Southern Pines, NC 
Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Quick, fun play

1    10/30/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid course traverses a landscape dotted with southern pines, just north of, well, Southern Pines. In that tradition of appropriate names, Reservoir Park is located on the edge of a reservoir.

It's quite scenic throughout, with the water always just over the edge of the next hill. While this beauty attracted a wealth of walkers and joggers, the path they use never interferes with the course.

It's not a destination course, but it's a great local course and a good travel stop, not too far from major roads. I can see new players learning the ropes at Reservoir, as it can be quite forgiving. The road warriors will appreciate how quickly they can play a round as the walk is minimal and the navigation between holes is very intuitive.

The aforementioned pines should provide a solid amount of challenge to new players and do give the holes a sort of variety. I can easily say that no two holes are similar here, even if they are all sort-of similar.
Cons: There isn't a ton of distance, and there isn't much variation in hole lengths; at least two-thirds of the holes are between 220 and 290 feet.

There won't be any challenge to more experienced players. I had a blast during my round, but better players than I may be disappointed.

There aren't many memorable holes. I liked the blind, sharply right-turning hole(14?) but other than there wasn't too much that stands out.

While I don't mind them, I should note that the tees are simply-marked on the natural ground. I found them to be flat and workable but cement seekers should be warned.

While the signs are really nice looking, they don't offer too much information. There's the hole and distance, but no route to the hole. This isn't often a problem, but a few of the holes don't have clearly defined fairways, and on at least one hole, multiple pins are visible. (I threw a really nice upshot on hole ten, only to find my Anode sitting under basket twelve.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely return to Reservoir next time I'm traveling 15/501. It's not a course I'd travel too, but it's definitely one that I would stop at.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Rez

1    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Mostly beginner friendly course through the pines. It's a fun layout with some minimal elevation change.

Good mixture of hole types and not biased one way or the other. No big drives out here it's a good place to work on your midrange/putting game. Multiple routes/options on a lot of holes.

Most of the course flows really well and a lot of the underbrush is gone so it's pretty clean.

Equipment - Good signage and baskets.

Atmosphere - Nice park, mostly pines and smaller trees of other types throughout. Keeps disc golf away from the rest of the park and it wasn't crowded.
Cons: Layout - There wasn't much I didn't like about the course but it all kind of blends together. The terrain is the same throughout and even though there's different shots nothing really stands out.

There are some smaller trees that need to come out, especially a few closer to the baskets. You can hit a line for 80% of the flight only to nail some 3" wide tree at the end.

No longer holes, a lot of holes in the 200-300' range.

Equipment - Natural pads that were mostly level but sandy. The distances on the tee signs seemed really off in some places.
Other Thoughts: It's a solid course, great for beginners or a quick round. It's got some good qualities but nothing that separates it from the rest. Only a few really good holes and none that stand out as signature holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/28/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-The course is easy to find
-Navigation is pretty simple (holes are close together)
-Decent Signage (all they have is the hole number and the distance, no picture. Which isn't a big deal, but several of the holes are close together and I could see how you could easily mistake which one to throw at.)
-Very Clean and well maintained.
-Great lines and great flow through the course.
-It's not a very long course, so you can play 18 pretty quick and even go another round.
-Good variety throughout the course.
-The course is very well put together and I really enjoyed playing it, the other players on the course were friendly.
-The scenery is awesome, which really does add a lot to the experience. It is peaceful and you don't get that playing around a park feel.

FRONT NINE

Hole 1: Dog Leg Left, not a very long par 3, just need to make sure you get around the bend on the tee shot.
Hole 2: "Straight Shot" you can attack this hole a number of different ways, lots of trees on this one. Got to have control on this one if you want to tread it through the trees.
Hole 3: Straight Shot with a slight bend to the left. Not a bad hole definite birdie opportunity.
Hole 4: Uphill Dog Leg Right with a group of trees in the middle of the bend. Forces you to play to one side or the other.
Hole 5: Downhill curve to the left. This one of the shorter holes on the course, the basket is "guarded" by trees is you're looking at it from the tee pad, but once your down there it's not that bad.
Hole 6: Slight Uphill curve to the right. You've got a fence line of trees to cut through in order to get to the basket.
Hole 7: This is another short / straight birdie opportunity.
Hole 8: Slightly Uphill Straight Shot. There are some trees you have to work around but I would say this is another birdie opportunity.
Hole 9: Not really sure what to call this one, you can see the basket straight in front of you from the tee pad. Super tight alley if you attack it head on. You can go around the trees to the left, but it's not as open as it is to the right. Lots of hyzer.

