Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #16 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 299ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Quality Course

1    5/16/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Crusher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of trees and open space with some elevation changes. Overall a nice course and I would play it if I were in the area again (but would not choose to play Sat afternoon to avoid the rush)
Cons: Way too crowded. No maps, had to ask for help a couple times, and let other groups play through while figuring out where to throw next. The dual pads/baskets is a good idea, but made it quite confusing for a first-timer. Could be better marked. Pars are inflated, I agree with others that most, if not all, are par 3. Sounds like I have a lot of "cons", but really, it is a fine course; could just use a couple simple tweaks.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I tried to fit this into an already busy day so did not play all the holes, but found hole #3 nice. She didn't want to risk it, but I liked having to tomahawk a hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open and good

5+    6/25/2010   11/2/2008
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 139  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pin positions are changed every couple weeks, giving the course a lot more variety than most courses have. Some of the holes (like #4) are completely different depending on the position. The course flows naturally, and you won't need a map to navigate. There are two sets of concrete tees per hole. For some of the B tees, they're just farther back or off to the side (1, 6, 8, 9, 12, 17) and others are entirely different approaches (3, 4, 5 a few others). The elevation changes aren't huge, but somehow the course makes great use of them. Every uphill shot requires you to also throw under a lot of tree branches to get a decent second shot. In general, this is a course that will punish your shot if you throw nose-up (as any good course should). The third hole has a unique tee shot over a grove of trees along a creek that forces you to throw either a hammer or an anhyzer. There are a couple grip-and-rip holes (#7, 10, 11). Despite the challenges, this is a pretty good place for beginners to learn the game. There is no frustrating rough, no itchy undergrowth, and it would be pretty difficult to lose a disc here.
Cons: This is the most crowded course I've played. In the summer, you will find at least one group on every hole unless you're coming on a weekday morning (I went on a Friday at 9am recently, and it was empty). The lack of etiquette can be frustrating. I've had discs land at my feet on a 250-foot hole while I was putting because someone decided to tee off a little early. I guess that is part of the growing pains of disc golf. At least the course is popular.

The pars on the signs are slightly arbitrary and definitely too high (a 275-foot par 4?). Pretty much every hole would be a par 3. The signs are old, graffiti-covered, and not very helpful anyway (it's not clear what the distances refer to since there are at least three pin positions used on many of the holes, and they only list distances to two positions). Due to all the traffic, the grass is worn away around all the tees and basket positions, so the place gets awfully muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Omaha area in the winter (the only one that is consistently playable), and in the fall and early spring it's not as crowded as the summer. If you want to introduce some players to the game and don't mind a leisurely pace, come to Seymour. If you are accustomed to a bit more solitude and peace, this might not be the course for you. Seymour shows what a strong disc golf community has sprung up in Omaha and demonstrates the need for several more courses. Fortunately Cunningham is open again and Hummel Park will hopefully open soon.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Keep your friends close, but keep your holes closer.

1    9/28/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 218  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is set in a nice park with lots of ace runs. They seem to have par 4's and a par 5, but all can be 3's. The 3rd hole is a blind shot over a laurel, which was kind of fun. There were some slight elevation changes going on throughout the 18 holes. The trees that are there seem to be placed well. The signs had all the possible yardages, but no maps. You can see just about every pin from the tee and most of the tees from the previous pin. I only had to ask for help a couple of times. All the tees had nice length cement pads. The do have a message board and had posted a night-glow tourney there. I do doubt you could lose a disc on this course.
Cons: This is not a challenging course and has vedry few if any technical throws needed. 2 or 3 discs are all you really need to play this course. Many of the holes are right next to each other, going back and forth, up and down the hills. It is very crowded and on Sunday night just before dark, I waited on many holes. Most people behind me probably did not even finish. There were only a few trashcans, and no sign of a restroom.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was just OK with me. I would not say this was a fun course, but it was worth playing. It is a great beginner course without a doubt. The people were friendly and seem to really like their park. There was great parking too, I should add.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, some interesting shots such as number 3 over the trees in the ravine.
Cons: Par ratings are too high. Rarely over 400 feet, yet some are "Par 5" on the sign.
Other Thoughts: The multiple concrete tees were a little confusing at first, just look for the ones with the signs next to them to see which ones are in use, or just follow everyone else.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Beauty

3/19/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An absolutely great course! The fairways are just wide enough for beginners to be in great shape even on an off day. The hole variety from short to long, straights, left & right was awesome. It felt like someone took some care in the layout of this course. What was probably the best aspect of the course was its wooded setting with tree-lined fairways, yet it wasn't too intimidating.
Cons: VERY CROWDED! Had ot wait 20 mintues to play off first tee. Lots of people complaining about it too! But when your from Kansas City and this is how you're ending a business trip with your son, the wait was more than worth it.

Hole #3 bites! Maybe it's just because I have yet to master an up and over shot to clear 30' of trees that are only 50' in front of you. Definately not for the novice player. Saw 4 groups in two rounds searching for discs in the creek.
Other Thoughts: Get another course built!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A group of 8

1    3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good playing flow, the next tees are never far from the previous basket. Seymour Smith is a park setting with plenty of good parking. Omaha, from what I can tell has a great disc golf scene. They do uncommon things with the trees in a park setting such as hole number three that forces players to throw over. I imagine it would be pretty hard to get lost because you pretty much just follow the other people. There are disc available for sale at the nearby gas stations. For a park course there are lots of trees. Seymour is an honest tournament ready18 hole course with dual pins and tee pads.
Cons: There are so many people that it took awhile for me to get a whole round in. Omaha really needs at least two more courses, I have never seen a more busy course. I saw more than one group of eight. They could have made better use of the creek.
Other Thoughts: The demand for another course in Omaha is obvious.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

7/10/2007   1/11/2008
Review By: theculturedredneck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of Omaha's few courses, but certainly a good one. Moderately long in length, it's characterized by mild but frequent elevation changes, large trees and some tricky pin locations. There is a healthy disc golfing community around this course with weekly mini tournaments in the summer. Map in the parking lot will help newcomers, there are signs/maps on each concrete teepad as well. No jogging paths or intersecting roadways (though roads run parallel to a few holes) to distract or interfere. Decent mix of technique/finesse holes and those that test your max-d!
Cons: There are few real fairways in the traditional sense. Instead, trees are sometimes awkwardly positioned throughout (2 and 3 are examples of what I'm talking about). This gives the feeling that the course was simply plopped down on existing terrain rather than "designed" for specific skills/challenges. That may sound nit-picky (and it is), but it's still worthy of an "Excellent" rating. Traffic on warm days gets ridiculous. Plan on teeing off before 10AM or waiting at each tee later in the day.
Other Thoughts: Omaha has a disappointing number of courses. If you're in the area just play this one, don't bother with Lake Cunningham. If you've still got another round left in you, drive across the river to Council Bluffs IA and play Treasure Cove instead. Don't worry if you hear gunfire... that's just the skeet shooting club on the other side of the ball fields.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.