Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 332ft.   4 / 405ft.   3 / 332ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 A Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Nice Park Course But It Lacks Wow Factor!

1    8/11/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 941  Exp: 38.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seymour Smith Park is a large, sprawling city park. The course is confined to an area which disc golf exclusive, which is good. Parking will not be a problem here. There is disc machine at the start selling disc with prices ranging from $13.95 to $19.95. The sign says all discs are 170 g or more. Alas, the machine was empty. Whoever is in charge of this venture won't make any dinero with an empty vending machine.

The course features two concrete tee pads on each hole. Along with the A and B basket locations, there is probably a nice variety of play for locals who know the course. I was glad to so many reviewers mention that navigation is difficult for traveling players because both myself and the father/son combo behind me were usually going be wrong way. Missing or broke signs on some holes didn't help either.

There is some elevation on this Nebraska course. There are enough trees to provide some shade and also some challenge. Although are usually spread out and fairly easy to throw around.

All this talk about this course being so busy. I played on a weekday afternoon and although the course had players it wasn't anywhere close to busy. I have no doubt that Seymour Smith does get really crowded. But for those of you who have never experienced Morley Field in San Diego, THAT IS, the busiest disc golf course anywhere! Without a doubt!
Cons: Navigation for players unfamiliar with the course is difficult. Tee signs could be updated and improved.

A couple of holes seem long just to long.

No signature hole.

Two holes play close to the busy street.
Other Thoughts: SS is a very solid, city park course. It's popularity speaks for itself. But like so many city park courses, it lacks creativity. The main challenge here seems to be it's length. It plays more difficult than the average recreation level course. I think most players below pro level can get their kicks here. I guess the two keys to the course are: A). Arrive early on the weekends and holidays. And B). Have a local guide you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Course in the Heart of the City

5+    8/28/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 83  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 23.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is quite beautiful and has a far mix of elevation and mature trees lining the fairways, as well as one large dried out creek bed to cross (it isn't really in play, and it is more than a 60 foot drop to the bottom, which you will only hit if you over drive some of the later holes that go toward it). The holes are well designed to take advantage of the trees, and there are some short uphill holes in my midrange distance that I couldn't reach with my driver (one with an exceptionally well guarded green).

The signs and maps are excellent, there are local leagues, and there is even a disc vending machine on the premises.
Cons: Hole 12 is nightmarishly long and poorly designed, coming into close proximity to a previous basket.

It's very busy almost all the time, and it borders on two of the busiest roads in the city, which is bothersome on holes 2, 7, 8, and 9 (the rest of the park offers a buffer for the rest of the holes).
Other Thoughts: It's an enormous multi-use park with a nice bike path wending through it, and there are two paved wheelchair softball diamonds that are worth seeing because this city has produced multiple national champion wheelchair softball teams!

Great place.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2015   8/18/2015
Review By: TomDaJester
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is well laid out and they are improving it continuously.
Cons: Not enough benches
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play on. I've seen it transform from a tree heavy course to one that has a good mix of treed and open fairways.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/7/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: Cartograph
Played: 89  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a very gentle open and arguably easy/moderate course to play. There are two tees for different skill levels and to keep things "Fresh" when you are a local or play it alot.

Signs and paths show you the way if you have never been to the course before albeit some times one can get confused (going from hole 9 to hole 10 you might get confused and go to 13 by accident)

Dual pin placement also helps keep variety up and a decent number of trees keeps you looking for a good path to throw.
Cons: Some tee pads are covered by dirt and when it rains there are hard to tee off from properly but not impossible.

Some of the hole signs are missing or gone and need replacing.

Other Thoughts: Some of the trees and other vegetation have been removed and made some of the holes a bit easier (too easy for my taste)

Also Construction on the creek has finished finally and the bridge put back into place.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Blue Collar Disc Golf in the Heartland

1    1/2/2015   1/28/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 99  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seymour Smith Park mixes things up through its varying tree density and distribution: there are some wide open shots from the tee that tighten up closer to the basket, some tree-dotted fairways that force you to thread your way without an obvious lane, a few open bombers, and some general lines with obstacles to avoid that provide leeway but reward good execution by affording a birdie look. None of it is highly technical, but there are enough varied lines, low ceilings, distance variation, and obstacles to make for worthwhile play. The never-too-thick tree distribution affords a lot of choice in shot selection while maintaining challenge, which is a nice plus. This would make for a solid home course and a good 18 to cut your teeth on.

At their best, baskets are positioned near tree lines or subsumed into small wooded patches, enhancing approaches. Elevation isn't drastic, but there are enough rolling hills and downhill shots to factor in. A few downhill shots on the back 9 contribute nicely. Road OB shows up occasionally, forcing you to consider it without being punishing or courting luck.

Parking is plentiful and bathrooms accessible. The course is conveniently close to downtown Omaha.
Cons: The course is a pretty standard city park course. It plays much more like a set of par 3s than the online listing suggests. A good bit of these are solid holes that make you earn your birdie look, but there are no multistage holes and no emphasis on placement. While some approaches force you to consider accompanying hazards, many baskets are placed in the open, allowing for relatively automatic runs at the basket.

