Fairfax, IA 
Prairie Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: MidwestZest Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Had a nice little thing, and then took a step back

1    9/30/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 64  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.3 Years
Pros: - Great use of some unused space in this small park.
- Park appeared to be well maintained, with a shelter and playground.
- Baskets were nice, well kept. Clearly labeled.
- Nice variety in hole length.
- Not too far from a busy 4-lane highway and Cedar Rapids, easy to get to. Nice bedroom community.
Cons: - TEE PADS! It was hard for me to enjoy my time here, because I got bent out of shape on how they screwed up the tee pads. They have nice, 4' x 8' concrete tee pads. However, they have added (relatively nice) foot-high sign posts with par and distance right in the middle of the front of pad. The tee is essentially not usable now except as a flat, hard place to stand in place while throwing. You can see these in the hole pictures I've uploaded.
- #1 basket is 20-30 feet in front of a tall fence surrounding the town's water treatment facility. A strong or wayward throw could easily end up over the fence - and you would not be getting it back.
- #1 basket is right next to #2 tee. Actually, it's right in front of it. Just a nuisance, probably not a real safety hazard, as this course is probably not played often.
- Holes 3-5 play around and over a dead-end maintenance road for the water department. Probably not used much, and they pretty well didn't have a choice.
Other Thoughts: It's unfortunate that they spent the time, money, and effort to get nice signs for this small little course, only to install them without consulting anyone who actually plays disc golf. More-so, it makes the investment into the tee pads a waste. If they were just to move the signs to the back corner of the pads, they would be usable.
There's a chance to add a couple holes into the timber, or maybe even use the nearby creek. Or maybe even move some holes to add some variety.
This is still a very nice place to take kids, or beginners. Or even just to have a quick round - so long as you don't follow through on your drive, or just tee off on the grass.

 Good, small-town 6-hole

2-4    2/24/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 152  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: This 6-hole course is settled on the edge of a nice, quiet, small town. There will probably be no one else playing, thus very little traffic. The few holes this course does have include trees, water, and elevation changes.
There are 3 or 4 shots with a possible ace/birdie chance.
The course was well manicured, although I went in the middle of winter.
The course is placed near a large lake and river, so the scenery is nice.
Cons: There are no posts to mark the tee pad locations, but the holes play into each other pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Holes 3&5 use the same basket. The tee pad for #3 is across the street, near the river.

 Very small town course.

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to course with parking right next to hole one. Nice level cement pads that are slightly small but they don't need to be any bigger considering the lengths of the holes. Nice and quiet park, no trash and a creek nearby. Fairways are nicely mowed throughout. Although most of the holes are fairly open, there are a few trees on some that come in to play. Navigation isn't too hard. Baskets are in great shape and clearly labeled. No crowds at all to contend with here so a quick six hole round can be done in 15 minutes. A good course for beginners to learn on.
Cons: There are only six holes. While this is a con for more serious players, I think this works well for new players so they are not overwhelmed. Really there is no other land to expand this course anymore. Single teepads and single basket locations doesn't add much variety. One basket is shared with two holes. No signs but then again all baskets are easily visible from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: Brand new players would do well on this course. Just enough of a challenge and excitement to get them start. Plus no crowds to speak of so take your time and introduce a new player to the game. I brought my sister here for her first round and she had a good time. For more experienced players a putter and a mid is all you really need to work on your short game. A good little course for a town this size.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential to be better, but still ok

2-4    1/22/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Short quick course ideal for beginners. I assume that the coutryside west of Cedar Rapids doesn't have too many disc golfers so this would be mostly for exposure to beginners.

2) Concrete tees are always better than anything els ein my opinion. It was nice to see an investment in this course in the middle of nowhere, someone did it right in raising funds.

3) Chainstar baskets are in excellent conditions. They catch well and are installed properly.

4) There is a decent amount of variety in the hole distances with the shortest being right around 200' and the longest being somewhere over 400' or so.

5) This is a nice small park in a tiny town of only a couple hundred maybe. There is a picnic area with a shelter and picnic tables. There is a small playground, including a volleyball court.

6) There are a few trees used as obstacles on a couple holes. Hole #2 is cool because you start outside the trees and have to work your way through the middle part of the fairway which has a bunch of trees. Pick you line. Hole #6 ends with woods creating a pinch point forcing you to approach from a certain direction. I like how this hole gets harder the longer you throw.

7) The disc golf course is very removed from all the other activities except for the tee area on #1 which could be moved further towards the building along the railroad tracks.
Cons: 1) All in all there isn't enough character on this course to keep a seasoned veteran happy. It is overall very flat, there are only trees in pla on 2 holes, and the obstacles are simply few and far between.

2) There are only 5 baskets which I am not sure if that was by design, but getting a 6th basket would allow the #5 basket to be placed over in the woods to the right. This would make the course balanced in terms of open versus trees. I also think that would greatly improve the 5th hole. Right now it is as flat as it can be with a basket set out in the middle of a wide open turf area.

3) No tee signs which would help navigate, but I am sure that they don't expect many outsiders to come use their course. Little did they know harr0140 was coming to town! I'll play anywhere. Posts would be enough to satisfy my needs with the distance of the hole. Maps aren't really needed because the basket is right there in front of you on all holes, so it is eas to figure out your line.

4) I also wonder if the creek could have been used a little bit more. The third basket could have been a left to right shot (something this course is missing) with the basket on the right side of the road instead of the left. That wouldn't necessarily bring the creek into play but it would accent that there is a creek on the property.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a fun course to play. I was excited to see concrete (although I couldn't find all of them because of the snow on the ground) in such a small town park. This is the closest course to my Grandma's and I am sure I will be back at some point to give it another shot. I think the course shows as much potential to be better than it currently is. You could also make two big improvements without changing the teepads, because the basket could be moved on #3 and an additional basket added for #5 to the right in the wooded area. Moving #1 tee would be more difficult but might be a good idea to allow an open area of turf to be used to not infringe on the disc golf course . . . although then again, it won't be used much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.