Georgetown, IN
Seviren Lang DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamH Hole #16 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 510ft.   4 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amazingly good

5+    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: SMcVicker91
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety here. You'll have to maneuver through tight woods, rip across huge open fairways, and everything in between.

The park itself is very nice and well kept. It flows together very well, so navigating the course is easy except for one instance (more on that later).

The path to the first few holes are neatly lined with logs and sticks, really cool.

Every tee has a sign w/ distance/par/map of hole. Every hole has nice concrete pads.

There are bathrooms and ample parking.

Many memorable holes here. Hole 6 stands out as it's a 1011ft bombfest. There are some potentially annoying trees as you get close to the basket.

11 is a nice long throw over a bridge into a wide open field, though placement is very important for the second shot as the basket lies further down a wooded path.

14 has a dangerous basket placement on a hill. Hit the cage many times only to see it roll away another 20+ ft.

18 is a worthy final hole with the street along the right side of the fairway and dense woods to the left. It then doglegs sharp to the left and the basket is surrounded by woods.
Cons: Transition between Hole 6 and 7 is confusing. Hole 9 is to the left (which is where I instinctively headed), and Hole 7 is further to the right. First time playing I went straight to hole 9, it didn't occur to me that it might not be the right hole. If I had realized it before I threw, it would have been easy to find 7.

And really that's the only thing I can think of. Not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Like with most courses if you misthrow bad it can be the end of your disc. Some parts in the woods are practically unnavigable, but only on really bad screwups for the most part.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This course delivers!

1    3/31/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 143  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 30.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and easy to get to off of I-64 with basic driving skills, you don't have to be Magellan to find this course. Adequate parking with good restrooms. Nice sign board with course map (wish the map was bigger) and plenty of info. New DGA Mach V baskets.

This course is a nice variety of open/semi-open holes with good terrain change, and other more tightly wooded holes, again with plenty of terrain change. Good mix of shots, with some nicely defined fairways and alternate routes to the pin. Good use of landing areas and tricky greens. Good shots are rewarded with better options for future shots and bad shots are punished with poor options for recovery. Certainly a good design to challenge pro and advanced players.

Nice concrete pro tees, no problems with the footing here. Smaller rubber matts for the am tees. Good signs with complete information and graphics including next tee info. There are lots of "next tee" signs out on the course which helps with navigation. Trash cans and water are avaialble on the course, and some holes have benches. It is obvious that tons of work has gone into this course, it is new and should only get better.
Cons: Not too many really. Because of some of the clearing in the woods, there are lots of short stumps around to nail a wayward toe. But, many of them have been painted.

The tee signs are located at the front of the tees. It's a pet peeve of mine that signs be located at the back of the tees to help give the clearest area of opertions to the player when teeing off. This may or may not bother other players.

To help make this course more friendly to the intermediate level player (newbies will not like it at all) the alt tee pads need to be marked with signs. We played on a beautiful Saturday afternoon and literally had the course to ourselves! There should have been some other players out there. This course, IMHO does need a little work to make it friendlier for am and intermediate players.
Other Thoughts: This course has some serious terrain change and some serious holes. Well designed for pro and advanced level players. It is a solid 4.0 for course topography and design. Still, it is a little rough around the edges and needs some polishing to get into the 4.5+ range. Which I think it can. It will be interesting to watch this course age.

If you are going up or down I-65, stop in for a round. If you are looking for day trip, it's a good match with a second round at nearby Charlie Vettiner in Louisville.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Seviren Heaven

1    1/23/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee signs have all the necessary information.

2) Big grippy concrete tees are always appreciated. I never felt uneasy planting to throw my drive. Short tees are rubber mats which is a good solution until/if concrete can be installed.

3) Good Mach baskets in good shape

4) OB was used effectively in a few spots to force certain shots or at least punish bad shots.

5) Lots of par 4's on this course which I am a fan of. This sport should be pushed with Par 4's and 5's and not all just the wide open distance. I think longer wooded holes are a valuable hole in course design.

6) 1000' hole gave me a chance to throw a couple rollers. I got one out there 395' which I think is my longest roller ever. While 1000' holes are somewhat boring, throwing the rollers made it bearable. The rolling hills you play down on this hole also made it more fun to throw.

7) Excellent use of the elevation changes on the course. The somewhat open holes also use the pockets of woods and underbrush effectively to force you into the fairways.

8) Next tee arrows help to guide you through the course in a few spots, always a welcome site for a travelling disc golfer, but I did even better, I played with one of the designers.

