Georgetown, IN 
Seviren Lang DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #13 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 495ft.   4 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
By far BEST course in Louisville area

5+    7/1/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: Atvizory2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome! The upkeep on the course is the best ive seen in the Louisville area. The grass is always cut. Rarely, if ever, see trash on this course.

Playing here allows you to use about every shot in your bag. From tight wooded holes to the grip it and rip it long holes, this course has all. I really enjoy courses that have par 4's and 5's and the ones here, in my opinion, would be the signature holes of the course.

This course seems to never be packed. Even on a weekend you rarely have to wait for groups ahead of you. Which seems strange since other courses in Louisville are jammed packed on the weekends and nearly not as impressive.
Cons: There arent many drastic elevation changes, but get the best out of the land.

No major water features on this course. A few creeks come into play but are mostly dried up or standing water. Except for #9 which has running water surrounding the fairway and the basket.

The rough here is ROUGH. Wild blackberry bushes are everywhere and your legs will get tore up by thorns.

Other Thoughts: Not sure about the new layout yet. Old holes 1-9 are now 10-18. Dont like having to walk through #18 to get to #1, but the course does play better with the new layout.

Only thing from not giving this course a 5 in the lack of a pond or lake. Other then that, its a great course you have to play if your in the Louisville area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Seviren is a beauty just across the river from Louisville

5+    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 201  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seviren Lang is a product of multiple revisions, tinkering, and love.

The New Albany/Floyd County parks department has done a fantastic job helping with upkeep around the park and every week when the course gets mowed it rivals the best looking courses anywhere in the country.

The course offers a great shot selection, big open holes, narrow fairways, elevation changes, placement shots, tricky pin placements, and more.

This course is the largest course in the greater Louisville area. One par 5, and five par 4s, and as for the rest of the coures there are no gimme 3's.

Now that the majority of the course layout is set, the course is going through numerous improvements and added amenities. The addition of benches for nearly every hole, landscaping and improved basket placements, erosion control efforts, and improved signage are all ongoing projects.

If you want to work on any aspect of your game this course offers holes for you to do just that. Big bombs, finesse distance, rollers - you got it. Flippy hyzer midranges, touch flicks, overhand shots, its there. Need to just focus on putting uphill, downhill, wind - you will find that this course offers challenges hole after hole.
Cons: Im biased. Adam and I designed and dreamed up this place. We wanted to provide a proving ground for disc golfers, that offered players aspects of the game no other local course could.

I love Seviren. I spend far too much time thinking about what can be done out there next. I am always open to suggestions - let me know - what you love, what you hate.
Other Thoughts: Seviren Lang will be one of the primary courses used for the US Masters this year. I welcome all of you Master players to Southern Indiana and Louisville. I am psyched for the chance to have players from all over the country come and take on this gem of a course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazingly good

5+    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: SMcVicker91
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety here. You'll have to maneuver through tight woods, rip across huge open fairways, and everything in between.

The park itself is very nice and well kept. It flows together very well, so navigating the course is easy except for one instance (more on that later).

The path to the first few holes are neatly lined with logs and sticks, really cool.

Every tee has a sign w/ distance/par/map of hole. Every hole has nice concrete pads.

There are bathrooms and ample parking.

Many memorable holes here. Hole 6 stands out as it's a 1011ft bombfest. There are some potentially annoying trees as you get close to the basket.

11 is a nice long throw over a bridge into a wide open field, though placement is very important for the second shot as the basket lies further down a wooded path.

14 has a dangerous basket placement on a hill. Hit the cage many times only to see it roll away another 20+ ft.

18 is a worthy final hole with the street along the right side of the fairway and dense woods to the left. It then doglegs sharp to the left and the basket is surrounded by woods.
Cons: Transition between Hole 6 and 7 is confusing. Hole 9 is to the left (which is where I instinctively headed), and Hole 7 is further to the right. First time playing I went straight to hole 9, it didn't occur to me that it might not be the right hole. If I had realized it before I threw, it would have been easy to find 7.

And really that's the only thing I can think of. Not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Like with most courses if you misthrow bad it can be the end of your disc. Some parts in the woods are practically unnavigable, but only on really bad screwups for the most part.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This course delivers!

1    3/31/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and easy to get to off of I-64 with basic driving skills, you don't have to be Magellan to find this course. Adequate parking with good restrooms. Nice sign board with course map (wish the map was bigger) and plenty of info. New DGA Mach V baskets.

