gorget. They newly installed some astro turf pads that I've never played on before and rather enjoyed.
Cons: The course has quite a bit of trash on it, more than I expected. A bit tough to find some of the next tee pads, but barely worth mentioning..... then why did I mention it? dunno...
Other Thoughts: Definitely get out and play if you have the chance.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very much a solid course that features the variety that I have learned to associate with southern New England. Open holes and wooded holes share the course here. It's a course of intermediate difficulty that does a lot to appeal to an array of players, even if none of them will find it to be an ideal course. Some holes are flat. Others feature a decent amount of elevation. There a little left, a little right, etc. There are holes of different distances, although there are no holes of major length. In any case, you all know what I mean by variety.
There is really not much to say here. Off for me, but it is hard to describe this course as anything but "solid." The hole design won't disappoint. The open holes allow players to watch some pretty disc flights. The wooded holes feature fairways of perfect width that allow nice lines, forcing players to use both hyzer and anhyzer tosses. My favorite hole was probably 11. It's a tight channel that is both downhill and with a right finish.
Cons:
It definitely needs some polish. I don't think the course could be considered to be under construction four years in but it looked like tees were being installed on a couple of holes. Tees are the thing that are mostly holding Veteran's back from reaching its 3.5 potential. Most of the surfaces aren't just natural. They are rooty and spotted with partially buried stones. Not great. (However, two of the tees were clearly under construction. If all of the holes will have cement tees in the near future, it will seriously bump the rating for this course.)
The navigation is also lacking. A lot of the time, the correct path is intuitive or the tee is visible. In other instances, there is an arrow pointing in the correct direction. But there are points on the course where the arrow has been obscured or the brick moved. First-time visitors will do some wandering.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course but worth playing and so close to the highway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans

1    3/29/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course layout, the 1st 10th and 18th are right next to each other. Close to the Merritt. Challenging course with a variety of holes and elevation. Some length.
Cons: Very filthy, the course is dirty with garbage and it does take away from the experience. Clean up after yourself. Glass and empties all over. Tee boxes were also pretty beat up dirt, and navigation was a little tricky at times. Also huge groups of players roaming the course was a pain,
Other Thoughts: Put up more signage especially about littering and respect. New tee boxes and course direction would help.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another awesome CT course!

1    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 29.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I love the terrain of this course. Good elevation changes, and the course makes very effective use of them. A pretty good variety of holes, plenty of up, down, straight, righty and lefty holes (although maybe biased a bit towards lefties). I love the basket placement on hole 15, on a bit of a peninsula with a shallow ravine on 3 sides, very cool. And for a wooded course, the fairways all seemed to be plenty wide to allow a little margin of error with your drives, while still being tight enough to provide a challenge.
Cons: The broken glass has been mentioned plenty, and it is an eyesore, but not as bad as some reviews make it out to be. I might not have even noticed it if it hadn't been pointed out to me during the round. Another eyesore is the graffiti that's been popping up on some rocks/trees. Definitely unfortunate, but neither of these issues affect play at all. Also, some holes might have been difficult to find if I wasn't playing with a local.
Other Thoughts: I played from the long tees and most holes seemed to be in the 300-400 foot range. No gimme birdies on the course, and no real guaranteed 4's either, although many holes can be birdied with a good drive or bogeyed with a poor one. All of the elevation change helped mix it up enough so that you don't really notice the lack of variety in expected scoring from hole to hole, if that makes sense.
One other thing to be aware of, near the basket for hole 3, there are hundreds of ground bees (you'll see little holes in the ground all over). I've been told they don't sting, so they're not a hazard, but can definitely be disconcerting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. The course requires a variety of shotmaking skills. Pars are manageable, birdies attainable.
Cons: Glass everywhere, bugs, I wish there were more than two cement tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive from Southington. Quick play, fun track, I love the elevation changes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course ive played!

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: ThumbMan12
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: AMAZING design, Adam really pulled out his creative side when designing this course. Finishing up a quick 9 is easy since it brings you right back to the beginning of the course, 9,10,11 are right next to hole 1. Very challenging even for the most advanced players out there! This is NOT a very open course, only a few holes do you have the opportunity to really launch it out there. Mildly to densely wooded which makes it a more technical game to be on the MONEY with your drives, approaches and putts. PRECISION is key with Veterans,
Cons: Course is very new still so we must give it time but my personal opinion is a few trees here and there must be cut! Several spots are so unforgiving even with a beautiful drive, there will be one or two small nagging trees right there to take you down. 5 is especially the heart breaker, there is literally a wall of trees in front of you for your second shot. Time will tell and the future is bright.
Other Thoughts: With college back in session and the proximity to SHU (quarter mile) it is a hot spot for college students to hang. Most are respectful but it does seem to be turning into a problem with garbage. Although TONS of work has gone into cleaning this long forgotten park, some garbage is coming back. This is especially true at the picnic table where 14,16,17 meet and also hole 15s bench. Wrappers and paper of all kinds but nothing that a garbage can here or there wont fix.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good design, spotty maintenance

1    9/15/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: aceshyze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is superior in terms of design. The entrance is easy to locate and the eighteenth hole puts you back exactly at the parking lot. If no one is playing there, you can even practice on the eighteenth basket before you start. There is excellent signage. It can be a tad confusing at times to find the next hole, but it is in general easier to navigate than other courses I've played. The holes are varied in distance and terrain, and challenge you to use all of your discs and shots. It is the most difficult course I've played. Tee boxes and baskets are in excellent condition, except for the second tee, and some hard-to-see baskets even have tall red flags.
Cons: There are bottles and glass shards everywhere. It could be dangerous if you were to fall. The foliage can be very dense on some holes, especially to the sides, and losing discs is a possibility. Though the stream was dry when I played, I can imagine it being difficult to cross on some holes if the water were flowing.
Other Thoughts: The designers have created a very challenging course with lots to offer for players of all abilities. It could very well be the most exciting course in Connecticut, surpassing Cranbury. The trash and glass is an issue, but not one that should hinder your gameplay. The quality of this course is totally dependent on the condition the players leave it in. Also, do not let any of the stereotypes of Bridgeport prevent you from playing this course. It is in an open, safe area. If you are in the area, I wholly recommend a round at Veteran's Memorial Park, despite the at times unsatisfactory conditions. The layout and difficulty supersede it completely. I'd give it a 4 if it were a little cleaner.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran's Memorial is "breaking in!"

5+    10/24/2015   9/13/2012
Review By: nnovia
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 38.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seven concrete tee boxes!! More to come. Holes are diverse. Starting from the first hole, which is a wide open drive into confined trees, then on to the 2nd which is narrow and downhill, the course winds itself around the terrain smartly, never boring! Only with all the leaves off the trees, you can see other holes that are hidden during the summer months. It's truly a beautiful Park filled with wildlife. Narrow doglegs, steep slopes, open long fairways...everything you could want!
Cons: It's newer, so not trampled down enough to eliminate dangerous and pesky brush and bramble. Poison ivy, prickers await those that venture off the fairway... Really rewards the accurate player, and frustrates the others. In the autumn, most of that is gone, and it opens up beautifully. The last three years has seen much traffic, all contributing to the "breaking in" of this new course. Lots of volunteers help to keep it clear and playable.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course and look forward to it's maturity! Help out, grab a bag of garbage and take it out. Use the garbage cans. Carry out what you carry in. Maybe we could use some signs around to remind folks to do exactly that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.