9) The tight wooded holes are challenging to say the least. A bad kick can really hurt you on a few of the holes.

10) A couple really unique holes out here, I can always appreciate holes that I haven't really seen before.

11) They used the viney overgrown areas well to shape fairways and punish poor throws. This is something I don't see much of in WI. The difference between here and WI is we have Buckthorn and it is super punishing, while the vines and low growing shule here allow outshots.

12) Bridges were pretty well made and in places where they were helpful.

13) Pavilion and playgrounds and ball-fields are all available in this park.

14) Nicely done course board and sign at the first tee. Check it for updates, leagues, etc!
Cons: 1) The turf is thin on many areas on this course . . . it seems to be consistent with many Kentucky courses. There was some construction being done along #18 from the power company so I am sure they will repair the damage, but it was a mess to the left side of the fairway.

2) Not what I would call beginner friendly because of the tightness of many of the holes, but also because of the length on the others.

3) Not enough garbage cans to keep trash from being scattered around . . . although I suppose it will still get scattered around, but there is enough trash to be picked up I really don't want to carry it with me for multiple holes.

4) A few places to sit down but there could be a few more benches.

5) Hole #12 is really wet and flat so it holds water. Someone else complained about this so I am sure it wasn't just the rains that came recently. This could be solved with a french drain (perforated drain tile with gravel to the surface to allow the water to seep in). Then the draintile can be run down the hill away from the fairway and any other fairways it might affect.I know it takes time and/or money but it would be a priority of mine.

6) The walk back out from #2 long basket would really hold up play and expose people to discs from behind.
Other Thoughts: Design and challenge make this course a 4.5 . . . but the maintenance and scenery bring this course down to a 4 (but I actually think it is about a 3.75 in its current condition). If the parks department and the locals can make a few improvements this course will be really solid. I downgraded it because of these issues but I know the course will eventually be improved and it might be able to get up to a 4.5.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Super Solid Course

1    11/23/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 114  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro Tees are concrete with descriptive tee signs while Am tees are rubber fly-pads with no signs
Next tee arrows to aide in navigation: they are especially helpful on the one real tricky navigation area (from 15 to 16 & 17 to 18)
Solid mix: The open holes are usually longer, bordered/surrounded by thick, brushy areas, trees and/or OOB (to add some intricacy and force mindful shot selection) while the wooded holes are generally tight/technical/thick off the fairway and of shorter length. Available elevation is incorporated whenever possible and is of the gradual/moderate variety.
The course blends a balance of left/right/straight hole shaping along with what I call 'tension and release' design (shorter/more technical holes followed by longer/more open holes in various combinations ranging from easy to moderate to difficult - oftentimes combining and or inter-changing components of each).
In conjunction with the course traversing throughout the periphery of the entire park, the above mentioned characteristics (mix & balance) allow for a mostly seamless flow as the land is used resourcefully and (re)designed with a specific purpose in mind.
Baskets were placed with consideration (on slopes/small hills with roll-away potential, nestled in the woods after open drives, tree captive, etc). Roll-away was especially evident on 'transition-esque' holes (open holes #5 & #17 immediately come to mind) to add a little risk to otherwise basic holes .
I don't recall ever seeing this course feature before but there were small mats around the base of the basket poles apparently to alleviate undergrowth.
Bridges were in place to aide in crossing muddy & water runoff areas as drainage appears to be a course concern
Well kept park (water available, pavilion, ball fields, playground, etc) with trash cans accessible on some holes
Easy drive-by play as it's conveniently located off I-64 just outside of Louisville.
Cons: Slightly repetitive feel with similar wooded holes (tunnels) and open holes (brush bordered)
While am tees were 'easier' as far as distance was concerned, they didn't appear to be significantly so with various 'looks off the tee' being comparable to the pro tees also
Lack of benches was noticeable
Played in late fall so rough wasn't a factor but can see it being so during months of full growth
Park borders a neighborhood which was esthetically detracting in a minuscule way (think McMansions)
Other Thoughts: This is one solid course where accuracy, a variety of shots, mental toughness & a complete game is required to score well. Many of the holes penalize even the smallest mistakes by adding a stroke or more (some prime punishment examples are: #18's 459ft par 3; #7's 420ft. par 4; #9's 531ft par 4 with a mando and OOB to boot! - & #2's 519ft par 4). There's even a wooded hole (#11) with a fairway so narrow & dense, along with a sharp mid-fairway turn, that even though only 339ft, is designated a par 4.

