Bowling Green, KY 
Basil Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Another Good Course for BG

1    4/10/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of land; elevation changes are tricky, and there are many trees to make you adjust your shots. Water comes into play on a few holes and requires a very accurate shot for a chance at 2. The course does stay centralized to one small spot but moves through the course.
Cons: It is in a highly trafficed park, people are sometimes sitting right next to the hole and dont bother to move even when you tell them it is dangerous. The back half of the course was very open and didnt really have the same appeal as the front nine with its technical shots. some of the teepads and cracked/double poured which makes them a little difficult to throw from.
Other Thoughts: it wasnt in full bloom yet but the park looked like it was going to be beautiful and scenic when the summer comes. definitely a visdually pleasing course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Half a fun course

2-4    4/7/2006   1/15/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-10 at Basil Griffin are very well put together. They make use of the hazards available, and use the property in the best manner I can imagine. A few of the shots are truly unique, and offer things you don't see often in disc golf - holes 2 and 5 are great. Hole 2 makes use of the amphitheater area exceptionally. Hole 5 is a fantastic peninsula hole. I believe I snowmanned it (took an 8).
Cons: Following hole 6 there is a semi-long walk to hole 7 which is hidden in the amphitheater area. Careful noting of the course map IS needed for this walk. Additionally - the final 8 holes are very weak. Although they provide a very nice use of the ball fields as out of bounds, and have great distance variety they are relatively boring holes.
Other Thoughts: All told I enjoyed my time on Basil Griffin. It may have been the fact that I was attending BG Ams for the first time, playing in warm weather for the first time all spring... but Basil Griffin left me feeling good. Despite half the course being relatively bland I enjoyed playing it. In my mental categorization I labeled it a "fun" course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Should be a 9 hole.

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First nine holes are really fun. There is a good mix of woods and water holes, including hole #2, which is thrown through trees, over a fence, on the right side of a small river, surrounded by rocks. Epic hole, great 300 foot downhill anhyzer shot. Holes 3, 5, and 6 are great water holes. 3 is a short 200 footer, turning right with some low hanging branches. 5 is a danger shot, going downhill to a hole with water on both sides. 6 is a nice anhyzer shot over water, really a fun shot. The course takes you back into the woods for a couple more really nice lines. Nice scenery on the first holes too, wrapping around the lake.
Cons: Back 9. Wide open on almost ever hole, just going back and forth in a hilly field. There are some sparse trees, but the center of the field holds water. Some are short, some are long, but they are really bland. Maybe only one bench on the whole course.
Other Thoughts: There is some construction going on now in the early woods. Fun course if you're in the area, definitely play the first nine, as they are really well put together.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love the holes around the lake

5+    3/27/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basil Griffin offers a lot of numerous shots. The front nine plays almost seperately from the back 9. There are numerous shots on the front nine that surround a nice sized lake. Most of the holes are relatively short on distance, within the 250-280 range. It is easy to shoot well on this course but if the wind is blowing in "Blowing" Green you can count on a few missed putts and a few errant drives. I give it a solid 3, once the course matures that will go up.
Cons: The back 9, I know it is very new but its just wide open shots. Give it 10 years once the trees grow and develop and it will move up the ladder of Bowling Greens greats.
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course, it does have quite a few different shots. I love the lake and also the tee pads seems to be great. I'd recommend it too anyone who is in the Bowling Green area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Basil Griffin was a pretty fun course in my mind. The park was nice, the course was somewhat challenging, and I will certainly try to hit it again next time I am in town. The front and back nine almost seem to be two different courses with two distinct personalities. The front is more wooded with water and more difficulty. The back is more open and forgiving. You'll find a fair mix of hole and shot types overall.

Number one's hole seemed to quietly draw you in to focus and then some pretty fun holes follow. Number two was pretty unique with its fairway crossing a fence and plays through an amphitheater's lawn with a creek running along side. Three through six plays along a scenic lake that can come into play with arrant shots. Seven is a tight downhill shot past a gazebo to an open area and plays near a creek. Eight shoots across a wooded valley and is also a pretty nice shot. Nine comes back down and crosses the same valley but shoots over a retention area where water can be found during rainy times.

You'll find that ten through eighteen plays across what is accentually an open field along with some slight elevation changes. Additionally, you'll find trees mixed in as obstacles and some length variation to keep it interesting. Overall I found one through nine to be the best of the course.

I really liked the fact that that there is a defined front and back nine. There is what could be considered a resting area between the two. You'll find a large course map that delineates the entire course nicely. Nearby you'll find a picnic table in the shade and it's close to the parking lot. The Innova baskets are in good shape and easily spotted in the wooded areas. The concrete tee pads are pretty nice too. Tee signs are on each hole and did the job quite nicely.
Cons: Well as I mentioned the back nine is a little different than the front and is nothing special, but not too bad. It's just that they will sort of let you down after the playing nine nice ones up front. Some of the back holes play near a fairly busy road and can be a little annoying.

Overall the tee pads were distractingly shorter than normal. The transition between six and seven can be a little tricky to navigate your first time out. Check out the map and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: This was a pretty fun course. I suggest playing it if you are in the Bowling Green area for sure. Let's say you are in town for a limited time and can only play one or two courses. You may want to consider some of the other courses around before you play here. But on the other hand I don't think you'll regret playing here at all, at least I didn't.

