Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 216ft.   4 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tees



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

5+    5/7/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: Cartograph
Played: 63  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a very gentle open and arguably easy/moderate course to play. There are two tees for different skill levels and to keep things "Fresh" when you are a local or play it alot.

Signs and paths show you the way if you have never been to the course before albeit some times one can get confused (going from hole 9 to hole 10 you might get confused and go to 13 by accident)

Dual pin placement also helps keep variety up and a decent number of trees keeps you looking for a good path to throw.
Cons: Some tee pads are covered by dirt and when it rains there are hard to tee off from properly but not impossible.

Some of the hole signs are missing or gone and need replacing.

Other Thoughts: Some of the trees and other vegetation have been removed and made some of the holes a bit easier (too easy for my taste)

Also Construction on the creek has finished finally and the bridge put back into place.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blue Collar Disc Golf in the Heartland

1    1/2/2015   1/28/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 85  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seymour Smith Park mixes things up through its varying tree density and distribution: there are some wide open shots from the tee that tighten up closer to the basket, some tree-dotted fairways that force you to thread your way without an obvious lane, a few open bombers, and some general lines with obstacles to avoid that provide leeway but reward good execution by affording a birdie look. None of it is highly technical, but there are enough varied lines, low ceilings, distance variation, and obstacles to make for worthwhile play. The never-too-thick tree distribution affords a lot of choice in shot selection while maintaining challenge, which is a nice plus. This would make for a solid home course and a good 18 to cut your teeth on.

At their best, baskets are positioned near tree lines or subsumed into small wooded patches, enhancing approaches. Elevation isn't drastic, but there are enough rolling hills and downhill shots to factor in. A few downhill shots on the back 9 contribute nicely. Road OB shows up occasionally, forcing you to consider it without being punishing or courting luck.

Parking is plentiful and bathrooms accessible. The course is conveniently close to downtown Omaha.
Cons: The course is a pretty standard city park course. It plays much more like a set of par 3s than the online listing suggests. A good bit of these are solid holes that make you earn your birdie look, but there are no multistage holes and no emphasis on placement. While some approaches force you to consider accompanying hazards, many baskets are placed in the open, allowing for relatively automatic runs at the basket.

The long tees don't add much - many are just plopped down directly behind the shorts, adding a bit of raw distance and nothing more. Both sets of tees can be hard to find on a given hole, partly because of some missing tee signs. Between the missing tees and some rough-looking baskets, the course shows its age.

Navigation was relatively difficult, even with a map in hand. The layout doubles back on itself at a few points and is far from intuitive. Given how long the course has been installed, I'm guessing this is at least partly a product of multiple redesigns in order to provide the locals with variety, which is understandable, but makes things a bit tougher for outsiders.

The design lacks wow factor and signature holes.
Other Thoughts: Seymour Smith is well worth a stop, providing a solid round for both locals and those passing through.

I can't comment on traffic since I played in January (though for what it's worth, the course was quiet the day I was there).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Busiest Course Ever

1    8/2/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course did have a high fun factor for me most of the time. I had a lot of birdies and ace runs when I was throwing well and had a hard time getting 3s if I missed a bit off the tee.
+Ace runs
+Baskets are in decent shape.
+Dual concrete tees provide variety and a choice of how much distance and difficulty you want. The tee choices are different enough.
+Multiple pin positions keep it fresh for locals and make travelers confused.
+A good amount of trees to provide challenge while keeping it fun. This course would be challenging enough for better players but not too hard for beginners.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.
Cons: -This is literally the busiest course that I have ever played. I got there before 9 AM on a saturday and the course was already full. I had to wait before hole 1 and on most tees after that. I played through a few slower groups but it was ultimately useless as there was always another slow group ahead of them. There were large groups, groups drinking (early in the morning), people throwing a few drives, etc. No etiquette. Pay to play would probably help this course a lot.
-Lots of wear and tear on an old and very popular course. Erosion near every pin position and tee. It could get very muddy at times.
-Some holes run too close together and that is amplified by the sheer number of people on the course.
-Even with the signage and traffic, the flow is weird. There are often many baskets in sight at once and you might not know where to throw. Watch the group ahead of you to see where they throw to and where they walk after the hole.
Other Thoughts: -If this course was made pay to play, some of the major cons would be erased and there would be a lot more money flowing into this course for improvements. It could get boosted up to a 3.5.
-Some have commented about how traffic has been alleviated here since the addition of Hummel and reopening of Cunningham but it still seemed very busy to me. There is still far too few courses in this large city.
-This course is worth a stop as it is one of the better courses in Omaha and one of few in general. Try to play when it won't be busy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