I will say the lack of any real signature and/or stand out holes that generate the 'wow' factor is evident - even #15's 1011ft par 5 which has impressive length isn't what I'd call memorable or outstanding. However, this certainly does not detract from the course's fun factor and isn't a 'con' but needed mentioning.

Taken as a whole, Seviren Lang DGC is really well done and will present challenges to all skill levels (perhaps being a bit too much for newer or less experienced players). Sound play and shot selection will be rewarded (sometimes this will merely be par) and mistakes will have the player reflecting on what could have been. These course characteristics will keep the players coming back for more & I highly recommend dropping by for a play if nearby.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course in Louisville area

5+    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: Mike B.
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great mix holes, elevation changes, wooded holes, tunnels, and open holes. Well marked tees and baskets, Concrete pro tees, and even a course map by hole one.
Cons: Really the only con about this course is the mosquitoes and ticks, which can be extremely thick, and if you don't layer yourself in bug spray you will be eaten alive. My bag was completely covered in mosquitoes instantly after I sat it on the ground, and if you don't wear bug spray you will find hundreds if not thousands of mosquitoes swarming you making it impossible to play. Hole 5's pro tee is still under water, I understand it is getting fixed though.
Other Thoughts: This course is well maintained, difficult to play, yet still open enough that beginners can get the feel for the sport. Beside the bug problem this is what a disc golf course is suppose to be. I have to say after spending a week playing in Georgia the Louisville Disc Golf club does a great job with the local courses, great signs and tees, great courses and great maintenance. I spent two days on a course in Georgia that had two 18 courses side by side and not a single tee marked, most holes didin't even have a sign directing you to the next tee, thanks LDGC for the amazing job you do with the local courses.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly the best????

5+    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I need to go ahead and get my opinion out of the way.... this is the best course in the Louisville area. Now, let's review :)

The pro pads are concrete with excellent signage. So far this year the grass has stayed mowed and the fairways have stayed clear (not bad for a free course). The parks department has done a great job with the park and it always looks immaculate. There are bridges that pass over the water/muddy areas and anytime work needs to be done to pads/fairways, it gets done quickly. The layout of the course circles the entire park and takes full advantage of everything the property has to offer. There is a great mix of shots and no hole is a gimme. My favorite thing about this course is that all the holes play and feel like golf holes and not just novelty holes.
Cons: There are a few things that I think need to be worked out with this course that really don't effect the overall presentation of the course itself.
First, the Am/Womens pads are still rubber and in my opinion are placed in such a way that they do not help to level out the playing field at all and in some cases they can actually make the hole harder. As many people already know hole 5's pad has sunk into the depths of the creek. I know this will be fixed when it dries out but I still need to mention it. Because of the removal of the brush, hole 12 can be a mud pit after a good rain. Not sure that this can be fixed.
Mosquitoes!!! (and ticks) Bring the OFF!
Once the lake drains this problem will not be so bad.
Other Thoughts: The course is long but time will fly by when you play here. I have had many multiple game days at this course and I can't get enough of it. This course has tons of personality and every hole can make or brake your round. I hope you enjoy this course as much as I do. Good job to the designers/creators.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/3/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2012
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a good combination of distance and short holes. Most of the shorter holes are narrow and require technical acumen for birdie.

#1 is the most wide open of the short holes and it has a basket placement near the top of a drop-off to the rear that can take you down about 10-12' in elevation..
#2 is a par four that, from the long pad, crosses a ravine with trees. Clear the ravine and try to avoid going too far to the left or you'll have no second shot. You will likely throw a hyzer (for a RHBH) around a large grouping of trees towards a narrowing downhill tunnel. Go too far right before you hyzer and you could be OB.

#3 is a short downhill tunnel shot with OB to the left (not very deep in the trees,) wrapping around behind the basket.

#4 is another par 4, slightly uphill. Tee shot from the longs must turn right, and there is a mando to the right of the fairway and OB to the left if your drive stays straight. You second shot will have to contend with a grouping of trees in the middle of the fairway. The best route is to the right, but if your drive gets too far to the left there is a small alley.

#5 is a par 3 that is not long, but plays longer than it appears because the basket is set atop the end of an earthen dam, about 10 feet higher in elevation than the teepad. While it's a fairly straight shot, there is OB to the right, a large tree that can affect your second shot if you're too far left and short, and the earthen dam is only about 5 or 6 feet wide at the spot of the basket--it drops off the back side as severely as the front.

