Disc Golf Store
Omaha, NE 
Seymour Smith Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #11 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 379ft.   4 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tees



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nice course

1    11/13/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: tuskalosadizzle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was told this was the best course when I was in Nebraska so I went, it was great being able to get my disc golf fix on a nice pretty course. I thought Nebraska was suppose to be all flat, this was on a big hill. Mach 3 are great pins glad the had them.
Cons: Not very challanging, it's kind of a pitch and putt but I loved it anyway.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/1/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of open and wooded holes, short and long, as well as various elevation changes and obstacles (Hole #3) and scenic shots (#11) Two tee pads per hole. I enjoyed this course while I was in town on business!!
Cons: Very Busy - Most of the people that are playing are just screwing around with alot of them being intoxicated in one way or another - I'd hate to see anybody get arrested for all of the paraphernalia that people openly carried around.
Other Thoughts: Both Gas stations on the corner sold Discs and even had a few surprises!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Be aight

5+    10/6/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: Uncle Tox
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Cement starting tees always nice, grounds well maintained. Good elevation with a creek. Nice big trees. Long and short holes for some good hole in ones.
Cons: WAY TO BUSY ALL THE TIME. Lot of people who think they can play but just clog things up for the good players.
Other Thoughts: If you can go early in the morning or when the kids are in school it is much more enjoyable.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: relatively easy course to follow with fun shots and multiple tee pads on most holes. not very crouded on the day and time that i went.. weekday around 11am.
Cons: there were a couple of long walks between basket and tee but i was easy to see which direction to head
Other Thoughts: if i had to chose between this course and treasure cove, i would play treasure cove

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I Keep Coming Back

5+    7/22/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: harrystaab
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety - terrain, ease, shots needed, etc. Baskets are moved fairly often over the summer. Course is well marked and easy to follow. Pretty well maintained.
Cons: Can be busy at times. May spend time looking for discs in the creek. Some holes are definitely over-parred. One hole is missing a sign and another is scratched over.
Other Thoughts: The first course I ever played and the one I continue to come back to. I play it as often as I am around my hometown and have enjoyed the variety found in this course. I've never participated, but it seems the course regularly has tournaments and such put up by the DG club. Most who play here are quite friendly and patient. I'll repeat, pot smokers frequent the park though at least I've never had them bother me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A few years ago

1    10/18/2003   7/11/2009
Review By: Fata2683
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, and a very pretty well taken care of park. I thought most of the holes were wide open, which at the time I was not used to....but it was nice.
Cons: Almost too wide open in areas. Close to center city, lots of traffic and people in the park
Other Thoughts: enjoyed playing here

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  From a Local

5+    7/8/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: MiDwEsTfRoLfEr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: From a local I have played at this park many times and first learned the game here. This is a great course where am and pros can frolf at with different tee-off pads that are not just further back but actually more complicated. This courses holes require players to be able to shoot at a hole when they cannot see it (hole 3 and hole 9). One of the great things about this course is they change the hole locations frequently and the other people are very friendly with a couple A-holes in between.
Cons: Some days are much crowded than others but if you get there in the morning to noon you should be good (9-12).
Other Thoughts: Good parking, clean park (ravine is dirtier but not terrible and doesn't stink), not much wildlife (I saw a beaver before but thats about it) and lots of pot heads, so not a course to bring kids to. But for sure the BEST park in Nebraska.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seymour has a nice variety of elevation changes throughout the course, with plenty of different hole types, which utilize all aspects of the game, from long straight drives to hyzer/annhyzer drives, even a hole that requires you to tomahawk over trees in a ravine (hole 3). The second set of tees provide an additional challenge. There are also a number of holes that require you to drive through clusters of trees.
Cons: The only things i have against this course is that it is very crowded, when i played there last, i had to wait for at least two groups to tee off for every hole that i played. Also, the course is rather easy for more advanced players, but good practice and a fun course nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Seymour is one of the better courses that i have played at in Nebraska. I had a great time and never got frustrated with the course. Definitely worth playing a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course

1    5/16/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Crusher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of trees and open space with some elevation changes. Overall a nice course and I would play it if I were in the area again (but would not choose to play Sat afternoon to avoid the rush)
Cons: Way too crowded. No maps, had to ask for help a couple times, and let other groups play through while figuring out where to throw next. The dual pads/baskets is a good idea, but made it quite confusing for a first-timer. Could be better marked. Pars are inflated, I agree with others that most, if not all, are par 3. Sounds like I have a lot of "cons", but really, it is a fine course; could just use a couple simple tweaks.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I tried to fit this into an already busy day so did not play all the holes, but found hole #3 nice. She didn't want to risk it, but I liked having to tomahawk a hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open and good

5+    6/25/2010   11/2/2008
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 113  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pin positions are changed every couple weeks, giving the course a lot more variety than most courses have. Some of the holes (like #4) are completely different depending on the position. The course flows naturally, and you won't need a map to navigate. There are two sets of concrete tees per hole. For some of the B tees, they're just farther back or off to the side (1, 6, 8, 9, 12, 17) and others are entirely different approaches (3, 4, 5 a few others). The elevation changes aren't huge, but somehow the course makes great use of them. Every uphill shot requires you to also throw under a lot of tree branches to get a decent second shot. In general, this is a course that will punish your shot if you throw nose-up (as any good course should). The third hole has a unique tee shot over a grove of trees along a creek that forces you to throw either a hammer or an anhyzer. There are a couple grip-and-rip holes (#7, 10, 11). Despite the challenges, this is a pretty good place for beginners to learn the game. There is no frustrating rough, no itchy undergrowth, and it would be pretty difficult to lose a disc here.
Cons: This is the most crowded course I've played. In the summer, you will find at least one group on every hole unless you're coming on a weekday morning (I went on a Friday at 9am recently, and it was empty). The lack of etiquette can be frustrating. I've had discs land at my feet on a 250-foot hole while I was putting because someone decided to tee off a little early. I guess that is part of the growing pains of disc golf. At least the course is popular.

The pars on the signs are slightly arbitrary and definitely too high (a 275-foot par 4?). Pretty much every hole would be a par 3. The signs are old, graffiti-covered, and not very helpful anyway (it's not clear what the distances refer to since there are at least three pin positions used on many of the holes, and they only list distances to two positions). Due to all the traffic, the grass is worn away around all the tees and basket positions, so the place gets awfully muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Omaha area in the winter (the only one that is consistently playable), and in the fall and early spring it's not as crowded as the summer. If you want to introduce some players to the game and don't mind a leisurely pace, come to Seymour. If you are accustomed to a bit more solitude and peace, this might not be the course for you. Seymour shows what a strong disc golf community has sprung up in Omaha and demonstrates the need for several more courses. Fortunately Cunningham is open again and Hummel Park will hopefully open soon.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.