Bryan, OH 
Recreation Park Share
Uploaded By: zero_43502 Hole #11
4 / 384ft.   3 / 294ft.   4 / 424ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Roll On

1    7/9/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recreation Park is a strong course that challenges some unique aspects of your disc golf game. The course's primary pro is that it uses the property available very well. The course is set on a very flat piece of land with occasional groves of pine trees. It makes use of the pine trees by playing along fairways that have ceilings at approximately ten to fifteen feet above the ground, at most, and have distances that make it impossible to reach the holes on the low line drives necessary. This is primarily true on the front nine. The back nine is a bit more open, with some true distance pumps.

The nice thing about this is that it tests new aspects of your game. As a player with a fairly strong roller game I dropped seven rollers off of the tee, six of them on the front nine if I remember correctly. These were low line drive rollers with my flippiest low speed driver, put down on the ground quickly to cover more ground than a line drive could. No other course that I have played has challenged me like this one did to utilize my roller game. Hole one, with its green monster, is also built as an ideal roller hole with the basket placement behind the wall and trees to the left of it making an air approach from the tee a matter of luck, but an approach on the ground a matter of skill.

As mentioned the back nine opens things up a bit. The holes on the back lack the ceilings of the front, but hold onto the distance necessary. A few of the holes are set up to play with enticing risk-reward gaps that challenge players appropriately: a wide open hyzer to 400 feet, or take the wide but challenging anhyzer for a near 500 foot flex shot that'll get you to the pin? All told some very nice shots on the back.
Cons: The first negative aspect of the course is the flatland play. There is no elevation in play, and no quirks on the greens to add any elevation to the putting game. Overall you will be throwing a lot of low straight shots on the course along the nicely mowed property.

Additionally the course lacks proper signage at times. The course does have scorecards out for players to take and use, however only certain teepads have tee signs. Most of the signs are set up on the longest layout listed, but others are set up on the mid or shorter tees. If a player intends to play a round entirely from the longest layout it is impossible to find a few of the long tees listed in the scorecards. It is possible that they simply are no longer in use at all anymore, and the scorecards simply haven't been altered to match.

The tees themselves are not concrete pads. They are dirt. In many cases this is not a negative, however this course does have very long holes which require a lot of driving power coming through the legs. Wearing a pair of hiking sneakers I definitely slipped more than a couple of times on the worn dirt surface in attempts to put a little more behind my hucks.

The course also has a very long walk from the 18th green to the 1st tee. The recommendation I have is parking at the area around holes 16/17 and putting that walk into the early portion of the round. Walking back to the car takes 5-10 minutes. Walking briskly as someone fit and with a friend likewise fit it took us 5 to get to the car. I can imagine it being a longer walk for many other golfers. It really is a bit excessive and could have been planned out a bit better.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my time on this course. It challenged unique aspects of my game, forced me to play some challenging up shots, and featured some neat shots overall. The green monster is, as has been mentioned, a nice feature. I wouldn't call the hole a "signature hole" and agree with the poster that said that there was not truly a "signature hole" on the course. It makes for a challenging and unique shot, but when you step up to the teepad you don't get the feeling that you're seeing something unique and incredible as you do on holes like Highbridge Gold 8, Idlewild 16, Winthrop 5, etc. But it is a neat feature.

It is also a relatively easy course to find, a fun play, and somewhere that was worth driving an hour and a half to check out. I had a fun day out there. I recommend playing it at least once, it gives you some insight into your own game, and makes for a nice afternoon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What a Course!

2-4    6/16/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Championship caliber course!
Has multiple sets of tee's to cater to all levels of players.
Has a Big Green monster on Hole #1 very much like fenway park, very cool!
VARIETY! This course does not have repetition. If you have allot of thumbers & rollers you will do well.
Challenging! - If you like simple easy hyser shots all day this course is not for you.
If you whine like a little girl because a hole is to hard then don't come here, If you want to test your game and see how good you aren't... then come here.
Vending machines on many holes.
Course map, scorecards and take along maps.

Cons: Middle of nowhere - Not close to anything really. If you dont mind a drive then it's worth it.
A slight walk from #18 to hole #1
Can be confusing if you cant read or follow simple directions.
Flat
Other Thoughts: I like how someone wrote in a previous review - "this course has no personal identity/nothing that sticks in your mind"
Really? How about the Big ass green monster wall on hole #1,

These guys have done a phenominal job with the park land they have been given. Not many shots play the same, allot of trick shots required off the tee, baskets placed to make them quite challenging.
I have played over 200 courses and this ranks in my top 10, if you are scared of a challenge then stay away!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Average,lone ranger

5+    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: THE GOV'NA
Played: 76  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well..its 18 holes..its the only 18 hole course within a 45 minute drive..if you like long holes you will love this course..if not the white tees are great but incredibly hard to find.
Cons: 1.lack of elevation
2.crowded by other sports that seem to dominate the area.
3.long
4.natural tees,and front 9 has really old baskets that arent put together correctly.
5.this course has no personal identity/nothing that sticks in your mind
6.White tees arent documented on the course map
7.regular tees arent very beginner friendly

Other Thoughts: this course is great if ur in the area and looking to play 18..otherwise there are 2,9 hole course close by that i personally like better..but hey its 18 holes right?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Variety

1    8/14/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: cadmaker
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: I liked the variety of the hole types on the course. I found the low tree cover tough on many of the holes. The course seemed quite well kept. The tees were pretty easy to find, especialy with the maps.
Cons: A couple of the baskets were hard to find and didn't seem to match the tee signs or maps very well. We didn't see the hole 1 basket until we finished putting into 8.

Some of the holes would have been intimidating to play if the park was busier (especially around socccer and baseball fields).
Other Thoughts: I will go back to play the course again, even though it is an hour drive. I think it will be more fun knowing where the baskets are located.

