Bowling Green, KY 
Basil Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #12 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 295ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Straight ahead over a slight rise.



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 A fun, moderately challenging course.

8/7/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes/shot options on front nine. The 3 wooded holes in the sink hole are both fun and challenging. Hole #2 requires an accurate shot that must sail over a fence and creek(usually dry). A few holes on the back nine where you can give it a bit of a rip.
Cons: Tees are short and often uneven. There is no practice putting area.Can be very crowded with park goers pic-nicking and fishing close to the fairways. Parked cars along the OB road can make you alter your shot selections. Lots of goose guano on holes 3-6. Those playing baseball/softball near holes 17&18 can be quite disrespectful by practicing in the fairways and even parking their cars well into the fairway on 17!
Other Thoughts: In case you can't tell, this is my "home course". I play here at least 3 times a week. While there are definately better courses in Bowling Green, Basil-Griffin is a unique course that is worth checking out if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Front 9!!!

5/12/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 on this course is as good as you will play anywhere. Lots of water. #2 is my favorite hole anywhere. Most of the holes are fairly short and a well placed midrange will give you a 2. A few holes on the front have pro tees that you can play and if you play #3 from the pro tees it's a really great hole that you have to throw way out over the lake and hyzer back in to the basket. The front 9 requires some really technical shots that you wouldn't normally throw.
Cons: The back nine is very lacking. It has a bunch of planted trees that are too young to cause any problems. I played the other day and had six 2's on the back with only one 4 and that was just due to 3 bad throws. Only 3 holes even require a driver and they are pretty much wide open.

If you don't like losing a disc you won't like all of the water on the front nine. If you play if more then a time or 2 you are going to spash one.
Other Thoughts: As I said, great front nine. Meeeh back nine. If the back nine was a good as the front it would get a 4.5 rating. You can easily shoot in the 40's on the course. It's pretty hard to make very many bogey's on the back nine.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

4/14/2008   4/15/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course, lots of pin placements that keep you from shooting a 2 yet let you get a 3 easily. Good mix of Water, wooded holes, open holes, and OB. This is a really good course!!!
Cons: Built in an area that floods.....
Other Thoughts: Still one of my favorite BG courses!!!!!!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bowling Green Am course #1

3/29/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has varied terrain, giving some elevation changes and challenging water features. Maintained pretty well. 7 grip 'n rip open holes.
Cons: Most holes are "lefty" friendly. Hard to follow course, especially finding tee 7 after 6. Tourney caused a major backlog on hole 2 (5 card). My group finished 15 holes in 1hour, then got to the jam and sat for 45 minutes before we tee'd again.
Other Thoughts: Went down for the Blowing Green Am event. 11 hour drive. Nice course for the locals, but not worth the gas or lodging costs. ;o)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home

8/11/2007   8/24/2007
Review By: joshs2000ss
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of tight shots and open shots. Also has varying distance holes. Course is well maintained.
Cons: Some/most of the teepads are shorter than normal and are not even with their surrounding surface so it can affect the approach when driving. A bit hard to find number 7 if you're new to the course. Back 9 is really packed in there. I would imagine that in a heavy tourney situation, it would present a pretty big problem, but maybe that's why they don't usually use this course for tourney events.
Other Thoughts: I like the course because it's close to my house and offers a good challenge to beginners and pros.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center