Truckee, CA 
Sierra College DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    10/3/2016   10/3/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 108  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good flat rubber tee pads
- good tee signs that offer all the info you need
- multiple baskets placements
- great use of elevation, makes for some real "wow throws"
- good variety of distances
- lots of different technical throws
- beautiful scenery
- very accessible, right off 80
Cons: - navigation can be a little frustrating on a few holes
- some of the blind holes make finding your discs difficult, there's a bit of under brush on a few holes as well.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, one of the best in the Tahoe area. But with just a little improvement to the navigation, this course could easily be a 4.5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stop and throw at Sierra College

1    8/21/2016   8/26/2016
Review By: nogginfur
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a destination course. Do not hesitate to stop and play...right off the interstate. Well laid out course that generally felt big for 18 holes. I like the grip mats.
Cons: A little loud on holes 14,15,16.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to walk behind the tee box for 12, great view from rocks!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A hidden gem

5+    6/12/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: Richveyor
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sierra College is another excellent example of Tahoe disc golf and the design of Craig Getty. The original design was amazing and provided quite a challenge for every level of player. The new positions make this course even better! Varied terrain, distances, shot selection and natural environment make this one of the best courses in the region. If you are in the area please do yourself a favor and play here. That is if you like a challenge!
Cons: There is a parking fee of $3 and the lot is closed on Sundays. However there is close parking at the gate or across the street if is required. Just think of it as a warm up if these things are an issue.
Other Thoughts: You may find yourself one of the only ones playing so do not expect to join a group if you are unfamiliar with the layout. Signage is complete and trails are pretty easy to follow. Truckee Disc Golf Association is a good resource.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course w/full signage and multiple pin placements!

5+    8/22/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: tp999
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a beast! Amazing layout w/out the crowd. Multiple pin positions are now clearly marked on the signs (even the big holes are viewable from the pad) w/accurate distance and the location of the next tee pad. The fairways are fair if you have the shot the hole calls for. The course can be set relatively short or incredibly long; most of the time it seems to be a mix.
Cons: Some of the newer pin placements are still a bit rough but are slowly getting beat in. Pay for parking on weekdays and walk up on weekends, I park off the road in the gated area at the bottom. None of these are a true con, just FYI. The only true bummer is having to leave the dogs at home (weekdays), because its a college campus I understand...I remember how many dog attacks I had to fight off and poop landmines I stepped in when I was in college at a "dog friendly" campus....ohh the humanity! Either way, it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Bring water. Like all Tahoe courses, pack it in/pack it out and high fire danger so be extra careful with any spark.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trees,Trees, all the trees

1    7/23/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 80  Reviewed: 27
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course layout/design.

SOOOO many trees to hit. I hit at least one or more trees on each hole. That increased my score overall.
Cons: Course lay out is a bit tough for a first timer. I spent some time locating each tee pad/hole. There are alternate hole locations/pin placement for some, but not all holes.
Other Thoughts: Tee pad for hole one is behind pr south of Sierra College building. Practice basket is west of the first parking lot you come to after passing through the gate which is not near the tee pad for hole one.

Free parking at shopping center to the west of the main entrance.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful but confusing hike

1    9/6/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: Swordforthelord
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course with elevation changes and a variety of hole layouts. Area looks mostly clean, no pets means no dumps and chipmunks stay around. Tees are all maintained and nice. Easy to find and start from near the parking lot.

Free if you're willing to walk from the nearby shopping center parking lot.
Cons: The hole maps are quite vague, artistic impressions rather than accurate guides. Lots of unused footings around the area made me think there were alternate hole locations, but no maps showed multiple locations. No direction signs between holes, so I got lost almost every hole (there was no one else there). Lots of the holes were densely surrounded by bushes, i got lots of scratches trying to get to the holes (some lacked any sense of a fairway at all).

Other Thoughts: I am an athletic beginner and love the sport. I definitely felt beat by this course, I would not recommend it for other beginners, especially alone. Despite the beauty, I was very frustrated by the end trying to find each hole. Going with crowds or guides strongly recommended.

I would think advanced players would love this course. My discs are wrecked from all the dense trees I kept hitting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

5+    2/1/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: Yogi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/29/2016
Pros: The course is complete with 3 to 4 new pin placements. Tee signs have been updated. Excellent diversity of holes. Up and down, long and short. It plays as a par 54 to a par 61. Lots of tight windows with many trees. Rubber tee pads are in great shape. The course is very clean and not crowded.
Cons: Access is a pro and con. The gate at the entrance is closed in off hours. So a walk up the road (3 minutes up hill) on weekends is necessary. This keeps the course free of riff-raff.
Other Thoughts: This course is tucked in on a hillside between Hwy 80 and the railroad tracks. You would think that it would be noisy.. but it is very peaceful. The gate is open from 9:00 to 6:30 Monday to Thursday, and closes at 4:00 on Friday. There is a $3 parking fee.

 An Unpolished Gem

5+    1/21/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: Magicweed
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety - pretty much every hole can test different aspects of your game
Location - right off I-80 and in the Sierras, the course itself is beautiful
Cons: Only one pin position per hole, however, this will be changed soon. Plans are underway to add other pins to the course, which would raise my review from a 4.5 to a 5.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my local courses, so I have the opportunity to play here very often. That being said, the course remains as challenging as ever and never really loses any of its draw. Being somewhere between an Advanced and Intermediate player, I find myself challenged on almost every hole, with 58 feeling like a good score for the round. I mix in a few birdies with a few bogies, but it is a great place to hone my skills. The changes in elevation are great and the course requires a lot of shot variety in order to shoot well. There are a number of par 3s that feel more like par 4s due to their difficulty. The only thing the course could benefit from is additional pin placements, but I have been told that those are coming soon. Easily one of the best courses in the Lake Tahoe area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy needed

1    10/1/2014   10/1/2014
Review By: DuBose
Played: 76  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ~Map from DGCR was great.
~Logs marking trails to next t-pad very helpful.
~Signs with pars and distance.
~Very good rubber pads.
~Very quite. We played mid afternoon and did not see or hear anyone else. WOW!!
~Very easy to find course since it's AT the college. Map from this web site shows you first pad.
~Beautiful views from hole 12.
Cons: ~No trash cans.
~No benches.
~Road noise on some holes from I80.
None of these are a big deal to me.
Other Thoughts: If you count the course across the lake, there are almost too many choices for disc golf up here. All of the ones I've played so far are at least 3 1/2's. The locals have to be very spoiled. I'm looking forward to coming up to play this course again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/24/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High quality of shots from the tee with a nice variety of left to right, right to left, up and down, short and long drives. As far as course designs go it's probably the best layout in Tahoe. Never very busy. Nice scenery and views (walk back from hole 12's tee box for a really nice vista point)
Cons: Pay to park. Possibly trouble finding the first tee (just up the hill behind the school building).
Other Thoughts: Course par is 58 (four par 4's) and it basically has only one layout. I appreciate this aspect because on such a challenging course you pretty much always want another shot at it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.