 Something Different

5+    5/29/2012   7/5/2011
Review By: TheStray
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety to the holes. Lots of different shot opportunities. Long holes as well as some short holes. Three different tee sets to play from adding even more variety. Park is well kept with bathrooms on site. Scorecards on site with a nice sign with a huge map. The red tees are well marked with nice tee signs.
Cons: Wet weather in the spring and fall create wet playing conditions due to drainage issues at the park. The white tees can be hard to find unless you have someone playing with you that knows where they are. Soccer in the spring and fall can be an issue as well as softball in the spring, baseball in the summer and flag football in the fall can create a problem with people in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the effort that went into designing the course and as long as you can find times where there aren't a whole lot of other things going on at the park it is an overall fun course to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area

1    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: xxdestroyerxx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.Only 18 hole course within a hour
2.long wooded holes
3.great use of trees
4.nice tee signs ,and a huge map at the start of the course with scorecards
5.tape pointing you to the next tee
6.short and pro tees
7.#6 is epic unlike anything I have every played
8.most holes offer something different from the last
9.difficult and challenging
10.Very friendly locals

Cons: 1.Layout can be confusing at times ,some locals had to point me the right way
(after nine walk back towards big map at the start of the course and cross street)
2.walk back from 18 is kinda long (not a problem for me but my be a issue for some )
3.#2's tee is hidden by a green box and I had trouble finding it (walk past 8's basket and shelter it's next to a green box)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New and improved

2-4    1/11/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: Matt_The_dude
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: After playing the new layout with my brother ,
I was impressed with how much the course was improved by just moving things around just a little .
The walking paths are out of the way and theres no longer a risk of hitting cars/people .
The soccer fields are also now less of a issue
Hole 4 has a mando sign where theres no route onto the soccer fields ,there could be a problem on summer days with a lot of people during soccer games but during routine practices it won't be a problem at all.
The new 18 play long and slightly wooded ,To be honest I had trouble with holes because I just can't throw far enough , not that I didn't enjoy the challenge ,I liked it because each hole offered something different from the last .

This Is layout is big change from the mostly open old layout ,this course is tough and will test most players
Cons: Some holes are just too long and are not enjoyable .
Hole 2 and 4 may not be playable during soccer games .

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A Refreshed Course

2-4    11/26/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: discobolus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Major changes (autumn 2010) on this course make for a rewarding, new challenge. Layout is much improved with better planned obstacles, requiring more thought and technique.
Wooded park setting is enjoyable, offering trees as the main obstacles without creating impassable walls (except maybe for hole 6).
Holes 5, 6, and 7 offer especially interesting tee-offs. Hole 6 is very memorable and extremely challenging.

The course offers an overall good mix of long throws and technique shots. On first play, I was somewhat frustrated (mainly from hole 6) but came to appreciate the design and difficulty with more play. An impressive DG challenge for a small town like Bryan.
Cons: The course winds through a series of soccer fields, which create a few annoying obstacles like a fence along hole 1 and the fields themselves throughout. During peak soccer season, the course may be frustrating due to games and spectators. With that being said, this course is certainly possibly to play without going onto a field... you just need to be accurate with your shots.

The tee box for hole 5 can be difficult to find coming from hole 4. Head toward the ice rink from the basket of hole 4. The tee box is near a collection of trees.

As previously mentioned, hole 6 is very challenging as one has to navigate through some tight tree alleys for nearly 600 feet. This hole will become more enjoyable as the alley becomes wider with more play.
Other Thoughts: When the back 9 baskets are placed in the spring of 2011, this course will be legit. The back offers a range of holes from wide open to heavily wooded shots.

I would recommend this course for both the casual disc golfer who is just looking to get outdoors, and the pro looking to work on technique and finesse. The course is well-marked and easy to find from the car. Parking is plentiful and free.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  An Enjoyable Challenge

5+    12/22/2010   12/25/2010
Review By: sgt48
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The redesigned front nine is safer and more clallenging than ever before. The well-marked holes use the existing trees, soccer fields, walks and roads to create a mostly tight course requiring accurate throws and good decision making. Hole 6 is long and best suited to several low, well-placed shots between mature evergreens to reach the goal in par.
The back nine holes are staked out and will be in place by spring 2011. These new holes compliment the front nine extremely well with holes 10 and 11 continuing the need to make accurate shots. Holes 12 and13 are both open, bomb away 500 feet plus holes and 14 and 15 present ace opportunities. Holes 16, 17, and 18 finish in the mature trees of Moore Park. After completing hole 18, it is a short 4 minute walk past the Imagination Station play area for kids and the tennis courts back to your car.
Cons: Other park activities may occasionally cause challenges in playing the course without disruption
Other Thoughts: This 6227 foot course will have pro tees marked with brick-like pavers by the spring of 2011 lengthening the course and making it even more challenging.
If you see turkey buzzards high up in the trees on hole 18, don"t worry. They won't bother you. Just play your normal game and have fun.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Improved and Still Improving Course

5+    11/26/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: tharnthane
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This disc golf course in Bryan's Recreation Park is partially wooded and partially open. Its nine baskets provide a good mix of challenging wooded shots and clearer distance attempts. The new design is an improvement. The signs at the tees which show the layout of each hole are a neat feature as well.
Cons: The course winds around many soccer fields and walking paths, so a disc thrower must use care not to get too wild with his throws. Due to its location, there are no hills or water hazards to provide more interest or challenge. One hole near Townline Road is too long in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: With an additional nine holes planned for 2011, this course should become really nice. The newer holes are located in both open fields and the mature oaks of Bryan's Moore Park. Then there should be an even better mix of surroundings for the entire 18 holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center