Disc Golf Store
Crystal Lake, IL 
Lippold Park Share
Uploaded By: discgolf12 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great short game variety

5+    9/15/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: jeffco60
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: -very fun and unique short game shots
-tees are very on-path and easy to find
-overall a fun course
-a great mixture of pars 3-5 for beginners who want to learn how to play
-cops rarely pass through (1 out of 15 times)
Cons: -heavily favors right backhand players
-next to lots of soccer/baseball fields and are often being used (i personally don't mind but i know alot do)
-in the summer time mosquitos can be quite terrible
-discs are easy to lose due to heavy foilage
-can flood very easily at certain points
Other Thoughts: i know i have more cons than pros, but this course is my stomping grounds i have played it 40+ times. it is where i played for the first time and developed my early game and interest, so it has sentimentality with me. :) it is a very fun course and would be a very fun short game play for veterans who play par 3

 Kiss my Lippold

1    9/25/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has a nice use of varied distances on holes. They range from 152 up to around 511 with a lot of different distances in the middle. This is a key ingredient to design that can really alter how a course is perceived.

2) Mach baskets with number plates. They just need a little paint around the top or the basket to make them more visible in the woods or certain times of year.

3) Signs are adequate with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map.

4) Wood chips were used well in the woods,. They were thick enough to keep from seeing much mud, and it simply makes a course look just that much nicer.

5) Some garbage cans along the path running through the course. You will be able to dispose of some things along the way but not at every tee.

6) Rubber mats are used on this course and seemed to be some of the best rubber mats I have played off of. They were mostly level, I was never worried about uneven footing or a bump that was going to trip me.

7) If you want to relive the World Cup or the Olympics . . . come here on a Sunday afternoon and listen to all the vuvuzela's around the soccer fields. Yep I somehow worked vuvuzela into a review.

8) There is a decent variety of shots needed here but it generally favors the hyzer.I actually threw about 3 or 4 rollers because of the low limbs and the firm ground and thin grass allowing for a roller to go farther than an airshot.

9) Beginner friendly for the most part because of the lack of elevation, the mostly park like setting which is open enough to be errant but also enough challenge there to keep people interested. It also has a trend towards the shorter holes, with a few longer and unreachable distances for most people.

10) Birdies are out there, but you need to work hard to get some of them. Its a fun course because you can birdie most holes, but you won't get them all.

11) Flow works pretty well, the only somewhat confusing spot would be the transition from 3 to 4 which also sort of crosses the transition from 6 to 7. Other than that you should be able to follow from hole to hole without issue.

12) Chains disc golf store is closeby. I saw it because I was playing all three of the crystal lake courses.
Cons: 1) There is a lot of compaction but they generally use wood chips to cover up those areas. These areas are still noticeable and will lead to erosion.

2) Athletic path running right through 75% of the course. There are a couple places where I was afraid to throw because I didn't want someone to come buzzing around the corner and take a Destroyer to the brainpan. They really have avoided one hole (I think #11 ) where you throw the entire length of the fairway over the path. Sure you can see the path the whole way but the path users cannot see you until they emerge from the woods and by then it will be too late), the rest seemed fairly manageable except on a really busy summer day it might get dangerous.

3) Not much elevation here to alter your shots in anyway. The biggest elevation change was probably #6 where you throw all of 500' across a flat open fairway with the tee elevated about 3 feet and the basket also 3 feet up a little berm. They both look like part of a water diversion system in case of flooding I believe.

4) Some garbage can be found in a few areas in the woods mostly. There might be more garbage in other areas but it is so close to the athletic path I would expect other park users to help deter the litter from being much of an issue.

5) Rubber are adequate but I still much prefer concrete under all circumstances.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course despite the few dangerous spots and the few times I was simply afraid to throw. I almost didn't play after I saw all those vehicles and such and then I realized the course was removed from all of the soccer fields. What is it about Illinois and all those massive soccer complexes???? I have seen more than one of these in my few times on disc golf trips in Northern IL.

