Bowling Green, KY 
Basil Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: Joey Hole #7
3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
The tee is located on the hill behind the gazebo.



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
The One by the Lake…or three

2-4    4/12/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 2.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A slightly 'split personality' course used for the Amateur Championships at Bowling Green each spring, Basil Griffin starts out in park woods, over bowls and ravines, as well as water hazards, with a good variety of 'best lines' to the quality Innova DisCatcher baskets. You'll need good control of your Recreational to Intermediate distance drives to stay dry on 2,3,5, & 7 and away from the trees on 1, 2, 3, 7, 8 and 9. Then you'll burst into the open for the back nine, which involves more distance and usually more wind.

It's nice to have this much variety in an 'approachable' course, and just a mile and a half off the highway for easy access. While they are showing some wear, each hole has a decently-sized, level, concrete tee pad. There are older tee pads out there, as well, including a long pad on hole 6 which would make a neat, water carry shot if the branches in front were trimmed just a little.

Memorable holes begin with the hill top tee on 2, where you drive out between a few trees, over a fence, creek, and bridge, to a wide landing zone on the left, but with the basket tucked to the right at the far end of the clearing, and less than eight feet from the rocky side of the creek bordering the entire right side of the hole. A true gut check shot, but not unique in that aspect: holes 5 and 7 are also beautiful, downhill risk-reward holes.

The course has a map at hole 1, and very good signage, including next tee arrows, so first timers who print the map and check the signs can't get lost. The park is really nice, with its lake and many other amenities for the rest of the family.
Cons: Though there are brand new pads for holes 2 & 8, many of the remaining, older tee pads are starting to have a little trouble: the left side of the concrete on 15 is crumbling away, and the front 2-3' of the 17th tee has settled so it is practically a step (so be careful there). Hole 1 holds water in a puddle at the front. The 'remnant' tee pads that look like they're out there (left over from a previous redesign?) are interesting, and don't have tee signs, but might tempt safari golfers to try out creative lines. Usually that's a plus, but caution is needed to be absolutely sure no one could get hit from those unexpected lines.

The course does have a few places where the transitions from one hole to the next are 'unusual'. After 2, you need to go out the big fence gate if it's open, or trek to the top of the hill to get out past the driveway to 3. After 6, be polite while walking by if folks are clutch-putting on 3, then back up to the top fence line to #7, after which you'll go around the 'creek', right, through that fence gap and up the hill to 8.

Bomber arms who really want to show off their D's might not like the fact that Griffin has only two holes over 350'. But that's just fine with us mere mortals. The lake side holes have a playground at the top of the hill and might have folks who know nothing about disc golf, fishing and enjoying the lake on any decent day, so use caution and skip a hole if you need to for safety. Finally, the bowl at the bottom of holes 1 & 9 will usually be extremely muddy, so plan on that if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here was in the 2013 BG Ams, the day after some ferocious rains, which created two new 'lakes', until the water subsided. The pond at holes 1 & 9 made the latter a re-routed shot around the driveway. The creek became another pond on holes 2 and 7.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

3 styles in one course

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 95  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good Mix of holes (Woods to near the lake then back to the woods and then to the field)

2. Can post a good score and still feel like you were challenged.

3. Beautiful small park setting

4. No chance to lose your discs in the woods because it's not grown up at all

Cons: 1. We didn't run into it because it was early but I could see how you could get irritated by other people muddling around on the course even though there's signs up that say watch out this is a disc golf area.

2. Tricky navigation in a couple of spots but just use the map and you will be fine. If not it still shouldn't stop you from coming.
Other Thoughts: The first part of the course is wooded elevation holes that have good lines to them then you work your way out to the field rapping around a part of the lake and these holes are fairly wide open but obviously the lake comes into play if your not careful then you go back across up top by the road and tee off downhill by the chapel and work your way back into the woods and then out of them for the back 9 which is pretty wide open with some but not many obstacles. This was stop #2 on our 111 hole day and took 2 avg players an hr and 45 min to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Busy park

1    9/9/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course. Easy to score well. The flow was pretty easy to follow
Cons: Not much variety on back 9; just field and young trees. Holes are bunched up. No water fountains
Other Thoughts: This course would be alot better in a place that people don't have BBQs, fish, throw the football in the fairways and have family photo time on a bridge you're about to throw over.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than Expected

1    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: maxhz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was going to Bowling Green for a day and was able to play a round of disc golf. Whenever I asked for recommendations, Basil Griffin was not one I heard. I ended up going because it was just a 2 minute drive down the road.
The front 9 of this course was terrific. I liked how the lake and creek were sort of in play for holes 2-7, but it would take pretty bad shots to throw a disc in them. The back 9 was not as good, and most people say it;s open, which it is, but it's not always just a plain shot with nothing in the way. Most of the back 9 holes had at least some different way to maneuver around the trees, which I enjoyed. Not too long, which for me, is a plus. Also, the grass was amazingly green. Beautiful course. I also love DISCatcher baskets :)
Cons: I can see where some people would dislike this course since the back 9 holes are all relatively the same, but they aren't necessarily exactly the same. The layout is a little bit confusing, and there's only a small opening that is hard to notice to get from 2 to 3. Had I not noticed it, I might have gotten horribly lost. Long walks from 2 to 3, as well as 6 to 7. When I played, I actually skipped hole 9 just because of lots of mud that had accumulated from apparently just a little bit of rain the day before. That mud was also present on hole 1. If you're new to the game, playing so many holes around water could be a burden. Would also be a pain to play the back 9 on a super hot day, which luckily it wasn't too hot yet when I played. Lots of the back 9 signs were very difficult to read, some of the impossible.
Other Thoughts: For being a course that wasn't recommended to me, I really enjoyed this course more than I thought I would. I don't have much to compare it to at this point in my disc golf career, but I think if you're near the course you should definitely consider playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/13/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basil Griffin is a tale of two courses so I will talk about the front nine and back nine separately.

