Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish   (Taken 8/2010)
Sign at park entrance. Hole 11 tee in the background.



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Blue Collar Disc Golf in the Heartland

1    1/2/2015   1/28/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 77  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 2.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seymour Smith Park mixes things up through its varying tree density and distribution: there are some wide open shots from the tee that tighten up closer to the basket, some tree-dotted fairways that force you to thread your way without an obvious lane, a few open bombers, and some general lines with obstacles to avoid that provide leeway but reward good execution by affording a birdie look. None of it is highly technical, but there are enough varied lines, low ceilings, distance variation, and obstacles to make for worthwhile play. The never-too-thick tree distribution affords a lot of choice in shot selection while maintaining challenge, which is a nice plus. This would make for a solid home course and a good 18 to cut your teeth on.

At their best, baskets are positioned near tree lines or subsumed into small wooded patches, enhancing approaches. Elevation isn't drastic, but there are enough rolling hills and downhill shots to factor in. A few downhill shots on the back 9 contribute nicely. Road OB shows up occasionally, forcing you to consider it without being punishing or courting luck.

Parking is plentiful and bathrooms accessible. The course is conveniently close to downtown Omaha.
Cons: The course is a pretty standard city park course. It plays much more like a set of par 3s than the online listing suggests. A good bit of these are solid holes that make you earn your birdie look, but there are no multistage holes and no emphasis on placement. While some approaches force you to consider accompanying hazards, many baskets are placed in the open, allowing for relatively automatic runs at the basket.

The long tees don't add much - many are just plopped down directly behind the shorts, adding a bit of raw distance and nothing more. Both sets of tees can be hard to find on a given hole, partly because of some missing tee signs. Between the missing tees and some rough-looking baskets, the course shows its age.

Navigation was relatively difficult, even with a map in hand. The layout doubles back on itself at a few points and is far from intuitive. Given how long the course has been installed, I'm guessing this is at least partly a product of multiple redesigns in order to provide the locals with variety, which is understandable, but makes things a bit tougher for outsiders.

The design lacks wow factor and signature holes.
Other Thoughts: Seymour Smith is well worth a stop, providing a solid round for both locals and those passing through.

I can't comment on traffic since I played in January (though for what it's worth, the course was quiet the day I was there).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Busiest Course Ever

1    8/2/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course did have a high fun factor for me most of the time. I had a lot of birdies and ace runs when I was throwing well and had a hard time getting 3s if I missed a bit off the tee.
+Ace runs
+Baskets are in decent shape.
+Dual concrete tees provide variety and a choice of how much distance and difficulty you want. The tee choices are different enough.
+Multiple pin positions keep it fresh for locals and make travelers confused.
+A good amount of trees to provide challenge while keeping it fun. This course would be challenging enough for better players but not too hard for beginners.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.
Cons: -This is literally the busiest course that I have ever played. I got there before 9 AM on a saturday and the course was already full. I had to wait before hole 1 and on most tees after that. I played through a few slower groups but it was ultimately useless as there was always another slow group ahead of them. There were large groups, groups drinking (early in the morning), people throwing a few drives, etc. No etiquette. Pay to play would probably help this course a lot.
-Lots of wear and tear on an old and very popular course. Erosion near every pin position and tee. It could get very muddy at times.
-Some holes run too close together and that is amplified by the sheer number of people on the course.
-Even with the signage and traffic, the flow is weird. There are often many baskets in sight at once and you might not know where to throw. Watch the group ahead of you to see where they throw to and where they walk after the hole.
Other Thoughts: -If this course was made pay to play, some of the major cons would be erased and there would be a lot more money flowing into this course for improvements. It could get boosted up to a 3.5.
-Some have commented about how traffic has been alleviated here since the addition of Hummel and reopening of Cunningham but it still seemed very busy to me. There is still far too few courses in this large city.
-This course is worth a stop as it is one of the better courses in Omaha and one of few in general. Try to play when it won't be busy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    9/16/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 818  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty multi-use park. There isn't much rough, but the whole park has scattered mature trees to add obstacles. Several of the shots have low ceilings to navigate, adding to the effective length and difficulty. The hills here aren't huge, but they come into play on many of the holes and are used well to add some fun downhills and some tougher uphills.

The dual pads here are nicely designed to offer different looks on some of the holes, not just long and short versions of the same shot. There are also dual pins, adding to the variety and replayability. The tee signs show the length of all 4 tee and pin combination, and both sets of tees have good concrete pads.
Cons: Most of the holes here are pretty straightforward, with little punishment for missing your line and not a whole lot of different challenges. Too many of the shots are straight or only call for a slight turn one direction or the other, you can get by and score well without great line shaping skills. The distances get a bit repetitive, with lots of shorter holes in the same range.

