Crystal Lake, IL 
Lippold Park Share
Uploaded By: discgolf12 Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 394ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    6/16/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: tdizzledre
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -18 hole course
-It's has a different variation of holes that go from easy then become a little difficult
-It has a few open holes but then it moves into the woods then back out into the open.
-Different types of tee boxs
Cons: -Bugs!!!!!!!
-On hole 5, it says par 5 and on hole 6, it says par 4. However the two should be switched because there is no way that a par 5 could be that short and a par 4 could be that long.
-There is one dog leg that is in the woods and along a runnig trail with tall grass on the right and thick trees on the left.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Challenge for Intermediate Players

2-4    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Has several tough but manageable lines to hit
*Has great range in distance. Several short holes under 200 ft that are pretty difficult due to the lines given, but also several holes over 340 ft.
*No hole on this course is an easy two, even for experienced players. You have to earn your birdies, which makes a great throw extremely rewarding
*Well maintained, very nice park.
*Turns out, it's right next to a disc golf pro shop, which was a fun way to end the outing!


Cons: *Had I not been with a friend who'd previously played the course, I would have had a hard time finding a few of the teepads.
*Mosquitoes
*Potential for lost discs
Other Thoughts: I played this course once, enjoyed it, then played it again two weeks later and decided I just had to add it to my favorites. It's challenging but also very accessible to all players. The majority of the holes are only lightly wooded, but there is a stretch of a few holes in the middle of the round that is heavily wooded, which makes for a fun variety of disc golf. I live about half an hour away from the park and am seriously debating making Lippold my "home course" despite the fact that I have three courses closer to my house.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed playing the Lippold Park course. I really wish that I would have had time to play another round here.
Lippold has a great mix of shots, from open 'grip-n-rip' holes to super wooded holes that are very short (under 160 feet).
I don't think that Lippold is a beginner course by any means and it definitely made me think about my lines a lot.
Lippold challenged my disc golf game and made me use every disc I had in my bag.
There was abundant parking and the course flowed really well. It was also very clean and the people here were friendly.
In other words, it meets all the criteria I have for a good DG course.
Cons: As a lot of past people have said, some holes at Lippold tend to flood which makes some holes unplayable. I didn't have this problem when I was here, but my friends said that it definitely does happen.
On some of the walks to the next tee, you have to cut through fairways which is a slight pet peeve of mine.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, Lippold is definitely worth checking out if you're in the area. I had an absolute blast playing here and it was my favorite course out of the 4 I played during my trip.

Also, Lippold Park in general is a great park and has a lot of things to do so you can drop the kids/wife off at mini golf or something if they're not into the sport. :)

Check it out:
http://www.crystallakeparks.o...k/general.htm

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    4/13/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: troyd
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The difficulty of this course is very consistent. This alone in my opinion makes it a good course. 14 probably being the hole that requires the most skill. 150 foot tree lined hallway 10 feet wide, to a 100 foot wide spring and fall time marsh with the basket another 40 feet after that (est. distances). Partially protected on the right by a bush and tree. The whole thing is a flat, straight shot, but definately requires some skill and is more than note worthy to sink it in two.
Rubber pads over limestone make for good tees.
Hole signs are accurate with good amateur pars.
Many possible ace holes, 8 or so that'll get your heart pump'en.
Many wooded holes, 4, 13, and 14 come to mind as holes you really need to focus to make the shot.
A few full out, "let 'em rip" holes make this a good course to develop power and accuracy, 15 being one that you need both.
The course 'flows' very well, other than 6 to 7 which crosses 4's fairway, tees are basically adjacent to baskets. 15's tee is maybe a hundred feet to the west of 14's basket.
Many trashcans and provided dog waste bags provide the opportunity for a clean park.
Cons: Mostly short strait holes. If a hole does turn its to the left. (Depending on how you throw, 10 could be played with a right turn, same with 2 and 13.)
5 will hold water for a day after heavy rain and 10 and 14 have marsh land in play during the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned the game on. It seems to be that way for many people. Don't be surprised if the group in front of you moves at a slower pace. Lines do form at tees at times. Usually the first three holes and then people spread out after that. Its not that bad.
Holes 1 and 2 are played along side a soccer field. 18's fairway boarders the entrance to the dog park. So on a Friday or Saturday afternoon or Sunday Morning in summer don't be surprised to see the park filled with people. 10 holes either cross or run along the parks trail so having to wait for people is a common occurrence.
There are some thorn bushes mixed in with the shrubs so be sure to look at what your sticking your arm into!
Mid-summer bugs can get really bad, bring bug spray!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Same Old

1    10/8/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Theres a bit of diversity here, especially on the front 9. There are two holes where you can let it loose and there are one or two tightly wooded holes. This was the most enjoyable part of the course. Tees and signs are great and the course flows well. Different types of shots are required, however most holes seem to go left.
Cons: A couple holes are almost exactly the same, an example being holes 1 and 2. Both shoot from left to right across a gravel path into a grove of trees. Most holes seem to favor a rhfh player, there are few doglegs to the right. The back nine gets extremely repetitive. Most of these holes follow a gravel path through the woods, and most are doglegs to the left with scattered trees on the fairway, a nice design for one or two holes, but the whole back nine seems to follow this design. This course also seems to be very crowded. I played at 12:30 on a Friday and had to wait at every hole.
Other Thoughts: To be honest I don't think I will be coming back to this course anytime soon. There is almost no fun factor. I hit an ace on hole 4 and still didn't enjoy 18 holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great 18

