Edwards, CA 
Mojave Greens Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 377ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Not Bad For The Desert

5+    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: tsfj
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and foremost this is the only decent course within the high desert. Wrightwood is far and Hart Park is to, so those in the Antelope Valley and base access have a little Discgolf oasis. With that said, the course isn't Delaveaga or any top tier courses, but it serves it's purpose well. It is now an 18 hole course with interesting and creative use of space. Most holes have a decent distance and a couple long holes. There isn't much trees besides the Joshua Trees here and there that create a bit of a challenge. Baskets and chains are Innova Discathers and in perfect condition (not much use). Clearly layed out course with good rubber mats and well maintained. If you need to improve your game in the wind this is the place! Winds easily pick up over 20 mph in the afternoons, but not everyday. Chance of losing a disc is very slim here as its a desert landscape with sage brush.
Cons: The biggest con for most players are the high winds. Especially for newer players that aren't comfortable with no wind. You will play headwinds, tailwinds and every type of crosswind on the open course. Another downside is that it is on base, so accessibility for many discgolfers is limited to knowing someone that can get you on base. Could use more challenges for better players. The current layout is great for beginners and families, but for discgolf junkie it can get mundane quickly since most shot are generally straight or simple hyzer and anhyzers to maneuver to the pin. I do however understand that it is a desert and difficult to accomplish this.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 has a mandatory with hay bales...It isn't very difficult, but just a little funky way to have a mandy. Hole 9s double mandy with the 2 joshua trees always gives me a chuckles since its within a couple feet of the tee pad. Hole 10 is the one hole that i would change. Over 700 feet with a 60 foot wide fairway that acts as a mandy. The only thing I could think of this hole is that it is a showcase hole intended to attract new players as it follows the track other than that it is long and a waste of a hole. My advice for hole 10 is two expand into 2 holes that are more technical. Hole 18 is interesting with a Mandatory that resembles a soccer goal. You must show through it which adds a technical shot, but I would suggest creating the "soccer goal at an angle not straight in front the basket. Overall a decent course for those on base. The two close courses to these are palmdale which is very small and grass valley which is more of a homemade course but much more technical. Oh, and the equipment is brand new and since there are very few players they will keep staying in great shape.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy Desert

2-4    9/22/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well-marked, good signage, new baskets, challenging distances, good rubber pads
Cons: Usually windy. Discs hide in and around the look-a-like desert sage bushes, but unlikely to permanently lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Never saw any other players on the course, so it's wide open.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DGing in the Mojave Desert!

2-4    6/28/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Established in 2010, Mojave Greens is a nine hole course located on Edwards AFB in So Cal. The course is located near the fitness center and track, and plays on a moderately hilly and lightly wooded desert terrain. This rugged desert is scattered with Joshua trees, thorny plants, tumbleweeds, and plenty of wildlife.

The course itself had…

- Fly 18 pads
- Multiple pin placements
- DISCatcher baskets w/ numbers and flags on top
- Colored tee signs showing distance, par, OB's, pin placements, and mando's
- Variety in hole distance (200 - 400+ feet)
- Minor elevation
- Stone tablets on the ground near each basket directing players to the next tee
- Kiosk near hole one w/ course map, disc info, rules, and upcoming events

Best hole/s: Hole #6 - island hole with bales of hay surrounding the pin
Cons:
For being such a new course, I was very impressed with the amount of work that went in to it. However, there were a few things that stood out to me…

- WIND! I have played over 150+ courses in 13 states and 3 countries and this course is by far the windiest place I have EVER played. Minot, ND used to hold the title until I played Mojave Greens! The more over stable the disc the better. Trust me.

- HEAT! This course is the hottest course I have played as well, with temperatures easily reaching 110 during the day which makes this course basically unplayable. The mornings or evenings are the best time to play.

- Thorny plants and snakes. Enough said.

- Losing discs can be an issue as well. When the wind picks up, it is easy for a drive to pick up in the wind and carry off several hundred feet into one of the thousands of plants on the desert floor. Use bright colored discs and if possible, use a spotter.

Worst hole/s: Hole #9 - the double mando off the tee when the pin is in position B (to the right) seems like a wasted hole imo and the walk back to the parking lot is a bit of a walk.
Other Thoughts:
When my brother in law got stationed at Edwards AFB after coming from Minot, ND, I was bummed to see that unlike his last location, Edwards didn't have a DG course. Literally a week later, Mojave Greens was installed. The designers did a fantastic job installing a challenging course in the middle of the Mojave Desert. Considering the area they had to work with on the land surrounding this Air Force Base, they really made the most of it!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.