Toledo, OH 
Dorr Street Elementary Share
Uploaded By: fleeulrich Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
-- / 93ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Practice course

2-4    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for practicing ace runs.
Great to bring out new players or kids.
Nice playground for kids.
Short, Can navigate a round in 20 min.
Cons: Short- Very Very Very short
Wide open
Hard to navigate first time around
Other Thoughts: Don't drive to far outta your way to try this course or you will be disapointed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners course.

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners, or children. We took our kids there and they really enjoyed themselves.
Cons: The tee areas are not marked very well making them difficult to see until you were right on them. The only thing marking the tee areas was a small 1'x1' square of concrete, with the hole # and distance painted on them, with some of them the paint has been worn off. This course is by no means intended for regular/experienced dg-ers. Most of the holes were well under 150' with the longest being 244'. There was a slight chance of losing a disc on top of the school on a couple holes. There are a number of holes that come rather close to the busy playground and softball fields, but being a course aimed mostly for kids its understandable.
Other Thoughts: The course is mostly wide open, although there were a few holes with woods to one side of the fairway. Hole 2 has a blind shot from the tee with the basket around the corner of the building. Not being from the area it took us a while to locate some of the tee areas, having to keep referring back to the course map.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 KIDS COURSE

2-4    3/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Nemer06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a kids course
Good Putter practice and short range
Cons: You can only play after 4 pm weekdays and on the weekened when no school events are going on. It isn't practical for any experienced Disc golfer.
Other Thoughts: I Think it is really cool that they have a disc golf course for kids. it is upsetting that the school doesnt use the course for PE class anymore.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dorr St Elementary

2-4    1/4/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: Canis Lupis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quick to play.
-Great for practicing with putter.
-Very nice baskets, almost too nice.
-Hole 8 offers a test for the midrange discs.
-Clean.
-There is an attractive teacher who resembles Ms. Veronica Vaugh who works there
Cons: -Tee markers are hard to find with #1 being spray painted on the concrete and the rest of the holes having small concrete tabs.
-#2 has serious "disc on roof" potential
-Too short, clearly designed for children and first timers.
- Only available for play after 3pm
Other Thoughts: It is a course for kids and learners. I agree with the other review, I wish my primary school had a dg course. It's nice to cross it off the list, but I won't be going out of my way to go there again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Course

2-4    1/4/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - If you are looking to get some practice with driving with your putters, or you have someone you want to introduce to the game this is the course for you.
- Very nice DiscCatcher baskets with little cement markers to indicate where to tee off from.
Cons: - Very short and no tee pads
- This course would be tough to play if there were kids on the playground or any event going on at the school.
- Not a challenge for advanced players, so don't play this course if you are looking for one. But like I said great to practice specific things because I think it isn't used much after school hours.
- Be careful throwing on hole #2 you might lose a disc on the top of the roof.
Other Thoughts: I wish my principal would have put a course at my grade school. Lucky kids, I hope some of them take advantage of it.
** The first hole starts along the school and the tee is on the sidewalk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A good course for kids

2-4    8/22/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for kids to learn on
Cons: As stated above this course is intended for absolute beginners are children.

chance of hitting people in park area ,three holes play very close to the playground which seems to always be busy .

hole 2 you could get disc stuck on the roof of the school,also windows of the school building are in play and can be hit easily .

chance of disc going in parking lot on 8
Other Thoughts: Played her with my kids a few times and had fun

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Paradise?

2-4    7/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorr Elementary has nine fantastic new Innova Discatchers, well manicured property, and is in a nice little neighborhood. For the experienced golfer, that is where the pros end.

For somebody that is new to the game, or if you are making an effort to introduce someone to the game - the list extends. Someone that has never played before is unlikely to get the thrill of reaching the basket on their first throws, so Dorr gives them 8 holes that they can do that on. It has holes that force forehand, and straight line shots, as well as some easy hyzers. Plus the 8th hole, at over 250 feet, allows those players to see that they have something to learn about gaining a little distance.

There is next to no property available here, so the course does what it can to use all of it well. It is all enclosed on school grounds, with not an inch wasted - while still keeping the school's other amenities (playground, ball fields, school buildings) in consideration.
Cons: The cons are fairly obvious the instant you step onto the first pad: there are no marked teepads, with only a sunk concrete brick with the distance and direction of the hole painted into it. From the first 90' hole it is clear that no one with experience will get a major thrill or challenge from the course, unless your goal is to play a full 9 holes of perfect golf, or a day of ace runs is your plan.

There is no elevation, no real woodland or tunnels, no real challenge for an experienced player. For many of the reasons listed above that make it a fantastic course for someone that has never thrown a disc, it is also not much of an experience for those that have been playing for a while, or even for half a year.
Other Thoughts: Dorr isn't anything amazing as a course. I rate it "Passable" because for what it is - a course to get elementary school children playing disc golf, it is a very nice idea. Something that we need more of. But I can't rate it beyond that because when you rate it against any other course at all, it tends to come out somewhat lacking.

I thoroughly enjoyed my couple of hours spent there (four rounds, under two hours), racked up a lot of birdies and zeroed in my putting game. But overall, unless I was bringing a friend to show him the sport for the first time - I'd probably pass on checking it out again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.