The signs don't indicate the current pin positions, only really an issue on the couple blind shots but it's always nice to know which distance you're throwing without having to guess. The first tee is a ways from the parking lot, it was a little tricky to figure out where to start. The course is showing some wear from heavy traffic, with soil compaction and some erosion evident.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course, without much distance or rough and an intuitive layout. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge, and there isn't a ton of variety to keep better throwers coming back. If you're looking for a quick, fun round this is a great place to stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    12/28/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 429  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a medium sized section of a city park, bordered by roads on three sides. There are a ton of other activities here, like a skate park and a shooting range, but the disc golf is well separated.
- Most of the holes here are littered with mature trees to force different lines from start to finish. There are those that are more or less clear of any brush, and force a hyzer, straight, or anhyzer depending on what seems easiest. Other holes have more dense patches of trees, like the ends of #1 and #17, or the wall of foliage to clear on #3. Decent mix from fairly tight to pretty open.
- One side of the park is one side of a big hill, and a lot of holes play up and down the slope. #11 is a nice, long downhill with OB road on the right, while #10 is a short shot that is on a little hill. Almost every hole on this side of the park, about 12 overall, have some elevation either way. There is also a nasty depression running through the middle of the park that provides some dangerous pin positions.
- Good variety in holes lengths, especially with the two different sets of pads. There are a lot of holes in the 250'-300' range, with some more on the longer side. Bigger arms might need some drivers to hit some of the lower lines under the branches, perhaps.
- Nice pads, for both sets. A lot of different shots on some of the longer ones, not just added length. Good baskets, and good signs even with the copious amounts of graffiti.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are very similar; finding a path through mature trees, and avoiding the trunks and branches. Hitting the line will usually set up for a deuce, and missing the line/hitting a tree might just result in a par. Definitely very forgiving.
- Pretty short course overall; especially with some of the downhill shots taking away even more of the length. Makes things fun, but takes away a lot of the challenge.
Other Thoughts: - Fun factor on this course is up there, it is awesome for a relaxing day of discing. There are enough trees and elevation here to make things interesting, if not exciting. Perfect for beginners, as long as you avoid the nasty ditch in the middle of the park. More experienced players should hope to shoot low here, or try out the long tees for a bit more challenge.
- Very busy course, based on the low stress/high fun design. Lots of partying going on when I was out there, nothing too crazy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Omaha's Finest!

1    5/26/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with plenty of shot variety from the beginning to the end. Shots range from long, short, left and right and some uphill shots. There are multiple lines needed as trees become a big factor on this course and also provide plenty of shade throughout most of the course. This course has some nice multiple concrete tee pads that were just the right size to throw a good drive off the tee and also work on different level of players. The course has some decent tee signs with all the hole information. There is a practice basket with brick markers at the beginning of the course to get warmed up before your round.The course is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trashcans and benches throughout most of the course and there is plenty of parking.
Cons: Navigation could be an issue for first timers that have never played this course. I noticed there is a lot of graffiti on signs, benches and trash cans throughout most of the course. Being there is only three actual courses in Omaha, this course can get crazy crowded on the weekends and through the week also.
Other Thoughts: This is still a fun and challenging course and I recommend it to anyone who is in the Omaha/Council Bluffs area to stop by and throw a few rounds.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to learn the game on

1    9/15/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun little course located in Omaha. This course is probably the best available in the Omaha area, and you can definitely tell that by how many people were playing the course. The course winds through a park with a good mix of open and technical holes, but did lack with the amount of shots required. There was some elevation throughout the course, but mostly flat (obviously). The course had a good design with tee signs that were easy to follow. The course flowed very well with multiple concrete tee pads. The course was also maintained very well by the park district.
Restrooms are available next to the amplitude of parking available at the front of the park. The park setting was pretty and fun to play. There were many locals who were for the most part friendly. Some of the players (probably newcomers) didn't know proper disc golf etiquette.
Cons: This course was a very fun course, but was lacking the difficulty for any player who isn't a beginner. There weren't any epic holes or anything about this course that set it apart. Most of the holes were very short and not much skill needed. This may not be a negative necessarily, but for me it was.
Other Thoughts:
Overall this was a fun course that is probably the best available course in the Omaha area. There is also Western Iowa CC course not to far away which has a higher difficulty level. This course is a very good course if you are just learning the game, because you will have fun and not have to worry about the stresses of shooting too high of a score or losing a disc. This is a very crowed course with many new players so be prepared. A fun course that if you want to play a course in Omaha, this is the one to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Omaha's Everyman course

5+    8/24/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 320  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent intermediate to advanced length course. Almost completely dedicated space for disc golfing. Multiple teepads on every hole, and well as multiple basket locations which change frequently. Good moderate elevation on some of the holes. Basket nickels have been painted bright colors to make them more visible. I've always enjoyed Hole 5 from the long pad here.
Cons: This course is effectively the default favorite Omaha course at this time. (Cunningham is barely playable, and Treasure Cove is out on the east side of Council Bluffs). It is loved by the locals and judging by the erosion around the short tees and short placements almost to death, and could use some wood chips or something to make footing more bearable. Long tees in some cases aren't much more than the shorts, and when they are they sometimes have lines with other hole's long pads in the way. Often crowded on Summer afternoons. Short-to-short layout is pretty underwhelming unless you're up for some deuce or die pitch and putt. Nickels look more visible with the day glo orange paint, but numbers would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I had the good fortune of my most recent trip to SSP the day after school started, so the usual crowds were not present here. I do advise if the weather is prime to get here early. If you're an advanced level player or higher, I would recommend using the long pads, especially if the baskets are set short.

