Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
5 / 309ft.   5 / 421ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Brews & Disc

5+    6/20/2013   7/6/2011
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One thing I really like about this course is the proximity of this course to my apartment. Its a full 18 hole course. I also enjoy the environment. Drinking brews tossing some disc, it's a lot of fun and a great way to enjoy the day. I do like how they redid the parking lot. It used to be potholes galore and now its flat and level. Plenty of Trash cans, and an adequate amount of benches for breaks.
Cons: Sometimes there are too big of groups and there is a waiting period of about 10-15 min at the most. Its not too bad. Sometimes there are groups of elderly with their grandchildren, and they only use regular frisbees. It is rather annoying and frustrating to get stuck behind them
Other Thoughts: *UPDATE 04/11/2012
Hole in One on Hole #13
Skip-in, Side-arm
4 Witnesses

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Omaha's Finest!

1    5/26/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with plenty of shot variety from the beginning to the end. Shots range from long, short, left and right and some uphill shots. There are multiple lines needed as trees become a big factor on this course and also provide plenty of shade throughout most of the course. This course has some nice multiple concrete tee pads that were just the right size to throw a good drive off the tee and also work on different level of players. The course has some decent tee signs with all the hole information. There is a practice basket with brick markers at the beginning of the course to get warmed up before your round.The course is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trashcans and benches throughout most of the course and there is plenty of parking.
Cons: Navigation could be an issue for first timers that have never played this course. I noticed there is a lot of graffiti on signs, benches and trash cans throughout most of the course. Being there is only three actual courses in Omaha, this course can get crazy crowded on the weekends and through the week also.
Other Thoughts: This is still a fun and challenging course and I recommend it to anyone who is in the Omaha/Council Bluffs area to stop by and throw a few rounds.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to learn the game on

1    9/15/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun little course located in Omaha. This course is probably the best available in the Omaha area, and you can definitely tell that by how many people were playing the course. The course winds through a park with a good mix of open and technical holes, but did lack with the amount of shots required. There was some elevation throughout the course, but mostly flat (obviously). The course had a good design with tee signs that were easy to follow. The course flowed very well with multiple concrete tee pads. The course was also maintained very well by the park district.
Restrooms are available next to the amplitude of parking available at the front of the park. The park setting was pretty and fun to play. There were many locals who were for the most part friendly. Some of the players (probably newcomers) didn't know proper disc golf etiquette.
Cons: This course was a very fun course, but was lacking the difficulty for any player who isn't a beginner. There weren't any epic holes or anything about this course that set it apart. Most of the holes were very short and not much skill needed. This may not be a negative necessarily, but for me it was.
Other Thoughts:
Overall this was a fun course that is probably the best available course in the Omaha area. There is also Western Iowa CC course not to far away which has a higher difficulty level. This course is a very good course if you are just learning the game, because you will have fun and not have to worry about the stresses of shooting too high of a score or losing a disc. This is a very crowed course with many new players so be prepared. A fun course that if you want to play a course in Omaha, this is the one to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Omaha's Everyman course

5+    8/24/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent intermediate to advanced length course. Almost completely dedicated space for disc golfing. Multiple teepads on every hole, and well as multiple basket locations which change frequently. Good moderate elevation on some of the holes. Basket nickels have been painted bright colors to make them more visible. I've always enjoyed Hole 5 from the long pad here.
Cons: This course is effectively the default favorite Omaha course at this time. (Cunningham is barely playable, and Treasure Cove is out on the east side of Council Bluffs). It is loved by the locals and judging by the erosion around the short tees and short placements almost to death, and could use some wood chips or something to make footing more bearable. Long tees in some cases aren't much more than the shorts, and when they are they sometimes have lines with other hole's long pads in the way. Often crowded on Summer afternoons. Short-to-short layout is pretty underwhelming unless you're up for some deuce or die pitch and putt. Nickels look more visible with the day glo orange paint, but numbers would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I had the good fortune of my most recent trip to SSP the day after school started, so the usual crowds were not present here. I do advise if the weather is prime to get here early. If you're an advanced level player or higher, I would recommend using the long pads, especially if the baskets are set short.

If you're looking for recreational DG in Omaha, this is where you go. More advanced players probably will like Treasure Cove over at Iowa Western CC a lot better. The Omaha club is also currently installing a more challenging and considerably hillier course up at Hummel Park in north Omaha, so great things are on the horizon here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Omaha area

5+    7/15/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: There are 18 holes here, with concrete tee pads. Beginner tee pads are available on most holes. The hole locations frequently changed for variability, pars listed on the signs. It's clean and located in a well kept park area with lots of benches and trash cans available. There are several gas stations near the park to go and buy a drink.
Cons: Very popular course, and usually very busy. A few holes are pretty tough for beginners, but once you get the hang of it, it's doable.
Other Thoughts: It's best to play during non-peak hours because it's so busy. Thursday nights are league nights, so avoid at this time.

