Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Seymour Smith DGC review

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my and virtually everyone from Omaha, NE's starting course and most played. Well maintained with trees spaced out for some fun throws and good elevation changes make this course fun. Plus a doubles league that moves the pins to one of their several locations for each hole, every other week during disc season keeps the course interesting and fun to play.
Cons: This is the busiest course I have seen anywhere ever. Most are beginner players that do not always let smaller groups pass and throw before you are done with the hole. For this reason alone I have been seeking courses elsewhere to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My stomping grounds

5+    9/9/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: JimmyJazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So many. Multiple spacious, cement teepads on every hole. Baskets with multiple positions that actually make a significant difference in both the layout and the difficulty of the hole, and which are rotated pretty regularly. The course is laid out on a hillside that a about a third of the holes go either up or down. So lot's of elevation changes, but it's the same slope. Hole 11 (I believe) does go down a different and steeper hill, and is wide-open- it's a lot of fun to hurl discs down. Good variety of wooded and open holes, and the usually noob-unfriendly hole 3 has you throwing right over a densely-overgrown creek.
Cons: CROWDED with a lot of casual and serious frolfers who are occasionally prone to getting irritated with each others. No individual hole is hugely memorable.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course without a doubt. All of the pros I listed are totally valid, but what really makes Seymour are the people who play there. It's true that there are lots of people in Omaha who consider it their home-base, so if you like a brisk, quiet, concentrated round you might get irritated by people playing music, or stalling you up with a large, unskilled group. But I hear enough quibbling about the lack of etiquette that I want to point out the overwhelming sense of cmmunity and goodwill that almost everyone brings there. People are just chill and friendly, happy to chat or let you mind your own business if you prefer. If you are playing by yourself, most groups will let you play through. There is a notable lack of litter around. People are know to bring drinkables, but you wouldn't know it from cans and bottles scattered around the course, just by the heaps in every trash can. Here's an example: Earlier this summer, I found a frisbee with a name and number on it that I called to see if the owner was still at the park. He was a few holes behind us, on his second round of the day, and we agreed to wait for him at the picnic table after hole 9. When he arrived, he gratefully took his disc back and recognized the friend I had been throwing with from a wallet that he had found some holes back.My friend had dropped his wallet without even realizing it, and this individual, whose frisbee I had just returned, returned it to him without being prompted. That is the sort of awesomeness that is cultivated at Seymour Smith. Also, the course is legitimately pretty boss by its own merits.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Omaha area

5+    7/15/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: There are 18 holes here, with concrete tee pads. Beginner tee pads are available on most holes. The hole locations frequently changed for variability, pars listed on the signs. It's clean and located in a well kept park area with lots of benches and trash cans available. There are several gas stations near the park to go and buy a drink.
Cons: Very popular course, and usually very busy. A few holes are pretty tough for beginners, but once you get the hang of it, it's doable.
Other Thoughts: It's best to play during non-peak hours because it's so busy. Thursday nights are league nights, so avoid at this time.

  

5+    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: rockpaperbassist
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm from Omaha so naturally I learned how to play the game on this course. It's a great beginner course but still provides a challenge for advanced players. The course has excellent elevation changes and the tree placements make a lot of the tee shots require some precision. The scenery and friendly people make for a very good time.
Cons: Usually pretty crowded so waits can get long from time to time. Some of the holes are over parred, it would be nice if they would have maps of the holes on the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners, Omaha has a very good disc golfing scene and we definitely need a new course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    11/13/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: tuskalosadizzle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was told this was the best course when I was in Nebraska so I went, it was great being able to get my disc golf fix on a nice pretty course. I thought Nebraska was suppose to be all flat, this was on a big hill. Mach 3 are great pins glad the had them.
Cons: Not very challanging, it's kind of a pitch and putt but I loved it anyway.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/1/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of open and wooded holes, short and long, as well as various elevation changes and obstacles (Hole #3) and scenic shots (#11) Two tee pads per hole. I enjoyed this course while I was in town on business!!
Cons: Very Busy - Most of the people that are playing are just screwing around with alot of them being intoxicated in one way or another - I'd hate to see anybody get arrested for all of the paraphernalia that people openly carried around.
Other Thoughts: Both Gas stations on the corner sold Discs and even had a few surprises!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seymour has a nice variety of elevation changes throughout the course, with plenty of different hole types, which utilize all aspects of the game, from long straight drives to hyzer/annhyzer drives, even a hole that requires you to tomahawk over trees in a ravine (hole 3). The second set of tees provide an additional challenge. There are also a number of holes that require you to drive through clusters of trees.
Cons: The only things i have against this course is that it is very crowded, when i played there last, i had to wait for at least two groups to tee off for every hole that i played. Also, the course is rather easy for more advanced players, but good practice and a fun course nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Seymour is one of the better courses that i have played at in Nebraska. I had a great time and never got frustrated with the course. Definitely worth playing a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Beauty

3/19/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An absolutely great course! The fairways are just wide enough for beginners to be in great shape even on an off day. The hole variety from short to long, straights, left & right was awesome. It felt like someone took some care in the layout of this course. What was probably the best aspect of the course was its wooded setting with tree-lined fairways, yet it wasn't too intimidating.
Cons: VERY CROWDED! Had ot wait 20 mintues to play off first tee. Lots of people complaining about it too! But when your from Kansas City and this is how you're ending a business trip with your son, the wait was more than worth it.

Hole #3 bites! Maybe it's just because I have yet to master an up and over shot to clear 30' of trees that are only 50' in front of you. Definately not for the novice player. Saw 4 groups in two rounds searching for discs in the creek.
Other Thoughts: Get another course built!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

7/10/2007   1/11/2008
Review By: theculturedredneck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of Omaha's few courses, but certainly a good one. Moderately long in length, it's characterized by mild but frequent elevation changes, large trees and some tricky pin locations. There is a healthy disc golfing community around this course with weekly mini tournaments in the summer. Map in the parking lot will help newcomers, there are signs/maps on each concrete teepad as well. No jogging paths or intersecting roadways (though roads run parallel to a few holes) to distract or interfere. Decent mix of technique/finesse holes and those that test your max-d!
Cons: There are few real fairways in the traditional sense. Instead, trees are sometimes awkwardly positioned throughout (2 and 3 are examples of what I'm talking about). This gives the feeling that the course was simply plopped down on existing terrain rather than "designed" for specific skills/challenges. That may sound nit-picky (and it is), but it's still worthy of an "Excellent" rating. Traffic on warm days gets ridiculous. Plan on teeing off before 10AM or waiting at each tee later in the day.
Other Thoughts: Omaha has a disappointing number of courses. If you're in the area just play this one, don't bother with Lake Cunningham. If you've still got another round left in you, drive across the river to Council Bluffs IA and play Treasure Cove instead. Don't worry if you hear gunfire... that's just the skeet shooting club on the other side of the ball fields.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.