If you're looking for recreational DG in Omaha, this is where you go. More advanced players probably will like Treasure Cove over at Iowa Western CC a lot better. The Omaha club is also currently installing a more challenging and considerably hillier course up at Hummel Park in north Omaha, so great things are on the horizon here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hills in Nebraska? Yeah!

1    3/17/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not extremely wooded, but plenty of trees to force a lot of technical shots, just how I like it!

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in good shape. Some are much larger than others. Mach baskets in very good condition. Facilities are nice in the park, plenty of parking. The map at the kiosk next to the parking lot does help a lot with navigation, although most holes are easily discoverable from the previous pin.

Many of the holes are deuceable, but not so short it is an easy two, which is a nice change of pace.

My memorable holes:
3 - Tee off over a big gully between trees, and have to anny it (RHBH) to approach the right pin position.
4 - Slight uphill through a tight tree tunnel, then opens up to the basket on a knoll, very tough tee shot!
10 - Throw up and over a blind hill, then the basket is tucked in manicured rows of bushes. Even with a good approach, the putt is still pretty tough if you're not right up on the basket.
17 - Really nice pin placement back in a stand of trees far off left, unfortunately I found several trees on the way there.
Cons: Fairly plain shot on many holes. Although it made good use of the rolling terrain, many holes were almost straight on. You had to thread the trees on several holes, but overall there wasn't a lot of really "difficult" disc golfing on this course.

The map at the kiosk may have been good, but when I play courses while traveling I like to have a map ahead of time, which I was unable to find prior to discovering one there. I took a picture and will try to have it added to the course page to help others in the future.

Tee signs were almost non-existent. You might have been able to discern what hole you were throwing, but had to struggle on some holes to make sure what basket you were throwing to, and on a few holes I had to walk the length of the hole to discover the layout and pin position.

When entering the park, there is not too many places to go, but I did spend a little time looking for the parking closest to the course, and luckily there were a few other groups playing at the time which helped me locate it sooner rather than later.

Not a terrible con, but there was a pretty good walk from the parking lot to the first tee, and a slightly less walk from 18 to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If I can get the map uploaded, it will help navigation greatly I believe, although I'm not sure how clearly it will show up. I had fun playing this course, but it did leave me wanting a little more distance and more turns or unique pin placements.

My rating of a 3 is based on the facts that there was some difficulty in locating the course, navigating, and the fact that it is pretty simple and straightforward. If you are in the area, it is definitely worth a stop if you have and extra hour to hour and a half to kill, although I'm also not sure if there are any better courses in Omaha that you should play over this one, as it is the only one I've played in the area so far.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: relatively easy course to follow with fun shots and multiple tee pads on most holes. not very crouded on the day and time that i went.. weekday around 11am.
Cons: there were a couple of long walks between basket and tee but i was easy to see which direction to head
Other Thoughts: if i had to chose between this course and treasure cove, i would play treasure cove

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and good

5+    6/25/2010   11/2/2008
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 128  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pin positions are changed every couple weeks, giving the course a lot more variety than most courses have. Some of the holes (like #4) are completely different depending on the position. The course flows naturally, and you won't need a map to navigate. There are two sets of concrete tees per hole. For some of the B tees, they're just farther back or off to the side (1, 6, 8, 9, 12, 17) and others are entirely different approaches (3, 4, 5 a few others). The elevation changes aren't huge, but somehow the course makes great use of them. Every uphill shot requires you to also throw under a lot of tree branches to get a decent second shot. In general, this is a course that will punish your shot if you throw nose-up (as any good course should). The third hole has a unique tee shot over a grove of trees along a creek that forces you to throw either a hammer or an anhyzer. There are a couple grip-and-rip holes (#7, 10, 11). Despite the challenges, this is a pretty good place for beginners to learn the game. There is no frustrating rough, no itchy undergrowth, and it would be pretty difficult to lose a disc here.
Cons: This is the most crowded course I've played. In the summer, you will find at least one group on every hole unless you're coming on a weekday morning (I went on a Friday at 9am recently, and it was empty). The lack of etiquette can be frustrating. I've had discs land at my feet on a 250-foot hole while I was putting because someone decided to tee off a little early. I guess that is part of the growing pains of disc golf. At least the course is popular.

The pars on the signs are slightly arbitrary and definitely too high (a 275-foot par 4?). Pretty much every hole would be a par 3. The signs are old, graffiti-covered, and not very helpful anyway (it's not clear what the distances refer to since there are at least three pin positions used on many of the holes, and they only list distances to two positions). Due to all the traffic, the grass is worn away around all the tees and basket positions, so the place gets awfully muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Omaha area in the winter (the only one that is consistently playable), and in the fall and early spring it's not as crowded as the summer. If you want to introduce some players to the game and don't mind a leisurely pace, come to Seymour. If you are accustomed to a bit more solitude and peace, this might not be the course for you. Seymour shows what a strong disc golf community has sprung up in Omaha and demonstrates the need for several more courses. Fortunately Cunningham is open again and Hummel Park will hopefully open soon.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.