I had fun at this course, but the biggest detractor would be the athletic path and the potential for injury and the minor lack of maintenance in allowing the compacted areas to just keep growing and growing. Seed could definitely be established in those wore out areas.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 solid

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's a solid course
Layout: Solid usuage of natural elements to present different throwing styles and different discs.
Tree lines guarding the fairway on the mid-length holes "Tunnel Shots"
Trees specifically placed around the green for the long holes to bomb with your max distance drivers.
Trees looking you right in the face for the short "planko/pin-ball" holes that can be reached with putters.
11: is just begging to be hit with a perfect S-Curve. My favorite hole.
12: is a sky hyzer through a million trees almost straight up in the air. My least favorite hole.
14: For the first 100 ft of the hole the tunnel is about 5 ft wide, it opens up to a marsh, then it's guarded by a group of tall trees with only two small entrances to hit in order to have a look at a putt. It's a monster hole (in my opinion) the hardest hole on the course.
The course is solid overall.
Shouldn't give an intermediate discer much trouble to hover within a few strokes of par at the end of the day.
Cons: Tee pads: black rubber over dirt isn't the best.
Tough Navigation: I would suggest printing off a map if possible, or meet up with locals and have them play infront of you and watch where they go.
Walking paths: I didn't experience too many people walking through, I probably had to wait a total of 5 minutes in two complete rounds. I can certainly understand how this would be a con if it was packed.
Other Thoughts: In and out of the woods throughout the course. Good variety of distance and accuracy. This course is very manageable to get your 3's and 2's. Navigation is it's biggest con.
Maybe get 2 rounds in if it's your first trip here, the second round you should have it down pact. It's worth two round's anyways :)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/16/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: tdizzledre
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -18 hole course
-It's has a different variation of holes that go from easy then become a little difficult
-It has a few open holes but then it moves into the woods then back out into the open.
-Different types of tee boxs
Cons: -Bugs!!!!!!!
-On hole 5, it says par 5 and on hole 6, it says par 4. However the two should be switched because there is no way that a par 5 could be that short and a par 4 could be that long.
-There is one dog leg that is in the woods and along a runnig trail with tall grass on the right and thick trees on the left.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    4/13/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: troyd
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The difficulty of this course is very consistent. This alone in my opinion makes it a good course. 14 probably being the hole that requires the most skill. 150 foot tree lined hallway 10 feet wide, to a 100 foot wide spring and fall time marsh with the basket another 40 feet after that (est. distances). Partially protected on the right by a bush and tree. The whole thing is a flat, straight shot, but definately requires some skill and is more than note worthy to sink it in two.
Rubber pads over limestone make for good tees.
Hole signs are accurate with good amateur pars.
Many possible ace holes, 8 or so that'll get your heart pump'en.
Many wooded holes, 4, 13, and 14 come to mind as holes you really need to focus to make the shot.
A few full out, "let 'em rip" holes make this a good course to develop power and accuracy, 15 being one that you need both.
The course 'flows' very well, other than 6 to 7 which crosses 4's fairway, tees are basically adjacent to baskets. 15's tee is maybe a hundred feet to the west of 14's basket.
Many trashcans and provided dog waste bags provide the opportunity for a clean park.
Cons: Mostly short strait holes. If a hole does turn its to the left. (Depending on how you throw, 10 could be played with a right turn, same with 2 and 13.)
5 will hold water for a day after heavy rain and 10 and 14 have marsh land in play during the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned the game on. It seems to be that way for many people. Don't be surprised if the group in front of you moves at a slower pace. Lines do form at tees at times. Usually the first three holes and then people spread out after that. Its not that bad.
Holes 1 and 2 are played along side a soccer field. 18's fairway boarders the entrance to the dog park. So on a Friday or Saturday afternoon or Sunday Morning in summer don't be surprised to see the park filled with people. 10 holes either cross or run along the parks trail so having to wait for people is a common occurrence.
There are some thorn bushes mixed in with the shrubs so be sure to look at what your sticking your arm into!
Mid-summer bugs can get really bad, bring bug spray!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Mix

1    3/14/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lippold has a nice mix of open and wooded tunnel shots. It works many different parts of your game. Hole 14 is a long tunnel shot opens up over a grassy area (that at the time I played was flooded with about 4 inches of water). There is also a good mix of shorter and longer holes ranging from sub 200' ace runs to 500'+ holes.