This course is a nice variety of open/semi-open holes with good terrain change, and other more tightly wooded holes, again with plenty of terrain change. Good mix of shots, with some nicely defined fairways and alternate routes to the pin. Good use of landing areas and tricky greens. Good shots are rewarded with better options for future shots and bad shots are punished with poor options for recovery. Certainly a good design to challenge pro and advanced players.

Nice concrete pro tees, no problems with the footing here. Smaller rubber matts for the am tees. Good signs with complete information and graphics including next tee info. There are lots of "next tee" signs out on the course which helps with navigation. Trash cans and water are avaialble on the course, and some holes have benches. It is obvious that tons of work has gone into this course, it is new and should only get better.
Cons: Not too many really. Because of some of the clearing in the woods, there are lots of short stumps around to nail a wayward toe. But, many of them have been painted.

The tee signs are located at the front of the tees. It's a pet peeve of mine that signs be located at the back of the tees to help give the clearest area of opertions to the player when teeing off. This may or may not bother other players.

To help make this course more friendly to the intermediate level player (newbies will not like it at all) the alt tee pads need to be marked with signs. We played on a beautiful Saturday afternoon and literally had the course to ourselves! There should have been some other players out there. This course, IMHO does need a little work to make it friendlier for am and intermediate players.
Other Thoughts: This course has some serious terrain change and some serious holes. Well designed for pro and advanced level players. It is a solid 4.0 for course topography and design. Still, it is a little rough around the edges and needs some polishing to get into the 4.5+ range. Which I think it can. It will be interesting to watch this course age.

If you are going up or down I-65, stop in for a round. If you are looking for day trip, it's a good match with a second round at nearby Charlie Vettiner in Louisville.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Seviren Heaven

1    1/23/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 714  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee signs have all the necessary information.

2) Big grippy concrete tees are always appreciated. I never felt uneasy planting to throw my drive. Short tees are rubber mats which is a good solution until/if concrete can be installed.

3) Good Mach baskets in good shape

4) OB was used effectively in a few spots to force certain shots or at least punish bad shots.

5) Lots of par 4's on this course which I am a fan of. This sport should be pushed with Par 4's and 5's and not all just the wide open distance. I think longer wooded holes are a valuable hole in course design.

6) 1000' hole gave me a chance to throw a couple rollers. I got one out there 395' which I think is my longest roller ever. While 1000' holes are somewhat boring, throwing the rollers made it bearable. The rolling hills you play down on this hole also made it more fun to throw.

7) Excellent use of the elevation changes on the course. The somewhat open holes also use the pockets of woods and underbrush effectively to force you into the fairways.

8) Next tee arrows help to guide you through the course in a few spots, always a welcome site for a travelling disc golfer, but I did even better, I played with one of the designers.

9) The tight wooded holes are challenging to say the least. A bad kick can really hurt you on a few of the holes.

10) A couple really unique holes out here, I can always appreciate holes that I haven't really seen before.

11) They used the viney overgrown areas well to shape fairways and punish poor throws. This is something I don't see much of in WI. The difference between here and WI is we have Buckthorn and it is super punishing, while the vines and low growing shule here allow outshots.

12) Bridges were pretty well made and in places where they were helpful.

13) Pavilion and playgrounds and ball-fields are all available in this park.

14) Nicely done course board and sign at the first tee. Check it for updates, leagues, etc!
Cons: 1) The turf is thin on many areas on this course . . . it seems to be consistent with many Kentucky courses. There was some construction being done along #18 from the power company so I am sure they will repair the damage, but it was a mess to the left side of the fairway.

2) Not what I would call beginner friendly because of the tightness of many of the holes, but also because of the length on the others.

3) Not enough garbage cans to keep trash from being scattered around . . . although I suppose it will still get scattered around, but there is enough trash to be picked up I really don't want to carry it with me for multiple holes.

4) A few places to sit down but there could be a few more benches.

5) Hole #12 is really wet and flat so it holds water. Someone else complained about this so I am sure it wasn't just the rains that came recently. This could be solved with a french drain (perforated drain tile with gravel to the surface to allow the water to seep in). Then the draintile can be run down the hill away from the fairway and any other fairways it might affect.I know it takes time and/or money but it would be a priority of mine.