The long tees don't add much - many are just plopped down directly behind the shorts, adding a bit of raw distance and nothing more. Both sets of tees can be hard to find on a given hole, partly because of some missing tee signs. Between the missing tees and some rough-looking baskets, the course shows its age.

Navigation was relatively difficult, even with a map in hand. The layout doubles back on itself at a few points and is far from intuitive. Given how long the course has been installed, I'm guessing this is at least partly a product of multiple redesigns in order to provide the locals with variety, which is understandable, but makes things a bit tougher for outsiders.

The design lacks wow factor and signature holes.
Other Thoughts: Seymour Smith is well worth a stop, providing a solid round for both locals and those passing through.

I can't comment on traffic since I played in January (though for what it's worth, the course was quiet the day I was there).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Busiest Course Ever

1    8/2/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 360  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course did have a high fun factor for me most of the time. I had a lot of birdies and ace runs when I was throwing well and had a hard time getting 3s if I missed a bit off the tee.
+Ace runs
+Baskets are in decent shape.
+Dual concrete tees provide variety and a choice of how much distance and difficulty you want. The tee choices are different enough.
+Multiple pin positions keep it fresh for locals and make travelers confused.
+A good amount of trees to provide challenge while keeping it fun. This course would be challenging enough for better players but not too hard for beginners.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.
Cons: -This is literally the busiest course that I have ever played. I got there before 9 AM on a saturday and the course was already full. I had to wait before hole 1 and on most tees after that. I played through a few slower groups but it was ultimately useless as there was always another slow group ahead of them. There were large groups, groups drinking (early in the morning), people throwing a few drives, etc. No etiquette. Pay to play would probably help this course a lot.
-Lots of wear and tear on an old and very popular course. Erosion near every pin position and tee. It could get very muddy at times.
-Some holes run too close together and that is amplified by the sheer number of people on the course.
-Even with the signage and traffic, the flow is weird. There are often many baskets in sight at once and you might not know where to throw. Watch the group ahead of you to see where they throw to and where they walk after the hole.
Other Thoughts: -If this course was made pay to play, some of the major cons would be erased and there would be a lot more money flowing into this course for improvements. It could get boosted up to a 3.5.
-Some have commented about how traffic has been alleviated here since the addition of Hummel and reopening of Cunningham but it still seemed very busy to me. There is still far too few courses in this large city.
-This course is worth a stop as it is one of the better courses in Omaha and one of few in general. Try to play when it won't be busy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

2-4    3/14/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: gabereif
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Parking is convenient
-Course is free
-Very nice tee pads
-Pin positions change
-Two tees per hole
-Well maintained, clean
-Good use of elevation, considering it's in Nebraska
-Some holes are short and easy and some are long (although none are particularly challenging)
-Several holes have multiple approaches
-There's no rough or water in which to lose a disc
-There's a practice basket
Cons: -Navigation is difficult for first-timers. The tee signs don't have maps.
-It would be nice if a few holes had more obstacles/rough/challenge
-The pars listed on the signs are ridiculously easy for a few holes. I'm not sure what they were thinking on...
-A hole or two play too close to busy streets
-There's nothing particularly special about the course. None of the holes have great aesthetics. None are particularly challenging, except for requiring a little extra distance.
Other Thoughts: I live in Massachusetts and travel to Nebrsaka for work. When I have free time in Omaha, this course is my first spot. I'd be proud to call this course my home course. It's a free course with everything you need for a solid disc golf experience and the two tees on each hole give you extra variety and challenge. That said, there's nothing special about the course. With better signs, I'd happily give a 3.5. And I'd love to spice up a couple holes by having them play over the crevasse.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Seymour Smith DGC review

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my and virtually everyone from Omaha, NE's starting course and most played. Well maintained with trees spaced out for some fun throws and good elevation changes make this course fun. Plus a doubles league that moves the pins to one of their several locations for each hole, every other week during disc season keeps the course interesting and fun to play.
Cons: This is the busiest course I have seen anywhere ever. Most are beginner players that do not always let smaller groups pass and throw before you are done with the hole. For this reason alone I have been seeking courses elsewhere to play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Learner Course

1    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: Birdie30
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Elevation changes. Lots of trees and nice shade for the summer. Very easy course but still can be a little challenging.
Cons: To many people on the weekends. You have to go on a weekday and as early as possible. To many huckers!
Other Thoughts: It could be a little better, it was rather easy. Lots of stuff to do in the park for the whole family. A must play for anyone who has never played, just do go on the weekends.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    12/18/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: lilrif
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open with a little terrain. Nice cement tee pads. multiple placement for baskets and 2 tee placements at every hole
Cons: crowded on weekends with casual players. some let you play through while some just do not understand that they have 8 and there is only two in your group.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and advnaced the like. when the baskets are changed in the summer almost weekly it is like a new course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.