The signs at Lippold are very helpful. They have the distance and landmarks to help locate the basket. They also show the direction of the next tee. I had never been there and had no trouble finding my way around.

The rubber tee pads and Mach 3 baskets are nice and in good shape.
Cons: Many holes (1-3, 7, 9, 10, 15-18) shoot across or down a pedestrian path. You have to be on the constant lookout for runners, dog walkers, and the like.

As typical with the area there is little to no elevation change at Lippold.
Other Thoughts: When I was there, the basket of hole 5 and a good 30 feet around it was in 5 inches or so of water. Lots of recent rain and melt snow makes lots of standing water. This isn't a con because many of my usually courses are almost unplayable this one was on the drier side.

There is also a baseball diamond in the park, but at the time I was there no one was using it. I would expect when games are going on the civilians on the course increases a lot.

Chains Disc Golf store just open up down the street from Lippold. So, if you are in need of discs there is a place nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Busy

5+    7/6/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the other thoughts section there is a link to pictures. You can get a good feel for the park.

Nice new tees signs were installed last summer (June 2009).

The rubber tee pads are pretty nice and a good upgrade from the previous limestone pads.

Nice Mach3 baskets.

There is a good mix of open, semi wooded, and heavily wooded holes.
Cons: This course gets an unbelievable amount of play. Be prepared to wait and be patient during prime evening hours and weekends. Not only is the course busy but the walking path and sports fields near are always in use. Pedestrians are always an issue.

The terrain is flat as a pancake.There is no elevation at all.

This course is pretty short and a par 54 course.
Other Thoughts: Here is a link to the image gallery. Since these photos were taken new tee signs and tee pads have been installed.
http://discontinuum.org/index...2_itemId=1472

The skeeters can get pretty bad during the warmer monthes. Bring bug spray.

There are a ton of activites in this park to bring the family. During solfball games you can enjoy a beer on the deck. Here is a link to all the activities.
http://www.crystallakeparks.o...k/general.htm

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging mix of open and techinical holes

1    7/11/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of open/long holes and shorter, technical holes let you work out both sides of your game.
- Clear signage at each hole
- Rubber mat tees on crushed limestone bases.
Cons: - Bind shots in the technical sections can punish new players unfamiliar with the park.
- Jogging/walking path comes into play in the middle of the course
- Tough rough to pull bad shots out of, especially if you don't have someone spotting for you.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! For me, what I would consider and beginning/average player, it was a challenging course that tested my ability to play a tight, technical line on quite a few holes. To balance that out, the front part of the course offered opportunities to grip and rip a few long, open drives. Several blind holes around, over, and in some tough rough made me glad I wasn't playing alone as a spotter help track down wayward discs. Bug spray was a necessity, and I would guess that several of the holes could be very wet after a rainy day. Of the three courses in town, this has the most to offer someone who has been playing for a while and would like to fine tune their technical game. Worth the stop if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/17/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: smokinpearl420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The park is very well kept, always mowed and easy to follow.
Cons: Many holes designed for righties. it is packed after about 6:30 in the evening
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 in water after it rains.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Standard and Repetitive

