Southern Pines, NC 
Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Secluded and well designed.

2-4    8/22/2015   8/23/2015
Review By: Miloki
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Clean, with trash cans and benches throughout
- Really high quality course maps available
- Navigation is easy
- Park is full of activity, but from holes 2 - 17 you see none of it (except the walking path)
- The walking path appears throughout the early and later holes and is just far away enough that only a truly awful throw would hit someone walking
- Course was carefully designed to use available space, with good use of terrain and trees to create challenge that isn't annoying
Cons: - Its kinda easy
- Easier the second time. I took off ten strokes just knowing where the pin was (some are blind) and some awareness of terrain rolling to/away from the pin.
- If you can't avoid a tree at 175', you will hit quite a few trees here. Several holes have trees dotted through the middle of the hole. The hole wants you to grip and rip because its mostly open, but you'll likely chop wood if you do. More of an annoyance than a con
Other Thoughts: - Very fun course with a few memorable holes
- Several blind holes...I generally hate them unless i have a quality map like this course, then no problem
- Couple of short holes going uphill and long hills playing downhill...fun to struggle to hit a 190' drive due to hills and trees
- Hole 18 needs improvement....its way too easy. 18 should break you off imo, this one was just a rainbow curve left, i hyzer'd a beast about 8 feet from the pin. Easy birdie. Too easy.

- Play this course if you're close by. I drove 35 miles to get here from Ft. Bragg. Worth it, played it 2x.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sandhills Gem

1    5/2/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow. Signage does not indicate basket location, but the course map available at the first tee does.

Being in the Sandhills, this one played fine a day after significant rain. The tee pads seemed to be only sand at first, but at many you can see the rubber mat underneath.

This is a beautiful course with lots of pines to bounce off of. The course never interferes with or crosses over other park activities.

This course is mostly wooded but without disc eating rough. No Plinko to be had here. I was again pleasantly surprised by the amount of elevation change. These were gently sloped with no brutal uphill holes. Towards the end of the course the reservoir comes into view.

The longest hole is 354 feet, so beginners won't get too frustrated. Holes finish left, right and center and overall the course doesn't favor a particular throwing style.
Cons: Oddly, while there were no Plinko holes and there was a fair path to most baskets, some of the fairways were not well defined. The course map came in handy once again on these holes.

When you could see the rubber tee mats that weren't buried in sand, some were uneven. They did not seem hazardous though and were large enough to allow for a run up.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course in a multi-use park. Most users were walkers and joggers. We only saw one other group and we were playing around 11 a.m. on a beautiful Saturday.

A very nice companion to Village of Pinehurst DGC on the same day trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick, fun play

1    10/30/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 239  Reviewed: 235  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid course traverses a landscape dotted with southern pines, just north of, well, Southern Pines. In that tradition of appropriate names, Reservoir Park is located on the edge of a reservoir.

It's quite scenic throughout, with the water always just over the edge of the next hill. While this beauty attracted a wealth of walkers and joggers, the path they use never interferes with the course.

It's not a destination course, but it's a great local course and a good travel stop, not too far from major roads. I can see new players learning the ropes at Reservoir, as it can be quite forgiving. The road warriors will appreciate how quickly they can play a round as the walk is minimal and the navigation between holes is very intuitive.

The aforementioned pines should provide a solid amount of challenge to new players and do give the holes a sort of variety. I can easily say that no two holes are similar here, even if they are all sort-of similar.
Cons: There isn't a ton of distance, and there isn't much variation in hole lengths; at least two-thirds of the holes are between 220 and 290 feet.

There won't be any challenge to more experienced players. I had a blast during my round, but better players than I may be disappointed.

There aren't many memorable holes. I liked the blind, sharply right-turning hole(14?) but other than there wasn't too much that stands out.

While I don't mind them, I should note that the tees are simply-marked on the natural ground. I found them to be flat and workable but cement seekers should be warned.

While the signs are really nice looking, they don't offer too much information. There's the hole and distance, but no route to the hole. This isn't often a problem, but a few of the holes don't have clearly defined fairways, and on at least one hole, multiple pins are visible. (I threw a really nice upshot on hole ten, only to find my Anode sitting under basket twelve.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely return to Reservoir next time I'm traveling 15/501. It's not a course I'd travel too, but it's definitely one that I would stop at.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Rez

1    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Mostly beginner friendly course through the pines. It's a fun layout with some minimal elevation change.

Good mixture of hole types and not biased one way or the other. No big drives out here it's a good place to work on your midrange/putting game. Multiple routes/options on a lot of holes.

Most of the course flows really well and a lot of the underbrush is gone so it's pretty clean.

Equipment - Good signage and baskets.