BACK NINE

Hole 10: Straight Shot with a slight uphill. Narrow alley way to throw through, got to be able to throw straight. It's another short birdie opportunity.
Hole 11: Slight Uphill that curves right at the end. Basket is on a hill, alley way starts out narrow but opens up. Long enough to bust out the driver.
Hole 12: Dog Leg Left, this hole forces you to have control over both distance and turn. Accuracy is key on the tee shot, too far left and you're surrounded by tall trees, too much distance and you're on the backside of the a hill.
Hole 13: This hole is very similar to Hole 8, it's longer but the same factors apply. You've got several trees with in 50-100ft of the tee that force you to choose a line. There's a larger opening to the right where have to get over some small shrubs and then hyzer back onto the fairway. All the traffic is in the middle of the fairway, once you get around that it's wide open to the basket.
Hole 14: Slight Downhill with a hard curve to the right. There is a MANDO on this hole which forces you to Anhyzer. The trees and shrubs get significantly taller the further away you get from the fairway. So control is a huge factor. I would say this is one of the more challenging holes on the course.
Hole 15: Short par 3. You can see the basket straight ahead, which is guarded by several tall trees. Multiple ways to attack this, huge hyzer to the right, anhyzer to the left, straight ahead. Birdie opportunity as long as you get past the first row of trees.
Hole 16: This is an interesting shot, it curves at the end to the left. But the trees which seem to be a every possible angle are surrounding the basket. The fairway starts out somewhat narrow and then opens up but there's a group of trees in the middle of where the fairway bends. I'd pay money to see someone get an ACE on this one.
Hole 17: Straight Shot to the basket, but you've got a good bit of terrain that comes into play depending on how you choose to play. Straight ahead there is a narrowing alley way of trees that starts 50-75 free from the tee pad. Again depending on how you choose to play the basket is on a slight uphill or downhill.
Hole 18: Dog Leg Left. The course is open enough that you can attack this a couple different ways. Personally, I think 17 would be a better ending to the course than 18, I think they could move the basket farther down the hill.
Cons:
-The distances are way off, I'd say easily 50'!!!
-There's no hole that really stands out. You've got some possible ACE's and lots of birdie opportunities. But nothing real screams challenge. I think it's missing those risk/reward shots that force you to take chances and be accurate.
Other Thoughts:
I wouldn't call this a beginners course, because you do have to be able to control and shape your shots, but everything is a par 3, so there's not much of a challenge distance wise. I saw a number of families playing when I was there, which I think is awesome.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simple course. Idyllic Setting

1    12/5/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - can't say enough for the setting. Beautiful, peaceful. It was busy in the parking lot, but the course is in an area by itself.
- this is a great course for a beginner, and,to really hone your skills (if you didn't use this as your primary course - more on this later).
- good course flow, you can pretty much see every basket from the tee and the next teepad from the basket.
- there are several benches (seemed like every other hole or so).
Cons: - no tee pads, just sand (you are in the Sandhills) and market flags. Not a problem for most holes, but the pads were rutted on some holes. I wasn't paying close attention, but it seemed like this was on the longer, open holes where people were taking run-ups and really working their lower body.
- the course was short. There is so much room there. It feels shorter then it is. I understand that there are walking paths, but it feels sort of cramped.
- I wish the signs were better (include a picture/map of the hole). As noted, some of the distances seem like they were off. Don't know if it s a true distance, or if it how something plays including the uphill or downhill elevation change.
Other Thoughts: - if it weren't so pretty and calm, I would have given a 2.5. I will bump 1/2 point for the setting. I wish that the layout incorporated the reservoir. There are some peninsulas that would have yielded some sweet water shots. I think once you learned the arm slots it would become repetitive and (relatively) easy. If you played here once in a while, I think the upside is that you can see the lines and they are not super difficult to hit. Its a challenge to execute, but not impossible. It's wooded, but not overly punishing (lots of low branches or thick scrub). I'm not in the area often, but will try to play when I'm in town. I would compare this to Kentwood (sans the "urban" feel) in the Triangle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First Course

5+    8/16/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: unclephool
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice natural layout.
I liked the variety of hole layouts.
Cons: No hole maps. A few holes hard to see where to go (#9 in particular).
Tee areas not well defined and a bit washed out.
Other Thoughts: I was on travel in the area and decided to pick up a disc and give DG a try. This was a nice course for a rank beginner since there was good challenge but not such draconian penalties. Played it 2-3 times each evening this week.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short but sweet

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course with a few techincal shots. All teepads are clearly marked, and there are even marked paths between the basket an next tee. The area around the basket is bordered as well. Great course had a lot of fun playing it an will definitely be back.
Cons: Could use some longer holes, and the under brush can be bothersome.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I've Gotta Crush!!

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout! Very technical course but playable! Signs at every hole with very good directions to the next tee! All paths bordered! Course maintained very well!
Cons: Course is short & every hole has a tight layout ! No open holes! No room for BIG drives!
Other Thoughts: I'm a newbie at disc golf! Been playing for 2 months! I really liked this course! Very challenging but par is obtainable!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Go get Crushed

1    2/11/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a nice little park by a scenic little reservoir. Course is, as you can gleam from the name, in a little wooded area full of pines.