2-4    3/14/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: gabereif
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Parking is convenient
-Course is free
-Very nice tee pads
-Pin positions change
-Two tees per hole
-Well maintained, clean
-Good use of elevation, considering it's in Nebraska
-Some holes are short and easy and some are long (although none are particularly challenging)
-Several holes have multiple approaches
-There's no rough or water in which to lose a disc
-There's a practice basket
Cons: -Navigation is difficult for first-timers. The tee signs don't have maps.
-It would be nice if a few holes had more obstacles/rough/challenge
-The pars listed on the signs are ridiculously easy for a few holes. I'm not sure what they were thinking on...
-A hole or two play too close to busy streets
-There's nothing particularly special about the course. None of the holes have great aesthetics. None are particularly challenging, except for requiring a little extra distance.
Other Thoughts: I live in Massachusetts and travel to Nebrsaka for work. When I have free time in Omaha, this course is my first spot. I'd be proud to call this course my home course. It's a free course with everything you need for a solid disc golf experience and the two tees on each hole give you extra variety and challenge. That said, there's nothing special about the course. With better signs, I'd happily give a 3.5. And I'd love to spice up a couple holes by having them play over the crevasse.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Seymour Smith DGC review

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is my and virtually everyone from Omaha, NE's starting course and most played. Well maintained with trees spaced out for some fun throws and good elevation changes make this course fun. Plus a doubles league that moves the pins to one of their several locations for each hole, every other week during disc season keeps the course interesting and fun to play.
Cons: This is the busiest course I have seen anywhere ever. Most are beginner players that do not always let smaller groups pass and throw before you are done with the hole. For this reason alone I have been seeking courses elsewhere to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Learner Course

1    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: Birdie30
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads. Elevation changes. Lots of trees and nice shade for the summer. Very easy course but still can be a little challenging.
Cons: To many people on the weekends. You have to go on a weekday and as early as possible. To many huckers!
Other Thoughts: It could be a little better, it was rather easy. Lots of stuff to do in the park for the whole family. A must play for anyone who has never played, just do go on the weekends.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    12/18/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: lilrif
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open with a little terrain. Nice cement tee pads. multiple placement for baskets and 2 tee placements at every hole
Cons: crowded on weekends with casual players. some let you play through while some just do not understand that they have 8 and there is only two in your group.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and advnaced the like. when the baskets are changed in the summer almost weekly it is like a new course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Everyone can enjoy

5+    10/29/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
Pros: Very well marked and laid out is all through out the park. All levels of experience will enjoy this course. Everyone I talked to on the course was friendly and helped with locating my disk covered in leaves. Good elevation changes but easy to keep track of your disk. Multiple disk basket locations for all holes to keep the course ever changing.
Cons: I have played it once during the weekend and it was crowded. Three times I played it during the week and much better. Still always had other golfers, but not hard to play straight through. Some of the course benches could use repairs and the vandals need to stay away.
Other Thoughts: It is a great time and try to stick to weekdays if you hate crowds.

What is the deal with taking out all the trees, the third hole is ruined now. The course has become just a boring open field with few trees. Then they block the only bridge to cross the stream and make it dangerous to play. I really hope something is fixed soon. Maybe this is a ploy to get people to stop playing the course, if so it is working!

 Nice park course

1    9/16/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty multi-use park. There isn't much rough, but the whole park has scattered mature trees to add obstacles. Several of the shots have low ceilings to navigate, adding to the effective length and difficulty. The hills here aren't huge, but they come into play on many of the holes and are used well to add some fun downhills and some tougher uphills.

The dual pads here are nicely designed to offer different looks on some of the holes, not just long and short versions of the same shot. There are also dual pins, adding to the variety and replayability. The tee signs show the length of all 4 tee and pin combination, and both sets of tees have good concrete pads.
Cons: Most of the holes here are pretty straightforward, with little punishment for missing your line and not a whole lot of different challenges. Too many of the shots are straight or only call for a slight turn one direction or the other, you can get by and score well without great line shaping skills. The distances get a bit repetitive, with lots of shorter holes in the same range.

The signs don't indicate the current pin positions, only really an issue on the couple blind shots but it's always nice to know which distance you're throwing without having to guess. The first tee is a ways from the parking lot, it was a little tricky to figure out where to start. The course is showing some wear from heavy traffic, with soil compaction and some erosion evident.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course, without much distance or rough and an intuitive layout. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge, and there isn't a ton of variety to keep better throwers coming back. If you're looking for a quick, fun round this is a great place to stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course

1    5/14/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of challenging shots that take lots of creativity to deal with. WIthin the first 4 holes I tossed discs RHBH RHFH Thumber and a huge RHBH Anhyser. The course has multiple tee boxes that give a huge variety and really change the game.
Cons: Could lose a lot of discs if not careful with some of your shots. Could be waiting a while to tee off because of the high demand to play this course
Other Thoughts: I came up to omaha from dallas the other weekend and played this course in my short amount of free time. It was well worth it and I just want to go back since I have gotten back to texas. Everyone on the course was very nice in directing me to the next hole/pin. Highly recommend

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.