Truckee, CA 
Sierra College DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 272ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sierra Solitude

5+    7/12/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: BIG O
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: NEW SIGNAGE!!! There's no steady traffic on this course. Just off I80 in Truckee. Not nearly as much sage and manzanita as other courses in the area. New DGA baskets. No dogs
Cons: No dogs! No Trash/Recycling out on the course. Lousy parking situation. Tough spot to rally a group of buds for a round. The par 4's are not.
Other Thoughts: My personal favorite between Truckee Regional, Tahoe Vista and Sierra College. This course is the least shabby but has the most aggravating trees of all. Very challenging until you become familiar with the lanes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Impure shots punished with extreme prejudice

2-4    7/6/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 183  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In general, I found it hard to like this course, but I do think it is very worthy.
--Very challenging
--Mix of RHBH and forehand shots, but mostly throw it very straight
--Rubber tee pads, which I usually dislike, were very well done and sturdy
--In a few cases (#2, 4) there are at least two routes to attack the pin
--Flow is generally what you might intuit
--Played it twice, never saw another soul
--Very scenic, not trampled yet
Cons: The college was closed for the summer, I think, and the gate was closed and locked. Pay for parking signs everywhere now, and a machine to buy your parking permit is in the main parking lot.
--No tee signs
--Several holes with no view of the pin, and a few requiring extensive walk to see them, but once you know, it's not an issue
--No amenities on the course (benches, trash cans)
--Pay for parking when college is in session, I assume
--No 'Disc Golf' welcome board at hole 1, which is common to many courses
--No maps on site
--Holes 6 and 7 are not very good due to the insane number of trees, which requires pin-point accuracy. I don't mind that on short shots, or for part of the fairway, but doing it for 500+ feet is silly
--Footing is often awkward due to slope, but that adds to the challenge, I guess
--You sort of end near the start
Other Thoughts: I think this course would be better with a little tree trimming on some holes. I dislike the 'hope and poke' routine that is used on multiple holes. I was thoroughly disheartened on multiple holes when a slight nick of one tree sent my shot careening down the slope and into a nightmare of shrubs and trees. If you have absolute control, this is not an issue, but for me it detracted from the fun of the course.

When you get to the course, the first parking lot on your right is nearest hole 1, which is just behind the main building at the edge of the forest.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

1    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 18 holes-uncrowded-many different shots-great tee pads-another 18 hole course!
Cons: no signage-no trash cans-no nothing.
Other Thoughts: pretty heavy on trees but thats not really a con for me but it may be for some. A couple holes cross and its a bit hard to figure out without signs, even temp signs would help, rumor is the college is now enforcing pay park but they dont have any signs as of this writing that indicate you have to pay so its easy to fight this one if you get nailed. Will play again and you should too

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Time to get your feelings hurt

1    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Rubber tee pads (with plenty of space)
- Mach III baskets
- Fantastic mix of shots off of the tee
- 3 par fours
- Good amount of ace opportunities.
- Not crowded
- Great elevation changes
- Lots of trees
- Course is right off of the freeway.
Cons: - No tee signs (I hear they are coming)
- No trash cans
- No smoking
- No dogs
- When gates are closed there is a little bit of a walk (this really isn't an issue with me but some people are little girls)
- Lots of trees
- Bring water because there is none available on the course.
- The train runs next to the course and can be distracting.
Other Thoughts: This is another great course in the area and really shows the dedication from the locals in the area. This course has so much potential and is so close to a four star rating. Once the signs are up and a couple of other amenities are in place this will be the must play course in Truckee. This course used to be popular with homeless folks that would ride in on the train. It used to be litter with trash and makeshift campsites. This is all gone due to the course installation. This course is a blessing to the area and goes to show the endless benefits of bringing a course to an area. Go play this course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: JTGarlow
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new course, fantastic design, challenging with a few opportunities for birds. Variety of elevation changes, straights, dog legs, lanes, awesome views etc...
Cons: At sierra CC so no pets, no smoking (if you do), no tee signs (yet, will be put in this coming spring though) parking lot of college closed weekends so have to park by train tracks and walk in the back way. The college also closes and locks the gate to parking lot about 8-9 at night so be careful you don't get locked in.
Other Thoughts: Really nice to have 3 full 18 courses in Truckee now all thanks to Craig. This is surely going to help with the crowds given the growing popularity of the sport, which for anyone who knows how backed up regional can get, is fantastic.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.