#6 is a tunnel shot down the rest of the earthen dam. While there is trouble to either side, f you get off to the right you can have virtually no shot.

#7 Is currently a par 3, but will become a par 4 any day now once the concrete for the new sleeve can be poured. The hole is somewhat uphill. There are two large groupings of mature pines, and your tee shot should split those. The second shot, on the existing basket, forces you to go around another smaller grouping of trees that is centered around a tall dead tree. When the basket is moved it will lie behind a wall of pines that are currently about 6 to 8 feet tall. There is a small gap to walk through them, but the shot you play will most likely be over the trees.

#8 is a slight downhill, fairly narrow, with potential thick rough on either side.

#9 is probably the most difficult of the par 4s. Your drive crosses a road (OB) that also lines the right side of the fairway (and becomes a parking lot, obviously, also OB. There is a mando to the left. Get too far to the left and near the mando and you may not have a second shot. When you go around the mando, it is virtually a 90 degree left turn into a narrow fairway. The basket is tucked up on a slight hill to the right.

#10 is the only hole from the original course to survive intact. It is a short, narrow shot that crosses a small ditch. The basket is just right of dead center, but is well-guarded by trees.

#11 is a short par 4, but very challenging. The drive is a fairly short one that goes only slightly to the right with a landing area. From there, the fairway drops down about 4 feet down a little ditch and turns right. This portion of the fairway is narrow and has numerous trees with which to content. The basket is slightly up a hill to the right.
Your drive can turn the corner right of the landing area and drop down the ditch leaving you about a 100' or so to the basket, but doing so is almost blind luck in regards to what kind of line you may have to get to the basket.

#12 is a short, straight shot that comes out of a tunnel about 10' wide and about 40 or 50' deep. There is a tree about 15 feet in front of the left side of the teepad that gives me fits (I throw lefty forehand.) The fairway then widens to about 40 or 50' wide, with the basket on the right side of the fairway. If you miss the basket to the right you will likely drop down a hill about 8 or 10 feet and may be in trees that make it difficult to have a shot.

#13 is a slightly uphill shot with two routes.The right lane is somewhat longer, but is more open. Go to the left and you have a shorter route; however, if you get too far left you will be in trees and may not have a shot.

#14 is a slightly downhill shot that turns almost 90 degrees around a large pine tree back into a cove cut out of the woods (most of which are pines. Spike hyzers tend to work for bigger arms, but there are trees to contend with if you get too far to the right trying to lay out to make the turn.

#15 is the 1011 ft. monster par 5 (800 from the am pads, with yet a 3rd pad at around 600.) The basket is about even with the teepad as far as elevation, however, you have two rolling hills down the fairway, and the last shot to the basket will possibly be uphill. The fairway slopes from right down to the left. The left side of the fairway is thick rough the entire way (and if you get deep enough in it, there is a fence that is OB.) There are two softball backstops to the right of the fairway, and going farther right than them will be OB. Near the end of the fairway there is a mando. The mando is actually sitting OB, but it keeps you from throwing a large hyzer that would go over a parking lot. There are two trees in the middle of the fairway about 70 or 80 feet from the basket; the one to the right is a tall, mature sycamore and the one to the left is a smaller, thicker tree. If you hit the smaller tree, your disc will not go through it (and may not even come down--it has the thickness of a weeping cherry, but it's bigger and it's some other kind of tree.)

#16 is a downhill shot. The basket is set in a line of mature pine trees. If you go too far there is OB behind the basket, but that rarely comes into play.

#17 Goes slightly uphill, then there is a flat area just below a hill that elevates about 15 feet. Most discs will land in this flat area. There is a parking lot right of the basket about 20' that is OB.

#18 was originally considered a par 4, but after our pros were getting pretty close to the basket it was reclassified as a 3--it is a difficult 3. The teeshot is downhill through a tunnel. Go too far straight down the hill (or let it turn left once the fairway opens up,) and there is a fence that is OB. The fairway opens up wide at the bottom of the hill and turns right. There is a small stream that runs from about the end of the fence all the way down the left side of the fairway that is OB. The basket is about 20 or 30 feet from the stream tucked under trees.
Cons: The course drains well in most places, but there are still some problems, particularly the #5 pro pad, which is often under water after hard rains. There have been two small footbridges put in to begin and end #4 that allow you to clear the water.

The course still needs places to sit. There are no benches, other than the shelter houses beside the #13 and 16 teepads. (There is a water fountain at both of these places, as well.)

