Southern Pines, NC 
Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #16 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Rez

1    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Mostly beginner friendly course through the pines. It's a fun layout with some minimal elevation change.

Good mixture of hole types and not biased one way or the other. No big drives out here it's a good place to work on your midrange/putting game. Multiple routes/options on a lot of holes.

Most of the course flows really well and a lot of the underbrush is gone so it's pretty clean.

Equipment - Good signage and baskets.

Atmosphere - Nice park, mostly pines and smaller trees of other types throughout. Keeps disc golf away from the rest of the park and it wasn't crowded.
Cons: Layout - There wasn't much I didn't like about the course but it all kind of blends together. The terrain is the same throughout and even though there's different shots nothing really stands out.

There are some smaller trees that need to come out, especially a few closer to the baskets. You can hit a line for 80% of the flight only to nail some 3" wide tree at the end.

No longer holes, a lot of holes in the 200-300' range.

Equipment - Natural pads that were mostly level but sandy. The distances on the tee signs seemed really off in some places.
Other Thoughts: It's a solid course, great for beginners or a quick round. It's got some good qualities but nothing that separates it from the rest. Only a few really good holes and none that stand out as signature holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Go get Crushed

1    2/11/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a nice little park by a scenic little reservoir. Course is, as you can gleam from the name, in a little wooded area full of pines.

Mostly short, beginner friendly course. There are some tight lines, but many holes play short enough you can save par even with an errant drive.

Signs at the pads with distances. Not sure how accurate they are, but they are there.

Decent elevation for this part of the state. Nothing huge, but some ups and downs to help keep things from getting too dull.

Good mix of left, right and straight shots. Nothing repetitive of biased here.

You could play putter only or putter/mid rounds here and handle it well. Nothing so long that you'd suffer much.

Nice mix of shots. There are some gentle up and downs. There are some lefts and rights. Even some shots that require some good line manipulation.
Cons: It is a pretty short, basic course. If you are looking to break out Nukes and throw 400' this is not your course.

Natural pads right now. They play pretty well, but could be improved.

Signs seem horribly inaccurate to me. Even with my noodle arm these holes are pretty short.

A few fairways with some classic pinball type design. There may be some cool local routes, but there is a lot of scattered trees.

No epic holes or real memorable layouts.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course, and the kind I enjoy when I've been playing crappy. You can get out, throw a putter or mid a bunch and work on your game without getting beat up. There are some tight lines and thick woods here, but for the most part you can recover from bad drives or shots. This would also be a good course to bring a newer player. It short, an easy walk, and a nice looking little park.

There are some holes with a little length. #12 is a fun downhill 379', but plays shorter. Nice hole for a decent player to go for a cool Ace.

#2 is a flat 354' that forces you to weave through the scattered trees.

I wouldn't drive out of my way to play this course, but if I lived close by I'd play it often. It won't beat you down, can be played quickly, and would be a great place to bring a new player or kids. All in all, a nice course for the area.

Restrooms are closed in the winter, and the course doesn't offer a lot over cover for 'business'. There are some walking trails around the course, and very little under brush to hide in. Plan ahead.

I played with a couple local guys os had no trouble with navigation. But I also did not notice and signs or navigation aids.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pine Cone Toss

2-4    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little Recreational/red level course in a nice park. One word to describe this course: Pines. All pines, all the time. Pines are great for DG b/c they grow fast, straight, tall, and don't litter the ground with disc hiding leaves. The course flows and interweaves amongst these many pines quite well, navigation is a breeze. Tee signs are well visible and do the job.

The hole variety is pretty good, more or less equal parts left-straight-right. A few "lefty" holes seemed like they favored FH and turnover/annys pretty equally while the dog leg lefts all felt like clearly big hyzers all the way to me.

Really clean, nice park. On a few holes, you can see the reservoir and the park is quite active with disc golfers and others alike. Really considerate locals.

Rough isn't that dense so feel free to bomb away.
Cons: Natural tees are pretty rutted. Not dangerously so but it's compete guess work on where the tees begin and end. B/c of this, I feel like design was impacted severely. Well marked tees would do wonders for making the holes and the designer's preferred line stand out more. As they're designed now, the holes feel kind of samey. Contributing to this is the very little elevation in play on the holes and uniformity on distance. Too many short "filler" holes and the long holes really aren't long.

Tee signs had some questionable distances listed.

Not many benches (just one on the first hole) but this course is so quick you don't really need them that bad. Trash cans aren't really available on the course either but it was amazingly clean, awesome.
Other Thoughts: I know some locals are going to feel betrayed by my 2.5 rating. I know, you love your course and you should b/c it's pretty fun. But comparatively, it does have its shortcomings in the design dept. This is going to be one of those courses that matures into a perfect red level course but nothing more b/c I don't think alt. tees/pin placements would enhance it much.

Basically, the holes do not provide much scoring separation for Intermediate & above players so mistakes are critical but for the most part everyone is going to battling it out for the lead until the end. Concrete tees will be the x-factor, if done right, they can great enhance the design of the course by giving greater advantage to certain lines, say a FH line vs a BH turnover. As is, you can pretty much drive every hole a different way every time and get par or better b/c the tee area is so vague.

I'm sorry if this rating seems like a low-ball but it feels pretty accurate to me. I think the ratings on this guy need to be reigned in a bit, it looks like a destination course and it isn't at all. It's a fun course to hit up if you're nearby and/or want a quick round before/after work. I look forward to playing here again and I'm sure the locals will polish it up into a better than average course, for sure.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A welcome new course

1    11/23/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: turkey33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location - Reservoir park is a nice place. I've been here before and thought it would be a good place for a course as they slowly spring up around here.
-Great course for short game and technical throw practice. Tight fairways and plenty of trees for obstacles.
-Elevation changes. The course plays mostly up and down some small hills above the reservoir. It's fun and rewarding to pick your alley and watch your disc glide down or challenge your accuracy when you have to rip it harder uphill.
Cons: I don't want to criticize a brand new course because I'm sure more changes are planned soon so suggestions for improvement are:
- needs signs, at least markers to indicate where the next tee boxes are.
- needs something for the tee boxes but I'm sure that's coming. Right now they're just loose sand and pinestraw.
- needs some trees and low branches removed from some of the fairways to give players more reasonable shots off the tee.
- players who like to rip it will be disappointed unless you're incredibly accurate getting it through trees
Other Thoughts: Until signs are posted find someone that knows the course already. I got lucky and ran into a guy who played it a few times so he could show me around. Otherwise it would have taken me a lot longer to find the tees and baskets.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.