The front nine is beautiful with rolling hills and a large lake. There is a great shot variety with a number of turnover shots, a decent spread of hole lengths, some big elevation changes and water in play on about half the holes. Some of these holes are fairly technical while others are more open with strategic obstacles to consider. Two of the holes have long and short pads to accommodate a wider variety of skill levels.

The back nine has a wider variety of hole length. Hole 10 is a fun but tough longer hole.
Cons: The biggest con about the front nine is the navigation and long walks. There's a bit of a walk between holes 2 and 3 and an even longer walk between 6 and 7. There are arrows on the baskets that point towards the next tee's so that is a big help. On hole 2 you're at the top of a hill and throw over a fence. The gate to get through the fence was locked when I was here and some slats have been removed from the fence so you can crawl through. After hole 7 you have to crawl back through the fence to get to hole 8.

The back 9 is mostly flat and completely boring. There are lots of young trees that are starting to have an impact on the holes and there are some more mature trees in the back also. But when it comes down to it the back is simply boring.

The tees on the entire course are very inconsistent, a couple have big drop offs in front of the pad, many are in poor condition and some have major cracks.
Other Thoughts: If the entire course was like the front nine I would rate it a 3 or maybe even a 3.5, but if the whole course was like the back nine I'd probably give it a 2. So I'm splitting the difference and rating the course a 2.5.

Despite the walk, the front nine is a lot of fun and has some great holes that make for rewarding birdies if you can get them. In my opinion it's worth playing here just for the front nine.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a good mix of wooded and open. There are plenty of dueces out there but some holes that play 350+. The course can be played fairly quickly with no real chance of losing a disc except in the water. Good concrete tee pads and not much walking trail traffic to contend with.
Cons: I busted my butt on 13's teepad today because it is fairly short and you have to step up about 6 inches if you plan to run up. The lake/pond is gross and if you go in there, you will most likely not be getting it out. When it rains a lot holes 2 and 7 can be closed due to flooding which creates long walks between 1&3 and 6&8.
Other Thoughts: Can be difficult in the wind but a good course if you are looking to improve your overall game. Decent elevation change and not the same hole over and over again. A bit away from the other courses in Bowling Green but if you are down for a weekend a must hit on a BG trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 88  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to test some of your throws but not be overly challenged. I really enjoyed the mix of open-to-wooded/ challenging holes, instead of all woods or all open.
We started on the back 9 when I played, and I would suggest you do the same on your first time out, or anytime for that matter :)
The back nine is much more open with a few rolling hills and some errant trees to at least give some obstacles to avoid, but not much more challenge than that(except for those BG winds).
The front nine is a pleasant excursion around the park, starting in the tall woods and exiting over a creek which hugs the right fairway of hole #2. For the next 6 holes, the large lake will either have some water in play or at least be in sight, and also causing yet more wind :) These holes offer a nice variety here, from hillside ace runs to downhill alley with an OB funnel on the sides.
Cons: Navigation -- I was in a tourney, but was looking for signage for next tees. Some of these would have been very tricky for a first-timer.
Too many wide open holes, fun but not enough challenge for a remarkable design.
Other Thoughts: A fun course that will let you warm up the arm and putter on the back and tickle your disc bone on the front. Enjoyed this one!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get off I-65 to Play

1    4/3/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course was the many holes that were challenging and beautiful. It combines water and O.B. in such a way that you can't just open up and throw, it cause you to be accurate. A lot of birdie chances.
clean park but multi use.
Cons: Many of the teepads need to be replaced or extended.
Pretty short course but laid out well.
the upper holes (12-17) are very open and don't really pose a threat.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Starts out great, finishes bland

1    4/14/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park, with some rolling hills, some great water hazards, and a mix of wooded areas and more open fields. The water comes into play on the front nine, with a couple holes playing by a creek, and a few more by the lake, making for some excellent risk reward holes. The elevation on the front nine is used well to add some challenge, and the wooded holes are tight enough to make you hit a line.

There are concrete or brick tee pads that are in decent shape, and enough signage that it's not too difficult to figure out where to throw or how to get to the next tee despite some long walks. There is a course map by the first tee that helps with navigation.
Cons: There are lots of places where the course conflicts with other park uses, and you may have to skip holes due to picnickers on the fairways. There are some long walks that if you didn't pay attention to the course map would be really difficult to figure out, it's worth bringing a phone or camera to get a picture of the map to have with you.

The back nine is quite boring and repetitive. There is some good length, but the holes are pretty much wide open and don't present any different challenges. The front nine s so much fun it's really a let down when you get to the back. The tee pads are generally small, and a couple are tilted making for awkward tee shots.
Other Thoughts: The front nine will challenge you to hit your lines and stay dry, and is worth coming here just for those holes. The back nine is boring, and really drags down the overall rating of this course for me. Beginners will find the course approachable, but difficult to score well, and more experienced players will find some nice challenges and lots of birdie opportunities.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in BG

5+    4/16/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: NOStheBOSS
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the variety of holes, not busy at all except when other events in the park are going on, easy enough to be fun and shoot low but not so easy that it becomes boring.
Cons: when football/baseball games are going on, people like to park on some fairways when the lots fill up
Other Thoughts: BE WARNED as of the beginning of June the park is closed due to a huge flood that caused a sewage leak. The back 9 was pretty much left uncovered but the front 9 was completely under water. The entire park os being rennovated, and even though the back is fine you cannot get in.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.