Ticks and mosquitoes are extremely thick at times--bug spray is strongly suggested.

Some of the paths could use mulch to cover the mud.

Most of the problematic areas are scheduled to be, or will soon be addressed.
Other Thoughts: The course has undergone another transformation. There are three holes that will receive new pin placements in preparation for the 2012 US Masters, which will be played here and other courses in the Louisville area and all holes will be renumbered, with the front nine becoming the back nine and vice versa.
Instead of pulling into the parking area just below the barn-like shelter house, now drive all the way through the park to the very back parking area and begin on what was initially #10.
The holes that will be changed are the new #12, 16, and 17 (previously 3, 7, and 8.)
#12 (old #3,) originally was set slightly left of center at the end of the tunnel with a group of trees and a drainage ditch that does not always have water behind it. A gap has been opened through those trees and the basket will be across the small foot bridge slightly to the right instead of the left, adding about 50-60 feet. Furthermore, there is a road about 25 feet beyond the basket that will bring OB into play if you go for it and fly it.
#16 (old #7) will have the most significant change. Whereas the original pin placement went around a grouping of undergrowth around a dead tree requiring a hyzer shot, the new pin placement is beyond the pine trees that are at the back of the current fairway. A gap has been cut through the trees but for several years they will be low enough to go over them. The basket is about 100 past the trees and tucked in a difficult location far more to the right than the original placement. This hole will now be classified as a par 4.
#17 (old #8,) will move about 75 or so feet farther. The new basket will be behind a fairly large tree that currently sits behind the basket. There has been some clearing out of trees and rough to the right of the end of the fairway to accommodate but the hole will still be far harder than the original setup.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Challinging yet fun

5+    4/1/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: TallGrass
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course! You can air it out on several holes and the woods provide a technical balance.
Cons: Some holes are too open which is a liabiltiy for ams (vs. pros).
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun with a variety of rbh, turnover, sidearm, and elevation change shots. This course has it all!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great redesign

1    4/16/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The redesign here took a ho hum course and made one that is challenging and fun. The course is a mix of grassy areas with brushy rough, some tightly wooded holes, and a couple open field shots including a 1000' monster. The terrain available is used quite well, there is a nice mix of uphill and downhill shots and there are a few nice tricky pin placements with good roll away possibility.

The coure plays pretty balanced between right and left turning shots. You'll need to hit different lines to score well here, and thick rough comes into play on most holes so you'll need some tricks to get out of trouble. I liked the mix of hole lengths, with some ace runs and some bombers with a good variety between.
Cons: The tees felt a little small, especially on the longer holes. The am pads are tiny rubber pads that aren't laid well. They are often lumpy and not level, and most don't offer any very different lines from the concretes. It looked like some holes had alternate sleeves for basket placements, none of these were marked on the signs (though it's hard to tell with all the sleeves still in the ground from the previous layout). Several areas of the course held water, including one tee (4 I think) that was completely under water, hopefully as the grass grows in the course will drain better.
Other Thoughts: I think it's great that the course was redesigned, and it improved the course quite a bit. Beginners will find the course a little tough, even from the short tees, especially with the thick thorny rough. More experienced players will find some really nice challenges, and good variety with bombers, tunnel shots and lots in between.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Vast Improvement

1    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HUGE improvement over the previous course layout.
-Flow from hole to hole is very good, with signs pointing to the next tee.
-Signs are fantastic.
-Good variety of different types of holes: wooded, open, left, right, flat, hilly.
-I really appreciated the addition of the 1000 ft hole on 15, after playing half the course through a technical wooded area, it was nice to rip a few.
-Teepads were good.
-I'm not sure if it was because we played this course in early April as opposed to summer, but the thorny rough never came into play at all. This is significant because the old Cavan layout had some of the nastiest rough I've ever seen.
-Has several "interesting" basket placements (on slopes, on ridges) that provide risk/reward opportunities.
-Some really nice "signature" type holes (all of the par 4s were fantastic, IMO)
-Inclusion of Am pads is nice, even if only rubber (was it just me or were most of the Am pads pretty close to the Pro pads?)
-We played right after a downpour, and drainage was good. Not much puddling.
-Park is well kept and regularly mowed.
Cons: -While you can practice putt on 18s basket, there's really nowhere to warm up your arm or practice driving before your round.
-This course has more tunnel shots than any course I've ever played. I think I counted 6 or more. They started feeling repetitive.
-The course makes a big loop around the park, so once you leave your car, you won't be back until you've played all 18.
-No benches.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.