Georgetown, IN 
Seviren Lang DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #15 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
3.75...not quite a 4

1    9/19/2016   9/27/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 339  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 30.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to I-64 when on a road trip. Very well maintained and manicured park; the grass was being cut along with weed whacking / trimming by the grounds crew while I was playing on a Monday morning.

Cement tees on the long tees. Trash buckets at each tee sign. Good Mach 5 baskets. A variety of shots were required, from fairly tight wooded holes to a 1011 foot monster open hole #6. Good use of elevation change incorporated into the course which is important to me.

Hole #7 is a beautiful down hill shot. Hole #11 is a signature hole here with a uphill shot over a tree line, uphill some more to a well protected basket, par 4, loved it! I liked the look of #12 but played it poorly. #16 good par 4.

The cut rubber mats directly under the baskets were a nice touch, it prevents erosion and is easy to mow around.
Cons: Finding tee #1 was tricky even though I saw the red arrows, it could still be marked better. I found #2 and #18 before finding #1.

The first 5 wooded holes were through some very tight woods.

The flow between 7, 8 and 9 didn't feel natural. I expected to cross the road after 7 but the course goes back uphill for #8 and backtracks past basket #6 before you find tee #9.

#15 tunnel shot, hated it.
Other Thoughts: This course shines on the back nine. I drove over an hour out of the way because of others I knew highly recommended it, I was disappointed until it opened up on hole 6. Again, props to the landscaping done on the course!

I'm a tough reviewer and can see why others see it as a 4 star course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Classic course

1    9/4/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 68  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, manicured scenic park. Exclusive course land. Excellent signage. Decent course flow. Good mix of hole types, throw challenges and skill levels. Very easy to access from the highway.
Cons: Course gets a bit bland on the back nine. Some needless fairway overlap on the back nine as well.
Other Thoughts: The course has a lot going for it, and you can tell it was designed by experienced disc golfers. The park setting is beautiful and well-maintained.

The first 5 holes are really superb and set the stage with some excellent technical wooded fairways. Hole 6 felt a bit ridiculous to me at 1100 feet. The backtracking for hole 8 and back to hole 9 felt weird.

The back nine started getting a bit bland, with a few holes just hugging the park drive and were little more than gap-fillers. A couple good technical holes though. For some weird reason, the basket for 18 was placed crossing the path one would take from the parking lot to the tee for hole 1, when it could have easily been placed without that overlap (a mere 20 foot difference).

I'm not a fan of asphalt-hugger courses in general. If I can see my car for most of the round, it's not my kind of course.

This is a nice course. It was fun to play, easy to navigate and enjoyable the entire round. Unfortunately, all the personality it built up on the front nine slowly drained out by the time you got to 18.

This is a model for what multi-use park disc golf courses should be like. I'm not sure much else could be done with the land to offer up signature holes or anything else that would make this course exceptional, but it's no doubt a good course and hits most of the marks.

I played Severin along with Iroquois Park and Charlie Vettiner while I was in the Louisville area. Without hesitation I'd recommend Severin if you had to choose one. It's not a destination course, but it's so easy to access from the highway that it's a definite course to play if you're in the area or traveling through. The 4+ rating here is definitely overinflated.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    5/13/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: ajbova
Played: 102  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in the back of a mixed use park that includes baseball fields, basketball courts, tennis courts, and a soccer field. Course does not interfere with those courts. Course is an intermediate to advance level course. Not very beginner friendly but would definitely teach someone accuracy.

Baskets - 18 Mach 5 baskets that catch great. Did not have any issues with spit outs. There are also 2 practice baskets on site. Each hole has an A and a B pin position which actually has the current location marked on the sign. Basket locations can drastically change the hole.

Tees - At least 1 concrete tee per hole. There are several holes that have a shorter tee which is a rubber mat. Hole 6 has 3 tees. Concrete tees were grippy. Some of the rubber mats were a little slick.