6) The walk back out from #2 long basket would really hold up play and expose people to discs from behind.
Other Thoughts: Design and challenge make this course a 4.5 . . . but the maintenance and scenery bring this course down to a 4 (but I actually think it is about a 3.75 in its current condition). If the parks department and the locals can make a few improvements this course will be really solid. I downgraded it because of these issues but I know the course will eventually be improved and it might be able to get up to a 4.5.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Super Solid Course

1    11/23/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro Tees are concrete with descriptive tee signs while Am tees are rubber fly-pads with no signs
Next tee arrows to aide in navigation: they are especially helpful on the one real tricky navigation area (from 15 to 16 & 17 to 18)
Solid mix: The open holes are usually longer, bordered/surrounded by thick, brushy areas, trees and/or OOB (to add some intricacy and force mindful shot selection) while the wooded holes are generally tight/technical/thick off the fairway and of shorter length. Available elevation is incorporated whenever possible and is of the gradual/moderate variety.
The course blends a balance of left/right/straight hole shaping along with what I call 'tension and release' design (shorter/more technical holes followed by longer/more open holes in various combinations ranging from easy to moderate to difficult - oftentimes combining and or inter-changing components of each).
In conjunction with the course traversing throughout the periphery of the entire park, the above mentioned characteristics (mix & balance) allow for a mostly seamless flow as the land is used resourcefully and (re)designed with a specific purpose in mind.
Baskets were placed with consideration (on slopes/small hills with roll-away potential, nestled in the woods after open drives, tree captive, etc). Roll-away was especially evident on 'transition-esque' holes (open holes #5 & #17 immediately come to mind) to add a little risk to otherwise basic holes .
I don't recall ever seeing this course feature before but there were small mats around the base of the basket poles apparently to alleviate undergrowth.
Bridges were in place to aide in crossing muddy & water runoff areas as drainage appears to be a course concern
Well kept park (water available, pavilion, ball fields, playground, etc) with trash cans accessible on some holes
Easy drive-by play as it's conveniently located off I-64 just outside of Louisville.
Cons: Slightly repetitive feel with similar wooded holes (tunnels) and open holes (brush bordered)
While am tees were 'easier' as far as distance was concerned, they didn't appear to be significantly so with various 'looks off the tee' being comparable to the pro tees also
Lack of benches was noticeable
Played in late fall so rough wasn't a factor but can see it being so during months of full growth
Park borders a neighborhood which was esthetically detracting in a minuscule way (think McMansions)
Other Thoughts: This is one solid course where accuracy, a variety of shots, mental toughness & a complete game is required to score well. Many of the holes penalize even the smallest mistakes by adding a stroke or more (some prime punishment examples are: #18's 459ft par 3; #7's 420ft. par 4; #9's 531ft par 4 with a mando and OOB to boot! - & #2's 519ft par 4). There's even a wooded hole (#11) with a fairway so narrow & dense, along with a sharp mid-fairway turn, that even though only 339ft, is designated a par 4.

I will say the lack of any real signature and/or stand out holes that generate the 'wow' factor is evident - even #15's 1011ft par 5 which has impressive length isn't what I'd call memorable or outstanding. However, this certainly does not detract from the course's fun factor and isn't a 'con' but needed mentioning.

Taken as a whole, Seviren Lang DGC is really well done and will present challenges to all skill levels (perhaps being a bit too much for newer or less experienced players). Sound play and shot selection will be rewarded (sometimes this will merely be par) and mistakes will have the player reflecting on what could have been. These course characteristics will keep the players coming back for more & I highly recommend dropping by for a play if nearby.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course in Louisville area

5+    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: Mike B.
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great mix holes, elevation changes, wooded holes, tunnels, and open holes. Well marked tees and baskets, Concrete pro tees, and even a course map by hole one.
Cons: Really the only con about this course is the mosquitoes and ticks, which can be extremely thick, and if you don't layer yourself in bug spray you will be eaten alive. My bag was completely covered in mosquitoes instantly after I sat it on the ground, and if you don't wear bug spray you will find hundreds if not thousands of mosquitoes swarming you making it impossible to play. Hole 5's pro tee is still under water, I understand it is getting fixed though.
Other Thoughts: This course is well maintained, difficult to play, yet still open enough that beginners can get the feel for the sport. Beside the bug problem this is what a disc golf course is suppose to be. I have to say after spending a week playing in Georgia the Louisville Disc Golf club does a great job with the local courses, great signs and tees, great courses and great maintenance. I spent two days on a course in Georgia that had two 18 courses side by side and not a single tee marked, most holes didin't even have a sign directing you to the next tee, thanks LDGC for the amazing job you do with the local courses.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly the best????

