Crystal Lake, IL 
Lippold Park Share
Uploaded By: discgolf12 Hole #15 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 More is not necessarily better

5+    9/9/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lippold Park has a good variety of shots and features some heavily wooded holes, some lightly wooded holes and a couple of long wide open shots. It's a very flat course but the variety of holes mixes things up and keeps things interesting. The tees have a rubberized covering and are in good shape with good tee signs. The course is in a large park with a lot of amenities and is kept up very well, so the course is usually in very good condition. Shot for shot it's a pretty decent course, especially considering that there is no elevation to work with.
Cons: Lippold was originally a 9-hole course that played over and along a walking path. Many of those original 9 holes are still there and that part of the course flows well. It's the 9 added holes that don't fit in well. Holes 1-3 are basically original holes and flow nicely, but then hole 4 (the first of the added holes) shoots right back at the pin for # 3. The putting circles for these two holes overlap, they are that close together. You then walk out into the open to play two wide open shots that are set too close together with the other fairway to the left (read: RHBH distances shots hyzering out land in the other fairway) then cut through a path that enters # 4's fairway IN FRONT of the tee to get to # 7. The flow is bad and the holes are too close together. This problem repeats itself on many of the added holes. Where the added holes come back into the original course at holes # 14 and #15, the holes overlap badly and players on #15 can easily end up throwing at players on #14. Add to this the fact that many of the holes play over the walking path creating potential conflicts with people using the path, and you have a course design that just does not mesh well. The conversion from 9 holes to 18 holes just did not work well IMO, and the overall course suffers because of it.
Other Thoughts: This is a case of more is not necessarily better. I thought the course worked better as a part of the overall park when it was 9-holes. The 9 additional holes do add some variety to the course as the original nine was fairly repetitive, so shot for shot it has added quite a bit to the course. However, there is more to good course design than just adding the shots. The Lippold expansion creates too many conflicts to be considered an improvement. The overall effect is an OK course, but nothing special.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but busy

1    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded part of a large multi-use park. There is a nice mix of more open holes and some tight technical holes that will test your accuracy and punish errant shots. There are different lengths, from 4-500' holes, to ace runs under 200'. There are also a good mix of right and left turning holes, with lots of straight shots, making for a mixture of shots if you want to card those birdies.

Though many of the holes are pretty short, they still make you hit your line or risk ending up in the thick trees and brush. Even on many of the more open holes, a bad skip or roll could easily take you into rough that could add a stroke. Many of the pins have great protection by trees, taking away obvious routes to the basket and promoting shot creativity.

The park is well maintained, and has plenty of amenities. The tees are rubber, and are flat and in good shape. There are tee signs that have the layout and distance, along with direction to the next tee, and these make it very easy to get around the course.
Cons: The park is extremely busy, both with disc golfers and other park users (mostly soccer players/spectators). This makes for some parking issues, along with some crowding on the course, which wouldn't be as big a deal without giant groups of players who don't know course etiquette. Some of the tees are too close to the previous basket, and when players don't know to yell fore it can be an issue.

There is a trail going through the course, and it was full of walkers, joggers, and bikers. This meant we had to do a lot of waiting so we wouldn't hit someone, on tee shots and on many fairway shots where the trail ran the length of the hole. There were a few especially bad spots where there was a blind corner on the trail, and it would be very easy to hit one of the oblivious trail users.

The lengths on the course seemed like they got pretty repetitive. Though there were a couple (wide open) longer shots, it felt like most of the holes were between 250-300', and I would have liked a little more variety.
Other Thoughts: This course is accessible for beginners, but newer players might find the punishing rough, and more technical holes a bit frustrating at first. More experienced players will enjoy the accuracy challenges, along with a couple opportunities to air it out a little, though it's not a terribly challenging course over all.

This is the best course in this immediate area, and is worth a stop for a fun round if you're in the area. If you have the time though, there are better courses within a reasonable drive, so don't make this one your top priority.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging mix of open and techinical holes

1    7/11/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of open/long holes and shorter, technical holes let you work out both sides of your game.
- Clear signage at each hole
- Rubber mat tees on crushed limestone bases.
Cons: - Bind shots in the technical sections can punish new players unfamiliar with the park.
- Jogging/walking path comes into play in the middle of the course
- Tough rough to pull bad shots out of, especially if you don't have someone spotting for you.
Other Thoughts: Fun course! For me, what I would consider and beginning/average player, it was a challenging course that tested my ability to play a tight, technical line on quite a few holes. To balance that out, the front part of the course offered opportunities to grip and rip a few long, open drives. Several blind holes around, over, and in some tough rough made me glad I wasn't playing alone as a spotter help track down wayward discs. Bug spray was a necessity, and I would guess that several of the holes could be very wet after a rainy day. Of the three courses in town, this has the most to offer someone who has been playing for a while and would like to fine tune their technical game. Worth the stop if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: markfrolfs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: great course maintained very well. variety of range and setup from straight short shots, shots over marshes from in woods to long shots between trees and alleys. AWESOME DOUBLES COURSE.
Cons: whole 5 floods bad whenever it rains and holds water for days, crowded course and thorns every at hole 18
Other Thoughts: play lippold

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come

1    12/19/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Lippold Park

5+    6/11/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of closed and open holes which will allow you to work on a variety of different throws. Altho most of the holes are relatively short, pin placement makes things challenging. I aced #17 back in '06 for my very first hole in one, so this course holds a special place in my heart. That might be worth half a star....

There are plenty of opportunities to find lost discs. Also plenty of spots to crack open a cold one.....or hit a jogger.

Hole #4 is very, very aceable. Having said that, I always get close, but no cigar. Holes 5 and 6 let you grip n' rip, and the rest of the holes are more precision shots that anything; they're fairly short.

The proximity to Rockford is a huge plus for this course. The "Rockstock Expressway" will get you to Anna Page Park in Rockford in about 35 minutes.
Cons: There's a walk/jog path that cuts thru the majority of the park. A loud "FORE!!!!" will serve you well - I nearly hit a jogger on hole 8 because there's blind corner the jogger turns.

The course shares the park with a lot of soccer fields. When the weather cooperates, there are a LOT of soccer enthusiasts here, so parking can become scarce. They can also interfere with play on the first 6 holes and the final 5. It's more annoying than anything else, but I have had to skip a few holes due to swarms of soccer folks.

Bring bug spray!

I heard that cops are hanging out here now. If you need to, watch out!
Other Thoughts: Not bad for the area it's in, but should be used as an opening course before heading out to Rockford, Kirkland, Round Lake, or some other park. This park is huge - would love to see either an additional 9 or 18 holer built alongside this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Never Seen So Many Soccer Fields Before

2-4    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Kola
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Flat, very tight and challenging, very cool to look up and say to yourself "where am I" due to the tall trees everywhere
Cons: a few tight fairways, easy too loose discs

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/17/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: smokinpearl420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The park is very well kept, always mowed and easy to follow.
Cons: Many holes designed for righties. it is packed after about 6:30 in the evening
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 in water after it rains.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

6/21/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging mix of open and tight holes. I am beginning to appreciate the rubber tees more and more!
Cons: A few of the woods holes are nearly impossible for lefty's!
Other Thoughts: played during a tournament and they had 4 extra holes setup. Really enjoyed this course. Reminds me alot of Syracuse's Jamesville Beach course

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: agentdave
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. I do think it is pretty challenging for most people. I feel it has something different to over at each hole. My review may have no merit if they have changed the course since 2005. I played it often up until 2005-2006.
Cons: Bring bug spray

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center