Please don't let the cons discourage you too much from checking this one out. One recommendation I would give is to play the back nine first and finish with the front. Both are just as convenient to parking and you'll leave having saved the best for last. Just come on out and give it a try but most importantly, enjoy!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with concrete pads, tee signs, and baskets. Offers some shade on a sunny day (front nine). Hole 3 (I think) was my favorite. You had to tee off and throw between two trees and down over a fence and stream. The fairway was like in the middle of a outdoor amphitheatre.
Cons: The back nine was completely opposite of the front nine. The back nine was plain, open, and not very challenging. It seems like the course was originally only nine holes and they just threw together the back nine behind the baseball parks.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was fun but when compared to some of the other BG course's this course is lacking.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/24/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basil Griffin is a fun little par 54 course located in a nice park. The course uses DISCatcher baskets that are in good shape, has appropriately sized concrete tee pads, and signs and markers to help in course navigation. There is also a large course map located near the first tee, a nice and common feature among Bowling Green courses.

The course is composed of 2 9-hole loops, each returning to the parking area. The course flows well from hole to hole and is fairly easy to navigate. Every time that I have played this course, it has been in really good shape. The course is very well maintained, there is no excessive underbrush, foliage, or things of that nature to speak of.

The front nine is amazing! A great layout that utilizes available natural resources (including moderate elevations, a winding creek, some large boulders, and a lake) which define some of the best golf holes in Bowling Green. Hole 2 has an elevated tee requiring a shot to clear a fence and a creek just beyond the fence and all down the right hand side of the fairway. When the creek is full of water, this is a beautiful, yet intimidating hole. There is plenty of room to bail to the left hand side, but the farther left you go, the more difficult the upshot is with the basket situated just a few paces from the edge of the creek. Holes 3, 5 and 6 are strategically placed around a scenic lake in the park, a bad shot here can cost you a disc! Hole 7 parallels Hole 2, in the opposite direction. Again, throwing from an elevated tee down toward another basket located just a few steps from the creek. Anything long here will find the water, but if don't make it far enough, you will be forced to lay up or be faced with a risk/reward putt toward the water.

The back nine is completely opposite of the front nine. These holes are relatively flat with some trees, many of which are still small and not a big factor. Most all of the holes on the back nine are straight away with very little strategy involved. Scoring is much easier on the back nine, and a good place to recover from the more challenging front nine. The main hazards on the back nine are the road on 10, which plays OB, and the softball fields on 17/18, which also play OB. The back nine is a little plain and boring compared to the front nine for sure, but the designers made good use of what was available. Some trees were present, and others planted which in time will make the back nine more scenic and challenging. I think some sand traps will really add to the visual appeal and challenge, it would be nice to see something like that added to the back nine.
Cons: Not many cons to speak of. I have played the course when the amphitheater was in use. The fairway for Holes 2 and 7 are used during performances and events, so these holes are closed while the theater is in use.
Other Thoughts: Basil Griffin isn't a long course, it is a true par 54, but the course as a whole is scenic and offers a fair challenge for most all skills levels. Bowling Green is a great place to play DG. There are many different lengths and styles of courses that will interest just about everyone, and all the courses are well maintained. Basil Griffin is no exception!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/26/2011   2/24/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a fun course to play, not too long for the average player. The front is super sweet and challenging as it plays along the lake with well placed baskets.

There are some interesting/unique shots- over a building, over a fence, and across an amphitheater for example. (This could be a con when these things are in use.)

The back 9 used to pretty much be a wide open field, but has been improved nicely with the planting of a whole lot of trees and some redesign of some holes. (I love when I come back to a course after a few years and find it much improved! Compliments to those who have worked hard on it.)
Cons: *Update- The back 9 is now only a little bet of a let down after you play the front because the front is so good and the back is more plain, (but the back is now way better than it used to be, even though still somewhat repetitive.)

The navigation is a little tricky in a couple of spots. The worse being #2 and #7 because sometimes the ampitheater area you play across has a fence that can be locked. Last time I was there I had to crawl through a hole in the fence or walk a long way around it.

If you don't like water on your DG course then this course could be intimidating as several holes run along the lake. (Bring a floater and/or a disc you can afford to lose!)
Other Thoughts: The front makes this course totally worth it to play. Maybe with some work, the back can be improved to make it a little more interesting and challenging.
(* Update- it has!!!)

If you are in Bowling Green playing several courses, add this one to your list.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This one surprised me

1    7/21/2007   9/4/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played this course as the last of a 72-hole day trip through Bowling Green. To be honest, I was ready to skip it. It was about 95 degrees and my dogs were killin' me. I'm glad we played it.

There is a variety of holes and terrain changes like I've never seen on a single course. It is truly unique. The lake is very pretty. Tees and signs were good, but we had trouble locating a few holes.
Cons: I've never seen a course built right in the middle of a park this busy. There are two holes right in the middle of an ampitheater! What do you do when a performance is going on?

On one of the water holes, I threw a beautiful shot that went out over the water, anhyzered back toward land, and was fading back left, right toward the pin.....and then some kid playing nearby decided that I was throwing it to her and she was supposed to catch it!

The other drawback is the difficulty (or lack thereof). Beginners will likely enjoy the back 9's easier holes, but might be frustrated and lose discs around the lake. Experienced players will enjoy the challenge in the front 9, but may find themselves a bit bored during the back 9.
Other Thoughts: If you can play this course when the park isn't jammed full of people, it's a good round of golf. When the trees on the back 9 fill out, it will be even better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: In todays standards the course is pretty short. However, I played this course twice. Round one I shout a -6, round 2 I shot a +6 so the course can kick your but if your not paying attention. I would consider this a really good rec course. I had fun playing it, but wouldn't consider it a course to visit often.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center