Crystal Lake, IL 
Lippold Park Share
Uploaded By: discgolf12 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's a solid course
Layout: Solid usuage of natural elements to present different throwing styles and different discs.
Tree lines guarding the fairway on the mid-length holes "Tunnel Shots"
Trees specifically placed around the green for the long holes to bomb with your max distance drivers.
Trees looking you right in the face for the short "planko/pin-ball" holes that can be reached with putters.
11: is just begging to be hit with a perfect S-Curve. My favorite hole.
12: is a sky hyzer through a million trees almost straight up in the air. My least favorite hole.
14: For the first 100 ft of the hole the tunnel is about 5 ft wide, it opens up to a marsh, then it's guarded by a group of tall trees with only two small entrances to hit in order to have a look at a putt. It's a monster hole (in my opinion) the hardest hole on the course.
The course is solid overall.
Shouldn't give an intermediate discer much trouble to hover within a few strokes of par at the end of the day.
Cons: Tee pads: black rubber over dirt isn't the best.
Tough Navigation: I would suggest printing off a map if possible, or meet up with locals and have them play infront of you and watch where they go.
Walking paths: I didn't experience too many people walking through, I probably had to wait a total of 5 minutes in two complete rounds. I can certainly understand how this would be a con if it was packed.
Other Thoughts: In and out of the woods throughout the course. Good variety of distance and accuracy. This course is very manageable to get your 3's and 2's. Navigation is it's biggest con.
Maybe get 2 rounds in if it's your first trip here, the second round you should have it down pact. It's worth two round's anyways :)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with some challenge

1    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is pretty easy to follow once you find the first tee. There is ample parking since this is part of a massive park complex. There are rubber tees and signs for each hole which include information on where you'll need to go to get to the following hole. Most of the shots are wooded and somewhat challenging, while they tried to make the more open shots a bit longer. It's a short course as a whole, but even some of the shorter shots require skill. There are ample garbage cans, while the course conveniently starts and ends at the parking lot.
Cons: Though there was variety, some of the holes did feel pretty similar. Some of the holes are too short and too open to be at all challenging. The course is in the middle of a busy park and most of the holes have the potential for trail interference. The first hole was difficult to find given the two parking lots and the size of the park. Extremely buggy course, but ample amounts of bug spray were helpful.
Other Thoughts: When playing at Lippold, be sure to park in the lot at the end of the east entrance. The first tee is behind the fence right as you enter and the rest of the course should be very easy to follow. The course was really fun and, since I don't have a bigger arm, was more my speed. I still found the course to be very challenging and a good test of my skills. Many shots require great precision or blind throws, so it's very possible to lose a disc in the woods. Still, my time at Lippold Park was very enjoyable and I would definitely play there again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/16/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: tdizzledre
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -18 hole course
-It's has a different variation of holes that go from easy then become a little difficult
-It has a few open holes but then it moves into the woods then back out into the open.
-Different types of tee boxs
Cons: -Bugs!!!!!!!
-On hole 5, it says par 5 and on hole 6, it says par 4. However the two should be switched because there is no way that a par 5 could be that short and a par 4 could be that long.
-There is one dog leg that is in the woods and along a runnig trail with tall grass on the right and thick trees on the left.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Challenge for Intermediate Players

2-4    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 110  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Has several tough but manageable lines to hit
*Has great range in distance. Several short holes under 200 ft that are pretty difficult due to the lines given, but also several holes over 340 ft.
*No hole on this course is an easy two, even for experienced players. You have to earn your birdies, which makes a great throw extremely rewarding
*Well maintained, very nice park.
*Turns out, it's right next to a disc golf pro shop, which was a fun way to end the outing!

Cons: *Had I not been with a friend who'd previously played the course, I would have had a hard time finding a few of the teepads.
*Potential for lost discs
Other Thoughts: I played this course once, enjoyed it, then played it again two weeks later and decided I just had to add it to my favorites. It's challenging but also very accessible to all players. The majority of the holes are only lightly wooded, but there is a stretch of a few holes in the middle of the round that is heavily wooded, which makes for a fun variety of disc golf. I live about half an hour away from the park and am seriously debating making Lippold my "home course" despite the fact that I have three courses closer to my house.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 127  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed playing the Lippold Park course. I really wish that I would have had time to play another round here.
Lippold has a great mix of shots, from open 'grip-n-rip' holes to super wooded holes that are very short (under 160 feet).
I don't think that Lippold is a beginner course by any means and it definitely made me think about my lines a lot.
Lippold challenged my disc golf game and made me use every disc I had in my bag.
There was abundant parking and the course flowed really well. It was also very clean and the people here were friendly.
In other words, it meets all the criteria I have for a good DG course.
Cons: As a lot of past people have said, some holes at Lippold tend to flood which makes some holes unplayable. I didn't have this problem when I was here, but my friends said that it definitely does happen.
On some of the walks to the next tee, you have to cut through fairways which is a slight pet peeve of mine.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, Lippold is definitely worth checking out if you're in the area. I had an absolute blast playing here and it was my favorite course out of the 4 I played during my trip.