5+    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I need to go ahead and get my opinion out of the way.... this is the best course in the Louisville area. Now, let's review :)

The pro pads are concrete with excellent signage. So far this year the grass has stayed mowed and the fairways have stayed clear (not bad for a free course). The parks department has done a great job with the park and it always looks immaculate. There are bridges that pass over the water/muddy areas and anytime work needs to be done to pads/fairways, it gets done quickly. The layout of the course circles the entire park and takes full advantage of everything the property has to offer. There is a great mix of shots and no hole is a gimme. My favorite thing about this course is that all the holes play and feel like golf holes and not just novelty holes.
Cons: There are a few things that I think need to be worked out with this course that really don't effect the overall presentation of the course itself.
First, the Am/Womens pads are still rubber and in my opinion are placed in such a way that they do not help to level out the playing field at all and in some cases they can actually make the hole harder. As many people already know hole 5's pad has sunk into the depths of the creek. I know this will be fixed when it dries out but I still need to mention it. Because of the removal of the brush, hole 12 can be a mud pit after a good rain. Not sure that this can be fixed.
Mosquitoes!!! (and ticks) Bring the OFF!
Once the lake drains this problem will not be so bad.
Other Thoughts: The course is long but time will fly by when you play here. I have had many multiple game days at this course and I can't get enough of it. This course has tons of personality and every hole can make or brake your round. I hope you enjoy this course as much as I do. Good job to the designers/creators.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/3/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2014
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a good combination of distance and short holes. Most of the shorter holes are narrow and require technical acumen for birdie.

*Several holes have alternate pin placements as of 2014.

#1 is the only hole from the original course to survive intact. It is a short, narrow shot that crosses a small ditch. The basket is just right of dead center, but is well-guarded by trees. Downed trees have been lain across the fairway about 25' in front of the basket so that they may better direct rain runoff and reduce erosion, but they will stop a lot of skips up to the basket (although there were roots there that made skips hit-or-miss propositions anyway.
* Alternate pin placement, which will rarely be used, is about 30' past the basket. The shot becomes more of a straight shot than the original basket.

#2 is a short par 4, but very challenging. The drive is a fairly short one that goes only slightly to the right with a landing area. From there, the fairway drops down about 4 feet down a little ditch and turns right. This portion of the fairway is narrow and has numerous trees with which to content. The basket is slightly up a hill to the right.
Your drive can turn the corner right of the landing area and drop down the ditch leaving you about a 100' or so to the basket, but doing so is almost blind luck in regards to what kind of line you may have to get to the basket.

#3 is a short, straight shot that comes out of a tunnel about 10' wide and about 40 or 50' deep. There is a tree about 15 feet in front of the left side of the teepad that gives me fits (I throw lefty forehand.) The fairway then widens to about 40 or 50' wide, with the basket on the right side of the fairway. If you miss the basket to the right you will likely drop down a hill about 8 or 10 feet and may be in trees that make it difficult to have a shot.

#4 is a slightly uphill shot with two routes.The right lane is somewhat longer, but is more open. Go to the left and you have a shorter route; however, if you get too far left you will be in trees and may not have a shot.

#5 is a slightly downhill shot that turns almost 90 degrees around a large pine tree back into a cove cut out of the woods (most of which are pines. Spike hyzers tend to work for bigger arms, but there are trees to contend with if you get too far to the right trying to lay out to make the turn.

#6 is the 1011 ft. monster par 5 (800 from the am pads, with yet a 3rd pad at around 600.) The basket is about even with the teepad as far as elevation, however, you have two rolling hills down the fairway, and the last shot to the basket will likely be uphill. The fairway slopes from right down to the left. The left side of the fairway is thick rough the entire way (and if you get deep enough in it, there is a fence that is OB.) Near the end of the fairway there is a mando on the right that keeps you from throwing a large hyzer that would go over a parking lot. There are two trees in the middle of the fairway about 70 or 80 feet from the basket; the one to the right is a tall, mature sycamore and the one to the left is a smaller, thicker tree. If you hit the smaller tree, your disc will not go through it (and may not even come down--it has the thickness of a weeping cherry, but it's bigger and it's some other kind of tree.)

#7 is a downhill shot. The basket is set in a line of mature pine trees. If you go too far there is OB behind the basket, but that rarely comes into play.
* The alternate placement, which will usually be the one used, is about 20' farther than the original one. Two trees were taken out to make the path to the basket more open, but the likelihood of going OB into the road is much greater.

#8 Goes slightly uphill, then there is a flat area just below a hill that elevates about 15 feet. Most discs will land in this flat area. There is a parking lot right of the basket about 20' that is OB.
*Alternate basket will be most often used. It is right of the existing basket, adding about 10 or 15' and sitting much closer to the parking lot than the original basket.