5+    3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy and fun to play quick rounds. As the course overgrows its getting a little better. The park district added rubber tee pads a little over a year ago.
Holes 1-3, 10, 11, 15-18 are fairly open with mature trees and bushes to contend with.
Holes 4, 7-9, 12-14 are tighter shots through woods.
Holes 5-6 are wide open bombs.
Wind is always a factor here. For several parts of the course it swirls through and can cause some major air bounces and flips.
Cons: FLAT! Repetitive shots, a slight hyzer or straight shot will get you were you need on 17 of 18 holes. Chuckers are a huge problem during summer months. basket heights are grossly inconsistent. Warning to some, cops like to hang out in woods. also watch out for people on the path... they have right of way.
Other Thoughts: Monday leagues run from spring through fall. We usually a couple hours before sunset. During summer it starts at 6pm.
**Update**
I have decided to move this to a 3 star. This summer alot of the trees really grew and its starting to shut down alot of the easy lines. Also, chuckers are slowly becoming more respectful to the course and litter is down. The pads could still use some better fondation to make them more even.
******
Hole by hole:
#1 - Depending on wind a large hyzer shot or a straight low shot will easily get you to the basket.
#2 - Most play a straight to anyhyzer shot under the low trees. Some go with a large spike hyzer over the trees.
#3 - Just a long straight rip at the hole. Two main trees to avoid in the center of the fairway. the first one will knock down any low running flex shots and the second will knock down a the really straight shot. the basket is protected by a thin tree line with a large gap to the left.
#4 - Short little shot through several thin trees with several choices in possible gaps. Ive seen people throw everything from hyzers to thumbers on this one. most the time hitting a tree deflects you into a hard upshot.
#5 - A wide open (except for the small trees around the basket green, not really a factor) 390'-some throw. Generally a headwind to combat.
#6 - Another wide open huck (520'). Generally has some kind of tailwind.
#7 - A simple midrange shot straight up the middle. Fairway is split into 2; the first half is open with a pine tree to the right to knock down on grip-locks. the second-half of the fairway begins with a tiny gap into the wooded area. after this gap it opens up a bit more until you reach the basket. Ive also seen several people consistently park this with a tomahawk.
#8 - Is a slight hyzer threw a tight fairway 10-15' wide. Opens up to the right about 2/3 of the way down. basket is protected on the left by short trees and bushes. Tomahawks also work well here.
#9 - A straight tunnel shot. Thick trees along the right side that tend to soak up your disc. The left has a few large trees that also get in the way. To the right and behind the basket woods continue and directly left are some helpful trees if you hyzer out at the end.
#10 - A slight anhyzer with many shot choices. Sidearms also work very well. Trees and bushes cover the fairway. Along the left side is the main gap to hit thru the large trees. some take a risker hyzer line thru a very tight gap. the green area is very open with no obstacles.
#11 - A long gentle hyzer shot. A swampy area runs along the right side ending with trees protecting the entrance to the green. The left side is heavily wooded. If you do go into this there is a tight low tunnel up to the basket. The basket is located in the woods to the left. lots of trees protect it.
#12 - A tight fairway (altho every year it gets bigger since the chuckers continue to rip down trees) that hooks hard left. A putter easily covers the distance. Basket is protected by several trees and in summer months the rough gets a lil think to the right side.
#13 - A straight shot thru a tight tunnel fairway. The basket is protected by a line of trees. The green is surrounded by trees and skips are very common. its better to actually not land directly by the basket as you will skip deep into the woods.
#14 - Probably the course's signature hole. The first half of the fairway is a <10' wide tunnel that opens up to a swampy area (recent years there has been water year round) that is wide open. The fairway then quickly narrows to a ~15' wide opening and then the basket is on the right. Wind can be a large factor as you come out of the woods, it tends to swirl here so it is difficult to predict.
#15 - A fairly open and straight hole with woods along the left side (known as the "graveyard"). About 3/4 of the way the woods tighten up the fairway along the right side. The basket is protected by a bush in front of it and several trees along the right and behind it.
#16 - A straight shot with a tree along the right and a few along the left. A line of large trees lined up in front of the basket protect it. Behind the basket is all open. 1/3 of the way down certain wind directions (West to East mainly) your disc can be flipped easily.
#17 - Sadly the original hole 17/ 9 (when it was a 9 hole and a 17 hole course) was destroyed. 17 is now a 180' straight shot into some heavy bushes (thorns too). the basket is protected with a tree in front of it and a bush to the right. The basket is just before the heavy bushes.
#18 - Is a fairly open straight shot with several small trees to mess with low shots. Wind is always a factor. There is tall rough along the left side (keep a good eye on your disc if you go in there). The basket is protected by bushes to the front and left.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.