 First Course

1    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is phenomenal. Not only are the local players courteous and considerate, but the holes are challenging and varied. The holes go from heavy with trees to open and long. Skill shots, power shots are all needed. There is even a a creek which makes for a tricky OB depending on the hole location. There are several different hole locations and an alternate tee for every hole which makes it feel like a different course every time there is a change. The best hole is #3. It is the only permanent blind hole, the other one can be #11 depending on the hole location.
Cons: It is in Omaha, and there is standing water, so the bugs can get bit out of hand. Graffiti also marks the course. Trash cans seem to be rarely changed and often reek.
Other Thoughts: This was the course I first played in high school as part of outdoor education. So, I tried to take that bias out of my rating.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Busy in Omaha

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 145  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes easy to find. Trees in fairway make the course a bit more challenging. Baskets in good shape.
Cons: Tee signs were in horrible condition. Some were missing, some had several different pars written on them. Some holes seemed overrated as far as par goes.
Other Thoughts: Visiting from Camdenton, Mo. I would be happy to have this course as my local course, but would definately suggest that the tee signs be updated and the pars re evaluated. We played the course on a very warm Sunday afternoon and the course was full of players. We waited only two to three minutes per hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: rockpaperbassist
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm from Omaha so naturally I learned how to play the game on this course. It's a great beginner course but still provides a challenge for advanced players. The course has excellent elevation changes and the tree placements make a lot of the tee shots require some precision. The scenery and friendly people make for a very good time.
Cons: Usually pretty crowded so waits can get long from time to time. Some of the holes are over parred, it would be nice if they would have maps of the holes on the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners, Omaha has a very good disc golfing scene and we definitely need a new course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Seymour Smith

1    4/10/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun Layout... Seymour offers a pretty fun round of golf. The course winds its way around a tree-filled park with some minor elevation. Pretty standard park golf, many holes are similar with some sort of slight elevation change and trees to contend with. A small creek comes into play on a handful of holes, but nothing too major. It is easy to navigate without a map.

Alternate Tees... One thing I really liked about Seymour is the fact that it has an alternate tee for every hole. The course is fun but not all THAT challenging to an experienced golfer. So beginning players on up to intermediate will enjoy the shorter pads, while advanced and pro golfers will have more fun on the longer pads. The longer pads to add a significant challenge and alters the approach you take to several of the holes.

Park Atmosphere... Seymour Smith is a nice city park. There is some very nice playground equipment, a nice softball facility, a large skate park and a shooting range. Plenty of parking is available. It is also located at a big intersection, so it isn't too hard to find. There are restrooms at the park and food/beverage close by.
Cons: Playing Atmosphere... This is an extremely busy course. Up until very recently it was the only legit full length disc golf course in Omaha, a metro area with over 835,000 people. While there are now more options in the area, they are still somewhat unknown outside the hardcore golfers. The vast majority of people playing here will be of the rec-1-2 disc-200 ft drive variety. There is often a line to start at the first tee. I usually skip ahead a few holes and slip in front of a slow group. Speaking of groups, I've seen huge groups of 10-20 people playing here before... can take a long time to get a round in. Lots of smokin' and drinkin' going on. I can't say I've seen anywhere else with as many people carrying/pulling coolers full of beer as they play. If possible, play the course during a week-day in the morning for a quiet round. afternoons/evenings and weekends it is crazy.

Vandalism... This course isn't in a bad part of town, but there is a lot of vandalism present. Several tee pads and signs have graffiti on them, and beer cans/bottles can be found easily. The local club has had problems with basket vandalizing as well in this park.

Wear & Tear... this is an older course and as busy as it is, the course is wearing down. some fairways have little grass left from all the people walking down them, and grass is worn away from several of the basket locations. This causes it to get muddy if it rains or snows. Tee signs and pars are outdated, and some pads and baskets are getting worn out.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a trip to play, just plan on a long round if it is a nice day or the weekend. If it is crazy busy when you pull into the parking lot, consider hitting up Aspen Park, a small 9 hole course just down the road that is almost always quiet. Seymour is a fun course despite waiting at tees and a worn-out feel, a solid course for all skill-levels.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hills in Nebraska? Yeah!

1    3/17/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not extremely wooded, but plenty of trees to force a lot of technical shots, just how I like it!

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in good shape. Some are much larger than others. Mach baskets in very good condition. Facilities are nice in the park, plenty of parking. The map at the kiosk next to the parking lot does help a lot with navigation, although most holes are easily discoverable from the previous pin.

Many of the holes are deuceable, but not so short it is an easy two, which is a nice change of pace.

My memorable holes:
3 - Tee off over a big gully between trees, and have to anny it (RHBH) to approach the right pin position.
4 - Slight uphill through a tight tree tunnel, then opens up to the basket on a knoll, very tough tee shot!
10 - Throw up and over a blind hill, then the basket is tucked in manicured rows of bushes. Even with a good approach, the putt is still pretty tough if you're not right up on the basket.
17 - Really nice pin placement back in a stand of trees far off left, unfortunately I found several trees on the way there.
Cons: Fairly plain shot on many holes. Although it made good use of the rolling terrain, many holes were almost straight on. You had to thread the trees on several holes, but overall there wasn't a lot of really "difficult" disc golfing on this course.

The map at the kiosk may have been good, but when I play courses while traveling I like to have a map ahead of time, which I was unable to find prior to discovering one there. I took a picture and will try to have it added to the course page to help others in the future.

Tee signs were almost non-existent. You might have been able to discern what hole you were throwing, but had to struggle on some holes to make sure what basket you were throwing to, and on a few holes I had to walk the length of the hole to discover the layout and pin position.

When entering the park, there is not too many places to go, but I did spend a little time looking for the parking closest to the course, and luckily there were a few other groups playing at the time which helped me locate it sooner rather than later.

Not a terrible con, but there was a pretty good walk from the parking lot to the first tee, and a slightly less walk from 18 to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If I can get the map uploaded, it will help navigation greatly I believe, although I'm not sure how clearly it will show up. I had fun playing this course, but it did leave me wanting a little more distance and more turns or unique pin placements.

My rating of a 3 is based on the facts that there was some difficulty in locating the course, navigating, and the fact that it is pretty simple and straightforward. If you are in the area, it is definitely worth a stop if you have and extra hour to hour and a half to kill, although I'm also not sure if there are any better courses in Omaha that you should play over this one, as it is the only one I've played in the area so far.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.