Signs - Signs include map, distance, par, hole number, basket locations (marked with a washer), as well as the location to the next tee. There was also a course map at the start of the course. There were signs throughout the course pointing to the next hole if it was ever in question.

Variety - This course has a great mix of short and technical shots as well as open bombers. There were several tunnel shots and a few thread the needle shots. Course has it all. Uphill, downhill, valley, wooded, and wide open shots. There were several blind shots due to elevation and woods.

There were bridges when needed!

There were benches or stumps as well as trans cans at every concrete tee.

Course was very clean and spread out.

Easy to get to. Not many nearby options for courses.
Cons: Not many cons that I can think of.

Course could use concrete tees for the alternate tees as opposed to the rubber mats. Rubber tees were a little slick and some of them were not in the best shape.

Signs at the alternate tees would be nice as well.

I noticed there was a tick on me as I was leaving the course!
Other Thoughts: I really loved this course. It is definitely a challenging course and it was well maintained. I am from Indy and wish this course or one similar was in Indy. There are a few that are close but just not the same. Several holes at this course reminded me of some of the holes in Charlotte. It was a nice change of pace. It was my 4th course of the day and by far my favorite.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best

5+    8/9/2016   5/10/2016
Review By: TheThoughtNinja
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2016
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! Located at the back of Garry Cavan park, Seviren Lang DGC is a real treat.

Rolling hills are the framework for (in my opinion) the best course around. Each hole presents a unique, difficult challenge. The first five are the most wooded and shorter than most of the others. Six, a 1011' hole, is wide open--except for the expertly placed trees at the end of the fairway. Seven through nine and eleven, fourteen, and eighteen go up and down the hilly landscape on sometimes-tricky lines. Twelve, fifteen, and seventeen are great tunnels (two downhill and one across an unforgiving ridge). Thirteen and sixteen demand accuracy and distance (more so than the others) to master. Ten, the only 'filler' hole, is still enjoyable because it's a break from the challenge of the others.

The course is well-maintained, being mowed often. There's an annual tournament here, and it always puts the great upkeep into overdrive. Most holes have small trash bins and a few have benches. The tees signs have been updated since they were put on this site and now look even better. They now include elevation change as well. Each tee has a marker indicating in which placement the basket is currently. All the pro tees are concrete and are sufficiently large, as well as level. Mandatories are clearly marked, and no out-of-bounds is silly--the course relies on natural obstacles for its difficulty.

Restrooms, water fountains, and a shelter house are all present. There are also two practice baskets at the parking lot.

A league meets at the park on Thursdays.
Cons: The amateur tees are rubber mats which are unlevel and probably not too grippy.

A few of the wooded holes may be muddy after rains.

There have been reports of car robberies at the parking lot. A policeman does patrol the course at times, and I have never seen any "sketchy" people, though.

Some players may find this course discouragingly challenging. I am not that good of a player, but I enjoy the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Hole sixteen is my favorite. It goes across a gentle slope, around some large patches of trees, before entering an "evergreen gateway" to the "end circle." Cool!

When Barry Schultz played this course in 2013, he said it was definitely in his top ten list and he would be glad to play it again soon. His testimony verifies my belief that it couldn't get much better!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    5/11/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Joel138
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging course. A great mix of hole locations and different types of shots needed. Very well kept up course and a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Placement is huge! As an Am 3 player I wish I had a forehand shot. Would have lowered my score. Not much negative other then to say it's a tough course. Don't expect a record low.

Watch out for ticks in some of the rough, our group had about 10 ticks between 3 people from the woods on hole 10.
Other Thoughts: Holes that I loved...
1 - short but fun hole that required a nice mid range shot.
8 - Not easy, but a fun well place pin spot makes an interesting hole.
10 - An easy hole, the only one I birdied twice in the tournament :)

This is a great course, tough but a blast to play. As a disc golfer this had to be one of my top 20 course I have ever played.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in Georgetown

2-4    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seviren Lang is a very nice park in a residential area. You can be at the course in less than 5 minutes from the exit at I-64. There was plenty of parking and a nice practice area and basket near the parking lot. Just looking at the baskets as we were driving in to the park, I wasn't all that impressed with what I saw.. that soon changed.