Mostly short, beginner friendly course. There are some tight lines, but many holes play short enough you can save par even with an errant drive.

Signs at the pads with distances. Not sure how accurate they are, but they are there.

Decent elevation for this part of the state. Nothing huge, but some ups and downs to help keep things from getting too dull.

Good mix of left, right and straight shots. Nothing repetitive of biased here.

You could play putter only or putter/mid rounds here and handle it well. Nothing so long that you'd suffer much.

Nice mix of shots. There are some gentle up and downs. There are some lefts and rights. Even some shots that require some good line manipulation.
Cons: It is a pretty short, basic course. If you are looking to break out Nukes and throw 400' this is not your course.

Natural pads right now. They play pretty well, but could be improved.

Signs seem horribly inaccurate to me. Even with my noodle arm these holes are pretty short.

A few fairways with some classic pinball type design. There may be some cool local routes, but there is a lot of scattered trees.

No epic holes or real memorable layouts.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course, and the kind I enjoy when I've been playing crappy. You can get out, throw a putter or mid a bunch and work on your game without getting beat up. There are some tight lines and thick woods here, but for the most part you can recover from bad drives or shots. This would also be a good course to bring a newer player. It short, an easy walk, and a nice looking little park.

There are some holes with a little length. #12 is a fun downhill 379', but plays shorter. Nice hole for a decent player to go for a cool Ace.

#2 is a flat 354' that forces you to weave through the scattered trees.

I wouldn't drive out of my way to play this course, but if I lived close by I'd play it often. It won't beat you down, can be played quickly, and would be a great place to bring a new player or kids. All in all, a nice course for the area.

Restrooms are closed in the winter, and the course doesn't offer a lot over cover for 'business'. There are some walking trails around the course, and very little under brush to hide in. Plan ahead.

I played with a couple local guys os had no trouble with navigation. But I also did not notice and signs or navigation aids.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pine Cone Toss

2-4    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little Recreational/red level course in a nice park. One word to describe this course: Pines. All pines, all the time. Pines are great for DG b/c they grow fast, straight, tall, and don't litter the ground with disc hiding leaves. The course flows and interweaves amongst these many pines quite well, navigation is a breeze. Tee signs are well visible and do the job.

The hole variety is pretty good, more or less equal parts left-straight-right. A few "lefty" holes seemed like they favored FH and turnover/annys pretty equally while the dog leg lefts all felt like clearly big hyzers all the way to me.

Really clean, nice park. On a few holes, you can see the reservoir and the park is quite active with disc golfers and others alike. Really considerate locals.

Rough isn't that dense so feel free to bomb away.
Cons: Natural tees are pretty rutted. Not dangerously so but it's compete guess work on where the tees begin and end. B/c of this, I feel like design was impacted severely. Well marked tees would do wonders for making the holes and the designer's preferred line stand out more. As they're designed now, the holes feel kind of samey. Contributing to this is the very little elevation in play on the holes and uniformity on distance. Too many short "filler" holes and the long holes really aren't long.

Tee signs had some questionable distances listed.

Not many benches (just one on the first hole) but this course is so quick you don't really need them that bad. Trash cans aren't really available on the course either but it was amazingly clean, awesome.
Other Thoughts: I know some locals are going to feel betrayed by my 2.5 rating. I know, you love your course and you should b/c it's pretty fun. But comparatively, it does have its shortcomings in the design dept. This is going to be one of those courses that matures into a perfect red level course but nothing more b/c I don't think alt. tees/pin placements would enhance it much.

Basically, the holes do not provide much scoring separation for Intermediate & above players so mistakes are critical but for the most part everyone is going to battling it out for the lead until the end. Concrete tees will be the x-factor, if done right, they can great enhance the design of the course by giving greater advantage to certain lines, say a FH line vs a BH turnover. As is, you can pretty much drive every hole a different way every time and get par or better b/c the tee area is so vague.

I'm sorry if this rating seems like a low-ball but it feels pretty accurate to me. I think the ratings on this guy need to be reigned in a bit, it looks like a destination course and it isn't at all. It's a fun course to hit up if you're nearby and/or want a quick round before/after work. I look forward to playing here again and I'm sure the locals will polish it up into a better than average course, for sure.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course Review

5+    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: strangewayfarer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of terrain (As much as possible in this area anyway.) Fairly open brush-wise which helps in keeping track of your disc. Most holes allow for a few different approaches.All in all very happy to have as my home course.
Cons: As multiple baskets are visible from several of the tee boxes hole diagrams would be helpful for people playing the course the first time.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see multiple pin locations potentially in the future.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.