Atmosphere - Nice park, mostly pines and smaller trees of other types throughout. Keeps disc golf away from the rest of the park and it wasn't crowded.
Cons: Layout - There wasn't much I didn't like about the course but it all kind of blends together. The terrain is the same throughout and even though there's different shots nothing really stands out.

There are some smaller trees that need to come out, especially a few closer to the baskets. You can hit a line for 80% of the flight only to nail some 3" wide tree at the end.

No longer holes, a lot of holes in the 200-300' range.

Equipment - Natural pads that were mostly level but sandy. The distances on the tee signs seemed really off in some places.
Other Thoughts: It's a solid course, great for beginners or a quick round. It's got some good qualities but nothing that separates it from the rest. Only a few really good holes and none that stand out as signature holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-The course is easy to find
-Navigation is pretty simple (holes are close together)
-Decent Signage (all they have is the hole number and the distance, no picture. Which isn't a big deal, but several of the holes are close together and I could see how you could easily mistake which one to throw at.)
-Very Clean and well maintained.
-Great lines and great flow through the course.
-It's not a very long course, so you can play 18 pretty quick and even go another round.
-Good variety throughout the course.
-The course is very well put together and I really enjoyed playing it, the other players on the course were friendly.
-The scenery is awesome, which really does add a lot to the experience. It is peaceful and you don't get that playing around a park feel.

FRONT NINE

Hole 1: Dog Leg Left, not a very long par 3, just need to make sure you get around the bend on the tee shot.
Hole 2: "Straight Shot" you can attack this hole a number of different ways, lots of trees on this one. Got to have control on this one if you want to tread it through the trees.
Hole 3: Straight Shot with a slight bend to the left. Not a bad hole definite birdie opportunity.
Hole 4: Uphill Dog Leg Right with a group of trees in the middle of the bend. Forces you to play to one side or the other.
Hole 5: Downhill curve to the left. This one of the shorter holes on the course, the basket is "guarded" by trees is you're looking at it from the tee pad, but once your down there it's not that bad.
Hole 6: Slight Uphill curve to the right. You've got a fence line of trees to cut through in order to get to the basket.
Hole 7: This is another short / straight birdie opportunity.
Hole 8: Slightly Uphill Straight Shot. There are some trees you have to work around but I would say this is another birdie opportunity.
Hole 9: Not really sure what to call this one, you can see the basket straight in front of you from the tee pad. Super tight alley if you attack it head on. You can go around the trees to the left, but it's not as open as it is to the right. Lots of hyzer.

BACK NINE

Hole 10: Straight Shot with a slight uphill. Narrow alley way to throw through, got to be able to throw straight. It's another short birdie opportunity.
Hole 11: Slight Uphill that curves right at the end. Basket is on a hill, alley way starts out narrow but opens up. Long enough to bust out the driver.
Hole 12: Dog Leg Left, this hole forces you to have control over both distance and turn. Accuracy is key on the tee shot, too far left and you're surrounded by tall trees, too much distance and you're on the backside of the a hill.
Hole 13: This hole is very similar to Hole 8, it's longer but the same factors apply. You've got several trees with in 50-100ft of the tee that force you to choose a line. There's a larger opening to the right where have to get over some small shrubs and then hyzer back onto the fairway. All the traffic is in the middle of the fairway, once you get around that it's wide open to the basket.
Hole 14: Slight Downhill with a hard curve to the right. There is a MANDO on this hole which forces you to Anhyzer. The trees and shrubs get significantly taller the further away you get from the fairway. So control is a huge factor. I would say this is one of the more challenging holes on the course.
Hole 15: Short par 3. You can see the basket straight ahead, which is guarded by several tall trees. Multiple ways to attack this, huge hyzer to the right, anhyzer to the left, straight ahead. Birdie opportunity as long as you get past the first row of trees.
Hole 16: This is an interesting shot, it curves at the end to the left. But the trees which seem to be a every possible angle are surrounding the basket. The fairway starts out somewhat narrow and then opens up but there's a group of trees in the middle of where the fairway bends. I'd pay money to see someone get an ACE on this one.
Hole 17: Straight Shot to the basket, but you've got a good bit of terrain that comes into play depending on how you choose to play. Straight ahead there is a narrowing alley way of trees that starts 50-75 free from the tee pad. Again depending on how you choose to play the basket is on a slight uphill or downhill.
Hole 18: Dog Leg Left. The course is open enough that you can attack this a couple different ways. Personally, I think 17 would be a better ending to the course than 18, I think they could move the basket farther down the hill.
Cons:
-The distances are way off, I'd say easily 50'!!!
-There's no hole that really stands out. You've got some possible ACE's and lots of birdie opportunities. But nothing real screams challenge. I think it's missing those risk/reward shots that force you to take chances and be accurate.
Other Thoughts:
I wouldn't call this a beginners course, because you do have to be able to control and shape your shots, but everything is a par 3, so there's not much of a challenge distance wise. I saw a number of families playing when I was there, which I think is awesome.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simple course. Idyllic Setting