The course has very nice concrete tee pads that had very good grip.

Most of the holes have places to sit and trash cans are available.

The Mach 5 baskets were all in good shape and the areas around the baskets was well groomed.
The hole signs were top notch. They gave a very accurate yardage of the hole and the different basket placement. Each sign does have a marker to tell you if the basket is in "A" or "B". You might want to check just to make sure.
The next tee signs make navigation VERY easy on this course. This was my first time to the course and I had no problems at all.

The course starts in the woods. Holes 1-5 are in what I would call moderately wooded. most of them are very short but require PRECISE shots to make birdies. I needed a straight shot, a large anny/forehand, a big hyzer and a power fade just to play those holes.

The course opens up big time next few holes. Most of the time open means easy. Not here. You will need distance and the ability to work your disc to make birdies. Alot of the open holes have very tricky approaches. (Slopes, Ledges or Fall Offs)

Holes 12-18 would be lightly wooded but are very difficult closing holes.

Some holes that stuck out to me...

Hole #5 - It's an easy hyzer that needs to go about 150 ft out and about 60 feet left. Make the shot and it's and easy duece. Miss the opening and 5 comes into play REALLY quickly.

Hole #6 - Anytime you get to chuck it 1011 ft into the wind, it has to be memorable. There are only a couple of trees that come into play on the entire hole, but they are VERY well placed to catch your approach shots.

Hole 11a- It's an uphill hyzer to an open area. The appoach shot was a 250 ft very tight hyzer to a well tucked basket. You will need to put your drive in the right spot to have any run at the basket.

Hole 13- I have a love/hate for this hole. It seems so simple, but it beat me up both times I played it. We were playing in a right to left cross wind at about 20 mph and it made the tee shot extremely difficult. The hole looks so easy, yet it beat me up pretty good.

Cons: There are a couple of places where you do have to go back across another hole. Just beware and it's not really a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that offers just about everything. When you stand on each of the tees, you can see what needs to be done. There are no real tricks or gimmicks to the holes. I have never played a course that seemed more open, but yet you HAD to work the disc to score well. This course frustrated me like very few have, but I would play it again anytime. You can see the work that has been put into the course. The holes are extremely well thought out and the maint. was top notch. This place is truly a gem.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  The best

5+    4/10/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: connorfinn4
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course for the pro level. Big variety of all different kinds of shots. It has open holes and wooded holes. This course tests your Acuracy as well as your distance.
Cons: It is fun and great to compete on for the ams. Not the best course for beginners and players who can't throw as far.
Other Thoughts: I have played many courses throughout the country and this is defffentily in my favorites. Not only is the course challenging and fun to play on but it is also a really beautiful course.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very Solid, Very Clean, Very Balanced

1    9/28/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 129  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seviren Lang is set in a nice residential area that has plenty of parking space, a restroom, and a practice basket near the first tee. While the park does have multiple pavilions and playgrounds, it feels that the course is the main attraction. The park is very clean and well manicured, and there are trash cans throughout the course. There are multiple bridges and even a set of stairs to make your walking a little more comfortable.

The signage is superb here, with arrows pointing you in the right direction on multiple occasions. The navigation flows well and you can get along fine without using a map. There is just one part that can be a little confusing (see cons). The tee signs are fantastic and tell you pars, hole lengths, the pin position, and point you to the next tee. The concrete tees and Mach 5 baskets are in good shape.