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: everfr3shh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Makes use of the land
- A lot of short holes challenging your accuracy
- 2 longer holes add to the variety of the layout
- ALOT of ace run holes, always fun to empty your bag if you're in the mood.
- I go about 5-6 times a week and am rarely waiting.
Cons: - Soccer fields border the first 2 holes
- Dog park on hole 18, watch out for the pups
- Course runs along a bike path with some sharp corners, watch out for walkers/riders.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, to me it's worth the drive out if your within 15 minutes away.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

5+    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course makes good use of land to provide a wide variety of holes. Pretty even mix of wide open shots, lightly forested runs, and tight woods.
- A few wide open shots require length over accuracy. The longest hole was added in the last re-design, so it is there for one purpose only - bombs.
- There are also some holes that are on the longer side, with decent obstacles to avoid. #3 comes to mind, a 423' shot with a pretty well protected basket, especially from a typical RHBH hyzer. #14 is another good one, over 300' with a tunnel tee shot to another protected basket. Great mix of length and obstacles on these.
- Shorter holes make great use of the forest to add some challenge. Plenty of holes with narrow, wooded fairways, as well as holes with individual trees and bushes to avoid. For the most part, the trees are skinny, but numerous. Holes that seem easily deuced can play pretty tricky, hitting a good line is almost always key.
- Good mix of left and right curves, as well as straight shots. Overall, probably more friendly to a typical RHBH player, but there are some tricky holes for that as well. An extreme left curve in the woods on #12 can be tough to reach with any shot.
- Some very short and very wooded holes help to provide a different look.
- Good tees, good baskets, great signs
Cons: - Park is as flat as can be. There is one small hill to tee off of on the longer hole, but that's it.
- Course does play small, in general. A lot of short, wooded holes that can be easily conquered with accurate shots.
- Walking path winds around park with holes, very little seclusion to be found.
Other Thoughts: - Quality 18-holer that makes good use of the forest it is in. There are a few large, mature trees, but it's mostly skinny trees that provide defined fairways. For the most part, there are always one or more lines that can be hit, some are more obvious than others.
- In my book, this is more of a fun course than a hard one. There are some pretty tricky holes, but there are also some extremely easy ones. I could see an experienced player being let down with the overall experience. Probably just right for most casual players.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great 18 Hole Course

2-4    6/6/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: chestdisc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredibly easy to navigate.
Very close (within 2 miles) to Chains Disc Golf Store.
Open, very little low-lying brush.
Good location (in a large park district athletic complex).
Nice tee boxes.
Accurate signs.
Good distance variation from hole to hole.
Cons: Standing water on 5th hole (basket was surrounded by water).
Very windy (open fields)
Very crowded (had to wait in line to tee off)
Close proximity to soccer fields.
Other Thoughts: Good 18 hole course for the area

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Mix

1    3/14/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lippold has a nice mix of open and wooded tunnel shots. It works many different parts of your game. Hole 14 is a long tunnel shot opens up over a grassy area (that at the time I played was flooded with about 4 inches of water). There is also a good mix of shorter and longer holes ranging from sub 200' ace runs to 500'+ holes.

The signs at Lippold are very helpful. They have the distance and landmarks to help locate the basket. They also show the direction of the next tee. I had never been there and had no trouble finding my way around.

The rubber tee pads and Mach 3 baskets are nice and in good shape.
Cons: Many holes (1-3, 7, 9, 10, 15-18) shoot across or down a pedestrian path. You have to be on the constant lookout for runners, dog walkers, and the like.

As typical with the area there is little to no elevation change at Lippold.
Other Thoughts: When I was there, the basket of hole 5 and a good 30 feet around it was in 5 inches or so of water. Lots of recent rain and melt snow makes lots of standing water. This isn't a con because many of my usually courses are almost unplayable this one was on the drier side.

There is also a baseball diamond in the park, but at the time I was there no one was using it. I would expect when games are going on the civilians on the course increases a lot.

Chains Disc Golf store just open up down the street from Lippold. So, if you are in need of discs there is a place nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Busy

5+    7/6/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the other thoughts section there is a link to pictures. You can get a good feel for the park.

Nice new tees signs were installed last summer (June 2009).

The rubber tee pads are pretty nice and a good upgrade from the previous limestone pads.

Nice Mach3 baskets.

There is a good mix of open, semi wooded, and heavily wooded holes.
Cons: This course gets an unbelievable amount of play. Be prepared to wait and be patient during prime evening hours and weekends. Not only is the course busy but the walking path and sports fields near are always in use. Pedestrians are always an issue.

The terrain is flat as a pancake.There is no elevation at all.

This course is pretty short and a par 54 course.
Other Thoughts: Here is a link to the image gallery. Since these photos were taken new tee signs and tee pads have been installed.
http://discontinuum.org/index...2_itemId=1472

The skeeters can get pretty bad during the warmer monthes. Bring bug spray.

There are a ton of activites in this park to bring the family. During solfball games you can enjoy a beer on the deck. Here is a link to all the activities.
http://www.crystallakeparks.o...k/general.htm

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.