Crystal Lake, IL 
Lippold Park Share
Uploaded By: discgolf12 Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 394ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Great short game variety

5+    9/15/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: jeffco60
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: -very fun and unique short game shots
-tees are very on-path and easy to find
-overall a fun course
-a great mixture of pars 3-5 for beginners who want to learn how to play
-cops rarely pass through (1 out of 15 times)
Cons: -heavily favors right backhand players
-next to lots of soccer/baseball fields and are often being used (i personally don't mind but i know alot do)
-in the summer time mosquitos can be quite terrible
-discs are easy to lose due to heavy foilage
-can flood very easily at certain points
Other Thoughts: i know i have more cons than pros, but this course is my stomping grounds i have played it 40+ times. it is where i played for the first time and developed my early game and interest, so it has sentimentality with me. :) it is a very fun course and would be a very fun short game play for veterans who play par 3

better then i thought it would be

1    10/19/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - decent rubber pads
-nice park
-good signs
-this course uses the woods in the park well
-has a nice variety of shots
most holes make you form a solid line without being painfully hard
-will make you use most of the discs in your bag
Cons: -the pads could be better
-no elevation
-the first few holes were a little to close to the soccer fields in the park
- could of used one or two longer holes
the walking path comes into play on several holes and i had to wait for many walkers to clear the fairway.a buddy of mine also almost hit a walker who came around a bend right into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: this course was a lot of fun i wish this course was closer to my house i would play it a lot more. and i bet it would be a lot more fun if it was played when there were no peewee soccer games going on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    8/13/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Jagidlund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of variety
-course is spread out and does not overlap much
-heavily favors right hand players
-very few open field holes. Trees filter out most of the wind
Cons: -Mosquitos are TERRIBLE this year (2013) even with cutter. they start biting at the hole 3 basket. they need to spray more often.
-a few tees were moved by a few feet when they installed the rubber mats a couple years ago. Some shots are therefor a bit more difficult than they used to be.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since I was in high school 10 years ago. It was where I learned how to play. Some of my best (and worst) games have been played here. If you are in the area, I'd recommend swinging by Lippold for a round or two. Just remember to keep it clean!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: -Something for everyone
-Fairly easy
-Confidence booster
-Good variety
Cons: -Almost always muddy/wet
-Bugs get very bad during summer
-Can sometimes get too crowded
Other Thoughts: A nice mix of long holes, open holes, technical holes, and finesse holes. I havent had any problems with people on the path but I can see how that could be a problem. For this being the only 18 hole course in my area I'd say its my favorite and definitely worth visiting.

 Home course

5+    9/29/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for anyone I've probably played this course a 1000 times and never get tired of it. The longer holes are pretty wide open and the shorter holes are pretty difficult with alot of trees a difficult angles. This dry summer kept the course really dry and no swampage. People are always friendly except for the soccer people on the weekends that just walk wherever they want on the first two holes like their better than you.
Cons: The wind always seems really strong there on a breezy day. Can be packed on really nice days. Couple holes can get really swampy if it rains alot. SOCCER PEOPLE on the weekend these people don't have brains or care what's going on or that people are trying to play a sport. The people that are on the paths will wait and let you throw so I wouldn't worry about them.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go there weekend mornings but this course is one of my favorites and made me love the sport. Variety of holes u gotta rip it a couple times and navigate through a wooden hole the next.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not impressive

5+    3/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is ok signage but not all holes have concrete tees. There are a couple fun, tight wooded shots, the best being hole 14. This course has a few holes you can rip it on like 3 and 6.
Cons: This course is pretty short and the only real distance comes into play on 5 and 6. They are both wide open and 6 is more of a tweener hole. This course can get very wet and is eroded badly in spots. There is only a few lefty holes and too many hyzers. Most of this course is open and the lines are not very challenging.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to learn to play on and for beginner players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    6/8/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Marcus0613
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course!!! Played here for the first time the other day and on hole 4 got m first hole in one so this course will always be my fav. The parkis huge and the people here are friendly. Great all around experience.
Cons: Can be a little crowded.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kiss my Lippold

1    9/25/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has a nice use of varied distances on holes. They range from 152 up to around 511 with a lot of different distances in the middle. This is a key ingredient to design that can really alter how a course is perceived.

2) Mach baskets with number plates. They just need a little paint around the top or the basket to make them more visible in the woods or certain times of year.

3) Signs are adequate with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map.

4) Wood chips were used well in the woods,. They were thick enough to keep from seeing much mud, and it simply makes a course look just that much nicer.

5) Some garbage cans along the path running through the course. You will be able to dispose of some things along the way but not at every tee.

6) Rubber mats are used on this course and seemed to be some of the best rubber mats I have played off of. They were mostly level, I was never worried about uneven footing or a bump that was going to trip me.

7) If you want to relive the World Cup or the Olympics . . . come here on a Sunday afternoon and listen to all the vuvuzela's around the soccer fields. Yep I somehow worked vuvuzela into a review.

