Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 342ft.   4 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Short Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 What a great course

1    5/14/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of challenging shots that take lots of creativity to deal with. WIthin the first 4 holes I tossed discs RHBH RHFH Thumber and a huge RHBH Anhyser. The course has multiple tee boxes that give a huge variety and really change the game.
Cons: Could lose a lot of discs if not careful with some of your shots. Could be waiting a while to tee off because of the high demand to play this course
Other Thoughts: I came up to omaha from dallas the other weekend and played this course in my short amount of free time. It was well worth it and I just want to go back since I have gotten back to texas. Everyone on the course was very nice in directing me to the next hole/pin. Highly recommend

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    12/28/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a medium sized section of a city park, bordered by roads on three sides. There are a ton of other activities here, like a skate park and a shooting range, but the disc golf is well separated.
- Most of the holes here are littered with mature trees to force different lines from start to finish. There are those that are more or less clear of any brush, and force a hyzer, straight, or anhyzer depending on what seems easiest. Other holes have more dense patches of trees, like the ends of #1 and #17, or the wall of foliage to clear on #3. Decent mix from fairly tight to pretty open.
- One side of the park is one side of a big hill, and a lot of holes play up and down the slope. #11 is a nice, long downhill with OB road on the right, while #10 is a short shot that is on a little hill. Almost every hole on this side of the park, about 12 overall, have some elevation either way. There is also a nasty depression running through the middle of the park that provides some dangerous pin positions.
- Good variety in holes lengths, especially with the two different sets of pads. There are a lot of holes in the 250'-300' range, with some more on the longer side. Bigger arms might need some drivers to hit some of the lower lines under the branches, perhaps.
- Nice pads, for both sets. A lot of different shots on some of the longer ones, not just added length. Good baskets, and good signs even with the copious amounts of graffiti.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are very similar; finding a path through mature trees, and avoiding the trunks and branches. Hitting the line will usually set up for a deuce, and missing the line/hitting a tree might just result in a par. Definitely very forgiving.
- Pretty short course overall; especially with some of the downhill shots taking away even more of the length. Makes things fun, but takes away a lot of the challenge.
Other Thoughts: - Fun factor on this course is up there, it is awesome for a relaxing day of discing. There are enough trees and elevation here to make things interesting, if not exciting. Perfect for beginners, as long as you avoid the nasty ditch in the middle of the park. More experienced players should hope to shoot low here, or try out the long tees for a bit more challenge.
- Very busy course, based on the low stress/high fun design. Lots of partying going on when I was out there, nothing too crazy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My stomping grounds

5+    9/9/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: JimmyJazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So many. Multiple spacious, cement teepads on every hole. Baskets with multiple positions that actually make a significant difference in both the layout and the difficulty of the hole, and which are rotated pretty regularly. The course is laid out on a hillside that a about a third of the holes go either up or down. So lot's of elevation changes, but it's the same slope. Hole 11 (I believe) does go down a different and steeper hill, and is wide-open- it's a lot of fun to hurl discs down. Good variety of wooded and open holes, and the usually noob-unfriendly hole 3 has you throwing right over a densely-overgrown creek.
Cons: CROWDED with a lot of casual and serious frolfers who are occasionally prone to getting irritated with each others. No individual hole is hugely memorable.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course without a doubt. All of the pros I listed are totally valid, but what really makes Seymour are the people who play there. It's true that there are lots of people in Omaha who consider it their home-base, so if you like a brisk, quiet, concentrated round you might get irritated by people playing music, or stalling you up with a large, unskilled group. But I hear enough quibbling about the lack of etiquette that I want to point out the overwhelming sense of cmmunity and goodwill that almost everyone brings there. People are just chill and friendly, happy to chat or let you mind your own business if you prefer. If you are playing by yourself, most groups will let you play through. There is a notable lack of litter around. People are know to bring drinkables, but you wouldn't know it from cans and bottles scattered around the course, just by the heaps in every trash can. Here's an example: Earlier this summer, I found a frisbee with a name and number on it that I called to see if the owner was still at the park. He was a few holes behind us, on his second round of the day, and we agreed to wait for him at the picnic table after hole 9. When he arrived, he gratefully took his disc back and recognized the friend I had been throwing with from a wallet that he had found some holes back.My friend had dropped his wallet without even realizing it, and this individual, whose frisbee I had just returned, returned it to him without being prompted. That is the sort of awesomeness that is cultivated at Seymour Smith. Also, the course is legitimately pretty boss by its own merits.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brews & Disc

5+    6/20/2013   7/6/2011
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One thing I really like about this course is the proximity of this course to my apartment. Its a full 18 hole course. I also enjoy the environment. Drinking brews tossing some disc, it's a lot of fun and a great way to enjoy the day. I do like how they redid the parking lot. It used to be potholes galore and now its flat and level. Plenty of Trash cans, and an adequate amount of benches for breaks.
Cons: Sometimes there are too big of groups and there is a waiting period of about 10-15 min at the most. Its not too bad. Sometimes there are groups of elderly with their grandchildren, and they only use regular frisbees. It is rather annoying and frustrating to get stuck behind them
Other Thoughts: *UPDATE 04/11/2012
Hole in One on Hole #13
Skip-in, Side-arm
4 Witnesses

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Omaha's Finest!