Also, Lippold Park in general is a great park and has a lot of things to do so you can drop the kids/wife off at mini golf or something if they're not into the sport. :)

Check it out:

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    4/13/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: troyd
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The difficulty of this course is very consistent. This alone in my opinion makes it a good course. 14 probably being the hole that requires the most skill. 150 foot tree lined hallway 10 feet wide, to a 100 foot wide spring and fall time marsh with the basket another 40 feet after that (est. distances). Partially protected on the right by a bush and tree. The whole thing is a flat, straight shot, but definately requires some skill and is more than note worthy to sink it in two.
Rubber pads over limestone make for good tees.
Hole signs are accurate with good amateur pars.
Many possible ace holes, 8 or so that'll get your heart pump'en.
Many wooded holes, 4, 13, and 14 come to mind as holes you really need to focus to make the shot.
A few full out, "let 'em rip" holes make this a good course to develop power and accuracy, 15 being one that you need both.
The course 'flows' very well, other than 6 to 7 which crosses 4's fairway, tees are basically adjacent to baskets. 15's tee is maybe a hundred feet to the west of 14's basket.
Many trashcans and provided dog waste bags provide the opportunity for a clean park.
Cons: Mostly short strait holes. If a hole does turn its to the left. (Depending on how you throw, 10 could be played with a right turn, same with 2 and 13.)
5 will hold water for a day after heavy rain and 10 and 14 have marsh land in play during the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I learned the game on. It seems to be that way for many people. Don't be surprised if the group in front of you moves at a slower pace. Lines do form at tees at times. Usually the first three holes and then people spread out after that. Its not that bad.
Holes 1 and 2 are played along side a soccer field. 18's fairway boarders the entrance to the dog park. So on a Friday or Saturday afternoon or Sunday Morning in summer don't be surprised to see the park filled with people. 10 holes either cross or run along the parks trail so having to wait for people is a common occurrence.
There are some thorn bushes mixed in with the shrubs so be sure to look at what your sticking your arm into!
Mid-summer bugs can get really bad, bring bug spray!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Same Old

1    10/8/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Theres a bit of diversity here, especially on the front 9. There are two holes where you can let it loose and there are one or two tightly wooded holes. This was the most enjoyable part of the course. Tees and signs are great and the course flows well. Different types of shots are required, however most holes seem to go left.
Cons: A couple holes are almost exactly the same, an example being holes 1 and 2. Both shoot from left to right across a gravel path into a grove of trees. Most holes seem to favor a rhfh player, there are few doglegs to the right. The back nine gets extremely repetitive. Most of these holes follow a gravel path through the woods, and most are doglegs to the left with scattered trees on the fairway, a nice design for one or two holes, but the whole back nine seems to follow this design. This course also seems to be very crowded. I played at 12:30 on a Friday and had to wait at every hole.
Other Thoughts: To be honest I don't think I will be coming back to this course anytime soon. There is almost no fun factor. I hit an ace on hole 4 and still didn't enjoy 18 holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great 18

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: everfr3shh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Makes use of the land
- A lot of short holes challenging your accuracy
- 2 longer holes add to the variety of the layout
- ALOT of ace run holes, always fun to empty your bag if you're in the mood.
- I go about 5-6 times a week and am rarely waiting.
Cons: - Soccer fields border the first 2 holes
- Dog park on hole 18, watch out for the pups
- Course runs along a bike path with some sharp corners, watch out for walkers/riders.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, to me it's worth the drive out if your within 15 minutes away.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course makes good use of land to provide a wide variety of holes. Pretty even mix of wide open shots, lightly forested runs, and tight woods.
- A few wide open shots require length over accuracy. The longest hole was added in the last re-design, so it is there for one purpose only - bombs.
- There are also some holes that are on the longer side, with decent obstacles to avoid. #3 comes to mind, a 423' shot with a pretty well protected basket, especially from a typical RHBH hyzer. #14 is another good one, over 300' with a tunnel tee shot to another protected basket. Great mix of length and obstacles on these.
- Shorter holes make great use of the forest to add some challenge. Plenty of holes with narrow, wooded fairways, as well as holes with individual trees and bushes to avoid. For the most part, the trees are skinny, but numerous. Holes that seem easily deuced can play pretty tricky, hitting a good line is almost always key.
- Good mix of left and right curves, as well as straight shots. Overall, probably more friendly to a typical RHBH player, but there are some tricky holes for that as well. An extreme left curve in the woods on #12 can be tough to reach with any shot.
- Some very short and very wooded holes help to provide a different look.
- Good tees, good baskets, great signs
Cons: - Park is as flat as can be. There is one small hill to tee off of on the longer hole, but that's it.
- Course does play small, in general. A lot of short, wooded holes that can be easily conquered with accurate shots.
- Walking path winds around park with holes, very little seclusion to be found.
Other Thoughts: - Quality 18-holer that makes good use of the forest it is in. There are a few large, mature trees, but it's mostly skinny trees that provide defined fairways. For the most part, there are always one or more lines that can be hit, some are more obvious than others.
- In my book, this is more of a fun course than a hard one. There are some pretty tricky holes, but there are also some extremely easy ones. I could see an experienced player being let down with the overall experience. Probably just right for most casual players.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great 18 Hole Course

2-4    6/6/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: chestdisc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredibly easy to navigate.
Very close (within 2 miles) to Chains Disc Golf Store.
Open, very little low-lying brush.
Good location (in a large park district athletic complex).
Nice tee boxes.
Accurate signs.
Good distance variation from hole to hole.
Cons: Standing water on 5th hole (basket was surrounded by water).
Very windy (open fields)
Very crowded (had to wait in line to tee off)
Close proximity to soccer fields.
Other Thoughts: Good 18 hole course for the area

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.