#9 was originally considered a par 4, but after our pros were getting pretty close to the basket it was reclassified as a 3--it is a difficult 3. The teeshot is downhill through a tunnel. Go too far straight down the hill (or let it turn left once the fairway opens up,) and there is a fence that is OB. The fairway opens up wide at the bottom of the hill and turns right. There is a small stream that runs from about the end of the fence all the way down the left side of the fairway that is OB. The basket is about 20 or 30 feet from the stream tucked under trees.
*The alternate pin makes the hole about 25-30' farther, but not necessarily more difficult. Instead of being tucked under trees near the creek, the basket is in the open field to the right. The road is OB behind the basket if you overshoot too badly.

#10 is the most wide open of the short holes and it has a basket placement near the top of a drop-off to the rear that can take you down about 10-12' in elevation.
* The second basket is right of the original one, taking the rough to the left out of play. It also shortens the hole about 12'.

#11 is a par four that, from the long pad, crosses a ravine with trees. Clear the ravine and try to avoid going too far to the left or you'll have no second shot. You will likely throw a hyzer (for a RHBH) around a large grouping of trees towards a narrowing downhill tunnel. Go too far right before you hyzer and you could be OB.
*The second basket shortens the hole to a 333' par 3 with no dogleg.

#12 is a short downhill tunnel shot with OB to the left (not very deep in the trees,) wrapping around behind the basket.

#13 is another par 4, slightly uphill. Tee shot from the longs must turn right, and there is a mando to the right of the fairway and OB to the left if your drive stays straight. You second shot will have to contend with a grouping of trees in the middle of the fairway. The best route is to the right, but if your drive gets too far to the left there is a small alley.

#14 is a par 3 that is not quite 300', but plays longer than it appears because the basket is set atop the end of an earthen dam, about 10 feet higher in elevation than the teepad. While it's a fairly straight shot, there is OB to the right, a large tree that can affect your second shot if you're too far left and short, and the earthen dam is only about 5 or 6 feet wide at the spot of the basket--it drops off the back side as severely as the front.
* The alternate basket, which is the one played most often, makes this a par-4 dogleg left. Unless you can clear the end of the dam atop which the original pin placement sits, you'll probably want to stay near the center or slightly right of the fairway so that you can have an unobstructed 2nd shot. The road runs along the fairway and comes into play near the basket.

#15 is a tunnel shot down the rest of the earthen dam. While there is trouble to either side, if you get off to the right you can have virtually no shot.
*The new pin is at the end of the tunnel, slightly right but a far more straight-on shot than the original basket.

#16 Par 4. The teeshot will have to go to the left of the area of trees directly in front of you (there is a tunnel to the right but you won't have a 2nd shot at the basket, and the tunnel is very narrow--you'll only use this by accident unless you are one of the 1% who have the ability to throw a massive hyzer up and around the trees,) but there is also rough to the left. Your second shot will go between this group of trees and a smaller grouping of trees that is centered around a tall dead tree to the left. The basket is through a line of pine trees. There is a small gap to walk through them, but the shot you play will most likely be over the trees.

#17 is a slight downhill, fairly narrow, with potential thick rough on either side. The basket sits behind two tall trees in the middle of the fairway and you'll have to go right of them, as there is a lot of growth to their left.

#18 is probably the most difficult of the par 4s. Your drive crosses a road (OB) that also lines the right side of the fairway (and becomes a parking lot, obviously, also OB.) There is a mando to the left. Get too far to the left and near the mando and you may not have a second shot. When you go around the mando, it is virtually a 90 degree left turn into a narrow fairway. The basket is tucked up on a slight hill to the right.
*The 2nd basket is set in the trees behind the mando, essentially making the hole play like a fish hook. It does take about 35' off the distance.
Cons: The course drains well in most places, but there are still some problems. There have been two small footbridges put in to begin and end #13 that allow you to clear the water.

Benches have been added in a few places but it could use more (#12's tee would be a good place to put a bench.)

While there are bathrooms and water available, you won't have access on the back side of the course. You have one water fountain that you can hit between #3 & #4 and another you can hit between #6 & #7 or #8 & #9--it's actually not a fountain, but a spigot. The restrooms are at the beginning and end of #6.

Ticks and mosquitoes are usually thick--bug spray is strongly suggested.


16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Challinging yet fun

5+    4/1/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: TallGrass
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course! You can air it out on several holes and the woods provide a technical balance.
Cons: Some holes are too open which is a liabiltiy for ams (vs. pros).
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun with a variety of rbh, turnover, sidearm, and elevation change shots. This course has it all!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.