1    12/5/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - can't say enough for the setting. Beautiful, peaceful. It was busy in the parking lot, but the course is in an area by itself.
- this is a great course for a beginner, and,to really hone your skills (if you didn't use this as your primary course - more on this later).
- good course flow, you can pretty much see every basket from the tee and the next teepad from the basket.
- there are several benches (seemed like every other hole or so).
Cons: - no tee pads, just sand (you are in the Sandhills) and market flags. Not a problem for most holes, but the pads were rutted on some holes. I wasn't paying close attention, but it seemed like this was on the longer, open holes where people were taking run-ups and really working their lower body.
- the course was short. There is so much room there. It feels shorter then it is. I understand that there are walking paths, but it feels sort of cramped.
- I wish the signs were better (include a picture/map of the hole). As noted, some of the distances seem like they were off. Don't know if it s a true distance, or if it how something plays including the uphill or downhill elevation change.
Other Thoughts: - if it weren't so pretty and calm, I would have given a 2.5. I will bump 1/2 point for the setting. I wish that the layout incorporated the reservoir. There are some peninsulas that would have yielded some sweet water shots. I think once you learned the arm slots it would become repetitive and (relatively) easy. If you played here once in a while, I think the upside is that you can see the lines and they are not super difficult to hit. Its a challenge to execute, but not impossible. It's wooded, but not overly punishing (lots of low branches or thick scrub). I'm not in the area often, but will try to play when I'm in town. I would compare this to Kentwood (sans the "urban" feel) in the Triangle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First Course

5+    8/16/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: unclephool
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice natural layout.
I liked the variety of hole layouts.
Cons: No hole maps. A few holes hard to see where to go (#9 in particular).
Tee areas not well defined and a bit washed out.
Other Thoughts: I was on travel in the area and decided to pick up a disc and give DG a try. This was a nice course for a rank beginner since there was good challenge but not such draconian penalties. Played it 2-3 times each evening this week.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course with a few techincal shots. All teepads are clearly marked, and there are even marked paths between the basket an next tee. The area around the basket is bordered as well. Great course had a lot of fun playing it an will definitely be back.
Cons: Could use some longer holes, and the under brush can be bothersome.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I've Gotta Crush!!

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout! Very technical course but playable! Signs at every hole with very good directions to the next tee! All paths bordered! Course maintained very well!
Cons: Course is short & every hole has a tight layout ! No open holes! No room for BIG drives!
Other Thoughts: I'm a newbie at disc golf! Been playing for 2 months! I really liked this course! Very challenging but par is obtainable!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Go get Crushed

1    2/11/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a nice little park by a scenic little reservoir. Course is, as you can gleam from the name, in a little wooded area full of pines.

Mostly short, beginner friendly course. There are some tight lines, but many holes play short enough you can save par even with an errant drive.

Signs at the pads with distances. Not sure how accurate they are, but they are there.

Decent elevation for this part of the state. Nothing huge, but some ups and downs to help keep things from getting too dull.

Good mix of left, right and straight shots. Nothing repetitive of biased here.

You could play putter only or putter/mid rounds here and handle it well. Nothing so long that you'd suffer much.

Nice mix of shots. There are some gentle up and downs. There are some lefts and rights. Even some shots that require some good line manipulation.
Cons: It is a pretty short, basic course. If you are looking to break out Nukes and throw 400' this is not your course.

Natural pads right now. They play pretty well, but could be improved.

Signs seem horribly inaccurate to me. Even with my noodle arm these holes are pretty short.

A few fairways with some classic pinball type design. There may be some cool local routes, but there is a lot of scattered trees.

No epic holes or real memorable layouts.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course, and the kind I enjoy when I've been playing crappy. You can get out, throw a putter or mid a bunch and work on your game without getting beat up. There are some tight lines and thick woods here, but for the most part you can recover from bad drives or shots. This would also be a good course to bring a newer player. It short, an easy walk, and a nice looking little park.

There are some holes with a little length. #12 is a fun downhill 379', but plays shorter. Nice hole for a decent player to go for a cool Ace.

#2 is a flat 354' that forces you to weave through the scattered trees.

I wouldn't drive out of my way to play this course, but if I lived close by I'd play it often. It won't beat you down, can be played quickly, and would be a great place to bring a new player or kids. All in all, a nice course for the area.

Restrooms are closed in the winter, and the course doesn't offer a lot over cover for 'business'. There are some walking trails around the course, and very little under brush to hide in. Plan ahead.

I played with a couple local guys os had no trouble with navigation. But I also did not notice and signs or navigation aids.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.