8) There is a decent variety of shots needed here but it generally favors the hyzer.I actually threw about 3 or 4 rollers because of the low limbs and the firm ground and thin grass allowing for a roller to go farther than an airshot.

9) Beginner friendly for the most part because of the lack of elevation, the mostly park like setting which is open enough to be errant but also enough challenge there to keep people interested. It also has a trend towards the shorter holes, with a few longer and unreachable distances for most people.

10) Birdies are out there, but you need to work hard to get some of them. Its a fun course because you can birdie most holes, but you won't get them all.

11) Flow works pretty well, the only somewhat confusing spot would be the transition from 3 to 4 which also sort of crosses the transition from 6 to 7. Other than that you should be able to follow from hole to hole without issue.

12) Chains disc golf store is closeby. I saw it because I was playing all three of the crystal lake courses.
Cons: 1) There is a lot of compaction but they generally use wood chips to cover up those areas. These areas are still noticeable and will lead to erosion.

2) Athletic path running right through 75% of the course. There are a couple places where I was afraid to throw because I didn't want someone to come buzzing around the corner and take a Destroyer to the brainpan. They really have avoided one hole (I think #11 ) where you throw the entire length of the fairway over the path. Sure you can see the path the whole way but the path users cannot see you until they emerge from the woods and by then it will be too late), the rest seemed fairly manageable except on a really busy summer day it might get dangerous.

3) Not much elevation here to alter your shots in anyway. The biggest elevation change was probably #6 where you throw all of 500' across a flat open fairway with the tee elevated about 3 feet and the basket also 3 feet up a little berm. They both look like part of a water diversion system in case of flooding I believe.

4) Some garbage can be found in a few areas in the woods mostly. There might be more garbage in other areas but it is so close to the athletic path I would expect other park users to help deter the litter from being much of an issue.

5) Rubber are adequate but I still much prefer concrete under all circumstances.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course despite the few dangerous spots and the few times I was simply afraid to throw. I almost didn't play after I saw all those vehicles and such and then I realized the course was removed from all of the soccer fields. What is it about Illinois and all those massive soccer complexes???? I have seen more than one of these in my few times on disc golf trips in Northern IL.

I had fun at this course, but the biggest detractor would be the athletic path and the potential for injury and the minor lack of maintenance in allowing the compacted areas to just keep growing and growing. Seed could definitely be established in those wore out areas.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 solid

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's a solid course
Layout: Solid usuage of natural elements to present different throwing styles and different discs.
Tree lines guarding the fairway on the mid-length holes "Tunnel Shots"
Trees specifically placed around the green for the long holes to bomb with your max distance drivers.
Trees looking you right in the face for the short "planko/pin-ball" holes that can be reached with putters.
11: is just begging to be hit with a perfect S-Curve. My favorite hole.
12: is a sky hyzer through a million trees almost straight up in the air. My least favorite hole.
14: For the first 100 ft of the hole the tunnel is about 5 ft wide, it opens up to a marsh, then it's guarded by a group of tall trees with only two small entrances to hit in order to have a look at a putt. It's a monster hole (in my opinion) the hardest hole on the course.
The course is solid overall.
Shouldn't give an intermediate discer much trouble to hover within a few strokes of par at the end of the day.
Cons: Tee pads: black rubber over dirt isn't the best.
Tough Navigation: I would suggest printing off a map if possible, or meet up with locals and have them play infront of you and watch where they go.
Walking paths: I didn't experience too many people walking through, I probably had to wait a total of 5 minutes in two complete rounds. I can certainly understand how this would be a con if it was packed.
Other Thoughts: In and out of the woods throughout the course. Good variety of distance and accuracy. This course is very manageable to get your 3's and 2's. Navigation is it's biggest con.
Maybe get 2 rounds in if it's your first trip here, the second round you should have it down pact. It's worth two round's anyways :)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with some challenge

1    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is pretty easy to follow once you find the first tee. There is ample parking since this is part of a massive park complex. There are rubber tees and signs for each hole which include information on where you'll need to go to get to the following hole. Most of the shots are wooded and somewhat challenging, while they tried to make the more open shots a bit longer. It's a short course as a whole, but even some of the shorter shots require skill. There are ample garbage cans, while the course conveniently starts and ends at the parking lot.
Cons: Though there was variety, some of the holes did feel pretty similar. Some of the holes are too short and too open to be at all challenging. The course is in the middle of a busy park and most of the holes have the potential for trail interference. The first hole was difficult to find given the two parking lots and the size of the park. Extremely buggy course, but ample amounts of bug spray were helpful.
Other Thoughts: When playing at Lippold, be sure to park in the lot at the end of the east entrance. The first tee is behind the fence right as you enter and the rest of the course should be very easy to follow. The course was really fun and, since I don't have a bigger arm, was more my speed. I still found the course to be very challenging and a good test of my skills. Many shots require great precision or blind throws, so it's very possible to lose a disc in the woods. Still, my time at Lippold Park was very enjoyable and I would definitely play there again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center