Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 342ft.   4 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Busiest Course Ever

1    8/2/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course did have a high fun factor for me most of the time. I had a lot of birdies and ace runs when I was throwing well and had a hard time getting 3s if I missed a bit off the tee.
+Ace runs
+Baskets are in decent shape.
+Dual concrete tees provide variety and a choice of how much distance and difficulty you want. The tee choices are different enough.
+Multiple pin positions keep it fresh for locals and make travelers confused.
+A good amount of trees to provide challenge while keeping it fun. This course would be challenging enough for better players but not too hard for beginners.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.
Cons: -This is literally the busiest course that I have ever played. I got there before 9 AM on a saturday and the course was already full. I had to wait before hole 1 and on most tees after that. I played through a few slower groups but it was ultimately useless as there was always another slow group ahead of them. There were large groups, groups drinking (early in the morning), people throwing a few drives, etc. No etiquette. Pay to play would probably help this course a lot.
-Lots of wear and tear on an old and very popular course. Erosion near every pin position and tee. It could get very muddy at times.
-Some holes run too close together and that is amplified by the sheer number of people on the course.
-Even with the signage and traffic, the flow is weird. There are often many baskets in sight at once and you might not know where to throw. Watch the group ahead of you to see where they throw to and where they walk after the hole.
Other Thoughts: -If this course was made pay to play, some of the major cons would be erased and there would be a lot more money flowing into this course for improvements. It could get boosted up to a 3.5.
-Some have commented about how traffic has been alleviated here since the addition of Hummel and reopening of Cunningham but it still seemed very busy to me. There is still far too few courses in this large city.
-This course is worth a stop as it is one of the better courses in Omaha and one of few in general. Try to play when it won't be busy!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

2-4    3/14/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: gabereif
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Parking is convenient
-Course is free
-Very nice tee pads
-Pin positions change
-Two tees per hole
-Well maintained, clean
-Good use of elevation, considering it's in Nebraska
-Some holes are short and easy and some are long (although none are particularly challenging)
-Several holes have multiple approaches
-There's no rough or water in which to lose a disc
-There's a practice basket
Cons: -Navigation is difficult for first-timers. The tee signs don't have maps.
-It would be nice if a few holes had more obstacles/rough/challenge
-The pars listed on the signs are ridiculously easy for a few holes. I'm not sure what they were thinking on...
-A hole or two play too close to busy streets
-There's nothing particularly special about the course. None of the holes have great aesthetics. None are particularly challenging, except for requiring a little extra distance.
Other Thoughts: I live in Massachusetts and travel to Nebrsaka for work. When I have free time in Omaha, this course is my first spot. I'd be proud to call this course my home course. It's a free course with everything you need for a solid disc golf experience and the two tees on each hole give you extra variety and challenge. That said, there's nothing special about the course to make it worthy of an "Excellent /4.0" rating. Nicer signage would be a good first step, followed by spicing up a couple holes by having them play over the crevasse.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Seymour Smith DGC review

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my and virtually everyone from Omaha, NE's starting course and most played. Well maintained with trees spaced out for some fun throws and good elevation changes make this course fun. Plus a doubles league that moves the pins to one of their several locations for each hole, every other week during disc season keeps the course interesting and fun to play.
Cons: This is the busiest course I have seen anywhere ever. Most are beginner players that do not always let smaller groups pass and throw before you are done with the hole. For this reason alone I have been seeking courses elsewhere to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Learner Course

1    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: Birdie30
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Elevation changes. Lots of trees and nice shade for the summer. Very easy course but still can be a little challenging.
Cons: To many people on the weekends. You have to go on a weekday and as early as possible. To many huckers!
Other Thoughts: It could be a little better, it was rather easy. Lots of stuff to do in the park for the whole family. A must play for anyone who has never played, just do go on the weekends.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    12/18/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: lilrif
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open with a little terrain. Nice cement tee pads. multiple placement for baskets and 2 tee placements at every hole
Cons: crowded on weekends with casual players. some let you play through while some just do not understand that they have 8 and there is only two in your group.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and advnaced the like. when the baskets are changed in the summer almost weekly it is like a new course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Everyone can enjoy

5+    10/29/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
Pros: Very well marked and laid out is all through out the park. All levels of experience will enjoy this course. Everyone I talked to on the course was friendly and helped with locating my disk covered in leaves. Good elevation changes but easy to keep track of your disk. Multiple disk basket locations for all holes to keep the course ever changing.
Cons: I have played it once during the weekend and it was crowded. Three times I played it during the week and much better. Still always had other golfers, but not hard to play straight through. Some of the course benches could use repairs and the vandals need to stay away.
Other Thoughts: It is a great time and try to stick to weekdays if you hate crowds.

What is the deal with taking out all the trees, the third hole is ruined now. The course has become just a boring open field with few trees. Then they block the only bridge to cross the stream and make it dangerous to play. I really hope something is fixed soon. Maybe this is a ploy to get people to stop playing the course, if so it is working!

 Nice park course

1    9/16/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty multi-use park. There isn't much rough, but the whole park has scattered mature trees to add obstacles. Several of the shots have low ceilings to navigate, adding to the effective length and difficulty. The hills here aren't huge, but they come into play on many of the holes and are used well to add some fun downhills and some tougher uphills.