This is a very balanced and technical course with a well thought-out layout. True par 4's and a par 5! It starts out with some tight shots in the woods, opens up more for the middle holes, and ends with semi-open, technical holes. A great variation of hole distances are present (ranging from 200-1,000 feet) and the little elevation that the park has is used to its maximum potential. The pin positions are very well thought out and add a challenge being behind a set of trees (1,2, 7, and 17), on a slope (8, 13, 14, and 15), and through a tight window (5, 11, 16, 18). These help make some of the more straight-forward holes more exciting. There is also a great mix a hyzer, anhyzer, and straight tunnel-shots, as well as multiple holes that require a hyzer, then anhyzer or vice versa (11, 13, 16, and 18). These long technical holes are what make this course special.
Cons: -While there are multiple tees for each hole, the am. tees are very short and sometimes hard to spot. The pro tees - while in great shape - are too short in my opinion as well.
-Going from 6-7 can be a little confusing, as 9's tee is near 6's basket. I mistakenly walked to 9 first before realizing 7 was to the right not to the left like 9.
-There are multiple simple, straight-forward holes. You may argue that that's what gives this course such great balance, and I would tend to agree with that approach. Because this course is so technical, it needs a few holes that do give you some room for error. However, there are a few holes too many that are open or some that I would even call boring, when comparing to the rest of the course's standard.
Other Thoughts: It is hard to give a course with so little cons "only" a 4 rating. This course is so solid and super clean. Much attention to detail has been given by way of navigation and pin placement. However, as I said, about 1/3 of the holes significantly don't match up to the rest of the course's standard. I loved the wooded holes at the beginning, and the long, technical holes that played through patches of trees. There are simply too many filler holes here though, holes that don't have a lot of character. Holes like 6-10 and 14 are pretty basic, but I do believe the designers use them to their maximum potential. Just a little bit of drop off. My favorite holes here were:

1 - Very tight, straight shot in the woods with a challenging pin position behind trees
2 - Pretty similar as 1, but with a pretty sharp anhyzer
11 - This sets the tone for the rest of the course. Throw a hyzer through a tight window (don't want to get in the rough here) and then a gradual uphill shot to the basket, which is in a tight spot within trees.
13 - Extreme anny then you have to throw through patches of trees to a basket on top of the slope. One of the great anhyzer then hyzer holes on the course.
15 - My favorite of the many tunnel shots in this course, because of the steep slopes on both sides and it's visual striking appearance.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the region!

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 285  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seviren Lang is a jewel in the Louisville region, with variety, big D, woods, elevations, and challenges galore to impress disc golfers of all skill levels. It is a competition caliber course from the longs, and the short tees are fun for the mid-level player to really enjoy what they've got here. The locals are friendly and helpful, and even the deer just put on a show, rather than get in your way.

The disc golf course exists as a separate entity within a park that has other features (there was a kid's event going on in the front of the park the last time I played here), but I didn't pay much attention: I look forward to the course so much each time! It has decent sized concrete tee pads, and small flypad tees on many of the holes. I saw two or more tees on 1, 2, & 6 through 18. The signage is great, and next tee signs are plentiful where needed. Logs are used for seating on many holes, and trash and maintenance is excellent. There are even pads at the base of each basket to minimize damage to your discs!

Course flow is well thought out for safety, parking and shelters are abundant, and there are restrooms on site. The alternate tees on holes 9, 10, 11, 13, 16 & 17 make the holes completely different. You will use every shot in your bag, but you are not overly likely to lose a disc at Seviren Lang because of the upkeep, and you only come near a creek bed a couple of times. In all, there are too many positives to list: great course!
Cons: There aren't a whole lot of negatives, unless you really would prefer a water hazard, or want 10,000 feet of throws or something. Maybe the fact that you do a little loop for holes 7 & 8 gets to some folks? My only negative is that this one isn't in my home town...
Other Thoughts: Played here twice now (longs and shorts), and loved the course both times. If you're traveling near here, I highly recommend a round!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Lang 1

5+    6/20/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: charliec
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course with wide open fairways with some technical shots. It also flows very well.
Cons: There really aren't to many bad things about this course. That being said, I wish it was in my back yard... its far from home for me
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area it only makes sense to stop here and give it a try. You won't be sorry that you did!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.