1    5/26/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with plenty of shot variety from the beginning to the end. Shots range from long, short, left and right and some uphill shots. There are multiple lines needed as trees become a big factor on this course and also provide plenty of shade throughout most of the course. This course has some nice multiple concrete tee pads that were just the right size to throw a good drive off the tee and also work on different level of players. The course has some decent tee signs with all the hole information. There is a practice basket with brick markers at the beginning of the course to get warmed up before your round.The course is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trashcans and benches throughout most of the course and there is plenty of parking.
Cons: Navigation could be an issue for first timers that have never played this course. I noticed there is a lot of graffiti on signs, benches and trash cans throughout most of the course. Being there is only three actual courses in Omaha, this course can get crazy crowded on the weekends and through the week also.
Other Thoughts: This is still a fun and challenging course and I recommend it to anyone who is in the Omaha/Council Bluffs area to stop by and throw a few rounds.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to learn the game on

1    9/15/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 154  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun little course located in Omaha. This course is probably the best available in the Omaha area, and you can definitely tell that by how many people were playing the course. The course winds through a park with a good mix of open and technical holes, but did lack with the amount of shots required. There was some elevation throughout the course, but mostly flat (obviously). The course had a good design with tee signs that were easy to follow. The course flowed very well with multiple concrete tee pads. The course was also maintained very well by the park district.
Restrooms are available next to the amplitude of parking available at the front of the park. The park setting was pretty and fun to play. There were many locals who were for the most part friendly. Some of the players (probably newcomers) didn't know proper disc golf etiquette.
Cons: This course was a very fun course, but was lacking the difficulty for any player who isn't a beginner. There weren't any epic holes or anything about this course that set it apart. Most of the holes were very short and not much skill needed. This may not be a negative necessarily, but for me it was.
Other Thoughts:
Overall this was a fun course that is probably the best available course in the Omaha area. There is also Western Iowa CC course not to far away which has a higher difficulty level. This course is a very good course if you are just learning the game, because you will have fun and not have to worry about the stresses of shooting too high of a score or losing a disc. This is a very crowed course with many new players so be prepared. A fun course that if you want to play a course in Omaha, this is the one to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Omaha's Everyman course

5+    8/24/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 326  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent intermediate to advanced length course. Almost completely dedicated space for disc golfing. Multiple teepads on every hole, and well as multiple basket locations which change frequently. Good moderate elevation on some of the holes. Basket nickels have been painted bright colors to make them more visible. I've always enjoyed Hole 5 from the long pad here.
Cons: This course is effectively the default favorite Omaha course at this time. (Cunningham is barely playable, and Treasure Cove is out on the east side of Council Bluffs). It is loved by the locals and judging by the erosion around the short tees and short placements almost to death, and could use some wood chips or something to make footing more bearable. Long tees in some cases aren't much more than the shorts, and when they are they sometimes have lines with other hole's long pads in the way. Often crowded on Summer afternoons. Short-to-short layout is pretty underwhelming unless you're up for some deuce or die pitch and putt. Nickels look more visible with the day glo orange paint, but numbers would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I had the good fortune of my most recent trip to SSP the day after school started, so the usual crowds were not present here. I do advise if the weather is prime to get here early. If you're an advanced level player or higher, I would recommend using the long pads, especially if the baskets are set short.

If you're looking for recreational DG in Omaha, this is where you go. More advanced players probably will like Treasure Cove over at Iowa Western CC a lot better. The Omaha club is also currently installing a more challenging and considerably hillier course up at Hummel Park in north Omaha, so great things are on the horizon here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Omaha area

5+    7/15/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: There are 18 holes here, with concrete tee pads. Beginner tee pads are available on most holes. The hole locations frequently changed for variability, pars listed on the signs. It's clean and located in a well kept park area with lots of benches and trash cans available. There are several gas stations near the park to go and buy a drink.
Cons: Very popular course, and usually very busy. A few holes are pretty tough for beginners, but once you get the hang of it, it's doable.
Other Thoughts: It's best to play during non-peak hours because it's so busy. Thursday nights are league nights, so avoid at this time.

 First Course

1    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 91  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is phenomenal. Not only are the local players courteous and considerate, but the holes are challenging and varied. The holes go from heavy with trees to open and long. Skill shots, power shots are all needed. There is even a a creek which makes for a tricky OB depending on the hole location. There are several different hole locations and an alternate tee for every hole which makes it feel like a different course every time there is a change. The best hole is #3. It is the only permanent blind hole, the other one can be #11 depending on the hole location.
Cons: It is in Omaha, and there is standing water, so the bugs can get bit out of hand. Graffiti also marks the course. Trash cans seem to be rarely changed and often reek.
Other Thoughts: This was the course I first played in high school as part of outdoor education. So, I tried to take that bias out of my rating.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Busy in Omaha

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 152  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes easy to find. Trees in fairway make the course a bit more challenging. Baskets in good shape.
Cons: Tee signs were in horrible condition. Some were missing, some had several different pars written on them. Some holes seemed overrated as far as par goes.
Other Thoughts: Visiting from Camdenton, Mo. I would be happy to have this course as my local course, but would definately suggest that the tee signs be updated and the pars re evaluated. We played the course on a very warm Sunday afternoon and the course was full of players. We waited only two to three minutes per hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.