The dual pads here are nicely designed to offer different looks on some of the holes, not just long and short versions of the same shot. There are also dual pins, adding to the variety and replayability. The tee signs show the length of all 4 tee and pin combination, and both sets of tees have good concrete pads.
Cons: Most of the holes here are pretty straightforward, with little punishment for missing your line and not a whole lot of different challenges. Too many of the shots are straight or only call for a slight turn one direction or the other, you can get by and score well without great line shaping skills. The distances get a bit repetitive, with lots of shorter holes in the same range.

The signs don't indicate the current pin positions, only really an issue on the couple blind shots but it's always nice to know which distance you're throwing without having to guess. The first tee is a ways from the parking lot, it was a little tricky to figure out where to start. The course is showing some wear from heavy traffic, with soil compaction and some erosion evident.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course, without much distance or rough and an intuitive layout. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge, and there isn't a ton of variety to keep better throwers coming back. If you're looking for a quick, fun round this is a great place to stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course

1    5/14/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of challenging shots that take lots of creativity to deal with. WIthin the first 4 holes I tossed discs RHBH RHFH Thumber and a huge RHBH Anhyser. The course has multiple tee boxes that give a huge variety and really change the game.
Cons: Could lose a lot of discs if not careful with some of your shots. Could be waiting a while to tee off because of the high demand to play this course
Other Thoughts: I came up to omaha from dallas the other weekend and played this course in my short amount of free time. It was well worth it and I just want to go back since I have gotten back to texas. Everyone on the course was very nice in directing me to the next hole/pin. Highly recommend

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    12/28/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a medium sized section of a city park, bordered by roads on three sides. There are a ton of other activities here, like a skate park and a shooting range, but the disc golf is well separated.
- Most of the holes here are littered with mature trees to force different lines from start to finish. There are those that are more or less clear of any brush, and force a hyzer, straight, or anhyzer depending on what seems easiest. Other holes have more dense patches of trees, like the ends of #1 and #17, or the wall of foliage to clear on #3. Decent mix from fairly tight to pretty open.
- One side of the park is one side of a big hill, and a lot of holes play up and down the slope. #11 is a nice, long downhill with OB road on the right, while #10 is a short shot that is on a little hill. Almost every hole on this side of the park, about 12 overall, have some elevation either way. There is also a nasty depression running through the middle of the park that provides some dangerous pin positions.
- Good variety in holes lengths, especially with the two different sets of pads. There are a lot of holes in the 250'-300' range, with some more on the longer side. Bigger arms might need some drivers to hit some of the lower lines under the branches, perhaps.
- Nice pads, for both sets. A lot of different shots on some of the longer ones, not just added length. Good baskets, and good signs even with the copious amounts of graffiti.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are very similar; finding a path through mature trees, and avoiding the trunks and branches. Hitting the line will usually set up for a deuce, and missing the line/hitting a tree might just result in a par. Definitely very forgiving.
- Pretty short course overall; especially with some of the downhill shots taking away even more of the length. Makes things fun, but takes away a lot of the challenge.
Other Thoughts: - Fun factor on this course is up there, it is awesome for a relaxing day of discing. There are enough trees and elevation here to make things interesting, if not exciting. Perfect for beginners, as long as you avoid the nasty ditch in the middle of the park. More experienced players should hope to shoot low here, or try out the long tees for a bit more challenge.
- Very busy course, based on the low stress/high fun design. Lots of partying going on when I was out there, nothing too crazy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My stomping grounds

5+    9/9/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: JimmyJazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So many. Multiple spacious, cement teepads on every hole. Baskets with multiple positions that actually make a significant difference in both the layout and the difficulty of the hole, and which are rotated pretty regularly. The course is laid out on a hillside that a about a third of the holes go either up or down. So lot's of elevation changes, but it's the same slope. Hole 11 (I believe) does go down a different and steeper hill, and is wide-open- it's a lot of fun to hurl discs down. Good variety of wooded and open holes, and the usually noob-unfriendly hole 3 has you throwing right over a densely-overgrown creek.
Cons: CROWDED with a lot of casual and serious frolfers who are occasionally prone to getting irritated with each others. No individual hole is hugely memorable.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course without a doubt. All of the pros I listed are totally valid, but what really makes Seymour are the people who play there. It's true that there are lots of people in Omaha who consider it their home-base, so if you like a brisk, quiet, concentrated round you might get irritated by people playing music, or stalling you up with a large, unskilled group. But I hear enough quibbling about the lack of etiquette that I want to point out the overwhelming sense of cmmunity and goodwill that almost everyone brings there. People are just chill and friendly, happy to chat or let you mind your own business if you prefer. If you are playing by yourself, most groups will let you play through. There is a notable lack of litter around. People are know to bring drinkables, but you wouldn't know it from cans and bottles scattered around the course, just by the heaps in every trash can. Here's an example: Earlier this summer, I found a frisbee with a name and number on it that I called to see if the owner was still at the park. He was a few holes behind us, on his second round of the day, and we agreed to wait for him at the picnic table after hole 9. When he arrived, he gratefully took his disc back and recognized the friend I had been throwing with from a wallet that he had found some holes back.My friend had dropped his wallet without even realizing it, and this individual, whose frisbee I had just returned, returned it to him without being prompted. That is the sort of awesomeness that is cultivated at Seymour Smith. Also, the course is legitimately pretty boss by its own merits.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.